Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to look like a darts player

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Jan 7th I weighed in at 104.9kg. Quite surprised it's this low, I think I lost a good bit from when I was sick.

On about 2700 calories a day, ~20% carbs ~50% protein and ~30% fats.

Tuesday
    Rowing
    500m warm up
    4 sets of 200m - averaging about 50seconds
    500m finish
    Crosstrainer for 2.5km @ No.7 Resistance

Friday
    Crunches with 12kg medicine ball
    5 sets of 30

Russian Twist with 25kg Dumbell
    5 sets of 20

Rower
    500m warmup
    4 sets of 200m avg 52seconds
    500m finish

Crosstrainer
    3.5km @ No.9 Resistance. I think it was ~20mins.

Yesterday:
    Deads + usual assistance.

Crosstrainer
    3km @ No.9 Resistance

I should probably have weighed myself before I started the diet...
    Dunno if I should get my bodyfat tested / skinfolds measured, I'm guessing it'd be off the charts, but I'll just try drop to >100kg in the next week or two.

Still lifting, just trying to maintain them for the moment.

Saturday 14th Jan - 99.2kg

Our dog was put to sleep yesterday so spent the week with him instead of training. Feeling a bit ****, gonna take the week off.

Dossed in the gym. Shoulders, bi's, tris, incline bench, facepulls, scap stuff. I had a deep tissue massage last wednesday and it didn't do much for the shoulder, still a bit fooked. Need to do more behind the neck press stuff apparently, something about rhomboids.

I'm 98.5 this morning, class. Gonna do the all levels jitz class tomorrow.

This morning

Rowing
    1x 1km
    4x 300m
    1x 1km

leg raises, crunches, Russian twists, side bends, hyper extensions.

Cross trainer - 2km.

This evening:
    First bjj class in ages. Got mauled. Neck and shoulder were a bit dodge.

This morning: 97.3kg

Yesterday: Tried out the romaleos in a mate's gaff. Squatted in 2's up to 100kg then dropped to 70kg for 3 sets of 5. The difference is pretty much night and day with the shoes. Didn't really get pulled forward like I thought I would. Defo felt it in my hams afterwards.

Going mad on this diet, eating practically nothing but chicken, beefcake, yogurt and a little bit of rice.

Drank at the weekend and ate crap. At 99.4kg this morning.

Did loads of shoulder rehab this morning, band work, weights n' shít. Did crosstrainer for about 5km at level 8.

Can't get to BJJ tonight, I'm in the office until ~8. Raging as it's the only class I can really make now with the new timetable.

I thought I tore my right lat and right trap on Friday. Some eejit tipped off the bar when I was deadlifting and it caught me at a weird angle.

Was ****ting my brick for the past few days as they were both very tender. I've been sleeping and eating like a king the past few days (had a massive feed then went to nandos and had a whole chicken and a mountain of sweet potato - diet shmiet).

Did some stretching and it all felt good. Kept it light this morning and did some upper body stuff. Shoulder is still fúcked. No voodoo can fix me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

The weight was falling off you for the first couple of weeks man! Almost 8 kgs?!

Well done indeed.

Cheers horse. Yeah, I cut out a LOT of **** (We've free food in work - chocolate, crisps, cans of coke, everything you can think of. I went mental), hit the cardio pretty hard and my carb intake was probably ~ 10-15% of my over all food intake. Down side of it all was that I was completely exhausted! I'm still fat though :(

I'm going to just do 15 mins of cardio at the end of my weights sessions and just do one all-out cardio day a week. Keep the carbs at 15-20% just so I'm not wrecked.

This morning: sleepy warmup, facepulls then followed by squats and assistance. Leg extension for 3 sets of 10 to warm up the knees. Worked up to 140 x 12 on the leg press for 2 sets and then jumped onto the leg curl machine and did a couple of sets of 10.

Threw on the Romaleos for the squats and found it pretty difficult to fight against being pulled forward.

Signed up to some biggest loser thing in work. Previous best by someone in here was 20lbs in 12 weeks. I reckon I can beat it.

Saturday - Stretching, foamrolling and loads of cardio. Did 8 x 500m rowing blocks followed by 4 x 300m. Crosstrainer for like 30minutes (3.5km). Sweated through 2 t-shirts and a really thick hoody. Went home, ate, slept.

Sunday
    Back work. Haven't done much back training since I thought I tore my lat + trap (turns out I didn't, they were just a bit sore).
    Bent Knee Good Mornings
    RDLS
    Plate Loaded Row
    Low cable row (worked up to 4 sets of 20 @ ~210 I think it was)
    Reverse Pulldowns
    BB Upright rows
    Cable upright rows
    Facepulls

Today:
    Started the Diesel Crew shoulder rehab circuit. Did circuit 1 today and was very impressed. The posterior capsule stretch was class. Definitely made a difference. Felt a bit of a twinge in the right shoulder on the last rep of CG bench though, I think it's whatever way I pressed it out.

OH Press
    4x4

Facepulls
    2 x 15 - mega light

CG Bench
    Warm Up sets
    Work sets: 2 x 10

Incline
    2 x 10

Cable Lateral Raise
    2 x 10 e/s

Facepulls - Heavy
    2 x 10

No pain on the incline, just a fúcker at the initial lift off.
    Not too pushed about chasing numbers for the next while. Once I don't demolish myself this year, I'll be happy.

EDIT: In case anyone's wondering "Why in the FÚCK is he doing the biggest loser?". Well, I get 400 quid if I win, plus I won't be such a fat prick.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Diesel Crew shoulder rehab circuit vet good

Let's try that one again,

I found Diesel Crew shoulder rehab circuit to be very good.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Dathai wrote: »
    EDIT: In case anyone's wondering "Why in the FÚCK is he doing the biggest loser?". Well, I get 400 quid if I win, plus I won't be such a fat prick.
    Are you doing just one weigh in or are they tracking it over time? you could do a water cut for the final weigh-in if there's only one, and that might be good for a couple of kilos!

It's being tracked every week unfortunately!

I reckon steady cardio for 8 weeks or so then up it and lash as much l-carnitine into me as possible on training days. Then just the bare minimum amount of carbs for me to survive the weigh in day.

'Mon 400 euro!! Baby needs a new pair of shoes (or so the social welfare officer keeps telling me).

Squats this morning. Hams and lower back were on fire even from just squatting the bar. Don't think they've recovered from Sunday's session.

Anyway-
    Shítty Squats in sets of 5 up to 75 x 5.
    Leg Extension - 3 sets of 10 @ 14 (just to warm up the knees)
    Leg Press - Worked up to 2 sets of 160 x 10 and had to leg it to work.

Fairly píssed off that the squats were so crap. I'll probably redo this next week and get some ham curls and GHRs in.

Rehab circuit.

Close Grip Benching
    3 x 10 @ 37.5

EZ Bar Skulls
    3 x 10 @ 35kg

Pushdowns
    3 x 10 @ #13

Rowin'.

No pain in the shoulder today at all. Felt like I could have just kept knocking the reps out on the bench, which is a strange feeling because I'm usually always in bits.

Deadly.

Yesterday evening @ mates gym

Deads
    Chest Supported Rows s/s upright rows
    DB rows
    Reverse Pulldowns
    Lat pulldowns
    Shrugs
    Ham Curls
    Single Leg Deads
    Calf raises
    Hypers s/s side bends with 25kg
    Abs

Crippled this morning.

One of the busiest weeks in work ever, but I still managed to sleep an average of 10 hours a night and eat like a king.

Piss poor squats on Wednesday. Leg press and ham curls afterwards were class. It's first time I've felt blood pump into my feet. I really need to hit my assistance harder. Keine abs.

This morning:
    Warm up - Rehab Circuit + Other Stuff
    Close Grip Bench - 3 x 10
    Seated DB Shoulder Press - 3 x 8
    E-Z Bar Skulls - 1x10, 2x8, 1x10
    Seated DB Curls - 2 x 10
    Preacher Curl - 3 x 8

Saturday is back day. Hopefully get some ham and glute assistance in.

Yesterday

Bent Knee GMs - 2 x 10, 4 x 8, 2 x 10
    Rack Pulls below the knee - worked up to 180 for 3 sets of 3 and worked down in sets of 3 to 120kg.
    Bent over rows - 2 x 10, 4 x 6, 2 x 10
    Seated Rows - 2 x 10, 4 x 8, 2 x 10
    Lat pulldown - 4 x 8
    Low Cable Row - 4 x 12
    Stiff Leg Deadlift - 4 x 10 @ 100kg
    Leg Curl - 5 x 8-10 reps. Kept the eccentric phase fairly slow, killed my legs.
    Reverse Pulldown - 4 x 8, 1 x 3 (failed)

Serious brick arse on me today.

Thinking about what I'll do for deads in the next while. I'm thinking
    Week 1 - 3 x 5
    Week 2 - 4 x 4
    Week 3 - 5 x 3
    Week 4 - 6 x 2

Then reset. Have to work out what weight wouldn't demolish me.

Hands are destroyed.

Close grip bench - 3 sets of 10 @ 40kg
    Incline - 2 sets of 10 @ 32.5kg
    Tricep Pushdowns - Cant remember the lb. 3 sets of 10
    Low cable row - 3 x 10 @ 160 (I think?)
    Plated loaded row - 2 x 10 @ 80kg, 1 x 8 @ 100kg
    Preacher curls - 2 x 10
    Hammer Curls - 2 x 10
    Facepulls - 1 x 12

Need to find my notepad.

Mouth has been destroyed with these braces all week. Took yesterday off work and off training just to sleep and eat as much tramadol and anti-biotics as I could. It was class.

This morning

Squats
    Worked up to 4x4 @ 70

Bent Knee GMs
    2 x 10 @ 40
    2 x 10 @ 60
    1 x 10 @ 65
    2 x 10 @ 60

Leg Extension (to warm up the knees)
    2 x 15 @ No.14
    1 x 10 @ No. 16

Leg Press
    Worked up to 160kg for 2 sets of 10. Easy peasy. I'll probably just do 180 next week for 2 sets.

Ham Curl
    2 sets of 10 @ No.8 - Really slow eccentric
    2 sets of 8 @ No. 10 - Same as above
    2 sets of 8 @ No. 7 - Same as above.

5X3 on the squats next week I reckon. Easy enough. Glad I got the bent knee good mornings in.

Warm up - shoulder rehab stuffs.

Close Grip Bench
    Work sets - 2 x 10 @ 42.5

Push Downs
    1st - 110 x 15
    3 sets of 15 @ 140 - Easy enough

Seated DB Shoulder Press
    1st - 6 x 15kg
    4 sets of 8 @ 20kg - Easy enough, might up this to 22.5.

E-Z Bar Skulls
    1st - 20kg x 15
    2nd - 30kg x 10
    Elbow was sore.

E-Z Bar Preachers
    3 sets of 10 @ 20kg

DB Curls
    4 sets of 10 @ 12.5kg - Shoulder can't really handle higher weights.

Facepulls
    2 x 12 @ No.8

Gonna do back training on Sunday, haven't really eaten enough this week to do a decent deadlift session so I'll just do some back work instead.

This morning:

Bent knee good mornings
    1 x 10 @ 40
    2 x 10 @ 60
    2 x 6 @ 70
    1 x 10 @ 60

Stiff leg deads
    2 x 10 @ 80
    1 x 10 @ 90
    Hands died. Even mixed grip failed me, jelly fingers.

DB Bent Rows
    1 x 10 @ 37.5
    3 x 8 @ 40

Low cable row
    5 x 10 @ 160

Hypers
    1 x 10 @ bw
    4 x 10 @ bw + 15kg
    1 x 10 @ bw

Lat pull down
    3 x 10 @ 8

Seated Row
    3 x 10 @ 90
    1 x 8 @ 100

loads of other stuff, shrugs, reverse pull downs , upright rows, face pulls.

Hands are still in bits from during the week. Forgot my straps today and really regretting it. Good session though.

This mornin'

Squats
    1st - 40 x 5
    2nd - 60 x 4
    3rd - 67.5 x 4
    5 sets of 3 @ 72.5

Leg Extensions (warming up the knees)
    2 sets of 12 @ #12
    2 sets of 15 @ #15

Leg press
    Worked up to 3 sets of 8 @ 200kg

Ham Curls - Slow enough negatives.
    1 set of 10 @ #8
    3 sets of 10 @ #10
    1 set of 8 @ #10

Hyper-extensions
    1 set of 15 @ BW
    2 sets of 12 @ BW + 15KG
    1 set of 10 @ BW

Had to leg it to work.

6x2 for next week and then back down.

This mornin'

Russian Twists
    4 sets of 20 @ 25kg
    1 set of 30 @ 25kg

DB side bends
    4 sets of 10 e/s @ 37.5kg

Rowin'
    3 x 300m

Cross trainer
    25 minutes level 8

Did 1 minute casual then 40 seconds going balls to the wall then repeat. Did that for 25 minutes and then did a cool down of 3 minutes @ level 3.

Down 3 kg. I'm going to book a iDXA scan out in UCD at some point this month for the craic.

Saturday

Deads - warmed up to 160 and then got called to collect a delivery. Turns out it was 2x350kg cabinets that had to be brought up 8 flights of stairs. Dismantling them and bringing up the bits was easily the most exhausting thing I've ever done.

This morning
    OH Press
    3x4 @ 32.5kg

CG Bench
    2x10 @ 45kg
    1 x 8 @ 40kg

Incline
    2 x 10 @ 32.5

Seated v-grip Cable Row
    3 x 10 @ 210
    2 x 10 @ 220
    2 x 20 @ 180 - Gonna switch to the pully at the lat pulldown. Moar weight.

Lat pulldown
    3 x 10 @ No.8

Tricep Pushdown
    3 x 12 @ No. 12

DB curls
    3 x 10 @ 12.5

Preachers
    3 x 12

This morning:

Squats
    1st - 40 x 5
    2nd - 60 x 4
    3rd - 67.5 x 4
    6 sets of 2 @ 75kg - Grand.

Leg Extensions
    2 x 12 @ No. 16

Leg Press
    Worked up by 40kg in sets of 10 to 2 sets of 10 @ 200kg

Leg Curls
    4 sets of 10 @ No.12
    2 sets of 8 @ No. 10 - Slow eccentric.

Cable Ab Crunches
    1st - 30 @ No 10
    3 sets of 20 @ No 13
    2 sets of 20 @ No 15
    1 set of 15 @ No 16 - UUUUUUUUUUUUGH

Hypers
    1st 12 @ BW
    4 sets of 10 @ BW + 20KG - Mega back pump

3x5 @ 70 on the squats next week.

Shoulder warmup super set with jocks riding down - arse crack out.

Close grip
    4 sets of 8 @ 47.5
    1 set of 6 @ 47.5

Seated DB Shoulder Press
    4 sets of 5 @ 22.5

E-Z Bar Skulls
    Did a few, can't remember.

DB Rows
    3 sets of 10 @ 40kg

Seated Row
    4 sets of 8 @ 100kg

DB shrugs
    3 sets of 10 @ 42.5kg

Rowing:
    5 sets of 300m
    2 sets of 500m

Cross Trainer
    1 minute casual, 40 seconds going all out. Did that for about 40 minutes and got up to 5.3km

This cardio session means nothing as I'm apparently up 6lbs. Apparently someone in here has lost ~ a stone in weight. I can either:

a) Ethically beat them through calorie deficit, exercise and good diet starting Monday.
    b) Beat the shíte out of them
    c) Keep doing what I'm doing
    d) C but hit the cardio really hard about 3 weeks out and hope for the best.

I'm probably gonna go for option D because I'm doing alright on lifts (by that I mean, haven't destroyed myself again).

400 blips does sound nice though.

Trained with two mates this morning in their gym, savage buzz in there.

Deads
    Worked up to 3 sets of 6 @ 160 - felt great not to be killing myself trying to go mad heavy.

Stiff deads - 5 sets of 8 @ 100

Did a few sets of rack pulls and a load of back work (rows, rows, rows, pulldowns, rows and bent knee good mornings)

Did BB shrugs up to 120kg for 10 reps for 2 sets. Then did DB shrugs - 4 sets of 15 @ 47.5

Loads of energy going in, well chuffed with the stiff legged deads, I usually fail at anything over 6 after a 2 or 3 sets.

Currently hypnotised by this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vr9mLP6NwnU

Short on time this morning and all the racks were taken.

Close grip
    2 sets of 10 @ 47.5 (Last time I did this my shoulder nearly fell off - success!)

Incline Bench
    2 sets of 10 @ 35kg

Seated VGrip Cable Row
    2 x 10 @ #12
    2 x 12 @ #14
    3 x 8 @ #15
    1 x 6 @ #15

Tricep Pushdown
    3 sets of 10 @ #12
    2 sets of 15 @ #13

I'll hopefully get some OH press stuff done on Friday and a bit more back work. Won't train Saturday, but I'll head in on Sunday instead.