Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irelands greatest actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

nuxxx wrote: »
    Even in this thread you manage to drag in your political bullsh1t, well done

Ian Paisley should also get a mention. It's hard to believe that he was one of 19 children born in a caravan on a halting site near Limerick, and used to go to mass every morning with the arse hanging out of his trousers. A true acting legend, always giving a convincing performance as a Unionist politician.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭stevejr

SV wrote: »
    Colin Farrell is a ridiculously good actor.
    Very underrated.

Yeah he was great in Phonebox and Alexander the Deadly.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Murphy, Gleeson and Neeson (:pac:) get my vote.

I wouldn't exactly know a lot of Irish actors though to be fair.

EDIT: And Farrell tbh, he's done some crap films but when he's good he's really really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Unpossible wrote: »
    Yer man, whats his name.. You all know who I'm talking about, he's in a lot of things

Stephen Rea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Another reason why the Crow is set for big things.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZ9eSa6joLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Richard Harris by a country mile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

bonerm wrote: »
    How about Daniel Day Lewis? I guess he considers himself more Irish than we do.

Well, he has dual British and Irish citizenship, so I guess we can claim him alright.

Would also love to claim Paddy Considine (although he is only second generation Irish) - an amazing actor. I first saw him in In America and was convinced he was Irish until someone corrected me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

liah wrote: »
    Murphy, Gleeson and Neeson (:pac:) get my vote.

I wouldn't exactly know a lot of Irish actors though to be fair.

EDIT: And Farrell tbh, he's done some crap films but when he's good he's really really good.

I lol'd a lot at this post. thanks.

Brendan Gleeson gets my vote. Really enjoy him. Liam Neeson very close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

richard harris, kenneth branagh, peter o'toole, liam neeson, daniel day lewis, the list goes on. there's too many great ones to pick just one for me.

i'm also fond of cillian murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

+1 for Richard Harris. And Maureen O' Hara. My dad once met Richard Harris and Peter O' Toole in a hotel he worked in in Ballsbridge. He said O' Toole was a bit of a prick but Harris was a gentleman.

BTW whoever said Brian Cox, he's not Irish, he's Scottish, although he often has an Irish-ish accent in movies.

Michael Fassbender will some day be regarded as a great actor but it's probably too soon.

Pierce Brosnan is conspicuous in his absence from this thread...I think he's pretty good though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭Sl!mCharles

Bleedin love Cillian Murphy. He's great as the Scarecrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

There's this thing, I know, about Colin Farrell and the shyte movies he's been in but..he lights up the screen everytime he appears.

I give you his cameo in Veronica Guerin (only decent bit in the whole film).

...and "In Bruges"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Your man in strumpet city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

I think Michael Fassbender is an excellent actor, though he probably hasn't done enough to qualify as our greatest.

I suppose Liam Neeson would be up there.

+1 for Fassbender. He's a fantastic actor and has only begun to hit the big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

cml387 wrote: »

Veronica Guerin was a good film. I was shocked and embarrassed when that version of fields of Athenry came on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

firefly08 wrote: »

BTW whoever said Brian Cox, he's not Irish, he's Scottish.

True. He has Irish roots though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Quite unlike yourself so Tony...

Then again, Barack Obama and Che Guevara have more Irish roots than you!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Ah here, lets not do this, the guy is Scottish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Oh.... nearly forgot about Richard Harris.

defo!
    tHE BULL WILL DANCE WITH YA!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,122 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Stephen Rea.
    great actor dont know why he hasnt appeared more on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

breezy1985 wrote: »
    great actor dont know why he hasnt appeared more on this thread
    I had forgotten that he and kenneth branagh were Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Coddin Faddel

Your man in strumpet city.

Bryan Murray?

Good in Brookside I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

Isn't David Kelly in Strumpet City? Rasher!

Up-n-atom! wrote: »

And Niall Tobin.

Need to be more specific lady (are you over that slip in the bathroom?)

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

cml387 wrote: »
    There's this thing, I know, about Colin Farrell and the shyte movies he's been in but..he lights up the screen everytime he appears.

...and "In Bruges"

"Tigerland"....he was completely brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Peter O' Toole followed by Richard Harris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Peter Griffin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Brenda Fricker. Just an L of a way from bean flicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Sanjuro wrote: »
    +1 for Fassbender. He's a fantastic actor and has only begun to hit the big time.

I've only seen him in a few films -two Hollwood ones (300 & Centurion), Inglorious (where he stole the show with his cameo) & Fish Tank, a low budget British film that I'd highly recommend to anyone.

But in all three he was excellent.

Haven't seen Hunger, though. The idea film just never appealed to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,719 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Richard Harris, followed by Stephen Rea for me

O'Toole is a great , but isn't he English ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Will people please stop saying 'Bertie Ahern' or 'Brian Lenihan?' This thread is about actors - people who can convincingly play a fictional role. It's not about obvious lying bastards.

Anyway, Al Pacino - sure we'll claim that little fucker as well - why not?

My favourite Al Pacino impression:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1-2uv1b1yQ

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

darkdubh wrote: »
    Is it Kevin "The Crow" Cronin http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGKwMEA4LkU ?Or Nathan Slattery www.nathanslattery.com?
    You decide.
    Bump!Never mind all the pretenders mentioned.These two legends are the real deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Bump!Never mind all the pretenders mentioned.These two legends are the real deal.

No they're shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Daniel Day-Lewis. if In The Name of The Father was the only film he ever done he would still get my vote! fantastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Dick O'Van Dyke, Angel O'Lansbury and Robert O'De Niro.

if i'm not mistaken 3 of de niro's 4 grandparents were irish! let's claim him! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

We can claim De Niro under the granny rule. So I'll go for him too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 276 ✭✭Rocky Bay

...Micheal Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭brianthelion

David Kelly The dental scene in Waking Ned Divine was incredible,together with all his other work he is the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I'd love to claim Paddy Considine as one of our own, I'm sure his parents (well at least his father) are Irish, and he starred in Jim Sheridan's In America playing the part of a struggling Irish immigrant husband and father in New York.

A very fine actor, one of my favourite contemporary actors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭lolie

Mick Lally. Well holy God!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Brendan Gleeson.
    Cillian Murphy.

I was trying to think of a good Irish actress but I can't. Maybe Rose Byrne (born in Australia), she was in "Troy" and "Sunshine" ... but mostly because I fancy the arse off her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i vote Bertie Ahern as ireland's greatest actor..... he pretended to be a good leader while all the time letting our country go down the toilet..... noone was any the wiser until brian cowen was put in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Gavin Kelty:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

T P McKenna was the god father of Irish actors and the original Irish super star back in the 50's / 60's / 70's / 80's.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭shanel23

Oliver Reed !

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Is it Kevin "The Crow" Cronin http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGKwMEA4LkU ?Or Nathan Slattery www.nathanslattery.com?
    You decide.

Why are wimmin not included ?

Actor ---Barry Fitzgerald
    Actress -Maureen O Hara

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

cock robin wrote: »
    Why are wimmin not included ?

Actor ---Barry Fitzgerald
    Actress -Maureen O Hara
    Very few irish actresses have made it big in America in the last 50 odd years when you think about it.
    Especially when compared with the men.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Up-n-atom! wrote: »

Correct couldnt think of him also your man who was in Adam and Paul sadly I think he has passed away.

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Very few irish actresses have made it big in America in the last 50 odd years when you think about it.
    Especially when compared with the men.

This is true but sad. I think Maureen O Hara got an Oscar at some stage so that would put her right up there in terms of success.