Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you can do down the country that you can't do in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Find a big-hipped, plain faced, too much makeup-wearing, tight jeans-wearing, GAA-jerseyed, cowboy-booted, pot-bellied woman attractive!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

sheep?

wait someone else has already done that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Nolanger wrote: »
    Find a big-hipped, plain faced, too much makeup-wearing, tight jeans-wearing, GAA-jerseyed, cowboy-booted, pot-bellied woman attractive!

Beside the pot belly and the make up I don't see anything wrong with that

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭O-Deazy

head to the bog with a flask a tay and a few hang sang-wiches..

Dance in a circle at a disco with your mates, alll wearing jumpers around their waists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Nolanger wrote: »
    Dance in a circle at a disco with your mates, alll wearing jumpers around their waists.

brilliant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

End every sentance with a high pitched tone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Drink Smithwicks

I used to get so scared when I worked in a pub and someone asked for it, cos it meant they were from the *cringe* Midlands. Scariest accents in the world! :( Why do Midland folk always sound so angry?? WHY?? :confused:
    Go to Australia

Except it's always pronounced Austrayla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

number10a wrote: »
    Why do Midland folk always sound so angry?? WHY?? :confused:

Proximity to Brian Cowen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

In answer to the OP's question:

Live life without knowledge or concern for this thing they call the " Spire " :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,660 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

doomed wrote: »
    Do whatever you like then say that no "f***ker from up in Dublin" is going to tell you you can't do it.

ah, Mr Healy-Rae, welcome to Boards

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭MonkeyDoo

Get stuffing and coldslaw in your snackbox for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Be very friendly and polite to people's faces and rip the schite out of them behind their backs, never express an opinion on anything, be incredibly nosey and ask intrusive questions but never volunteer any information about yourself, be a gombeen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

number10a wrote: »
    Except it's always pronounced Austrayla.
    No no no, say it now, its Oss-thrail-ya :)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Silage wave.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Joseph291987

ating yokes on a sahurday night but still right as rain for the big hurling game on the sunday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Pronouncing the word Brilliant as ....
    "Brill-unt"

Mighty ...
    "My-tay"

And Tremendous as ....
    "Tre-men-jus"

The only time these words are uttered in this fashion in our fair capital is when Ger Loughnane is in Croke Park for the Sunday Game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Be very friendly and polite to people's faces and rip the schite out of them behind their backs, never express an opinion on anything, be incredibly nosey and ask intrusive questions but never volunteer any information about yourself, be a gombeen.

That's everyone in Ireland though.

Also. Pronounce commitee as "com'etae"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

And Tremendous as ....
    "Tre-men-jus"

The only time these words are uttered in this fashion in our fair capital is when Ger Loughnane is in Croke Park for the Sunday Game.

:confused::confused::confused: Is there a second way to pronounce tremendous?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

newmug wrote: »
    :confused::confused::confused: Is there a second way to pronounce tremendous?
    Yes, the way it is written, tre-men-dus. Where does the g/j sound come from?

Walk around with an air of superiority because you grew up in some crap town where everyone liked you because your dad was a Garda/teacher/TD/GAA manager!

Yes, the way it is written, tre-men-dus. Where does the g/j sound come from?

Seriously? You pronounce the word tremendous like tremen - DUSS? As in dust without the T?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Wait on a crossroads for someone to come along.
    Leave your change on the bar.
    Play a game of pool with a couple of young lads.
    Lose, and buy a bottle of red lemonade for the winners.
    Buy a bottle of red lemonade.
    Ask a complete stranger has he a tip for the 4.40 at Navan.
    Rub your hands together when a plate of stew is put in front of you.
    Blame Dublin.
    Elect Michael Lowry.
    Be told by your Auntie, that the only reason that you're getting stew at all is because "Your mother's a friend of mine"
    Wash up
    Go to Mass
    See your great-auntie Brid
    Wait at a different crossroads
    Bond with your uncle who has an accumlator going.
    Tell everyone that your mam is grand.
    Visit a cemetary.
    Waste half an hour chatting a girl up only to find she's your cousin.
    Give out about your closest neighbours
    Get the roide in Hayes' hotel while explaining to a young one how it was all fields down there.
    Go to mass.
    Fry up everything that couldn't walk from the previous night.
    Miss your cousins.
    Be strangely sad on the train.

Stare down a butcher. "Those chops are a bit fatty Michael"
    Be beady-eyed.
    Win two extra chops.
    So AHer's what have I missed?

Beware of bull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭max 73

Be from Cork…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

max 73 wrote: »
    Be from Cork…

If your from cork, you will still be from cork while in dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

robbie7730 wrote: »
    If your from cork, you will still be from cork while in dublin.

but walk with a smooth superior waddling arse, knowing that BERTIE wanted to come from Bantry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Pull over anywhere at the side of the road for a piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Sitec

goin lampin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sitec wrote: »
    goin lampin

I have idea what this is, but I completely agree.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Shooting,hunting, and proper fishing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Bazzy

As a dub who has recently moved rural i can add to a few

Buying firewood/turf in the pub having it delivered and not paying for it for a long time and when you go to pay for it your man not too pushed to take the money off you anyway

Lines during the freeze like "it'd be too dangerous to walk in that so you'd have to drive" home from the pub after several pints!

Burning everything and I mean everything

The waving at everyone

Me being known as "the dub"

the seriousness of the "County Final"

people with funny names just a few examples

woof woof
    Joe the Lorry (lorry driver)
    Digger (jcb driver)

going to the local shop for a pint of milk and spending 20 minutes getting the local gossip

the post office being open at 7 or 8 at night because its in the local shop

Nothing being the same price twice in the local shop

In a localish pub there's a pub me and two friends were in we were all drinking guinness the price was different on each round

people from neighbouring village sniffing around when local gaa team are doing better than them

een at the end of everything hateen pinteen mickeen and i get one all the time

jackeen

Knowing why dubs are called jackeens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

Marry your cousins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Go to the Bog

Throw a Jackeen down a boghole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

kerash wrote: »
    Go to the Bog

Throw a Jackeen down a boghole

Know what "throwing a Jackeen down a boghole" actually means.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

ate a few pans a rasp

cut turf, turn turf, spread turf, foot turf, clamp turf, reek turf, bag turf, draw home a load a turf, throw in the turf, build turf, burn turf.

kerash wrote: »
    ate a few pans a rasp

cut turf, turn turf, spread turf, foot turf, clamp turf, reek turf, bag turf, draw home a load a turf, throw in the turf, build turf, burn turf.

You forgot rowin' the turf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Breathe fresh air.

• Registered Users Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

See the milky way on a crisp dark winter night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Seriously? You pronounce the word tremendous like tremen - DUSS? As in dust without the T?
    You mean the correct way? Yes.
    Seriously, where were you dragged up? Also, answer my previous question, where does this supposed j sound come from in 'tremen-jus'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

Ye all say that its safe well I got stabbed in a town with a pop of maybe 4-5k!!! In broad daylight on easter saturday! The guards got hit and the knife with my blood and a confession but alas tis the country so I now find myself in a different country as SFA(sweet fcuk all) being done about it.

And in my hometown one guy does the following

Farmer, Butcher, Undertaker, Postman, Dog Breeder and trainer(coursing dogs)
    and he is also a Publican!!

Has anyone mentioned cow-tipping?

Also you can literally have s3x anywhere in a car once it gets dark. Ive had s3x on the main road from limerick a few times at night just pulled in and maybe up to 20 cars pass and dont bother ya!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Put your hazzard lights on when you block traffic to go into a shop for 15 minutes.
    And not get guilty about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

LOVE this thread :)

How i miss Ireland!

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭WWC1

Watch Patsy, 70 yr old farmer, drinking stout in the local and putting a biro mark on his arm for each pint. He doesn’t like to carry cash at night, alto prob sunk his first pint at 3pm, and goes back into pub the next day to settle up. Usually at 3pm..

Confusion & consternation one night when he had a drawn a circle rather than a line. Took a while before he remembered he’d had a toasted sandwich 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Have to say as a Dublin All my life and Reading some of the stories in this thread I wouldn't mind living down the country and being a culchie for a while. It seems a simple but happy life

• Registered Users Posts: 17 The Max

Listening to the deaths on the radio

• Registered Users Posts: 17 The Max

Walking by rivers and canals that are shopping trolly free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Go to under 16, minor, junior and senior games and see a few of the same players playin in all of them!:)

You forgot rowin' the turf
    Never heard of it amhac - Is that a newfangled thing they do down your way?

ricero wrote: »
    Have to say as a Dublin All my life and Reading some of the stories in this thread I wouldn't mind living down the country and being a culchie for a while. It seems a simple but happy life

Turf is anthin but simple and dont get me started on meadows and hay :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭coffeelover

Pretend you're under 16 so you get in free to a GAA match :D