Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is the music in some pubs niteclubs so LOUD FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

chin_grin wrote: »
    It's called 'getting old'.
    You getting old my friend?
    ICE HOUSE wrote: »
    its called getting old.
    Me arse. I found stupidly loud and stupidly packed pubs and clubs a miserable experience at 17/18. Presume hardly anyone actually enjoys that sh1te but just goes along with it... Otherwise sadomasochism isn't as specialised a pursuit as I thought it was...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭cml387

Dudess wrote: »
    Me arse. I found stupidly loud and stupidly packed pubs and clubs a miserable experience at 17/18. Presume hardly anyone actually enjoys that sh1te but just goes along with it... Otherwise sadomasochism isn't as specialised a pursuit as I thought it was...

If you don't have anything to talk about (or indeed a single intelligent thought in your head) then 150dB music is just your thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Its to drown out all the sh1te talked by people with too much drink on them-if the music is loud, it covers up the fact that you just told some guy at work that you love him, he is your best friend, and then asked your brothers wife for a shag. TBTG for loud music.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

cml387 wrote: »
    ....but these go to eleven!
    But since they start clipping at seven the sound is atrocious.

Total waste of money on good equipment and speakers if you are just getting massive distortion. Might as well use use megaphones.

http://www.hsa.ie/eng/Topics/Physical_Agents/Noise/Noise_-_Frequently_Asked_Questions/
    How is the noise level measured?

This is measured in units known as decibels dB (A). However as a rough guide, if it is difficult to hear a normal conversation at a distance of 2m from the person speaking, it is likely that the noise levels in the area are above the levels permitted under these regulations (i.e. over 80dB (A))

What action should be taken when the noise exposure level is too high?
    First Action Level 80dB (A): - Regulation 125 specifies the actions that must be taken by the employer when the level is between 80dB (A) and 85dB (A). The employer must (in addition to reducing noise levels by general action) inform each potentially affected worker and their representatives of the following:

* the results of the measurements taken of the noise and the possible risk to their hearing
    * Results of preventative audiometric testing
    * what measures are being introduced to reduce the noise levels in the workplace
    * the advisability of wearing hearing protection that’s individually fitted and where and how to obtain it
    * hearing checks that are available
    * provide any necessary information and where relevant training

Regulations 126 and 127 specify, in addition to the previous requirements, when the level is above 85dB (A) the employer must:

* Identify the reasons for the excess noise and put in place a programme to reduce it. This could be either of a technical nature or of organisation of work or both.
    * Provide the services of a registered medical practitioner to carry out hearing checks and audiometric testing.
    * put up clearly visible and legible signs indicating that the noise level in the area is likely to exceed 85dB (A), in accordance with the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work General Application Regulations 2007 (regulations 158 to 162 inclusive).

What action should be taken when the noise exposure is at the Second Action Level 85dB (A)?

Regulations 126 and 127 specify, in addition to the previous requirements, when the level is above 85dB (A) the employer must:

* Identify the reasons for the excess noise and put in place a programme to reduce it. This could be either of a technical nature or of organisation of work or both.
    * Provide the services of a registered medical practitioner to carry out hearing checks and audiometric testing.
    * put up clearly visible and legible signs indicating that the noise level in the area is likely to exceed 85dB (A), in accordance with the Safety, Health and Welfare at Work (Signs) Regulations 1995

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

Im a bloke right.And i know about stuff.So listen to me.

I dislike loud clubs because it reminds me of when my mother brought me to the circus once and the clown car had a very loud exaust pipe.And i wanted to leave but i wasent allowed.And when it was halloween i didnt like the fireworks because they were too loud.And then we went to disney land but i didnt like the roller coasters because they were too fast.And i didnt like my tea because it was too hot.And i didnt like the weather because it was too cold.And i didnt like school because the boys were too mean.And i didnt like the sun because it was too bright.

I liked lighting fires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 olgis

Nightclubs aare primarily concerned with profit, if you can't talk, you tend to drink more,also the inclusion of more tables that you stand at so you'll drink faster..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

WHAT?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I used to go to some heavy metal concerts in the late 80's and early 90's and I swear my ears were wrecked for a day or two afterwards.
    I used to think it was great, like a reminder you had been out to something special.

My hearing these days is perfect thank God.
    But I use my iPod on medium volume nowadays - you can really damage your hearing for life with them at maximum every day.

I think that's much more dangerous than a crappy club at the weekend playing Rhianna in your ear at volume 11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

I don't understand it in Pubs, hard to have the chats etc. I don't mind it being loud in clubs though, I'd expect it to be loud. Nothing like a thumping bass to get you in the mood for dancing :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

I think its great.I can call a girl a slut without her hearing me if she rejects me.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Dudess wrote: »

My friends all loved clubs. I'd be like "let's go to a late pub" but no, every time there'd be at least 10 to 1, leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.
    I think its great.I can call a girl a slut without her hearing me if she rejects me.

I'd say that's a rare occasion, eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Millicent wrote: »
    leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.
    :D Ah yeah... Getting all nostalgic now..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

You don't have to go to a feckin' niteclub in any case. Go to a decent bar with your mates where you can hear what's going on. Niteclubs are shite. Meat markets full of morons, pissed up thugs and oompa lumpas.

Johro wrote: »
    :D Ah yeah... Getting all nostalgic now..

#Memorieeeeeeeessssss, From the corners of my mind,
    Homicidal, hazy memorieeeeeesssssss
    Of the way I beat someone to death with my shoe.......#

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

You don't have to go to a feckin' niteclub in any case. Go to a decent bar with your mates where you can hear what's going on. Niteclubs are shite. Meat markets full of morons, pissed up thugs and oompa lumpas.
    And that's just the staff...

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

yes there are regulations... you can take the issue up with your county council...
    Of course, no-one will really give a fúck, seeing as any politician who isn't a teacher is a publican...

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Millicent wrote: »
    My friends all loved clubs. I'd be like "let's go to a late pub" but no, every time there'd be at least 10 to 1, leaving me miserable and homicidal in a corner with no one able to hear my violent rants.

I'd say that's a rare occasion, eh? :rolleyes:

Fortunately I've never had to resort to that. ;)

:D Good man!

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Does anyone actually go to the pub anymore,? even if you do? Do these pubs supply music still... I used to love the pub atmosphere but it's all changed now. There's no craic anymore, all foot ball & sports now.. Just no enjoyment anymore. Sooner get a box of beer for €15 and head home for a night with the mates and a game of cards or a good match in the TV...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Now i dont want to be going on like a party pooper but i was out last nite for RAG week with a few friends & we went into Scraggs for a few but i just had to leave after 20mins couldn't hear myself speak the place was jammers music was possibly the loudest iv ever heard (im 26yrs). .(i have been to my fair few Concerts)
    They use the same kind of speakers ud find in the O2 arena So when 1 puts speakers in a small area & cranks it up to probably 120 decibels if your head doesn't explode your ears will.
    I used to work with a DJ from London & he had fairly bad hearing problems at 34
    Is their any law in Ireland as to how loud a Public House can play music :rolleyes: ?

I agree, I've worked as a DJ for about five years full time now, and my hearing is absolutely ****ed.

left ear basically doesnt work, and right ear is weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

It so you don't have to listen to the young one you are orally raping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Btwndeyes wrote: »
    It so you don't have to listen to the young one you are orally raping.

WHAT ???!??!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

ottostreet wrote: »
    I agree, I've worked as a DJ for about five years full time now, and my hearing is absolutely ****ed.

left ear basically doesnt work, and right ear is weak.

Thats Sad . . . Some folk dont really tend to appreciate their hearing until its Banjacksed,
    Hearing is not something you can go into the shop & get new Like an Ipod if its giving trouble :( (i know we can get hearing aids nowadays) but if wer'e more careful in the 1st place we wont need 1 or 2 ! !

So look after your hearing if you dont want to learn sign language ;) (goes for me too)

I too find the loud music far too loud in pubs, shops everywhere really. and at 31 I'm not old either!

When I go out I want to have the craic with my friends and I find it awful that we can't even talk and even they say the same!

If I want loud music or whatever then we go to the night club because that's where loud music is for!

Having to scream to have a conversation is just really irritating and so people don't bother, they just sit there. The more people talk the more they will drink lol

I think pub owners think it will actually keep people in their pubs rather than go to the night clubs because that's what they think people actually want. But there is the staff too who just turn it up because they want it loud !

I do hear more and more complaining though and I doubt the local councils will bother doing anything about it, it needs to come from the top!

Carlow town is where I go out and nearly every half decent pub there always has really loud music. Din Ri pub used to be okay, and the last few times I was out they had these idiot crap bands that can't sing blaring, people were actually leaving. The barracks is a really nice pub and again absolutely blaring the head off you especially after 10pm. Scrags loud, Tully's loud.

The last time we were in the Med bar it was really pleasant to be able to talk to my friends, nice background music, the way it should be.

I think pubs should start making the atmosphere a bit more pleasant given the fact so many are closing down. They blame the smoking ban, which they get around by having smoking rooms which I can't for the life of me imagine how they are legal ? the staff still have to go in them ? But the Price of drink is crazy, they don't realise there is a major recession one major factor for people not going out. I couldn't afford to go out every week. Nearly 5 euros for a pint and you can get in the off license for 2 euros, it's a no brainer really that and the fact you can talk to your friends at home :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    I usually head straight to the smoking area.

The loudest thing there is usually me.

Same as, and i don't even smoke, its just usually the only place where you can actually have a chat with someone without having the roar at the top of your lungs into there ear. Damn i do really hate loud music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Was in my usual boozer last nite & the music was grand Not too Loud for a change. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Now i dont want to be going on like a party pooper but i was out last nite for RAG week with a few friends & we went into Scraggs for a few but i just had to leave after 20mins couldn't hear myself speak the place was jammers music was possibly the loudest iv ever heard (im 26yrs). .(i have been to my fair few Concerts)
    They use the same kind of speakers ud find in the O2 arena So when 1 puts speakers in a small area & cranks it up to probably 120 decibels if your head doesn't explode your ears will.
    I used to work with a DJ from London & he had fairly bad hearing problems at 34
    Is their any law in Ireland as to how loud a Public House can play music :rolleyes: ?

To keep you old people out.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I've done an experiement on this matter and the more you drink the more you lose your senses and apparently your sense on hearing is the first thing to go. Do the experiment youself- go to your favourite nightclub and get hammered and you wont notice. next week go sober and you can see that the DJ increases the volume throughout the night, also if you go sober you'll relises how deafening level they really have the music at

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I've done an experiement on this matter and the more you drink the more you lose your senses and apparently your sense on hearing is the first thing to go. Do the experiment youself- go to your favourite nightclub and get hammered and you wont notice. next week go sober and you can see that the DJ increases the volume throughout the night, also if you go sober you'll relises how deafening level they really have the music at

Sounds plausible, I don't drink when I go out and notice the volume being increased throughout the night without a doubt. Have to get locked so. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

Just take a hape of dishco biscuits hey