Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to look like a darts player

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Setting my "max" to 80kg for this. I know I can do well more, but I don't know if I'll be able for all the volume. Lets see how this goes..

Back Squats
    1st - bar x 5
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    3rd - 50kg x 5
    4 x 4 @ 57.5kg
    2x2 @ 65kg
    1 x 10 @ 57.5kg

Bent knee Good Mornings
    1st - 40kg x 10
    4 x 8 @ 55kg

Was going to jump on the GHR, but didn't trust it. Just did this instead:

4 sets of 20 crunches super setted with 4 sets of 30 russian twists with a 12.5kg (AWW YEAH) dumbbell.

**** 5/3/1 for everything other than pressing. Absolute pox. Going around in circles on this stuff.

Gonna just do what I did before for benching and just do close grip stuff for 4 sets of 5 and move up by 2.5 every time I hit all the reps for two weeks. I'll do 2 x 10 @ ~60% at the end of the sets every so often.

Well pissed off with this now. Other assistance stuff was grand - did curls at the end even though I was told not to. But my elbows have been in bits for a while and only the facepulls have been helping.

Week 7 of Magnusson / Ortmayer. Ugh...

Deads
    4 x 4 @ 142.5 (Should have been just 140)
    1 x 2 @ 160
    1 x 2 @ 177.5
    1 x 9 @ 140 (FFFFFFFUUUUUUU)

Stiff Deads
    Failed everything. Body said no.

Chest supported rows
    4 x 6 @ 70kg - Felt nice, back was tired.

Pulldowns
    4 x 5 @ No. 18

Facepulls
    3 x 15 @ 27.5kg - Shoulders and upper back felt great after these

Looking forward to just training upper back next week. Might do some BB shrugs to improve lockouts and get some traps.

Press
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 20kg x 5
    3rd - 27.5kg x 3
    4th - 30kg x 3
    5th - 35kg x 6 (shoulder did not feel good on the last rep)
    6th - 35kg x 5 (shoulder felt good until the fifth rep)

Did a good bit of stretching then continued.

E-Z skulls
    4 sets of 8 @ 30kg. Gonna try 5 sets next week and if everything feels good, I'll do 32.5 from now on.

DB Bent rows
    3 x 8 @ 40kg - Felt nice

Front Raise
    3 x 10 @ 12.5kg

Side Raise
    Fail - shoulder said no.

E-Z Bar curls
    3 x 12 @ 30kg

Facepulls
    3 x 10 @ No.8

Did loads of stretching. Been using biofreeze for my shoulder for the past week or so. Apart from the burning, it's pretty awesome. It's becoming a bit more 'fixed', as is my back. Everything's comin' up Millhouse!

Squats
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    3rd - 50kg x 5
    4th - 57.5kg x 4
    5th - 57.5kg x 4
    6th - 57.5kg x 4
    7th - 57.5kg x 4
    8th - 65kg x 2
    9th - 72.5kg x 2
    10th - 57.5kg x 10

Bent Knee Good Mornings
    1st - 40kg x 10
    3 sets of 8 @ 55kg

Sit ups
    4 sets of 30

Supersetted with 4 sets of 20 Russian Twists with 20kg DB.

Didn't have much time this morning. Working from 60 to 77.5 next week. Should be up to 97.5 by the end of the 12 weeks if I'm happy with all the reps.

Week 8 of Magnusson / Ortmayer

Bent Knee Good Mornings
    2 x 10 @ 50kg
    4 x 8 @ 70kg
    2 x 10 @ 60kg

Chest Supported Rows
    2 x 10 @ 60kg
    4 x 8 @ 75kg
    2 x 10 @ 60kg

DB Bent Rows
    3 x 10 @ 37.5kg

Reverse Pulldowns
    3 x 5 @ No.18

DB Side Raises

3 x 12 @ 10kg

Barbell Shrugs
    2 x 10 @ 80kg
    2 x 10 @ 100kg
    2 x 10 @ 120kg
    2 x 10 @ 130kg

E-Z Bar Curls
    3 x 12 @ 30kg

Didn't get a chance to do any facepulls, gym was black. I think this'll do anyway.

Press
    1st bar x 10
    2nd - 20kg x 6
    3rd - 27.5 x 5
    4th - 32.5 x 3
    5th - 35kg x 9 (shoulder felt it on the last rep, stopped)
    6th - 35kg x 6 (as above)

E-Z Bar Skulls
    4 sets of 10 @ 30kg - I'll try these again, could have definitely repped about 12 each set

DB bent rows
    3 sets of 8 @ 40kg

Front Raises
    3 x 12 @ 10kg

Lateral Raises
    3 x 12 @ 10kg

Ran out of time, planned e-z bar curls and facepulls for finish.

Chiro tonight, she specifically said to wait a while before doing upper body stuff.. :/

Squats
    1st - 40kg x 5
    2nd - 50kg x 5
    3rd - 60kg x 4
    4th - 60kg x 4
    5th - 60kg x 4
    6th - 60kg x 4
    7th - 70kg x 2
    8th - 77.5kg x 2
    9th - 60kg x 10

Bent Knee Good Mornings
    1 x 40kg x 10
    2 x 60 x 8
    1 x 60 x 3 (back got tired)

Sit ups S/S with Russian Twists
    4 sets of 30 sit ups
    4 sets of 20 RTs with 24kg DB

Just assistance work next week. Leg press, GMs, Leg curls and all that shít I don't do.

Closegrip Bench - index on the flat of the bar
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 40 x 5
    4 sets of 5 @ 47.5
    2 sets of 10 @ 40kg

Lat pulldown
    3 sets of 10 @ No.8
    1 set of 8 @ No.8 - Shoulder felt sore.

E-Z Curls
    3 x 12 @ 30kg

DB Curls
    3 x 8 @ 15kg

Front Raise
    3 x 12 @ 10kg

Lat Raise
    2 x 10 @ 10kg

Facepulls
    4 x 15 @ No. 7

Shoulder felt alright. I'll do as much band work as I can tonight.
    Going to up the CG bench to 50 next week, hopefully the shoulder holds up.

Deads
    4 x 4 @ 142.5
    1 x 2 @ 160
    1 x 2 @ 177.5
    1 x 14 @ 140

Stiff Deads
    3 x 5 @ 120kg Back was exhausted so I kept it light.

Chest supported rows
    4 x 6 @ 72.5kg

Pulldowns
    4 x 5 @ No. 18

Facepulls
    5 x 15 @ 27.5kg

BB Shrugs
    3 x 15 @ 130kg

My neck and back are in a jocker from deadlifting. Got today's session done anyway.

Pressin'
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 20kg x 5
    3rd - 27.5k x 5
    4th - 32.5kg x 3
    5th - 35kg x 10
    6th - 35kg x 4 (shoulder said no)

EZ-Bar skulls
    4 sets of 10 @ 30kg. Up to 32.5kg next week for 4 sets of 8.

DB Rows
    3 sets of 8 @ 40kg - I'll try for 3 sets of 10 next week

EZ-Bar curls
    3 sets of 15 @ 25

DB curls
    3 sets of 12 @ 15kg

Seated DB curls
    3 sets of 10 @ 12.5kg

Side Raises
    3 sets of 12 @ 10kg

Shítty Facepulls
    3 sets of 10 @ No.8

Pretty much it. Eating chicken and sweet potato for a post gym feed is ****ing awesome too. Gonna 'deload' next week and hit up some assistance stuff.

Bent Knee Good Mornings
    1st - 40kg x 10
    4 sets of 8 @ 65
    6th - 45kg x 10

Leg Press
    1st - 80kg x 10
    2nd - 120kg x 10
    5 sets of 8 @ 140kg

Single Leg Deadlifts
    2 sets of 10 @ 28kg

Goblets
    2 sets of 10 @ 40kg

Crunches
    3 sets of 30

supersetted wth

Russian Twists with 22kg DB
    3 sets of 20

Nice light day. Knees are going to be demolished from leg pressing though, haven't done it in ages and it always messes me up.

Close Grip Bench - Shoulder felt REALLY good. No sharpness in my neck or shoulder region.
    1st - bar x 12
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    3rd - 45kg x 5
    4 sets of 5 @ 50kg
    8th - 42.5kg x 8
    9th - 40kg x 10

Lat pulldown
    4 sets of 10 @ No. 8

Tricep Push down
    4 sets of 10

E-Z Bar Curls - Supersetted with 10kg plate pullovers
    3 sets of 12 @ 25

DB Curls - Supersetted with 10kg plate pullovers
    3 sets of 10 @ 15kg

Front Raises
    3 sets of 12 @ 10kg

Shítty facepulls
    3 sets of 10 @ No.8

Woke up and my neck and shoulders were in bits. I ended up doing a load of stretching and band work for about half an hour and then went off to get the bus. Keeping the weight light on the shoulders and bicep work because I know when I got back to the chiro she'll end up levelling me. <3 biofreeze.

Yesterday was just a write off. So hungover it was just a stupid mistake to even leave the house. Will re-do that session next weekend.

Demolished. Did nice light day just to get out of the gaff.

Press
    3 x 10 @ 25kg

E-Z Bar skull crushers
    3 x 8 @ 32.5kg

DB Bent Row

3 x 8 @ 42.5

Feeling like I'm coming down with a cold or something similar. Just wanted to get in this morning and do something. Neck and back are in bits from deads, shrugs and facepulls on saturday.

Was sick during the week and didn't eat anything decent so I figured it'd be a shít session. It wasn't as bad as I expected.

Warmup + Loads of stretching

Deads
    1st - 80kg x 3
    2nd - 100kg x 3
    3rd - 120kg x 3
    4th - 130kg x 3
    5th - 140kg x 3
    4 sets of 4 @ 147.5
    10th - 165 x 2
    11th - 182.5 x 2
    12th - 147.5 x 9 (Last rep was a war)

Stiff Legged Deads
    3 x 5

Chest Supported Rows
    3 x 6

DB Rows
    3 x 10

Reverse Pulldowns
    3 x 5

Barbell Shrugs
    4 x 6

Facepulls
    3 x 15

Gonna gets some eats.

I wasn't expecting much this morning, but just wanted to get stuff done.

Press
    1st - bar x 12
    2nd - 20kg x 6
    3rd - 27.5kg x 5
    4th - 32.5kg x 5
    5th - 35kg x 6
    6th - 35kg x 6
    7th - 35kg x 4 - Shoulder said no.

Seated DB press
    1st - 15kg x 8
    4 sets of 6 @ 18kg

E-Z Bar Skull Crusher
    1st - 32.5kg x 6 (left elbow was at me)
    2nd - 32.5kg x 8 (left elbow again, but said fúck it)

DB Bent rows
    3 sets of 8 @ 42.5kg (These weren't the best, so I'll do them again)

E-Z Bar curls - super setted with reverse curls with 10kg plate
    3 sets of 12 @ 30

DB Curls - super setted with reverse curls with 10kg plate
    3 x 10 @ 15kg

DB Side Raises
    2 sets of 10 @ 10kg

Facepulls
    3 sets of 10 @ No.8

My neck and back are fairly DOMS'd to bits from training at the weekend so I didn't think I'd stay as long as I did. I'll re-do this session next week but up the weight on the DB seated press - aiming for 4 sets of 5 on that and then 3 sets of 6 on the standing press.

Fairly pissed off with my elbow acting up as well, hopefully that clears up for next week.

Squats
    1st - bar x 5
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    3rd - 50kg x 5
    4 sets of 4 @ 60kg
    8th - 70kg x 2
    9th - 77.5kg x 2
    10th - 60kg x 10

Bent Knee Good Mornings
    1st - 40kg x 10
    3 sets of 8 @ 62.5kg

Crunches S/S with 25kg russian twists

Alright morning, was in late and didn't get to do anything other than the above unfortunately. Finding my feet are pointing outwards rather than forwards a little more than they should be. I tried squatting with them pointing a bit straighter but I was getting serious pains in my knees.

Warmup then loads of back and shoulder stuff. External rotation, scap push ups, wall slides, and all that.

CG Bench
    1st - bar x 12
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    4 sets of 5 @ 50kg
    1 set of 15 @ 40kg

Incline
    1st - bar x 12
    3 sets of 6 @ 30kg - just to see how the shoulder was holding up. I'll up this to 35kg next week.

Lat pulldown
    4 sets of 6 @ No.9 - Up to 8 reps next week

Pushdowns
    3 sets of 8 @ No.14 - Up to 4 sets next week

E-Z Bar Curls - s/s with 10kg plate reverse curl (10 reps)

3 sets of 12 @ 30

DB Curls - s/s with 10kg plate reverse curl (10 reps)
    3 sets of 10 @ 15kg

Front raises
    3 x 12 @ 10kg

Facepulls
    3 sets of 12 @ No. 8

Shoulder felt good. Only a little twinge here and there. Did loads of chest stretches yesterday and this morning so as the chiro was saying, tight pec muscles are involved in all the pain.

Nearly went on my arse even before I got in.

Deads
    1st - 80kg x 3
    2nd - 100kg x 3
    3rd - 120kg x 3
    4th - 130kg x 3
    5th - 140kg x 3
    4 sets of 4 @ 150kg
    1 x 2 @ 170
    1 x 2 @ 187.5 (barely made the last rep, back was tired)
    1 x 8 @ 150 - So pissed off with this. Going to redo this on Friday.

Stiff Deads
    2 x 6
    2 x 5 (back gave out)

Chest supported rows
    4 x 6

DB Rows
    3 x 10

Pulldowns
    4 x 5

Facepulls
    4 x 15

Forgot my straps for doing BB shrugs, the grip is completely gone in both hands from DLing so I'll do them next week. Going to redo this week on Friday or whenever. I'm not leaving until I get the 10 reps @ 150.

In a jocker from yesterday. Hamstrings, lower back and my neck are feeling it pretty bad. Should have probably just gone in to stretch and foamroll but lifting **** seemed more interesting.

Press
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 20kg x 5
    3rd - 27.5kg x 5
    4th - 30kg x 5
    5th - 35kg x 6
    6th - 35kg x 6
    7th - 35kg x 6
    8th - 30kg x 4 - shoulder and neck said no.

Seated DB press
    1st - 15kg x 8
    4 sets of 5 @ 22.5kg - up to 25kg next week methinks

Facepulls
    3 x 12 @ No. 8

Had to be in at 9 so I had to keep it short. I'll probably do some foamrolling and larosse ball stuff tonight just to sort my back, neck and legs out.

Gonna try the 3 x 6 again @ 35kg and try get >7 reps @ 30kg. Hopefully the shoulder holds up. We'll see.

Also, this is why I'm fat: http://i52.tinypic.com/8z39l4.jpg

Knees are in a fair wreck this morning. Should have done some foamrolling and lacross ball stuff on them yesterday but wasn't arsed. Regretting it now.

Warmup, stretching etc

Squats
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 40kg x 5
    3rd - 50kg x 4
    4th - 60kg x 4
    4 sets of 4 @ 67.5
    9th - 77.5 x 2
    10th - 82.5 x 2
    11th - 67.5 x 6 - right knee gave out

Had to leave, was late for work. I'll repeat this next week. Knees were in a jocker so it made this a lot more difficult to keep good form on the 9th and 10th sets.

Yesterday mornin'

Bent Knee GMs
    1st - 40 x 10
    5 sets of 8 @ 65kg
    1 set of 12 @ 40kg

Stiff Deads
    1st - 70kg x 5
    5 sets of 6 @ 90kg

DB Bent Rows
    4 sets of 8 @ 45kg

Plate loaded row
    1st 60kg x 12
    3 sets of 10 @ 70kg
    2 sets of 8 @ 90kg

DB Shrugs
    5 sets of 15 @ 40kg

Reverse Pulldowns
    4 sets of 5 @ No 11
    1 set of 4 @ No 13

Facepulls
    5 sets of 15 @ No. 8

Dear Santy, all I want is some mutant traps.

Yesterday evening:

Pints - AMRAP

OH Press
    1st - bar x 10
    2nd - 27.5kg x 5
    3rd - 30kg x 5
    2 sets of 35 x 6
    1 set of 35 x 7 - fair bit of leg drive in these, shoulder was giving out.
    1 set of 30kg x 5

Seated DB Shoulder press
    1st - 18kg x 6
    2 sets of 25kg x 5
    1 set of 25kg x 3 - shoulder said no.

E-Z Bar skulls - elbows went mental during these. Very painful.
    3 sets of 6 @ 32.5
    1 set of 7 @ 32.5

Incline Bench - wasn't supposed to do this today, was bored.
    2 sets of 6 @ 30kg
    1 set of 5 @ 35kg - shoulder said no.

DB Rows - dead stop on the ground each rep.
    4 sets of 6 @ 45kg - My shoulder is able for these now, I'm not going to increase the weight until I can get 4 sets of 10 without pain.

E-Z bar curls - s/s with reverse curls with 15kg plate
    3 sets of 12 @ 30
    1 set of 8 @ 30 - shoulder said no

DB Shrugs
    5 sets of 6 @ 30kg - I think the medium reps and medium sets will be a good finisher. I don't think it's too good for my shoulders to be doing mega high reps on these.

In an awful jocker today. Had a rake of pints last night and I didn't think I'd be able to do anything. Got in at 10 left at ~1pm. Daycent

Gonna eat and watch WSM 2011. Squatting tomorrow.

Shít session. Left hamstring cramped up when I was stretching. Didn't think much of it so I kept going and it didn't bother me again until later..

Squats
    1st - bar x 12
    2nd - 40kg x 4
    3rd - 60kg x 4
    4 x 4 @ 67.5
    1 set of 2 @ 77.5
    1 set of 2 @ 82.5
    1 set of 5 @ 67.5 - was supposed to get 8+ but my left hamstring cramped to bits
    Attempt 2 - 4 reps @ 67.5 - cramped again and got a shooting pain in my hip / groin region.

Bailed outta there. Shít session all in all, but more importantly, I hope this isn't going to affect me for Saturday's deadlift max test. I might give it another week before I do anything again.

One of the lads from my team in work (based in the states) peddled me off his Romaleos for 95 eurons. He wore them once and they didn't fit so couldn't flog them quick enough. Well chuffed. Going to finish up this training cycle and see what they're like to squat in.

Did a session this morning in the gym near work. Just foamrolled and stretched a bit, still feeling a bit sore.

Left leg isn't too bad, I reckon it will sort itself out if I just keep doing the above for a few days and let it do it's thing.Wasn't feeling as much pressure on it today, but still a bit tender.

I'll head back and redo yesterdays session on Wednesday. New shoes should be here by the end of next week. Gonna lash a load of water, bcaas and glutamine into me, that usually sorts me out.

Leg is feeling daycent.

Did a bunch of band work, stretching and foamrolling this morning. My back is like a sponge.

I brought in the hockey ball and mauled my right knee, it's been a bit of **** lately pretty much doing anything. I think I've been doing more damage to it deadlifting. I do barely any quad work so I'm guessing it's taking the brunt from the initial knee extension of the lift.

I'll try lash in a few sets of leg extensions after squatting in future. But for now I can only hope this doesn't come back to bite me in the hole.

Gonna update this when I actually make decent progress and stop being a spa with my training and diet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Dathai wrote: »
    Gonna update this when I actually make decent progress and stop being a spa with my training and diet.

Sometimes just getting to the bar is progress ;)

I just need to stop eating **** and lift correctly!