Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Castle night club closed?

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭David900

last i looked and can rememebr wexford and hinterlands was about 48,000.

The figures I said were rough and just off hand so you may well be right. It could well be open to interruption too when people are quoting, for example the Wexford town population must be within the confines of the ring road I'd say. 48,000 is quite large though, I'd have to look into it. In relation to a nightclub as-well, I'd imagine that you could start cutting down the number once you get past a certain distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bearhunter

I wonder how we all survived in the 80s, when I read this thread. Back then there was the Castle/golf club/rugby club/IFA/Floods in town, the Hydro, the Unyoke, Caesar's Palace out of town, and several pubs with extensions and live music/DJs. Times were no better then than now, economically (in fact worse) and while you wouldn't necessarily go to all (or even many) of the places listed, there was at least plenty of choice and they all seemed to make a few quid. Certainly the Unyoke was packed on a Saturday/Sunday night, while the rugby club was popular too. And the population of Enniscorthy would have been maybe 8000 then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

Quite simply there wasn't a "drink at home in front of the kids" culture back then and we didn't listen to commentators telling us that more than 4 drinks on a night out made you a binge drinker / waster.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I agree with both Bearhunter and 1966,back in the day we had a huge choice for a night out but nowadays peoples habits change.Even the students had disposable income despite job shortages but now they have nothing or are less inclined to take the type of jobs available and as a result less money to party with.
    We are also continuosly being told what to do by the media and so called experts.As 1966 said,any more than a few drinks and we are binge drinking.I drank a hell of a lot more when I was younger but even now we're made to feel guilty over having a good time.Going on the lash now and again won't turn most people into raving alchoholics.
    Perhaps another symptom of the stay at home drinking culture we have now is that people are becoming less sociable.With all the social sites online and even texting,young people seem less and less inclined to actually talk to each other.How many times have you seen a group of teens hanging around with their faces buried in their phones.Before all this we had to go out to meet people and actually had to talk to them face to face.
    Social lives are suffering because of this culture and as a result the pub and nightclub trade is also.(the price of drink doesn't help either)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

In fairness the price of drink in enniscorthy is a lot more favourable than other parts of the country

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭jpb1974

Totally agree with zerks there especially in relation how socialising has changed so much in this day and age.

Mobile phones, text messaging, Facebook, Twitter etc... personally I think the world has gone slightly mad in some regards.

jpb1974 wrote: »
    Totally agree with zerks there especially in relation how socialising has changed so much in this day and age.

Mobile phones, text messaging, Facebook, Twitter etc... personally I think the world has gone slightly mad in some regards.

On nights out,there was always at least one person who was constantly on the phone texting,they were completely unable to take part in any conversation,that seems to be the norm with some people these days and the craic is going out of having a night out.Who wants to sit with somebody who is incapable of having even a basic conversation unless it involves texting?

Back on topic I hear that Lightland Electrical owners are to take on the running of the Castle.It seems they are owed a lot of money from the work they did on the refurbishment of the night club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

They certainly seem to have been working in there all week. They are in there now as I type. I hope that they have as much success as the last operator. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭sundula

Cant see an electrical contractor making a sucess of a nite club.

I doubt if its going to happen as I know for a fact that the company who did all the beer refrigeration work, air con and supplied fridges, glass washers etc are owed 100%, serious money, and had made steps towards gaining access to remove their gear.

If Lightland were to under take the running of this premises then they will have to pay for that equipment - big risk. As previous posters have said there is little/no market for this venue, thats why it was orginally closed and why it collapsed now.

Another issue regarding the sucess of new pubs and clubs is that these premises are carry huge debt before they ever open. Upgraded standards in health and safety requirements, fire officer requirements and planning issues in recent years have ment a huge increase in the cost to build/refurb at club or pub up to standards where it can compete with the competion. Fancy sound and lighting system, fire alarms, special dance floors, elborate HVAC setups, LCD's in the toliets etc etc - all big money. You cant open a shed with a bar anymore. The orginal Castle, apart from the much advertised Star Wars light system, had next to nothing spent on it for a decade. Many super pubs and clubs all around this country have gone into recievership / liquidation in recent years. Many collapsed under the massive debt they carried from refurb's coupled with the inflated prices paid to buy them. The profit in the drinks business is not that great.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

sundula wrote: »
    Cant see an electrical contractor making a sucess of a nite club.

I doubt if its going to happen as I know for a fact that the company who did all the beer refrigeration work, air con and supplied fridges, glass washers etc are owed 100%, serious money, and had made steps towards gaining access to remove their gear.

If Lightland were to under take the running of this premises then they will have to pay for that equipment - big risk. As previous posters have said there is little/no market for this venue, thats why it was orginally closed and why it collapsed now.

Another issue regarding the sucess of new pubs and clubs is that these premises are carry huge debt before they ever open. Upgraded standards in health and safety requirements, fire officer requirements and planning issues in recent years have ment a huge increase in the cost to build/refurb at club or pub up to standards where it can compete with the competion. Fancy sound and lighting system, fire alarms, special dance floors, elborate HVAC setups, LCD's in the toliets etc etc - all big money. You cant open a shed with a bar anymore. The orginal Castle, apart from the much advertised Star Wars light system, had next to nothing spent on it for a decade. Many super pubs and clubs all around this country have gone into recievership / liquidation in recent years. Many collapsed under the massive debt they carried from refurb's coupled with the inflated prices paid to buy them. The profit in the drinks business is not that great.

you can say that again. :(

Work has been going on all weekend so they must be serious about making a go of it,they should try and market the venue for various attractions because I believe if they rely on the trade having it purely as a nightclub they will find it next to impossible to turn a regular profit from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Mary5

hi, I am a new user to boards.ie but was very interested in your conversation... does anyone know where Stephen Kehoe is now? did someone say he is in the bailey, wheres that? surely not jail?!!

Mary5 wrote: »
    hi, I am a new user to boards.ie but was very interested in your conversation... does anyone know where Stephen Kehoe is now? did someone say he is in the bailey, wheres that? surely not jail?!!

troll.jpg

LOL:D:D:D:D

old_bailey.jpg

Nice pic Judgement Day.:) Smells exactly like one...

As I said Im new to this, so again I don't know exactly what ye mean by posting a picture of a troll, but I am glad that ye find my post entertaining unfortunately I cant say the same about yours :-( if it is that ye think I am some sort of official I think I might have better ways to find out where he is than posting on an online chat room do ye not agree Judgement day and Zerks?! I mightn't get your lingo but I'm not thick

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

thats ye told guys !!

As I said Im new to this, so again I don't know exactly what ye mean by posting a picture of a troll, but I am glad that ye find my post entertaining unfortunately I cant say the same about yours :-( if it is that ye think I am some sort of official I think I might have better ways to find out where he is than posting on an online chat room do ye not agree Judgement day and Zerks?! I mightn't get your lingo but I'm not thick

If you are a genuine poster without any vested interest then you're welcome here,the first question you posted on this thread just makes people suspicious.
    Been there done that with my first posts so if you are a genuine poster don't worry and keep posting,new input is always welcome.I
    If anyone posts just to cause controversy or has alterior motives they soon get found out and get short shrift.

Thanks for that but unfortunately I have lost interest how could I come back in after all that?! Don't fancy explaining myself everytime I say or ask something...guess this isn't for me

Whatever you do,don't post in After Hours so:D This place is a tranquil paradise compared to that forum.

Back on topic,any ideas when the Castle is reopening...again? I'm sure JD can't wait.;)

They are working on it night and day. I'm really looking forward to it.

There seemed to be a semi-official inspection of the Athenaeum yesterday too - it will be a race between them, the nite club and the Castle as to which opens first - and lasts the longest. :D:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

I was in the Castle Saturday night gone. Really nice Job tbh. The last time I was in it was at least 8 years beforehand (i think). Nice smoking area, clean toilets, good bouncers. Good sound and lights as you would expect from who took it over.

Decent crowd also, not what I expected. Mixture of young and old and not just teenieboppers. I did not spot any rows or aggro. It will be nice to have an alternitive in the town and by all accounts, a number of premises are benifiting from its re-opening. The Square, The Castle Bar, Rackards and the local chppers.

Is it still open or has it closed yet again?

Sadly "El Kippo" continues to operate but I live in hope. Some weekends are better than others but on bad nights it can resemble a scene from "The Walking Dead" at chucking out time.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTzHoD7Xj6SQExIhxA-zbyyGRQ-R72lUDO3WgVoKAD5j3XHq0rA

I hear rumours about it alot, heard it was about to or had just closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭nordine

It is still very much open. Tonight (Thursday) it's €10 entry, all drinks €3.

nordine wrote: »
    It is still very much open. Tonight (Thursday) it's €10 entry, all drinks €3.

Will this effect it ?

http://www.insolvencyjournal.ie/notices/11-08-05/Lightland_Limited.aspx

sundula wrote: »

They are running the Castle separately from Lightland so there will be no effect from Lightland being wound up.

zerks wrote: »
    They are running the Castle separately from Lightland so there will be no effect from Lightland being wound up.

Pity, after a quiet period it's starting to get really annoying at chucking out time. On another negative and, possibly, unconnected note two more shop windows were broken over the weekend.

zerks wrote: »

It will be interesting to see. The articles of association of the company were recently changed to incorporate the running of the nite club. Either way this company is closing and leaving more job losses and a lot of debt behind. Very sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Strootz

Hi all, i have read a few posts about the nightlife in Wexford, they were active a few months ago. I am in talks about taking over one of the Nightclubs in the area and wanted to get some opinions about what works in the area and if its a good idea. I cant go into detail about what club just yet but any feedback would be really appreciated. Thanks a million