Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parties in Favour of Leagalising Cannabis

• 23-02-2011 6:30pm

Right, does anyone know for sure if Labour are in favour of legalising Cannabis? Because thats what I have heard. I also know that young Fine Gael are in favour aswell, however when asked about the subject, Enda Kenny simply said "No, we will not be legalising Cannabis"...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Great to see the important issues being discussed. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

No one's in favour of it. The greens want it decriminalised for possesion, that's about it.

Looks like the medical route for Ireland.

PauloMN wrote: »

This is important to some people. Especially those that seek it for medical purposes.

*Edit* Source for the party leaders' opinions [URL="http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=70798258&postcount=1017[/URL]
    "]here[/URL]

I don't think it matters what these clowns have to say to be honest. The status of cannabis in Ireland will be decided outside Ireland, in the US, UK and Europe. Like Everything else. Ireland's not going to be at the forefront of legalisation but if everyone else does it, the Irish politicians will sheepishly follow along as always.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 mickmon111

I'm not sure which party I will give my vote to yet, can anybody tell me which party is most in favour of legalizing or even decriminalizing cannabis? I think is the most important issue that has to be dealt with.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

As said above the green party are in favour of decriminalising possession. i think the socialist party/ula are in favour of legalisation.

mickmon111 wrote: »
    I'm not sure which party I will give my vote to yet, can anybody tell me which party is most in favour of legalizing or even decriminalizing cannabis? I think is the most important issue that has to be dealt with.

Your best bet is independant IMHO. That goes for all the other policy areas too. Luke "Ming" Flanagan could get in and has stated that he would do business with Fine Gael. If FG get a number around 75 or so they might opt to go into government with "like-minded independents" but they aren't very like-minded with Flanagan.

It's not much but it's a possibility Ireland's best-known cannabis advocate having the most visable platform available to get his message across.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

You have your issues you'd like tackled in the election and he/she has theirs. Don't blindly discriminate.

imo, as a full time smoker of cannabis I don't believe it should be legalised becuase i would dread to think how badly they'd mess it up. The way it is now in the country at the moment is fine by me. I'm getting Amsterdam quality product, tax free, from reliable sources...in fact, its never been so good.

imo, self cultivation should be legalised. Allowing citizens to grow and be taxed on the growing of maximum 2/3 plants for personal usage. Selling would still be illegal, as would possession of larger amounts. It would free up Garda time and ease crime figures that this particular drug has such a massive impact on.

At present I know of not one party that has mentioned anything whatsoever about this issue, likewise I have seen nothing but Sinn Féin mention anything about crime in general. Matt Cooper said it best, it's almost as if there is no crime to be discussed.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Your best bet is independant IMHO. That goes for all the other policy areas too. Luke "Ming" Flanagan could get in and has stated that he would do business with Fine Gael. If FG get a number around 75 or so they might opt to go into government with "like-minded independents" but they aren't very like-minded with Flanagan.

It's not much but it's a possibility Ireland's best-known cannabis advocate having the most visable platform available to get his message across.

Apart from the cannabis issue, which is really in the peripheral, Ming is certainly close enough to Fine Gael to maek a deal possible. He's a member of the New Vision group, remember.

An angreement would be dependent on local government reform and turf cutting in particular. If that's how the Dáil did break down, expect Ming to be a big part of those talks. Cannabis isn't going to feature, though.

bc dub wrote: »
    imo, as a full time smoker of cannabis I don't believe it should be legalised becuase i would dread to think how badly they'd mess it up. The way it is now in the country at the moment is fine by me. I'm getting Amsterdam quality product, tax free, from reliable sources...in fact, its never been so good.

That's fine until until one of your friends in that Amsterdam link gets caught and names get dragged into it and criminal records are handed out, meaning otherwise law-abiding citizens can't ever emmigrate and have their employment prospects seriously hampered because of the criminal record.

I agree that atm if you manage to get a good hook-up, you will get quality at good prices whereas if it was legal in this country you'd get over-priced, over-taxed, ****e quality weed. Strangely enough, I've paid VAT on all sorts of weed paraphernalia but haven't paid full-shop price for a packet of smokes in about ten years because I can get them for half on the black market. And smoking cigarettes is legal!

As a fellow full-time toker, I would like this legalised so that I can grow my own stash for my own private use and not have to deal with courts and criminal records.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Violafy

mickmon111 wrote: »

Never mind Enda - you'd obviously be a much more suitable taoiseach. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

It's important because some people would like to keep their private lives intact without breaking the law. This is a silly, dismissive thing to say. Doubtless there are more cannabis smokers in Ireland than there are Anglo-Irish bondholders, yet the protection or lack thereof afforded to them by the bigger players is constantly being discussed.

To the OP: Apart from the greens, none of the parties are in favour of decriminalising cannabis. Of course, it won't happen until it happens in the UK first, and they are at least an electoral cycle away from following the example currently being set in Europe and the US. However, Ivana Bacik, Richard Boyd Barrett and of course, Luke Flanagan have all publicly supported this idea. Doubtless most of the lefty candidates will support this once it stops being political suicide. On the other hand, there's no socially libertarian but economically moderate option anywhere apart from a few loony independents this time. I wouldn't hold your breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 865 ✭✭✭generalmiaow

Seeing as you're breaking the law now anyway, what will tax evasion matter after legalisation? It might be fine by you now, but I think you might feel differently if you fall victim to the current legal insanity. Agreed about no candidates mentioning crime or in fact any other issue than banks and pensions, it makes for a very boring watching for those of us bored by all this empty rhetoric about balancing books.
    But I'm sure there are plenty of people who feel the the economy is "fine by them" (civil servants with no mortgages, etc).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

There are enough people with mental health problems without legalising a drug that leads to mental health problems.

I was on a forum years ago and one guy in Canada on that forum grew and smoked cannabis, he went to jail a few times while I was on that forum, but he was mentally ill.
    I had to leave as his behaviour got out of hand, he was good friends with the person who ran the forum, he attacked members for no reason, started supporting extreme regimes and would go on other forums and expose children to hardcore porn of every variety.
    He smoked lots and lots of cannabis and I believe it made him mentally ill.
    His behaviour was not normal.

It would be a disgrace if any party legalised it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Min wrote: »
    There are enough people with mental health problems without legalising a drug that leads to mental health problems.

I was on a forum years ago and one guy in Canada on that forum grew and smoked cannabis, he went to jail a few times while I was on that forum, but he was mentally ill.
    I had to leave as his behaviour got out of hand, he was good friends with the person who ran the forum, he attacked members for no reason, started supporting extreme regimes and would go on other forums and expose children to hardcore porn of every variety.

That's a problem with the education system relating to cannabis. At the moment it's saying to everyone that they'll get messed up. But for the majority of people who do smoke it, that doesn't happen. So you have a guy smoking it, and it is messing him up, but he doesn't realise it because everyone else is fine, so the information given out is considered to be a lie. Instead the information should be honest, and say for the majority of people the biggest negative effect will be not wanting to get off your couch unless there's a pizza man at the door. But for a small few, there will be negative effects, and inform them of the signs to look out for in such cases.

The government and health services don't tell everyone "DON'T DRINK YOU WILL BECOME AN ALCOHOLIC" instead they point out the signs for the individual, and his family and friends to look out for. If those measures were taken it would be a lot better for a lot more people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

You have your issues you'd like tackled in the election and he/she has theirs. Don't blindly discriminate.

imo, self cultivation should be legalised. Allowing citizens to grow and be taxed on the growing of maximum 2/3 plants for personal usage. Selling would still be illegal, as would possession of larger amounts. It would free up Garda time and ease crime figures that this particular drug has such a massive impact on.

At present I know of not one party that has mentioned anything whatsoever about this issue, likewise I have seen nothing but Sinn Féin mention anything about crime in general. Matt Cooper said it best, it's almost as if there is no crime to be discussed.
    This is one of the more intelligent arguments in favour of semi-legalization that i've heard. The government would make a complete balls of taxing personal cultivation but then what don't they make a complete balls of?

Seeing as you're breaking the law now anyway, what will tax evasion matter after legalisation? It might be fine by you now, but I think you might feel differently if you fall victim to the current legal insanity. Agreed about no candidates mentioning crime or in fact any other issue than banks and pensions, it makes for a very boring watching for those of us bored by all this empty rhetoric about balancing books.
    But I'm sure there are plenty of people who feel the the economy is "fine by them" (civil servants with no mortgages, etc).

I never have, nor probably ever will, be in possession of such an amount of cannabis that i'll face the wrath of a criminal conviction. a slap on the wrist and a donation to SVP is all that would happen. "Once" before two detectives caught me in possession and told me to stop, and move on. They weren't bothered.

You're kidding?

Right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭InigoMontoya

imo, as a full time smoker of cannabis...
    I demand shorter hours for pot smokers! :pac:

Well if truth be known by full time I mean daily. And by daily, I mean nightly, after work. I dont drink mid week and I dont watch television. What is a girl to do :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭vaalea

Green Party is part of global movement that is mj friendly.

http://www.google.com/search?q=green+party+cannabis

hemp is a great source for eco-clothing/food and more but roadblocked for growing because of laws against mj.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭robz18

1st pref changed to green boiiiiii

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Oh_Noes wrote: »

This is important to some people. Especially those that seek it for medical purposes.

Yeah, After Hours seems to be full of poor suffering folk who need medical cannabis every time the subject comes up.

I don't think After Hours will ever be held up as some kind of microcosm of Irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭yank_in_eire

Well if truth be known by full time I mean daily. And by daily, I mean nightly, after work. I dont drink mid week and I dont watch television. What is a girl to do :P
    Will you marry me? ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

You're kidding?

Right?
    Kidding about what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Say we legilize the weed tax would be a major factor bringing in a lot of revenue which our country needs, when it comes to the mentally ill they are mentally ill drugs or not(a lot of education should be done on effects of drink/rec drugs/cigs since in reality people know very little) we seem to be a country of forever denial, I would consider alcohol to have caused more deaths than rec drugs or cigs.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I think you might just be one of the lucky ones on the quality factor. One of the biggest things I can see in favour of legalisation is the (hopeful) guarantee that the stuff you're buying hasn't been cut with glass or god knows what

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

And of course over your interaction with him on the internet you decided that smoking cannabis it was the reason why he was mad?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

We should legalise all drugs

Otherwise the situation in ireland is going to be intolerable

My reasons are simple, massive fall in the wealth in this country, loads of users will no longer be able to afford their hit...

Country can't afford to jail them or pay for their legal fees if they the caught

Cheapest solution is to legalise and tax em

None of them unfortunately, i heard the greens wanted it decriminalized but theres more chance of humans growing wings in the next 5 years than there is of them getting enough power for the idea to be entertained by enda, there might be a few people in parties that support cannabis legalization and decriminalization but coming out and saying they support it would most likely damage their standing with their party, so until the idea becomes a bit more popular i don't think any change will be made(basically when either the U.S or the U.K does it) i think the Whale, aka mary harney brought up medicinal cannabis once but not surprisingly never thought to bring it up again, Luke Flanagan once tried get weed legal by sending joints to every member of the dail which was pretty legendary to be honest and shows that he's no afraid to at least take some form of action rather than just talking about it, i believe theres also a guy running in north Dublin thats in favor of medicinal use but can't remember his name off the top of my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i hope none of ye potheads drive when your off your game!!!!

Always one :L