Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week???

• 19-02-2011 5:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭

Can anyone tell me is gmit rag week starting this monday, i know nui is starting the 28th, just wondering if gmit is week before or after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Croppy Bhoy

JOC is in Club K next Weds so I presume that's GMIT's rag week (week before NUIGs)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Yeah, GMIT rag week starts this Monday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

fan-fcuking-tastic

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭drum!

na man, its not for another few weeks yet, tell your friends, all of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

GMIT rag week is this week :)

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Nuigforce

cue 10-12 pages of
    *No manners
    *back in my day
    *theyll get some land when they graduate
    *the future of this country

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Nuigforce wrote: »
    cue 10-12 pages of
    *No manners
    *back in my day
    *theyll get some land when they graduate
    *the future of this country

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Down with this sorta thing!

GMIT Ragweek starts today. They're having a 'Lovely girls competition' and a throw-the-welly championship this afternoon

NUIG starts next week, Feb 28th.

I was always studying during RAG Week, fu(kit i'm gonna enjoy this one!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I'll put on my nostradamus hat and opium pipe for this. I predict GMIT rag week will come off without many major issues..next week however "I predict a riot"

It's not even a numbers issue either, it's a mentality thing. Sense of entitlement. Anyway I'm not going to rag on them too much because it's a pointless battle.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭dmcg90

From speaking to most of my mates from NUI, GMIT and around the country, the general opinion is that everyones waiting for NUI Rag Week really.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

dmcg90 wrote: »
    From speaking to most of my mates from NUI, GMIT and around the country, the general opinion is that everyones waiting for NUI Rag Week really.

Library is as busy as usual anyways. Havent heard much on Facebook either so I presume you're right.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,905 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

We had our RAG Week in Limerick IT last week and a lot people were saying they were waiting for the NUIG Rag Week to really go on the lash! :eek:
    It's got quite the reputation.

mars bar wrote: »
    We had our RAG Week in Limerick IT last week and a lot people were saying they were waiting for the NUIG Rag Week to really go on the lash! :eek:

I would strong advise against going out during the NUIG RAG week - it's very likely there'll be a pretty big clampdown by both night clubs and the Gardaí.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

mars bar wrote: »

Brilliant, classes are emptier than usual and it's always a handy week
    for getting some extra exam tips from some of the lecturers!!
    Plenty of space as well in the library for us old fogeys :D

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭yeehaw

I would strong advise against going out during the NUIG RAG week - it's very likely there'll be a pretty big clampdown by both night clubs and the Gardaí.

I'd say you are serious craic.

I would strongly advise anyone to go and enjoy it, what epic weeks of beering we used to have, would love to be around for it.

The only week of solid drinking is race week now, I had rag week and race week when I was in college.

yeehaw wrote: »
    I'd say you are serious craic.

So serious craic is acting like a Gob****e, puking up in public, getting arrested, messing up the whole place?

God, yes. That does sound like fun!

So serious craic is acting like a Gob****e, puking up in public, getting arrested, messing up the whole place?

God, yes, That does describe every student in the whole wide world :rolleyes:

Students are well capable of having the craic without going OTT. Of course there's a minority that cause hassle, but what group doesn't have a minority of eejits?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Twat

will you come drinkin with us, you sound like great craic!

enjoy sittin in the dark peeking out the curtains at people socialising

• Registered Users Posts: 31,905 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I hate RAG Week no matter where it is, I avoid it like the plague. I don't like drunk people. I don't like crowds. I really don't like drunk people who make up big crowds!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

I would strongly advise anyone to go and enjoy it, what epic weeks of beering we used to have, would love to be around for it.

The only week of solid drinking is race week now, I had rag week and race week when I was in college.

And to think RAG week was supposed to have something to do with charity.

It does. Every year colleges around the country raise thousands for charities. Of course students use it as an excuse to get locked.... students use anything as an excuse to get locked :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

JohnCleary wrote: »
    It does. Every year colleges around the country raise thousands for charities. Of course students use it as an excuse to get locked.... students use anything as an excuse to get locked :pac:

Yeah, but most people don't know that it has anything to do with money-raising. What people know about it is the noise and the destruction and the idiocy that's around town (moreso than most other times of the year, anyway).

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

The NUIG rag week is only talked about so much because of the amount of hype that is created around it. It is no worse then any day during race week or most saturday nights, the fact that a lot of people were in college before the feeling is that "it wasn't that bad in my day" is only because you are not a part of it anymore, in reality it was always "That Bad" and will continue to be that way. Media attention is what is changing not attitudes.

As for the GMIT ragweek I heard they had some sort of festival on today in a field behind bodkins called Moxegen which had cover bands of bands you would expect in Oxegen. Sounds like a great idea which I wouldve gone to if I was still goin to GMIT. Anyone know how it went.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,491 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

JohnCleary wrote: »
    God, yes, That does describe every student in the whole wide world :rolleyes:

Students are well capable of having the craic without going OTT.

Link?

Actually everything was pretty quiet earlier. Fibbers was only place with a bouncer all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

how many nightclubs are in galway thinking of heading down wednesday?And what are the best one's it been 3 or 4 years since i have been out in galway

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭eyresquare

As for the GMIT ragweek I heard they had some sort of festival on today in a field behind bodkins called Moxegen which had cover bands of bands you would expect in Oxegen. Sounds like a great idea which I wouldve gone to if I was still goin to GMIT. Anyone know how it went.

Its on tomorrow in a hall down gleann na ri from 4-9. Four tribute bands and a tribute Deadmau5 act are playing. Its bring your own drink, which has the potential to be awful messy. (cheap spirits)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I'll put on my nostradamus hat and opium pipe for this. I predict GMIT rag week will come off without many major issues..next week however "I predict a riot"

It's not even a numbers issue either, it's a mentality thing. Sense of entitlement. Anyway I'm not going to rag on them too much because it's a pointless battle.
    I heard it's already kicked off with one GMIT student dropping his monocle into his champagne glass, 4 incidents of top hat theft and a butler in Glasan was forced to kiss a charlady. This is no way to run a box social.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Robbo wrote: »
    I heard it's already kicked off with one GMIT student dropping his monocle into his champagne glass, 4 incidents of top hat theft and a butler in Glasan was forced to kiss a charlady. This is no way to run a box social.

Sounds like that box social has rapidly declined into a hootenany!

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

eyresquare wrote: »
    Its on tomorrow in a hall down gleann na ri from 4-9. Four tribute bands and a tribute Deadmau5 act are playing. Its bring your own drink, which has the potential to be awful messy. (cheap spirits)

Recipe for disaster so :D wooo spring break