Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Chillout Zone (Off-Topic Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

SingItOut wrote: »
    My chinchilla gonzo is still really sick, he had a horrible amount of diarrhoea about an hour ago. He has a vet appointment for 5pm today but as I thought they said he may need to be referred to a specialist, he's fast asleep now after having a little nibble on some toast. Chinchillas can't vomit so it's going to be difficult finding out what's wrong :(

Oh no so sorry to hear that :( How did ye get on in the vets?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

He has a temperature, and is on antibiotics and a steroid for a week. If he doesn't improve by next week he'll be referred to bairbra o malley in bray because she's the only exotic specialist in the south east apparently. He has a bit of dermatitis in his ears too. He's a bit more energetic this evening though thankfully, I don't know how I'm going to give him his antibiotics by myself. He has to have them by syringe, I might be minus 3 fingers by this time next week :O

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Fingers and paws crossed for him SingItOut.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Dudes bottom is behaving itself today thank god, don't think I could have taken another day of him giving out to me for wiping his bottom and fighting with my mam over who's turn it is to clean up after him! But these days where his health is good and he's back being a lovely cuddly kitten make the stressful days worth coping with :)

its the pits when something like this happens. my elderly dog just got over another gastric episode - cleaning up diarrhoea and vomit and wee is the pits. Poor dude - getting stressed by his humans wiping his bum - and poor you and your mum too :(

• Registered Users Posts: 14,038 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Bailey just ate a spider lol!

tk123 wrote: »
    Bailey just ate a spider lol!

Can I borrow him for a minute? There's one lurking in the corner worrying me but my lazy cats can't be bothered doing anything about it :pac:

Gonzo just drank a ton of water! Progress :D

:( Bailey ignored me this morning when I called him and crossed the main road by himself! It's normally really busy but there were no cars at the time thank god. All I can think of now is a car hitting him. Feel sick :(

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Cant believe this day and age people still advise rubbing a dogs nose in their pee/poop to toilet train them. Ive left a facebook group because i just cant stand looking at that advice being given to people. They didnt want to hear how cruel etc it was and more worrying, their vet advised them to do so.
    I really do despair at times.

tk123 wrote: »
    :( Bailey ignored me this morning when I called him and crossed the main road by himself! It's normally really busy but there were no cars at the time thank god. All I can think of now is a car hitting him. Feel sick :(

I'd have a heart attack! Really annoying when they decide they don't want to listen! My two have been known to do the same at home :o

Gonzos been so good taking his antibiotics, he has two in the morning and two in the evening. He's been drinking lots of water and had a little nibble at his food today. He also managed to re-arrAnge all the stairs in his cage :D scary to think he was on deaths door yesterday morning :(

Ah glad he's feeling better!

I can't believe he did it! Never taking a chance there again :( One gate in the park is left on a long chain so you can duck under it when the park is closed but it's 20 mins away - our gate is 5 mins away max. I'm not sure how official the long chain is so don't want to contact the park dept asking for our gate to be left the same way in case the wardens get in trouble!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

andreac wrote: »
    Cant believe this day and age people still advise rubbing a dogs nose in their pee/poop to toilet train them. Ive left a facebook group because i just cant stand looking at that advice being given to people. They didnt want to hear how cruel etc it was and more worrying, their vet advised them to do so.
    I really do despair at times.

For heavens sakes!! A vet advised them?!! How can they not realise it's cruel and ineffective. I have to say I'm a bit shocked that people still think like this and (at the risk of repeating myself) A VET ADVISED THEM??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I saw a clip of the Louis Theroux documentary City of Dogs that's being shown on Sunday, I think. It sounds really good but I think I'd probably be in bits by the end of it, I can never watch the heart wrending stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

I saw a clip of the Louis Theroux documentary City of Dogs that's being shown on Sunday, I think. It sounds really good but I think I'd probably be in bits by the end of it, I can never watch the heart wrending stuff.

Not heard anything about that Pumpkinseeds, what's it about (apart from dogs, obviously!)? Have just been upsetting myself by looking at animal welfare pages on Facebook, have to stop now it's too heartbreaking!

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    Not heard anything about that Pumpkinseeds, what's it about (apart from dogs, obviously!)? Have just been upsetting myself by looking at animal welfare pages on Facebook, have to stop now it's too heartbreaking!
    Apparently it's about LA dogs. I think it's a look at different aspects like pampered pooches and other dogs used as weapons:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

What channel is that on?

Got a bottle of pet remedy spray today and I have to say it is just the best thing EVER!! I had the diffuser before and it did help a bit but they spray is j ust driving Creamy wild. I accidentally sprayed him with it and he was rolling around purring for nearly an hour, sprayed it and various points around the house and all 3 of them just seek out where it was sprayed and rub themselves all over it and then totally chill :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Zapperzy wrote: »
    What channel is that on?
    Sunday, BBC 2 at 9pm, is Louis Theroux's LA Stories.

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Cocolola

Also on the topic of TV shows, there's the first of a two part documentary titled "Dangerous Dogs" on UTV at 9pm tonight. I'm not sure if it'll be any bit good or not, it may enrage me.

Cocolola wrote: »
    Also on the topic of TV shows, there's the first of a two part documentary titled "Dangerous Dogs" on UTV at 9pm tonight. I'm not sure if it'll be any bit good or not, it may enrage me.

I'm watching it now, that scumbag with the white staffie was shocking! The level of aggression from both humans and dogs is quite scary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

This show is upsetting me so much! More so than these type of shows normally do. I had my lovely boy put to sleep recently, he had a fantastic life. Our 2 german shepherds have a fantastic life. These people don't deserve to breath our air let alone own dogs.

I can't stand people who own dogs but cannot answer their most basic needs.

The ending was heart breaking, I had my labrador frankie put to sleep in September.

I didn't like the younger SPCA officer (Kelly?) one bit, there was just something about her. I do think the show highlighted that the owners were mostly at fault

Ah I missed it, meant to watch it. Is it available online anywhere?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

SingItOut wrote: »
    I didn't like the younger SPCA officer (Kelly?) one bit, there was just something about her. I do think the show highlighted that the owners were mostly at fault

I found myself shouting at the telly with the carry-on of the main dog warden lady (I can't remember her name now!), I thought she came across as pretty unprofessional on a number of occasions, tending to wind people up and doing a lot of shrieking.
    She did a lot of tutting and throwing-eyes-up-to-heaven at the guy who was selling the 4-week old pups, but this guy could be stopped doing what he's doing via social services (his income from the pups would affect his benefits), or revenue (undeclared income). As he's presumably living in council accommodation, the local council could also potentially put a stop to him under the tenancy agreement.
    The program did highlight a lot of shocking behaviour by owners alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

Met a loooooooovely farmer today that we'll be doing a TNR with in the next few weeks. He has fourteen semi-feral/feral cats and they are all in great condition and shining with good health! Now, my jaw nearly dropped when he said he feeds them greyhound food because he can't get big bags of cat food at the co-op. Now get this, he feeds them a performance variety greyhound kibble, which is 27% protein and has meat meal as the first ingredient. (The largest ingredient is always listed first.) It's about €1.33/kg. Now compare that with the supermarket dry cat food that we typically feed at €1.74/kg: 30% protein but lists grain first. I think the cats are better off on the Kasco Mealette!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Ah I missed it, meant to watch it. Is it available online anywhere?

http://www.u.tv/utvplayer/video/156289

If it doesn't work you might need to download an extension for chrome called zenmate which allows you to watch uk based players from Ireland :)

Zapperzy wrote: »
    http://www.u.tv/utvplayer/video/156289

If it doesn't work you might need to download an extension for chrome called zenmate which allows you to watch uk based players from Ireland :)

Thank you! I'll watch it tomorrow :)
    Decided to get a subscription thingy on boards today so now I have my lovely Dude baby as an avatar :D

Toby has a weird thing going on with his right eye. This is the 3rd time in about 2 months that his eye is half closed and sticky. There's no inflammation and it seems to clear up within the same day. There was no irritation this morning when we went out, we came back a few hours later and it was half closed and sticky again. He's had a little puncture wound on his left paw for a week now, looks fine though.

It's strange, he's so submissive indoors with our other 3 but outdoors he's a thug. I opened the front door to let him out late one night last week, he saw a cat across the road minding it's own business, then took off like a bat out of Hell to see what it was doing before I could nab him:rolleyes:

Toby has a weird thing going on with his right eye. This is the 3rd time in about 2 months that his eye is half closed and sticky. There's no inflammation and it seems to clear up within the same day. There was no irritation this morning when we went out, we came back a few hours later and it was half closed and sticky again.

The same thing used to happen to Peach a lot when she was younger, brought her to the vet the first couple of times but they could see nothing actually wrong besides it just being sticky. We then figured out it happened because she would be rubbing her face along everything she could find and bumped her eye too hard so it was just irritated, it Toby a head marker? Could be the same thing going on :P