Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Students Rag Week Trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

barryd09 wrote: »
    see?its this sort of ****e that causes the most trouble.attempting to punch someone,joking or not,is provocation and i know,myself id have laid one of them out on the path.

It's not just provocation it's also technically an assault: from the Offences Against the Person Act 1997-

"2.—(1) A person shall be guilty of the offence of assault who, without lawful excuse, intentionally or recklessly—

(a) directly or indirectly applies force to or causes an impact on the body of another, or

(b) causes another to believe on reasonable grounds that he or she is likely immediately to be subjected to any such force or impact,

without the consent of the other."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

JohnCleary wrote: »
    To the people who give out constantly, it's a week of madness, get over it.
    No, it's a week of Raising And Giving, charitable events and sponsored fun, not tearing the place up because they can't do that in whatever village they came from. This has somehow degenerated into randomers claiming that half a million euros is acceptable collateral damage.

If students can't behave reasonably responsibly the troublemaking individuals can get their free education elsewhere, since they clearly don't deserve to enjoy the many benefits of a city like Galway. And I'd put the onus on their fellow students to remind them of that.

frank50 wrote: »
    Disgraceful stuff. I think these misbehaving students haven't been disciplined enough when they were younger. We need parents to be stricter with them. Too much mollycoddling going on. When I used to be acting the clown when I was younger my father used to hit me and rightly so. And before someone starts banging on about me being some old fellah, I'm only 25.
    What insecurities did your aul lad have if he felt the need to take it out on his child?

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭ArraMusha

orangebud wrote: »
    haha next door neighbors have been playing techno music since 10 am on Sunday & its still going and what i know there all going to the gmit might as well call it rag fourth-night

i think ill head down 2 the merlin pick up a bottle of B and join them, im sick of paying this universal tax

420:P

Was the Techno any good, mixing quality etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

JohnCleary wrote: »
    So far so good, i'm having a ball :) Making the most of it as it's my last RAG Week, except staying sober today cause i've an exam :(

Was up in Dun/Gort on Monday - it was a mess with litter... that can be cleaned up. The smashed glass was a bit idiotic alright. If the Management had any sense they'd have put big wheelie bins up as they knew the place was going to be awash with students. Everyone seemed to be havin' the craic, open houses and people having a ball.

I've been outdoors a lot since Monday morning and didn't see any fights or any of that sh1te. Granted, there are a lot of p1ss pools but fu(kit it'll be raining again soon (we're in Ireland y'know)

To the people who give out constantly, it's a week of madness, get over it.

Sure John, no bother. We'll allow our city to be vandalised and have people brushing up against us looking for fights and shouting abuse at us, cause, you know, ye students need ye're fun bless ye. Ye deserve it and all.

Grow up. If you post here and try and justify vandalism then it's a sad reflection of immaturity on your part.

If the students went out and didn't bother anyone, I'd say fair play to them. But as soon as it starts affecting other people, then it's not on.

I'm not holding back next time I'm provoked. I'll flatten the next cheeky little ****ebag that crosses me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I have lived in Galway city for 7 years. I went to 3 Rag Weeks. Have been out race week 3 times also and have been out for Paddys Day every year I have been there.

Paddys Day: when I first go to Galway was a scene of carnage. Over the last few years it has seemed a bit more organized and most people have gone home before 9pm because they work the next day. The first few years for Paddys Day I believe fell on a weekend and outside Supermacs turned into a massive brawl. Anyway, point being all of the Paddys Days were confined to the city and were really no different to a regular weekend night. (Most students aren't around the city on weekends at they go home..also don't seem to stay for Paddys Day from what I can see)

Race Week. I personally don't like going in the city during race week. It is not a very nice place to be. But again the noise, litter and trouble is confined to the city. I have not scene any estates trashed during race week and crowds usually stay in the city for the nights out rather than back at house parties.

RAG Week. And I'll talk about what I personally witnessed over the last few years. I have seen a drunk student go up to a pram that was being pushed sticking his head in and screaming at the baby before walking off. I saw 2 guys trying to chase a dog that was being walked and one of them falling on his ass. I saw a student lying down in front of a taxi at the taxi rank. I saw a guy climb up on a car and walking across the top of it. In town a group of students jumped up on the back of a tow truck that was driving out of the city. Lived in Dun na Coribe and it was noisey. Lived out in Greenfields and it was noisey. Lived on St Marys Road and it wasn't noisey because I was in a gated apartment block.

I don't accept the comparison with a regular Saturday night or Paddys Day and the Races because they simply aren't comparable. RAG Week is much worse. I have a friend that lives in Woodquay who takes holidays for RAG Week every year because he wouldn't get any sleep. He stays there without issue during Race Week.

I would accept that most students even when drunk don't act up as much as the minority but it's a very loud and vocal minority so don't hate people for the profiling...blame your colleagues guys!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

kraggy wrote: »
    Sure John, no bother. We'll allow our city to be vandalised and have people brushing up against us looking for fights and shouting abuse at us, cause, you know, ye students need ye're fun bless ye. Ye deserve it and all.

Grow up. If you post here and try and justify vandalism then it's a sad reflection of immaturity on your part.

If the students went out and didn't bother anyone, I'd say fair play to them. But as soon as it starts affecting other people, then it's not on.

I'm not holding back next time I'm provoked. I'll flatten the next cheeky little ****ebag that crosses me.

Ironic to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

galway23 wrote: »
    These students are an absolute disgrace.

There we go with that big tarring brush again. I'll have you know I have been a saint this week.

Come into the library, see how busy it is (granted quiet compared to last week or next week but still many here).
    Tonight will be the last night of hassle generally as people will have run out of steam/money to keep going to Thursday.

Things were far worse on "Arthur's" day.

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭MattKid

Correct, however I had Monday off and did see the crowds gathered outside Cuirt during the day. Walked by the whole thing on the way to Dunnes to get shopping and had no hassle at all. Heard the occasional shout or roar around the place but it wasn't anarchy by any means.

And again, I dont condone outrageous behaviour by any means, and such behaviour should be punished. I just dont have a problem with people having a few beers around the place and enjoying the week.

The students that live in close proximity to me, were pretty good, not obstructing cars driving, just hanging out having a drink in the sun.
    It's just a shame the big hoard of students couldn't have all congregated on college grounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭dloob

Good news NUIG wants the whole thing abandoned.
    http://www.galwaynews.ie/18059-nuig-head-calls-college-week-cancellation

Rather than call on the SU to abandon it why not schedule some exams and mandatory lecture attendance to coincide with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

I'm having trouble believing your post to be honest. You mean yesterday? Or are you actually referring to last week?

That's your come back, correcting my post. :rolleyes: Yes I mean yesterday just to clear it up for you. Why would I come on to boards and make up a story like that. I would agree with other posts about it being quieter than last year.

Problems we all have probems but lying is not one of mine neither is deluding myself for that matter.

I'm with Galway23, I'm outta here, Defend all you want.

dloob wrote: »

Rather than call on the SU to abandon it why not schedule some exams and mandatory lecture attendance to coincide with it.

Good news? More like another move towards nanny state pc crap and I'm not even taking part but it should be there for others to enjoy.

Again rag week here in Cork came and went without any of this crap about calling for it to be abandoned and people outraged over a bit of noise and a bit of litter

Some people live pretty boring lives in Galway it appears, where complaining about a bit of craic is a pass time.

Like how in gods name is a bonfire a big deal, there are bonfires in certain estates nearly everyday of the week and its not an issue. Making big news out of this shows what over exaggerated nonsense goes on about rag week.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

It's the generic "Irish" problem coming through though, isn't it - drinking oneself silly.
    If students took the week off to hang out with their mates in the sunshine, I'm sure they'd have a great week too. Instead they seem to have associated the "fun" with being paralytic drunk, which in turn leads to the vandalism etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Starie1975 wrote: »

That's your come back, correcting my post. :rolleyes: Yes I mean yesterday just to clear it up for you. Why would I come on to boards and make up a story like that. I would agree with other posts about it being quieter than last year.

Problems we all have probems but lying is not one of mine neither is deluding myself for that matter.

I'm with Galway23, I'm outta here, Defend all you want.

I never called you a liar, I just found it a little hard to believe in the way you worded your post. And its not a "come back", I wasn't having a go at you. The Gardaí should have dont something about it if those people jumped on your friends car.

And who's defending? If there's antisocial behaviour going on there should be consequences, I only posted my opinions based on what I've seen around the Cuirt/Dún and Gort na Coirribe area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

dloob wrote: »

You'd swear from the tone of that article that the students who were standing around the bonfire had pitchforks and knives ready to kill the Fire brigade workers!!

Honest to god like, most of it is so blown out of proportion that you can't even begin to debate it with anyone!

I would say there are about 2-3% of d1cks who are causing all the hassle and everyone is suffering for it! I know it's technically illegal to be drinking outside on the street or whatever, but for people who just want to go out, listen to a bit of music, and relax with a few cans it's usually fine!

But when the guards come over and start slapping drink out of people's hands, people who have done nothing at all wrong, it turns the tone of the day, and it's going to piss people off!!

I can't understand why they don't put a few big bins/skips around some areas (the green in front of Gort for example) and I do think the majority would throw their rubbish and empty cans and stuff into it! I know there are always going to be d1cks breaking glass bottles and acting the tool to the residents, but it's these who need to be reported/arrested, not the ones who are sitting down on the grass having a few cans with their friends!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

I reckon any student arrested during RAG week should be brought before the college authorities and expelled.
    Enforce this every year and you will soon see these yobs wise up.

Its one thing to pretend to hit someone but its another thing to go home to Mammy and Daddy and tell them you have been expelled!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

skelliser wrote: »
    I reckon any student arrested during RAG week should be brought before the college authorities and expelled.

Spot on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Padkir wrote: »
    ... I know it's technically illegal to be drinking outside on the street or whatever, but for people who just want to go out, listen to a bit of music, and relax with a few cans it's usually fine!
    But when the guards come over and start slapping drink out of people's hands, people who have done nothing at all wrong, it turns the tone of the day, and it's going to piss people off!!

What do you mean it is technically illegal? Drinking in public is against the law full stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

snubbleste wrote: »
    What do you mean it is technically illegal? Drinking in public is against the law full stop.

But, y'know, during Race Week it's fine, because the people drinking on the streets are wearing cheap suits :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I reckon what's needed is an over 30 and employed rag week. We could all get pissed (at the weekend) and go in and wreak the college. We won't face any opposition because we're bigger than them and can afford good solicitors should none of us know a guard that we go drinking with and will get us off with any charges.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Ficheall

You'd swear from the tone of that article that the students who were standing around the bonfire had pitchforks and knives ready to kill the Fire brigade workers!!

Exactly. They were only pelting a few empties at the fire brigade when they arrived to put out the fire. No harm done, sure.

I would say there are about 2-3% of d1cks who are causing all the hassle and everyone is suffering for it!

Students make up about 20% of Galway's population, actually...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Ironic to say the least.

Not ironic at all Wally considering I've done well to hold back twice already this week.

If you can't see that students are making a state of the place then you're hugely biased.

What do you think I'm going to do? Get pushed again and take the verbal abuse?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Nobody can defend their actions I'd imagine. The best post has been the suggestion of anyone arrested being expelled. Maybe we should lower the grant payments if students can afford a week of heavy drinking??

It is a kick in the nuts when students are playing loud techno in the apartment above you on a Tuesday night when you have to go to work in the morning and they get their hands on the taxes your paying...Socialism..meh

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

the suggestion of anyone arrested being expelled

Brilliant idea! You can't use the whole 'Tar us all with the same brush' excuse then. It also strictly defines the difference between only having a laugh, which we are all entitled to, and acting the complete dick.

• Registered Users Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

I just walked past a group of drunk girls and one of them said "howya" in a very suggestive way. I rock.

A drunk girl offered me a menage-a-trois with her and her pal on the way home Monday evening :D

snubbleste wrote: »

He said technically because its not enforced (and rightly so) the vast majority of the time when people are just having a laugh and a few beers, which for the most part is all thats happening this week.

Fun should be banned though according to a lot of people it appears.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Wompa1 wrote: »
    It is a kick in the nuts when students are playing loud techno in the apartment above you on a Tuesday night when you have to go to work in the morning and they get their hands on the taxes your paying...Socialism..meh

You're assuming all students get their fees paid and get grants which is simply un-true.

I'm doing a 1 year post-grad and its costing me a fortune :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I had great craic this week. Didn't see any damage done. Just to my ears while listening to Tiesto.

THOSE DAMN KIDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭carmex21

Ok, so just back from an interesting trip to Aldi in Westside!
    Behind me in the queue were 3 guys carrying slabs of beer, they stunk of booze and were pretty obviously pee eyed but bar giggling like little girls they were fine.

I had paid and was repacking my stuff when the guys came up to pay and the shenanigans began.
    When the girl asked them for id they became pretty abusive in that way that people who are drunk think they are really funny when they name call. Now the girls in Aldi are lovely but they take no s**t from no one so she didn’t crack in anyway and just asked polite for some form of id.

The guys basically started ranting that they were ‘’students like’’ and ‘’needed beer like’’ and ‘’obviously if they had the brains to get into college then it was a no brainier like that they would be over 18’’.

One guy had id which as he pointed out made him 19 (so far away from 18!!) but the others didn’t and she wouldn’t serve them.

So, the guys looked at each other, shouted a few ‘for God’s sake’s’’ and threw the slabs on the floor and legged it! Now I used ‘threw’ as they didn’t ‘drop’ them but more hiked them in the air and flung them to the ground.
    I hate to admit it but I was actually nearly cracking up watching it; I think the fact that they looked like over grown 12 year olds and didn’t seem a threat made it kinda comical to watch.They looked like they had pj bottoms on; I swear they looked like they needed their bottoms smacked!
    Anyway, they left a hell of a mess and the girl was none too impressed and I couldn’t help but wonder how many times she will be serving the lovely drunk students, youths, people this week.
    Oh, just to add that quite a few housed and cars were egged in Shantalla last night……:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Columc

Ahh sure whats wrong with a bit of fun here and there! ye adults have your fun during race week can we not have our fun for a week?