Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FA Cup 5th Round - Man United v Crawley Town - KO 17:15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Are Manchester United time wasting?

Only 4 minutes to hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

A heroic/gallant/superb effort by Crawley Town just failing etc etc.

No need to read the back of the papers tomorrow. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

flahavaj wrote: »
    They were signed for cash though weren't they which isn't the same as bringing kids through the academy?

They still chose Liverpool over other offers from clubs who were in better situations than Liverpool at the time.

Crawley are tiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Lovely that from Cook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Please score Crawley!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

mike65 wrote: »

Get your hand off my bum and stop looking for a reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

ARGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

**** me, that was close!

Holy fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,617 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

titan18 wrote: »
    Well,I think King should have been on instead of Rooney. Gibson shouldn't be near the team. He had some nice passes in the 1st half, but he's done nothing in the 2nd. I'd rather see what someone like Pogba(as he's on the bench) can bring instead of him.

I think that Smalling came on at a wrong time,unless Rafael was also injured, as after that we had no defender on the bench. That has clearly not worked out as Fabio got hurt and now Fletcher is at RB.

I imagine the thinking was something along the lines of this being "an easy game" for Rooney so it'd be easy enough for him to use the momentum of his wonder goal last week to get him back to good form, but clearly he's been muck. Hindsight 20/20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Should they be above time wasting? You do whatever you have to do to win the game tbqh.

Head on hands for all the Crawley "supporters" in attendance at OT tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jaysus, Utd are just about hanging on here!!! They're being outplayed by Crawley who deserve something out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Liam O wrote: »
    yeah I'd much rather Gibson not playing and it be 0-0 than him playing and it be 1-0 :rolleyes:
    Tom_Brady wrote: »
    Gibson also assisted our goal, a goal that would have likely gone in even had Brown not glanced it. Take away that goal, and it's still 0-0 and we then have a replay to jam in to our clusterfúck of a schedule.

But hey, as long as the kids get a chance, right?

Maybe Pogba would have got a hat-trick if he had played instead :rolleyes:

Gibson has been bad again. For the good, he did in the 1st half, he's been invisible in the 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus, Crawley really have run over United in the second half.

Haven't heard Gibson's name in about half an hour.

Take a bow Crawley Town.

Gibson has been bad again. For the good, he did in the 1st half, he's been invisible in the 2nd.

The back four aside, they've all been muck in the second half tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Crawley look like they are running with lead in there boots now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Huge wp to Crawley. Did the non league proud!

Fair play to Utd, a tricky tie successfully navigated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

And Burton.

1-0 will do.
    Headshot wrote: »
    If its going to be a similar lineup to the west ham in the cc, I would be woried, i look forward to another Gibson debate thou

1-0 utd

Not too many would have agreed with ye a few short hours ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Ha ha unlucky bitters :) toddle off now.

Gobsh*tes. Lump it into the box FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Or he could have gone the way our other youngsters have played against non-league opposition over the years, and done fúck all.

Hindsight is well and good, but we won this game, thats all that matters. You're going on as if you'd replay this game and put the result up in the air again just so you can see the kids play.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Liam O wrote: »
    yeah I'd much rather Gibson not playing and it be 0-0 than him playing and it be 1-0 :rolleyes:

Do you think his performance was good enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I'LL take that 1 nil win :p

Tricky? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

but yet again for some reason it's Gibson that gets all the criticism despite the fact it was his influence that won the game for United...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Unlucky Crawley.

They gave us a better game than Liverpool tbh.

Well played Crawley, great effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Trickier than the last round anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

This match proves:

Fabio - not united class
    Anderson - Over-rated
    Carrick -poor
    Gibson - Terrible
    Chico - tad over-rated
    Bebe - ****
    Obertan - Extremely ****

Tricky? Really?

Whoooooooooooooosh! ;)

Crawley Town are clearly a different sort of non-league team, be interesting to see how they do when promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

That's kind of a point I'm making. A lot of them(again outside back 4) have been crap all season. I understand there's a need to keep them match-fit, but we all know they're crap, we all know those players are in poor form. The likes of Gibson,Obertan, Anderson lately,Fletcher lately have been poor.

Yes, play them, but is there much to lose by throwing in one or two youngsters who have a reason to go out and prove a point. There's no reason for some of the players who started today to go out and try their best as they know they'll start future games as we've no other options. If Pogba or Tunnicliffe start and have a poor game, they might not have another shot for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

Oranage2 wrote: »
    This match proves:

Fabio - not united class

Will have to bookmark this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Poor from Utd overall,fair dues Crawley they played their hearts out.That was their cup final.

I really hope a few of these young lad don't have to be called on much in the run-in as their just not up to it yet.

Wish the commentators would stop going on about Crawley like they're some sort of amateur team and have had a romantic run in the FA Cup. They've dodgy unknown owners, they've bought the entire team, their assets are worth more than most League One teams since the investment, their manager has been done for fraud many a time.

Hardly a romantic cup run in the regular sense of the phrase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

This match proves:

Fabio - not united class
    Anderson - Over-rated
    Carrick -poor
    Gibson - Terrible
    Chico - tad over-rated
    Bebe - ****
    Obertan - Extremely ****

This post proves

Knee jerk reactions - hilariously pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I was gonna say well done to Crawley until that farcical scene at the end between the keeper and defender trying to decide and taking about 20 seconds to take the free. Morons like that dont deserve to be in football.

Good to see Rooney flop again, maybe his shin guard has lost form as well :pac:

Only thing you can really take out of that, is that Darren Gibson will be leaving in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Now get the fûck off my TV, Evans.

Well done to Crawley, they gave it a go. Happy enough with United, didn't get too caught up with the game, didn't concede a major injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

This match proves:

Fabio - not united class
    Anderson - Over-rated
    Carrick -poor
    Gibson - Terrible
    Chico - tad over-rated
    Bebe - ****
    Obertan - Extremely ****

Your post proves **** all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,314 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

This match proves:

Fabio - not united class
    Anderson - Over-rated
    Carrick -poor
    Gibson - Terrible
    Chico - tad over-rated
    Bebe - ****
    Obertan - Extremely ****

I thought some of the above were supposed to be the future for united!

That's kind of a point I'm making. A lot of them(again outside back 4) have been crap all season. I understand there's a need to keep them match-fit, but we all know they're crap, we all know those players are in poor form. The likes of Gibson,Obertan, Anderson lately,Fletcher lately have been poor.

Yes, play them, but is there much to lose by throwing in one or two youngsters who have a reason to go out and prove a point. There's no reason for some of the players who started today to go out and try their best as they know they'll start future games as we've no other options. If Pogba or Tunnicliffe start and have a poor game, they might not have another shot for a long time.

OK so lets look at the players you've named.

Who from the youith team would you have played on the wings instead of Obertan and Bebe.

And you're honestly saying Tunnicliffe or Pogba will be a better option in the latter stages of the CL and the games that'll decide the PL than Ando or Fletcher? Ah c'mon.

This match proves:

Chico - tad over-rated

He's scored 11 in 28 this season. Adapted quicker to the premier league than most foreign players. His goals to game ratio this season is better than Drogba or Torres.

A couple of quiet games and he's a tad overrated.

Disagree entirely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

Pauleta wrote: »
    I was gonna say well done to Crawley until that farcical scene at the end between the keeper and defender trying to decide and taking about 20 seconds to take the free. Morons like that dont deserve to be in football.

Good to see Rooney flop again, maybe his shin guard has lost form as well :pac:

wasnt really that bad...time was up, they needed more people up and the ref was gonna blow straight away anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

This match proves:

Fabio - not united class
    Anderson - Over-rated
    Carrick -poor
    Gibson - Terrible
    Chico - tad over-rated
    Bebe - ****
    Obertan - Extremely ****
    pretty conclusive proof there, you're right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

That Pablo mills played very well . Gibson played well first half . The whole team was crap second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Only thing you can really take out of that, is that Darren Gibson will be leaving in the summer.

And a place in the next round?

This thread is gonna be some laugh. Sell them all, we have the Academy Side.