Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you can do down the country that you can't do in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i allways shoot my heckler an koch mp7 on the road in Dublin:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

drink caustic soda.
    That's another thing you can't do in Dublin, God your city is so sh*t.

ya can go sheep shaggin:D
    **** looking into a field full of sheep:D
    shag ur mate doggy fashion naked in a field:D

RichieC wrote: »
    You can buy Red lemonade in Dublin.
    and a bottle of canadian rand [brandy] if ya know the right place to go rare stuff but mind blowing:eek::eek::eek: bring your shotgun:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Beat the All-Blacks.

Take a photo of your aunt, your sister and your mother with only one person in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Funky G

here's my 2 cents.....

drinking barrys tae,
    asking the girl at the local dhisco do they fancy a shift,
    shagging the animal of your choice and not get prosecuted
    people being called biddy, miley, dinny,
    tk lemonade,
    looking at re-runs of Glenroe,
    asking the father of the girl could you marry her (even if it's your sister!)
    drive a tractor to dublin to have a protest
    knowing your neighbours
    leave your surroundings and travel to dublin for dec 8th xmas shopping
    call someone a langer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Drink drive home from the boozer with a local garda getting sick on your car floor.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Bogsnorkler

Walking around belting your wellies with a piece of wavin pipe.
    Hunting cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Hunting cattle.

Being hunted by Cattle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Go to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Misread this as "banging" an altar boy...

On your own there mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

spend less time standing in a dole queue - ya ever see the length of the dole queue's in dublin? sadly im about to be forced to join them :( damn asian's and their cheaper labour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Find a parking space?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

not in Galway Biggins :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    Being put in the bath with your brother on Saturday night
    Wearing your 'good clothes' to mass on Sunday morning
    Bed straight after Glenroe on Sunday night
    Having your schoolbooks covered with wallpaper

You know all that happened in Dublin too? ;)

Yes but they actually buy wallpaper to put on the walls in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Yes but they actually buy wallpaper to put on the walls in Dublin
    Only south Dublin, the poshos with their fancy walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

How would I? I'm a country girl <creepy wink>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭mk6705

Outside Dublin, you can get over your big city superiority complex, realise that Dublin is halfway up the country and so you can go up as well as down from there, and realise you're in the same country as Dublin, so most things are...the same.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Sykk wrote: »
    PS:

Do your shopping in the local without your wallet and tell the manager to "Put it in the book".

Party Horns? What the FECK does he want wit' party horns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Shorter commute times

Walking around belting your wellies with a piece of wavin pipe.
    Hunting cattle.

Nothing quite like the rattling of wavin sabres.The sound of wavin singing through the silage scented country air is music to the rustic ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,495 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Biggins wrote: »
    Find a parking space?
    They don't exist down the country. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Godsentme

Go to the pictures and see Jaw2 and Bugsey Malone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Drink a can of Canada Dry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

All the "big city" heads from Dublin, try living in NYC, sao paulo or istanbul for a few years. You will realise that dublin is a small, mostly insignificant city, on a bankrupt island, beside another larger, more populated island, on the periphery of europe.

On topic:
    You cant safely go to sleep in a hedge in Dublin after a night out.

All the "big city" heads from Dublin, try living in NYC, sao paulo or istanbul for a few years. You will realise that dublin is a small, mostly insignificant city, on a bankrupt island, beside another larger, more populated island, on the periphery of europe.

On topic:
    You cant safely go to sleep in a hedge in Dublin after a night out.

O yes you can ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Stockholm 1.2 million, metro trams and busses and... get this... integrated tickets

Stockholm - 2,054,343:p

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

Learn how to drive at the age of 12/13 without having to resort to robbing cars and taking them for joyrides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

MajorMax wrote: »
    Stockholm - 2,054,343:p

Stockholm regional, yes, but city and bubs is 1.2mill.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

:confused: I started this thread and I'm a Dub. Liking the country and country people is not being anti-Dublin.

Anyway, a few I forgot.

Crashing your fifteen year old Corolla into somebody else's fifteen year old Corolla and after it's been established that no-one's hurt, and both cars are still driving,not ringing the Gardai or swapping insurance details. The person in the wrong is responsible for buying the feed of drink "for the shock".

Slapping your kids in the back of the car without slowing down or looking around even while cornering. "I'll reach back there now in a minute and I don't care who I hit"

Drink Power's whiskey rather than Jameson.
    Put a dash of "pep" (peppermint cordial) in it.
    Never get charged for a dash of anything with your short.
    Wear Wranglers instead of Levi's.
    One from the past no longer applicable:
    Arrive at the pub during Holy hour, knock on the window, have the barman look up and down the road before saying," Aah jaysus lads would ye look at the time, git in".

Think there are only 2 brands of jeans

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

Breather Clean Air
    Leave your door unlocked
    Walk anywhere safely without hassle from scumbags
    Be in a traffic jam involving cows or sheep and smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I'd much rather to have grown up in the countryside than the city if i am to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭MastiffMrs

Have a great nights sleep with no streetlights outside d window and no cars going past,and no house alarms constantly going off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Mongarra

Just a few expressions (maybe some heard in Dublin but not with the accent).

Ya can't bate the Golden wonders.

I'll see ya when I see ya.

Up ya boy ya.

When are the Junior Bs playin?

He's out on the golf links (inland)

Are ya goin' into the street? (village)

How's she cuttin'

Are ya goin' for a scrawb? (a courtin' session)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

live with dignity.

have a baby in a field and die
    find a baby washed up with the tide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Drive the tractor to the pub.

Turn up your jeans that are 6 inches too long.

have a baby in a field and die
    find a baby washed up with the tide

What the fcuk:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,495 ✭✭✭✭Victor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

you have more freedom to do what you like in open countryside, i can't even pause for a smoke here without cctv masts telling me to march on, give me a break. if i wanna streak nude and suck cows off thats my, bobby brown hit single

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

if i wanna streak nude and suck cows off thats my, bobby brown hit single

ohh now thats very bad so it is,lord god almighty what a thing to say,be good thats shockin,christ when i think of it..ur a little scumbag is what you are so you are,god forgive you because i tell you i most certainly will not.Damn you to hell you ignorant devil child.

you have more freedom to do what you like in open countryside, i can't even pause for a smoke here without cctv masts telling me to march on, give me a break. if i wanna streak nude and suck cows off thats my, bobby brown hit single
    jimbob86 wrote: »
    ohh now thats very bad so it is,lord god almighty what a thing to say,be good thats shockin,christ when i think of it..ur a little scumbag is what you are so you are,god forgive because i tell i most certainly will not.Damn you to hell you ignorant devil child.

Another thing you can do in the country, is give someone a hiding if they're big enough arseholes to deserve one, and completely get away with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

newmug wrote: »
    Another thing you can do in the country, is give someone a hiding if they're big enough arseholes to deserve one, and completely get away with it!

well if you think you need a new mug now, one could reinforce that thought, in the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭jimbob86

newmug wrote: »

ha ha..... Yea you must get beat up the whole time then mugboy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

spot an 'undercover' garda car a mile away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Go to a big local funeral and then to the parish hall for the salad and the tea. Drink tea from a massive kettle that has been pressed into service as a teapot and carried by a woman called Peggie, Anne or Catherine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Do whatever you like then say that no "f***ker from up in Dublin" is going to tell you you can't do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭Celtise

Get stuffing in a takeaway*.

*in Kerry anyways