Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Transfer Gossip

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭positivenote

the key to the modric situation is his contract chaps. He's tied to a 5 year deal with us... levy has stated that NO big players will be sold. Both modric and Bale only signed their contract extensions last season, so we would still get huge money for them next summer. Sign 2 or 3 quality players, none of this Parker bullsh*t and push on at all cost to get to CL. Then you wioll see these type of players remain. You have to spend the money on decent players, but the rewards are tenfold.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Mind you Marin wouldnt be a bad replacment. Dare I say it with a years PL under his belt he could be even better ! Lets face it, we aint gonna say no to 35 plus million or close with Drogba. Marin would still leave us with change.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h43BSddtfMQ&feature=fvst

well if luka does go and we get marin imo he'd be an ideal replacement, however every time iv seen marin play he's been on the left of midfield i wonder has he ever played centre mid

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

It's on the BBC now as well. This doesn't sound good, but as long as Harry and Levy stand firm and tell him he's not going anywhere, it shouldnt be a problem. I don't think he's the kind of player that will throw his toys out of the pram for not being released, so hopefully it won't come to anything.

Also, Woodgate has been released after failing to get a pay-as-you-play contract.
    Luka is happy at Spurs but if an offer came in that was acceptable to the club and player, we would be willing to discuss it. In my opinion, £22m is a valuation that is too low for the player.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13789159.stm

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭-gilly-09-

If we did end up losing Modric, I would love t get Sturidge as part of the deal + a lump sum of money. Would rater lose Bale than Modric tbh. Dunno how we could replace him.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

I too would like to see us get sturridge. I was hoping we'd get him when he left Manc city.

Having said that, he had a poor record away from home with Bolton last season but he's young and can only get better with age and experience I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭DamienKilmurray

SSN sources claim it will take a record transfer fee to take Modric.
    http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,12606_6992583,00.html

Do I not like this!

DL/Board are basically saying 'Come on then, make a silly bid and we'll talk money".

I hope citeh dont take a fancy to him, cos they wouldnt think twice about a 45-55M bid

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

You'd want 40m for him in reality to sign a replacement and have a few extra million left over. The thoughts of Selling Modric and Signing parker as a replacement are making me sick to my stomach.

Kaka is about the only replacement I'd settle for!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Kaka is about the only replacement I'd settle for!
    Kaka has spent the majority of the last two years injured I reckon we'll look at milan Baldej from Dinamo Zagreb.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭wellboys

Kaka has spent the majority of the last two years injured I reckon we'll look at milan Baldej from Dinamo Zagreb.

Badelj replaced Modric when we bought him.. He'd be a great signing. Shows all the promise that Modric had.

Edit: Not good news lads.. Quotes from the man himself.. Modric wants to leave.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2004862/Luka-Modric-exclusive-I-want-join-Chelsea.html?ITO=1490&utm_source=footballURLs&utm_medium=twitter

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Unbelievable. I'm shocked, almost speechless.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭wellboys

SuprSi wrote: »
    Unbelievable. I'm shocked, almost speechless.

Its not like him at all but he must mean business when he come public with his desires. I reckon Levy has said you're going nowhere but his head has been turned by the recent attention.. Carrick, Berbatov, now Modric.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

It really is an impossible cycle to break unless the team makes it into the CL each year. The players are brought in, prove themselves, and without the CL get picked up by the teams regularly in the CL. We've never sold anybody big to Chelsea though (except Arnesen!!) so this is different - it doesn't actually feel as bad as him going to Utd seeing as they've poached so much off us before.

At least we'll get a good few quid for him and knowing Levy it'll be closer to £40m than £30m!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Very very dissappointing, he's the one player we need to keep. I wouldn't even mind all that much if Bale were to go but not Modric. I can help but feel very frustrated at our complete failure to sort out a proper strike force in the last 2 transfer windows. I think that was a huge mistake and now we are paying for it.
    No CL football next season and now our star player probably going to a big rival club.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

F*ck him, get as much money as possible from the blue scum and let him go. If he thinks Chelsea are a bigger club than us then he can take a hike. No one player is bigger than the club, am so suprised and disappointed by him now to be honest. Lets screw those cnuts from West London, they will never be a bigger club than us nor will they ever win the Champions league.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭marty2002

KingdomYid wrote: »
    F*ck him, get as much money as possible from the blue scum and let him go. If he thinks Chelsea are a bigger club than us then he can take a hike. No one player is bigger than the club, am so suprised and disappointed by him now to be honest. Lets screw those cnuts from West London, they will never be a bigger club than us nor will they ever win the Champions league.

This is exactly how i feel at the minute ^^
    Hes on a long term contract so spurs hold all the cards until a transfer request is handed in, get as much as possible of that blue shower of sh*t. A good sum + Drogba and i may just be able to stomach it especially considering Modrics quotes about loyalty to a club earlier in the season...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

When spurs bid for Marin during the week the writing was on the wall. Harry was looking for the same kind of player to replace him

I'd saw we will sell for 30 plus drogba and Parker wi be bought for midfield. Parker scored 7 last year in a terrible team

I think we shud reject all offers and make him play.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

mickman wrote: »
    I think we shud reject all offers and make him play.

Remember Berbatov just before he left, basically refused to play and didnt put any effort in, sadly you have to let them go, hope they get a price north of £30million for him. Going to be a huge loss to the club:(

indiewindy wrote: »
    Remember Berbatov just before he left, basically refused to play and didnt put any effort in, sadly you have to let them go, hope they get a price north of £30million for him. Going to be a huge loss to the club:(

luca is nothing like berbatov in fairness. i really dont think he would refuse to play. but who knows at the end of the day

he wont be sold unless we get an offer of 40 million quid. at that stage i would say sell him and buy 2 top players with the money.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Just woke up to a txt from the girlfriend telling me the news. Absolutely gutted. I'm probably with mickman on making him play cause he's not the same kind of arsehole as berbatov but thats probably not going to happen :'(

If he goes I would expect drogba plus 30m. To be fair he looks like a skinny ugly girl and i never liked him anyway *sob*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

TBH i would prefer Sturridge over Drogba . Along with the 30 mill as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭spursman11

absolutely gutted:(,but until we can be in top 4 every year we wont be able to keep our top players,hope we top money and start again,Harry is a shrewd buyer at least it is not like Sol going for nought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Guys, Levy just made a statement
    "I wish to make it absolutely clear, as I have said previously, that none of our key players will be sold this summer. We are building a team for the future to consistently play at the highest level and retaining quality players is crucial to that.

"In respect of Luka Modric, we are not prepared to sell, at any price, to Chelsea Football Club or any other club.

"We made our stance on this issue abundantly clear in writing to Chelsea. They chose to ignore it and then subsequently made the offer public.

"For the avoidance of any doubt, let me reiterate that we shall not enter into any negotiations whatsoever, with any Club, regarding Luka.

"We now consider this matter closed."

http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/articles/statement-by-club-chairman-daniel-levy-180611.html

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Backed himself into a corner that there' no backing out of IMHO, ballsy move by Levy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,734 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Backed himself into a corner that there' no backing out of IMHO, ballsy move by Levy.

He needs to back those words up with money. Some quality signings that demonstrate an ambition to fight at the very top. We had the perfect opportunity to kick on last summer but we stood still and now we are paying the price. Can't blame Luka if he wants to leave tbh.

Chelsea are obviously trying to tap him up if they released the bid publicly but I really don't think he will sell him.(Props to Levy)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

To be fair I think the quote from Luka is from the Dailymail which could be absolute bull****... Journalists take money to write bogus stories (especially the journalists at the rag Daily Mail)... Are we to believe that Luka made all those comments to a Daily Mail reporter from his private yacht....? Well I hope not.

Fair play to Levy, **** off Chelsea, find your own players!

Levy trending on twitter worldwide haha he's probably done more for his reputation with one statement then since ENIC came in :pac: