Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Many PC Gamers here ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,978 ✭✭✭wyrn

Another reason why I prefer pc to consoles is the controls. I love using wasd. I find console controllers awkward to hold (especially xbox) and when under presure I tend to forget which buttons do what. Don't ask.

I rarely custom buttons as I'm pretty happy with default for most games. I love in HL the weapons can be easily acessed with humbers or in Red Alert when setting teams, it's so easy with numbers.

I do think though, there is a slight correlation of age for preference of PC vs console. I'm not saying it's an age thing really but for those of use who played DOOM and Quake alot, we tend to prefer PCs. I had a playstation 1 and played Silent Hill, Resident Evil, Parasite Eve a lot but I haven't bothered with a PS3.

My preference of PC could be because I love stategy games more. I'm crap at fps. Wooful. I'm stuck on killing a reaver in Gears of War 2. Argggg so frustrating.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

wyrn wrote: »
    Another reason why I prefer pc to consoles is the controls. I love using wasd. I find console controllers awkward to hold (especially xbox) and when under presure I tend to forget which buttons do what. Don't ask.

I rarely custom buttons as I'm pretty happy with default for most games. I love in HL the weapons can be easily acessed with humbers or in Red Alert when setting teams, it's so easy with numbers.

I do think though, there is a slight correlation of age for preference of PC vs console. I'm not saying it's an age thing really but for those of use who played DOOM and Quake alot, we tend to prefer PCs. I had a playstation 1 and played Silent Hill, Resident Evil, Parasite Eve a lot but I haven't bothered with a PS3.

My preference of PC could be because I love stategy games more. I'm crap at fps. Wooful. I'm stuck on killing a reaver in Gears of War 2. Argggg so frustrating.

I grew up on Playstation, yet I love PC more :)

I would agree that more people on PC would be older, you rarely see anyone under my age playing online on PC.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Tend to use the right thumb button on my gaming mouse for voice comms. :p

docmol wrote: »
    Orange box is amazing and I think the best game in it is DODS!

Always heard good things about that game but I'm pretty sure it doesn't come included in the orange box? That was TF2 and CSS no? confused.gif

Anyone ever play 'The Hidden' mod for Hl2? fantastic mod.
    indough wrote: »
    Well I am the more experienced pc gamer. I am playing tough games like arma 2 now not arcadey shooters. most of the added features on those mice will just get in the way and make life more difficult. i find once its responsive enough thats all that matters

Yeah its mainly the responsiveness I'm after in a gaming mouse, I stopped using all the extra features on mine after a few years, but when I moved back to a standard mouse I found it horrible, I'd grown accustomed to the smoothness of the razor with its higher DPI etc.

Magill wrote: »
    Errrr... yes it will... FACT. If you give 2 equally skilled newbie PC gamers the same setup but one with a ****ty dell mouse with a crappy mousemat and one with a good gaming mouse and mat, the guy with a good gaming mouse would whoop the ****ty dell mouse user.

Well if your talkin about a normal mouse and not a broken mouse, V a gaming mouse, while I think the gaming mouse would have the competitive edge, I doubt we'd see such a difference in performance if we're talking two brand new PC gamers.

If both gamers were used to gaming mice and one was forced to use normal one we'd see more of a difference though. I've found newbie pc gamers tend to dislike gaming mice on 1st try stating they are way too sensitive.

But while I do agree they've the competitive edge, what I was actually saying was, you don't need a gaming mouse to actually play an FPS.

I was getting the impression from headshot, that he was finding it difficult to adjust to mouse and KB and thought they a gaming KB and mouse was actually needed to play these games which as we all know is not the case. Thats what i was getting at.

I grew up on Playstation, yet I love PC more

Oh I'm exactly the same loved my ps1, but my mind was blown when I finally got a decent PC, Unreal Tournament even against bots, was amazing.
    I would agree that more people on PC would be older, you rarely see anyone under my age playing online on PC.

While true, there are always exceptions. Me and a friend were on some random server in ArmA2 of all games when this 7 year old kid from Sweden joined the server and played with us. We were talking to him on the mics, he was pretty decent for his age but it wasnt long before his age started to grind our gears if you will (singing and screaming down the mic etc) it was bizarre though considering the type of game arma is and the kinda games we'd have been playing when we were 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,464 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

i'm another fan of the MX518 and also have the G110 keyboard
    i would use the thumb button for in game actions depending on the game and would use a high dpi all the time
    i have never gotten into key binding on the keyboard so most of the specialist buttons are wasted on me and i mainly got the keyboard as the buttons are illuminated, very handy for night gaming
    i was an arrow keys user for years but eventually gave the wasd a try and wouldn't go back now, especially when i don't have to set up the keys for every new game :)
    i have been a console gamer only since the PS1 but much prefer my games on the pc, having said that sometimes it is nice to lie on the bed and slum it with the ps3 wireless controller

• Registered Users Posts: 54,379 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

that's the keyboard im thinking of getting the G110

is it worth it?

Let me ask you this, what do you want from a gaming keyboard?

I have a G15. Day to day gaming its no better then my other keyboards.

The screen comes in handy for keeping an eye on core temps if i'm over clocking, checking ram and cpu usage etc etc mid game.

The G keys?

Only used them for MMO's and at that I only bothered mapping emotes to them.

The light up keys are nice. Thats about it man, what are you expecting is gonna be different with a gaming keyboard?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Sisko wrote: »
    Well if your talkin about a normal mouse and not a broken mouse, V a gaming mouse, while I think the gaming mouse would have the competitive edge, I doubt we'd see such a difference in performance if we're talking two brand new PC gamers.

If both gamers were used to gaming mice and one was forced to use normal one we'd see more of a difference though. I've found newbie pc gamers tend to dislike gaming mice on 1st try stating they are way too sensitive.

But while I do agree they've the competitive edge, what I was actually saying was, you don't need a gaming mouse to actually play an FPS.

Ofc you dont NEED it to play an FPS, i started off playing cs with a ball mouse sure... with 20fps and on a 56k modem :)

But after upgrading my connection and PC, the next best thing i did was getting a decent mouse. I dont see how it can be way to sensitive tho.. unless they dont know how to use the sensitivity options ingame or in windows. The main reason why these mice are so good for gaming isnt their buttons or massive DPI, its because of how smooth they are when making fast movements. You can do 180's as quick as you want, where as with a cheap(I dont know why i keep calling them cheap, because like i said the 518 is only another tenner anyway) ass optical mouse you'll turn 10 degrees and the mouse will spaz out on you. Micro aiming is also alot better and they just track so much better. You'll also find the mice are much heavier than the standard mice... which imo is a good thing.

BTW Headshot, best advice for playing shooters. Disable mouse acceleration on windows mouse settings and try to play on a low sensitivity.

I wouldnt stress myself on a keyboard either mate, the only games i've ever found my G11 useful for was.... well... nothing really, i never even used the macro keys for wow :D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I LOVE PC gaming, imo it trumps all other forms of gaming. It is a shame that nowadays many games are being held back because of their being developed for consoles first, then ported to pc later. That said though with mods, dedicated servers, 60FPS and higher, custom key binds, precision mouse pointing there can be only one winner.

With regards to gaming mice, imo it depends on the type of game that you are playing. If you are playing RTS games then a nice sensitive,responsive and accurate mouse can be helpful. In which case perhaps going for a gaming mouse isn't a bad idea. For FPS, it shouldn't really matter too much. In the case of some FPS, something that is often over looked is recoil effects, with an overly sensitive mouse this will more be difficult to counter and in truth for most games the best way to minimise recoil is to tap that fire button to a stable rhythm sometimes this requires very fast clicking, other times it requires more controlled and methodological clicking. Either way, if shooters are your first port of call then my suggestion would to be to get a sturdy one, durable that allows abuse on the fire button and also allows you to easily place two fingers on it for ultra rapid fast fire. :D
    Aim is something which for shooters should come slowly. Use low sensitivity and gradually step it up in comfortable increments. High sensitivity when you're not used to it is the equivalent of playing with fire because if you're taken completely off guard odds are you'll find the shock has taken your reticule to the sky! Also, unless you're playing quake or unreal tournament, don't run and gun at first. Try to walk as much as possible, use cover etc. get your aiming pin point and get a feel for the guns. If you have a contact, just take one step to the side out of the immediate fireline and fireback immediately. It may be tempting at first to try a run like a headless chicken to dodge the bullets, instead drill yourself into stepping to the side and firing. Once you get the feel for the weapons you'll be able to start working on movement even more. Eventually, you'll be able to scamper around the map and take precision pot shots before your opponents know what hit them (and probably have accusations of aimbot flinging towards you left right and centre LOL). Run and gunning, while tempting because you see everyone doing it, is a bad habit get your aim right, get a feel for adjusting it for moving targets and the movement will come. :) Obviously, if it's an Arma-esque game don't run and gun at all. ;)

On the whole gaming mice aren't necessary imo. One thing that is nice though is an ergonomic mouse pad that allows you slot your wrist on it nice and comfortably. :) Oh and surround sound system definitely helps.:) Joysticks don't go amiss either.

With regards to keyboards, well I never actually tried a gaming keyboard because most of time I just used a laptop one lol. Just remember to use lots of custom keybinds (legal ones obviously!) to make your experience as comfortable as possible. Even simple things such as chat binds for "Left" "Right" "Front" "Rear" can go long away into helping you communicate effectively in shooters. If you're gonna commit to arma then I recommend this one crucial keybind :
    Double tap "e" for immediate emergency ejection of any vehicle you are inside.

Most important thing of all though is have fun!

Malty_T wrote: »
    I LOVE PC gaming, imo it trumps all other forms of gaming. It is a shame that nowadays many games are being held back because of their being developed for consoles first, then ported to pc later. That said though with mods, dedicated servers, 60FPS and higher, custom key binds, precision mouse pointing there can be only one winner.

Careful, speaking such facts round these parts can have the same results as saying 'the earth is over 4 billion years old and wasn't made in 6 days' in some hick town in middle america. :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Careful, speaking such facts round these parts can have the same results as saying 'the earth is over 4 billion years old and wasn't made in 6 days' in some hick town in middle america. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,464 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Headshot wrote: »
    that's the keyboard im thinking of getting the G110

is it worth it?

as i said i really only got it for the lighted keys, it has nice soft keys so nice to use
    having said that though they bunched the keys together so it is a little awkward at first to use as a normal keyboard as you keep hitting the wrong keys
    also the feet don't raise it far enough but if this is your first keyboard for gaming then you won't notice the difference
    tbh as others have said a normal keyboard isn't that much different and i would invest more in a nice mouse

I actually find my G15 more annoying to type on compared to say my laptop keyboard, I like flatter keys when typing I guess.

So yeah you'd wanna take into consideration too since you'll be using it for more than just gaming.

Get over yourself mate.... I've NEVER disagreed with anything you said !! Just the sheer amount of times you have to say it in a snobby stuck up way.

And im pretty sure Jazzy is a much better PC gamer than you aswel... so its not that we are some random console scrubs when both of us have probably been big pc gamers well before you put away your gamepad ! LOL

And most of what malty said about mice was wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭BULLER

Battlefield Bad Company 2 is without a doubt the best online FPS going at the moment. The sound, graphics and gameplay cant be beaten.

Look out for Crysis 2 and Shift 2 this month. And Battlefield 3 in Autumn is set to be epic...

Make sure you get one of the Logitech gaming mice with side buttons (for quick stabbing ;) ). I dont think Black Ops is optimised for the PC as well as Modern Warfare 2 was, I definately felt a significant drop in frame rate was unjustified as the graphics were identical.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

hmmm i am finding myself a real hc pc gamer. i grew up on doom, fallout 2, jagged alliance 2, quake 2, halflife etc...

i did played alot of ps1 too: GT, any Resident evil when they were good horror survival games, not **** like 4++ ( rant for anather day), parasite eve ( loved it!!!!!!!!!!! i really want to see a release of one and two on playstation network....), nectaris, Red alert 1 lol...

recently it changed alot thought... i played pc all day long and my xbox and ps3 just used for movies and crap... I just bought newer xbox so its properly wirelessly connected to internet, a few people from work and friends from northend ireland play xbox all the time. So i joined them for the crack.... no i am constantly on xbox. we play bc2, black ops ( even if its ****), i got good few single player games too.

I love pc, but i really getting in to xbox now, as its really awesome social platform. controls are **** for fps, but when you get used to it, its grand, all the crack you get with lads online makes it work it. Nothing is better then bc2 squad deathmach with the lads. all got theyr role, and all are with mics. great crack.

I love pc gaming, but xbox is great, becouse its popular and easy to use. bouth got theyr strenghts and weaknesses.

i know for sure thought, i am getting crisis 2 on pc. sorry, but xbox version is just horrible.

hmmm i am finding myself a real hc pc gamer. i grew up on doom, fallout 2, jagged alliance 2, quake 2, halflife etc...

i did played alot of ps1 too: GT, any Resident evil when they were good horror survival games, not **** like 4++ ( rant for anather day), parasite eve ( loved it!!!!!!!!!!! i really want to see a release of one and two on playstation network....), nectaris, Red alert 1 lol...

recently it changed alot thought... i played pc all day long and my xbox and ps3 just used for movies and crap... I just bought newer xbox so its properly wirelessly connected to internet, a few people from work and friends from northend ireland play xbox all the time. So i joined them for the crack.... no i am constantly on xbox. we play bc2, black ops ( even if its ****), i got good few single player games too.

I love pc, but i really getting in to xbox now, as its really awesome social platform. controls are **** for fps, but when you get used to it, its grand, all the crack you get with lads online makes it work it. Nothing is better then bc2 squad deathmach with the lads. all got theyr role, and all are with mics. great crack.

I love pc gaming, but xbox is great, becouse its popular and easy to use. bouth got theyr strenghts and weaknesses.

i know for sure thought, i am getting crisis 2 on pc. sorry, but xbox version is just horrible.

Nail on head i think. Most of my mates have the PS3, barely any of them have ever played on the PC. If your having fun, i dont really think it matters what you play on tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Nail on head i think. Most of my mates have the PS3, barely any of them have ever played on the PC. If your having fun, i dont really think it matters what you play on tbh.

indeed. pc is awesome for gaming, but its sooooo nice to drop your ass on sofa and play on 42inch telly with lads screaming on mic, while you have a sip of tea.

i am allways on vent with firends too, but i find myself playing less and less on pc lately... i just go watch pron, donedeal, carzone, boards.ie, auto forums, 4chan....

i have to say quiting wow helped too, i actually started enjoying gaming and discovered that i have alot of good games i newer play.... on all 3 platforms... :rolleyes:

indeed. pc is awesome for gaming, but its sooooo nice to drop your ass on sofa and play on 42inch telly with lads screaming on mic, while you have a sip of tea.

i am allways on vent with firends too, but i find myself playing less and less on pc lately... i just go watch pron, donedeal, carzone, boards.ie, auto forums, 4chan....

i have to say quiting wow helped too, i actually started enjoying gaming and discovered that i have alot of good games i newer play.... on all 3 platforms... :rolleyes:

WoW is imo the biggest reason PC gaming is in decline :D I played it for like 4 odd years, and during those 4 years i bought 2 games... both of the expansions !! LOL

Get over yourself mate.... I've NEVER disagreed with anything you said !! Just the sheer amount of times you have to say it in a snobby stuck up way.

And im pretty sure Jazzy is a much better PC gamer than you aswel... so its not that we are some random console scrubs when both of us have probably been big pc gamers well before you put away your gamepad ! LOL

And most of what malty said about mice was wrong.

Sigh, Man you really need to calm down, honestly coming out with this 'Im a better pc gamer then you nee ner nee ner neer ner' stuff too is now just a little bit like being at the school playground. Get over myself? Stop jumping at any post I make like a rapid dog. Don't even know where you getting this random console scrub stuff from , applying opinions of you I don't even have to yourself. Calm down man, seriously, the PC gaming master race stuff is a joke, look it up before you give yourself a heartattack. I have no presumptions about you or your gaming skill or preferences. Lets all just enjoy chatting about gaming ffs.

I see what your saying here but would you agree that this is more down to what your friends have? I'm, getting the impression from your post most of your mates are on 360. Most of my mates have pc's and a lot of them have ps3's also.

I honestly find the 'social' online gaming with friends far better on pc. Hell , half the time we all do play some PS3 online together, we still have to use our PC's for organising the session, and voice communication. And not for a lack of PS3 mics, but simply the voice coms are dodgy as hell in 1943 on console. Its a nightmare actually. Theres no fix for it either :(

Sigh, Man you really need to calm down, honestly coming out with this 'Im a better pc gamer then you nee ner nee ner neer ner' stuff too is now just a little bit like being at the school playground. Get over myself? Stop jumping at any post I make like a rapid dog. Don't even know where you getting this random console scrub stuff from , applying opinions of you I don't even have to yourself. Calm down man, seriously, the PC gaming master race stuff is a joke, look it up before you give yourself a heartattack. I have no presumptions about you or your gaming skill or preferences. Lets all just enjoy chatting about gaming ffs.

so lets get this straight.
    after you start going on about "hey lets get back on topic here" and forget about the little tiff earlier you come out with "Careful, speaking such facts round these parts can have the same results as saying 'the earth is over 4 billion years old and wasn't made in 6 days' in some hick town in middle america."
    and you are trying to tell us that you arent acting like a prat and not trolling? then at the end of that you go "lets all just enjoy chatting about gaming ffs."
    do you realise how abrasive and hypocritical your posts are here or are you going to just pretend they aren't and that 'we just need to calm down' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Wait a minute... since when has Jazzy suppose to be a console fanboy lol?

Did I get teleported to some parallel universe?

Next you'll be saying Retro loves Bioware RPGs.

Deep inside of a parallel universe
    It’s getting harder and harder
    To tell is jazzy a console fanboy :D

Way to just kill the thread, PM your attacks I'll reply or take it to the thunder dome or some ****, don't wreck someone elses thread due to your own personal issues with me, I can argue all damn day if you want.

Plenty of people say the exact same stuff as me in this thread but if I say it I've two bitter rapid dogs waiting to pounce. I'm not trolling or acting the prat, making a light hearted joke of a true situation. If I had a different user name and the same opinions there would have been no reaction. Take your personal gripes with me to somewhere else.

I'm never gonna not say my opinion regarding PC gaming V console gaming the same way all the others in this thread have done, so people with personal issues with me can either suck it the **** up and ignore it, bitch at me in pms or somewhere else but for ffs stop wrecking other peoples threads because some bizarre damaged ego.

At the end of the feckin day, we're talking about video games here something we all enjoy, and you guys are way out of line.

so basically no, you dont understand how hypocrital, abrasive and stupid your posting is

oh btw jazzy mate I was joking :)

let see can i get this thread back on track

can anyone recommend me a great single player game. (good story line etc)

Maybe you should re-read your own posts before you claim others are hypocritical etc Any post I make can be seen as abrasive to people who have issues with me from threads outside this one considering said people are sitting ready to pounce on anything I say , even if 10 people said exactly the same thing just before hand. This is ridiculous.

Fuggen half life 2!!! :p

Stalker? Metro 2033? Do you like fantasy based RPG's?

Maybe you should re-read your own posts before you claim others are hypocritical etc

i have. you have absolutely no point

Guess you can't see how stupid your posts are then eh jazzy? :rolleyes: Great great contribution to the thread.

Thats a hard one tbh, at least if you want something newish. Theres all the obvious ones but you might have already played them on PS3. Obviously HL2 if you havent played it yet.... stalker is also really good. Have you ever played Knights of the old republic ? If you liked mass effect you'll love it, bit old now but i dont think its aged to badly and theres a great sequel. What about company of heroes ? Great game.

Theres all the old obvious ones but im not sure how much they'd appeal to you, games like diablo II, Warcraft III, Theif, Deus Ex etc

And sisko, you make a comment directed at me and jazzy and expect me not to reply ?