Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs england

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

Mike Atherton interviewing Andrew Strauss............
    Two sick piggies............:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Get in there........!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Maggie Thatcher, Ian Paisley, Gazza, Andew Strauss, England's Brave and Loyal John Terry, Queen Elizabeth II, Oliver Cromwell, David Cameron, Freddie Flintoff, Nick Griffin, People who don't indicate at roundabouts, People who cut you off when driving, Geoff Boycott, Ian Botham, The Barmy Army, Sky Sports News (with yer non stop parading of the ashes), KP, Rangers FC, Johnny Adair, Andy Goram, Nacho Novo, Darth Vader and most of all Eoin Morgan... YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

No
    It feels so good and Ive never even watched cricket!!

Dont know how the hardcore Irish fans are feeling now!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,179 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

DB10 wrote: »
    WOW NEVER WATCHED CRICKET BEFORE

COME ON IRELAND, UNBELIEVABLE RESULT!!!! :D:D:D

Can someone with cricket knowledge compare this result to soccer in stature....

Like Andorra beating England!!!

YESS!!

It'd be like Ireland beating Brazil, after being 4-0 down at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,395 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

No
    Essien wrote: »
    What price were Ireland to beat England here?
    reb73 wrote: »
    Heard it was close to 100/1 with betfair shortly after the England innings.. Might have gone up after the first ball in the Irish innings..

Biggest price with the bookies in play was only around 25/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

No
    Bring on India!

Why did the irish players dye their pink hair?

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭wicorthered

Greatest result in Irish sporting history!!!!! I've had a pop at him before, But Kev I was wrong you are fantastic you are the man!!!!!!!!:D:D:D:D:D:):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

My email to sky sports news:

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

we don't even take it seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Not a cricket fan at all but fair play to Ireland!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

Hazys wrote: »
    Bring on India!

Why did the irish players dye their pink hair?

Charity...Part of today fm's shave or dye..

One for "Reeling In The Years" in years to come.... EPIC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lusaka

No
    spiralism wrote: »
    Maggie Thatcher, Ian Paisley, Gazza, Andew Strauss, England's Brave and Loyal John Terry, Queen Elizabeth II, Oliver Cromwell, David Cameron, Freddie Flintoff, Nick Griffin, People who don't indicate at roundabouts, People who cut you off when driving, Geoff Boycott, Ian Botham, The Barmy Army, Sky Sports News (with yer non stop parading of the ashes), KP, Rangers FC, Johnny Adair, Andy Goram, Nacho Novo, Darth Vader and most of all Eoin Morgan... YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING!!!

hahaha I love it!!!!! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

antoobrien wrote: »
    My email to sky sports news:

we don't even take it seriously

We take it very seriously round here.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

No
    Might buy an Irish Cricket jersey

Bandwagoner, but the more coverage they get the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Is1ldur

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Biggest price with the bookies in play was only around 25/1

I am told by someone in the know that it went as high as 440-1, and there were some reasonable bets placed at that level. Some very happy, and financially better off people out there after this result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

/Awaits lots of yes votes in the poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

No
    Fastest 100 in world cup
    Highest run chase in world cup history.
    EASY

• Registered Users Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

Part-time cricket fan, just want to say a MASSIVE congrats to the lads and the regular supporters, that is the biggest upset in ODI history, what a chase.

I can only imagine the feeling in the ground and the dressing room! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Paddysnapper

No
    Oh ye of little faith.....328 is achievable if the will is there!

COME ON THE BOYS IN GREEN;)

Ha! Ha!........Told you so:D

DB10 wrote: »
    Might buy an Irish Cricket jersey

Bandwagoner, but the more coverage they get the better

Do.

Elverys stock them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

No
    Now we just need to beat them on English soil to start our own version of The Ashes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Fair play lads. A fantastic run chase and I'm sure this will be remembered as Irish cricket's best day ever. All the credit goes to you.

Not so nice to see the lack of humility and respect in this thread though.

Massive, massive problems for England though. Embarrassing and incredibly worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

No
    After our depressing defeat to bangladesh lets hope we can get a win over our english counter-parts on wednesday.

Have we any hope?
    I dont have a clue about the rules of cricket.But did we seriously beat Engerland. Im shocked and bloody delighted if this is true. Must watch SSN for the reaction. :D Happy days. Now, if celtic beat rangers later on it'll be a perfect day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

No
    PP are giving 1/33 on an England win so you would certainly need to be putting it on heavily for any sort of return. Ireland at 10/1 is a great way to spend €10 - the price of a couple of pints and who knows - anything is possible. :D

Just back from the pub to count my winnings. Why do they let these upstart Associate countries into the World Cup? :D:D:D:D

Funkfield wrote: »
    Now we just need to beat them on English soil to start our own version of The Ashes.

Burn the bail sure and give the English the Urn with the ashes in it and we'll be off and running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭Brian017

The WC needs the associates imo

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭dundalkbhoy

great result and great excitement well done Ireland:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So when are England going to beat us at hurling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lusaka

No
    And its a shame to think that Bang were there for the taking too!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Is1ldur wrote: »
    I am told by someone in the know that it went as high as 440-1, and there were some reasonable bets placed at that level. Some very happy, and financially better off people out there after this result.

and some very unhappy financial broke people aswell!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Oh me of little faith :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭stevejr

Well done to the Irish cricket team...excellent win.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

No
    Well done boys. U did us proud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭Kalimah

Delighted!!! I've a cricket fan for a boss who took today off! Wonder will he be in tomorrow? After the innings England made I didn't think we'd a chance. Looking for ward to the highlights. We can beat anyone if we play that well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,910 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Incredible Congratulations to the guys and all of you involved in cricket in Ireland.Momentous day. George Hook on Newstalk is in tears,real emotion that is contagious I have to say.:) Delighted for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

No
    Betfair reckon £8m was bet on England at crazy crazy odds, 1/100 and the like :eek: :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

No
    yesssssssssssss!!!!!!!!! lovin it, now icc does that justify a place as a full member. and as for eoin morgan....... oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

In work, had to read it off skysports commentary. Never been so excited/nervous refreshing the page for every over. Great result lads! Dying to get home to watch some highlights :D

No
    So when are England going to beat us at hurling?
    Brilliant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Trenchman

No
    Unbelievable result. A few posters earlier on looking ever so slightly sheepish now I woould imagine! Phenomenal result and a further mockery of the ICC and their attitude to associate countries.I'm getting locked tomorrow night on the strength of this!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

This is a brilliant performance. Well done lads.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

yesssssssssssss!!!!!!!!! lovin it, now icc does that justify a place as a full member. and as for eoin morgan....... oops!

Yeah, I'm sure he regrets playing test cricket and winning the 20/20 world cup!

No humility, sad to see.

Kevin O'Brien for President.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

No
    I watched the last 15 mins of it - fantastic viewing, compelling!!!

O'Brien got the fastest century in the history of the world cup - something like 100 in fifty balls, previous was 66, unreal! I've never enjoyed watching Sky sports so much!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Enda Kenny, in his first act as Taoiseach, has called a national day of celebration!

Unbelievable result, especially after last weeks result against Bangladesh. Sitting in college and thinkin, too high a target for Ireland. But brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Yeah, I'm sure he regrets playing test cricket and winning the 20/20 world cup!

No humility, sad to see.

No sour grapes either!

Why act humble after the greatest run chase ever in a World Cup?

No
    Hail hail to the Irish cricketers.:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,338 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

No
    250 viewing Cricket on Boards - I can only presume another Record!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No humility, sad to see.

Can you not see the green foam fingers, inflatable plastic hammers and guinnesses with shamrocks in the head lying all over the thread? :)

Anyone who knows cricket knows Morgan is where he has to be.