Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Dublin people so insecure about where they live?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 183 ✭✭Paracore

stovelid wrote: »
    Memo to culchies who hate Dublin: go back to the sticks and give your job to a Dubliner. Two birds; one stone and all that.

Yes because their FETAC Level 3 Certificate in Upholstery would come in handy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

TheTwiz wrote: »
    Dublin had 35,000 for a league game against Down on Sat night in Croke Pk. How many counties can boast that. Not bad for a county with no interest in GAA. In the championship we sell out the place

They were only there to see Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dubs are sound. Many just suffer from the same affliction as Londoners and New Yorkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Why are Dublin people so insecure about where they live?
    At least put the word "some" in the title before the word "Dublin" if you're going to spew out ****e like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Dubs are sound. Many just suffer from the same affliction as Londoners and New Yorkers.

Culchies? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Chickaroo

When are these monotonous anti-Dubs threads gonna get boring??? Seriously its just the same sh1t different day...........YAWN!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Downlinz wrote: »
    It's a bizarre thing and only something thats maybe become really apparent in the last 10 years with so much social media and forums like this.

But my impression is Dubliners seem to really have a chip on their shoulder when it comes to anyone from any of the other 31 counties.

- They seem to dislike the national games because they're played more successfully elsewhere.

- Seem to have a genuine dislike of customs, accents and locations everywhere else in the country. I remember one Dublin guy on that TV3 show take me out saying he was hoping for a Dublin girl as he "dislikes the culchie accent". I was unaware all 31 counties and 5 million people shared the same dialect. :D

- Seem to dislike Irish made programs that aren't made in Dublin or programs in the Irish language, generally it seems to be more acceptable to watch British programming there than say something rural based like Kilnaskully.

I find it quite sad that a lot of people there don't seem to be able to have pride in their city or county and have to snipe through arrogance and igorance at everyone else hiding their own insecurities about where they live, not even at particular areas. Dublin people tend to regard the country as two zones "Dublin" and "the country" which is quite funny, I don't know anywhere else or any other country which would have people so narrow minded as that.
    The fact that dublin has the highest emmigration rate in the country is probably testament to how much love its people has for it.

There's a lot of awesome things about Dublin IMO, it isn't warranted.
    I remember that guy on Take me out going on about the culchie accent, looked like a pure knacker and had a tattoo on his neck :D, however any Dublin people I have ever met have been great craic and nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Chickaroo wrote: »
    When are these monotonous anti-Dubs threads gonna get boring??? Seriously its just the same sh1t different day...........YAWN!

yeah but what about all the "cluchie" threads you cant defend yourself in those without the oul chip on the shoulder jibe.And when a reverse thread is started about Dublin well all you have to do is look at the first 3 pages of this thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭kildare9

I'd agree with pragmatic1, most dubs are bang on, but SOME are very sheltered. They dont see beyond the Dublin border. For example in college the other day, I overheard two girls asking one of their friends was there night clubs in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,252 ✭✭✭✭listermint

kildare9 wrote: »
    I'd agree with pragmatic1, most dubs are bang on, but SOME are very sheltered. They dont see beyond the Dublin border. For example in college the other day, I overheard two girls asking one of their friends was there night clubs in Galway

two young girls in college conversation shocker!!!

Does the word 'SOME' equal 10% 25% 90% or 0.001%

Im intrigued by your flawless study, and wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

listermint wrote: »
    two young girls in college conversation shocker!!!

Does the word 'SOME' equal 10% 25% 90% or 0.001%

Im intrigued by your flawless study, and wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

'Some' fills the gap between 'a few' and 'most'. At least thats what most people have said the few times i've asked them.......sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Kilnascully is sh1te no matter where you are from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Can we have a thread about Waterford City or Belfast City or somewhere else, for once?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭el diablo

kildare9 wrote: »

And is there?

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

biko wrote: »
    Can we have a thread about Waterford City or Belfast City or somewhere else, for once?

Casually left out Galway as a target ey? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

How about where the grass is green and the girls are pretty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 foxes

not too sure about the insecurity of Dubs mentioned by the OP But one thing I have found interesting about someDubs is their reluctance to move out of the area they were born and raised in. Mentioned this in work a few years (when we were all buying houses - how we laugh now:mad:) and all my dub colleagues agreed. I am a culchie living here v happily with a culchie wife and dublin kids(?). Some work mates totally ruled out areas of dublin where they would never live, 'Couldn't live Northside/Southside' or 'too far away I'd know no one there' we were talking a distance of approx 15 miles here. I think this is due to too much being on your doorstep, local schools colleges and universities etc. anyone agree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Computer says no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP appears to be using the auld "Let's put down people who are happy in themselves by saying they're actually insecure" card... Popular among those with an inferiority complex.

Dublin is just a city with some locals and lots of people from the country living in it. It is what it is I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Dublin is just a city with some locals and lots of people from the country living in it. It is what it is I guess.

Ah Teddy you didnt :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I thunk main reason is that rest of the country are united(not to mention vocal) in their disdain for Dublin despite the fact they live here, so dubs tend to collectively label them culchies in defense.

Or maybe it is chicken and egg scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

It's a ****hole full of impatient people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Downlinz wrote: »
    They seem to dislike the national games because they're played more successfully elsewhere.
    Lol. Bet you didn't see a post from 9 months ago coming back to bite you in the arse like some internet version of a forgotten one-night stand.

chucken1 wrote: »
    Ah Teddy you didnt :(
    what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

"Attack some group" threads like this one should be killed at birth.

The original post is at best misinterpretation of facts, at worst trolling to cause division. In my opinion it's just grade A shyte. :mad:

The result is that posters I generally respect have made and thanked posts I find offensive on the thread in response to the original trolling. :(

Mods, what purpose did it serve to let this thread live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

Dublin is the capital and we are the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

There's a hole in the world like a great black pit
    and the vermin of the world inhabit it
    and its morals aren't worth what a pig could spit
    and it goes by the name of Dublin.
    At the top of the hole sit the privileged few
    Making mock of the vermin in the lonely zoo
    turning beauty to filth and greed...
    I too have sailed the world and seen its wonders,
    for the cruelty of men is as wonderous as Peru
    but there's no place like Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'm from Carlow and I'd rather gouge my eyes out than watch Killinaskully or go to a hurling match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

IN Oslo they stuck quotes of Henrik Ibsen all over the central streets of the city. They should do that with quotes of Joyce and Beckett and Yeats and Sterne all over the central streets of Dublin. It'd be good for tourism.