Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Things you can do down the country that you can't do in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

care enough to want to get into a GAA match :D

FYP

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Seriously, where were you dragged up? Also, answer my previous question, where does this supposed j sound come from in 'tremen-jus'?

I take exception to that unnescessarily nasty remark. I was reared where they teach people a higher standard of English than you obviously have. They teach us things like the fact that a D can sometimes have a J or G sound, as is the case with words like deuce, pronounced juice, and dredging, pronounced jredging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

newmug wrote: »
    I take exception to that unnescessarily nasty remark. I was reared where they teach people a higher standard of English than you obviously have. They teach us things like the fact that a D can sometimes have a J or G sound, as is the case with words like deuce, pronounced juice, and dredging, pronounced jredging.

what?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

please be joking.

or is that djoking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 tomcruiser

**** off a dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Let this link settle it.

I think it's funny that a google search on how to pronounce tremendous, the third choice leads you back to this thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Scawgeen

The Max wrote: »
    Listening to the deaths on the radio

and guessing how much the deceased was worth by the number of priests celebrating the funeral mass. It's well known in the countryside that very very rich people have at least 5 priests say the funeral mass whereas a poor person just has the local priest.

Usually overheard at elderly batchelor with a biteen of land funeral '' Who'll fall in for the place now ? ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Thank fcuk I can drive properly outside Dublin. Dublin must be the only city I've driven in (including overseas) where people do 85KPH on a motorway and hog the overtaking lane - twits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I rest my case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Tuck your shirt into your y fronts and pulled up to your nipples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

good lord

deuce is pronounced deuce, and dredging is pronounced dredging

d has a j sound when followed by a g only. i shudder to think what else you consider to be a "high standard of english"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Helix wrote: »
    d has a j sound when followed by a g only.

Django Reinhardt might have had something to say about that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Yes, the way it is written, tre-men-dus. Where does the g/j sound come from?

It comes from the regional variations in how people speak, otherwise known as dialects. Oh and 'tre-men-dus' is not how it's written, that's just your phonetic interpretation of it so leave others to theirs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Ditch wrote: »
    Django Reinhardt might have had something to say about that :P

ahaha not really an english name though is it :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭0verblood

Fall into a "ditch".

0verblood wrote: »
    Fall into a "ditch".

Why have you ditch in inverted commas?

Because down the counthry a ditch refers to a bush.

No it doesnt :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Lynch a local fella because ye think he might one of them queers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

Use the response "Nearly never bulled the cow" any time somone says nearly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Put in car adverts "never been farmed" even if its not a jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    Oh and 'tre-men-dus' is not how it's written, that's just your phonetic interpretation of it so leave others to theirs.
    No.

Yes it does you big culchie.

• Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

feel like you live in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

get a spin in a tractor when the boisss are cutting the silageee

get a roide in a tractor:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Buy a jam sambo at the DISCHKO! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Shoot things.

Oh wait, they do that in Dublin too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

A ditch isn't a bush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Fail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

In febuary goin to junior b trainin, full of it how this is your year and we'll make a real go, then off for a feed of pints. 4 months later lose first round of championship because half the team is at silage, and then go for a feed of pints!! :D

at training
    wheres tommy? silage
    jack? silage
    pat? silage
    dan? silage
    micky? silage
    pa? pub

fcuk it lads we'l just have a game of backs and forwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Meet Irish people!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

FISMA wrote: »
    Meet Irish people!:)

[ ] make sense

ottostreet wrote: »
    A ditch isn't a bush.

I know. That's why it's funny when culchies call a bush a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,664 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

not know that a bush and a ditch are the same thing.... I think...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Ride sheep .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

It does where I come from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Be happy out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭GoldenBoot

Never having to waste time choosing which pub, bookie, pub, bookie, pub, chipper to go to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

A ditch is a ditch?:confused:

You know..like a drain..at the side of the road..?

storm2811 wrote: »
    A ditch is a ditch?:confused:

You know..like a drain..at the side of the road..?

No that is a drain or a dyke, the ditch is above it.

O we had great fun with them English hippies

a ditch seperates two fields, or its whats either side of the roads and backroads around the country
    a bush is something in your garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

garv123 wrote: »
    a bush is something in your garden

*Giggity!*:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

No that is a drain or a dyke, the ditch is above it.

O we had great fun with them English hippies

wrong...

Ditch

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

A ditch is usually defined as a small to moderate depression created to channel water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭markpb

summerskin wrote: »
    wrong...

Ditch

A ditch is usually defined as a small to moderate depression created to channel water.

Pfft. What would Wikipedia know about being from back the coun-tray?

wrong...

Ditch

So we must now change to conform with Wiki.

As the mother use to say would you jump off a Ditch if Wiki told you

only if it was backed up by reliable and checkable sources of reference, and safe in the knowledge that i was going to have a soft landing in a small amount of water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

wrong...

Ditch

From the World English Dictionary:

1. a narrow channel dug in the earth, usually used for drainage, irrigation, or as a boundary marker 2. any small, natural waterway 3. ( Irish ) a bank made of earth excavated from and placed alongside a drain or stream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

wrong...

Ditch

you can get wikipedia in dublin

maybe you can, we can even get it out here in the Wesht.