Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All ye oul wans and oul fellas out there! Wakey wakey, rise and shine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Y'grew muscles? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    Y'grew muscles? ;)

Great big ones, I was able to catch a wild ravioli and tear it apart with my bare teeth. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,637 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Ye can stop fretting now, I'm back.

Hello?

Helloooo?

/Tumbleweed

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,921 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It is a bit tumbleweedish in here, now you mention it. Maybe as the winter draws in people will be more inclined to sit by the fire. Not very winterish today though, apart from the colour of the trees, the number of fallen leaves on the gravel and the loads of red haws on the hedge beyond the wall.

So...were you away OG? :D

I escaped the house for a few days but the most of the last few weeks have been me kneeling at the alter of DIY. I've destroyed every paintbrush in the house but she keeps buying more. :mad:

We did get some time relaxing, mostly going around junk and antique shops (just like being in here I guess :P ). I found a few wonderful quirky bits and pieces but until the new paint is broken in I'm not allowed bring treasures junk into the house.

Now you see that's where you went wrong OG, I've also been doing house stuff, but I got the professionals to do the painting, all finished in a couple of days, so I can concentrate on doing the interesting stuff.

Favourite (and cheapest!) thing of the moment is I rescued an interesting piece of bog oak that I must have had 20 years, waiting till I found a use for it, and purchased a few air plants that I have attached to it. I love it! The grandchildren think it looks like somewhere between Jurassic Park and a fairy garden. Now excuse me, I have some cushion covers to make...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I decided many many years ago that there are men out there who make their living by painting and decorating. And who was I to deprive them or their children of bread on their table. I got paid for doing my job and they should get paid for doing theirs. So I always get a professional in to paint.
    It's incredible. Two men in two days will have the outside and a couple of rooms inside painted to perfection. They get the paint at trade prices, supply all the gear and I haven't to even wash out a roller. Well worth it - and it's not actually that dear.

Need painters here too, along with a gardener, oh and a housekeeper/cook.

Blimey I need a wife!!!!!!!!! :eek::eek::eek:

I have related stories previously about my adventures with tradesmen, or p'raps I should say misadventures. My comments upset some tradesmen I'm afraid. Yes, I'm still having many a misadventure but thankfully after about two months of trying to get painters to just come and price a job I did get a couple of decent guys who kept appointments, gave a prompt quotation and when accepted came and did the job over a week, cleaned up, got paid and left, and everybody was happy, including me.

I have related stories previously about my adventures with tradesmen, or p'raps I should say misadventures...
    Fnarrrrrr.
    I'm sure I've seen that film, and the one about the window-washer

...that somehow got accidentally got downloaded to my computer...not by me...must have been a virus...emmmm...

OldGoat wrote: »
    Fnarrrrrr.
    I'm sure I've seen that film, and the one about the window-washer

...that somehow got accidentally got downloaded to my computer...not by me...must have been a virus...emmmm...

Hrrummph! Windows, and minds, get awful grimy around here! :mad:

I'm a guttersnipe. :)

When ye get there, if you look down ye will probably see my dirty little mind waving up at you :cool:

Mind you, this is all conjecture as I am and will always be, the sweetest, youngest most innocent member of boards.ie :rolleyes:

WARNING CONTAINS SWEAR WORDS
    BUT IT IS FUNNY

I shouldn't laugh...but that was very funny!

That Superglue is great stuff!!
    Thanks Rube, that's absolutely hilarious! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Alice1

On Monday, when putting on my shoes, I felt a "pop" in my chest followed by really severe pain. I took painkillers and kept going. However, on Friday I couldn't take any more so went to the Doc who sent me for Xray. I have either broken a rib and / or torn muscles. I am on an anti inflammatory and pain killers. Tis a bother cos when I turn over in bed, I wake myself up with the pain.

I feel a bit sorry for myself.

Alice1 wrote: »
    On Monday, when putting on my shoes, I felt a "pop" in my chest followed by really severe pain. I took painkillers and kept going. However, on Friday I couldn't take any more so went to the Doc who sent me for Xray. I have either broken a rib and / or torn muscles. I am on an anti inflammatory and pain killers. Tis a bother cos when I turn over in bed, I wake myself up with the pain.

Sorry to hear that Alice. Hope you get better very soon. Seems such an easy thing to do, but be careful the next time you don your shoes.

Danger shoes!

Not really danger shoes! I think it is more danger bones really. Not liking my painkillers - they make me feel a bit woozy.

Bless you hon xxxxx

Not really danger shoes! I think it is more danger bones really. Not liking my painkillers - they make me feel a bit woozy.
    Ooooh I like the woozy ones. Swap for an out of date Viagra and two Sanatogan?

A cocktail made in hell!

Edit: No pun intended.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭garancafan

Glad to learn you no longer need the Viagra and Sanatogen. How'd you do it?

Clean living. :D

Neither Sanatogen nor Viagra have any appeal. Using Panadol instead!

I may be odd as like a tipple of Sanatogen fortified wine that fortifies the over forties.

Viagra I can leave alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Rubecula wrote: »
    I may be odd as like a tipple of Sanatogen fortified wine that fortifies the over forties.

Viagra I can leave alone

I think you might need to up the dosage on the memory pills :D

http://skittishlibrary.co.uk/are-you-over-forty-1946/

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa?

I messed it up again. Well I was tired and that is an excuse I am sticking to.

Just got back from visiting my dad. I really want to cry right now.

I'm late in here again. Sorry to read your post Rube. What's the problem?

We think he is terminal hon. xx

So sorry to hear that Rube, its a very hard thing to deal with.

Aw Rube, I'm so so sorry. Such a difficult time for you and family. I know of others going through it too right now.

We think he is terminal hon. xx
    Ah Rube, I'm sorry. This is the hardest time. Sending you big hugs.

looksee wrote: »
    So sorry to hear that Rube, its a very hard thing to deal with.
    Aw Rube, I'm so so sorry. Such a difficult time for you and family. I know of others going through it too right now.
    Ah Rube, I'm sorry. This is the hardest time. Sending you big hugs.

Thank you all my wonderful friends xxxx (I am hopeful that it will be sorted, but a bit pessimistic if you understand)

Good news

Dad is not as bad as we feared. Not well but better than we expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

So glad to hear that. I hope all goes well for him.

Good news

Great stuff! Bet that's cheered you all up no end! Happy for you.

Good news

Ah that's great Rube. So pleased for you

Thank you Alice xx so kind of you xxx

He is better than we expected but all the tests are getting him down now. Poor old guy is scared now and it is wearing him down, I want to take his place for him so much.

My heart goes out to you mate.

Your obvious love for him will help sustain him through whatever lies ahead.

More news :
    I took ill in work and the lads took care of me until the paramedic arrived, he thought I had a heart attack. But to be sure he sent me to the doctor who disagreed but sent me to the hospital to be sure. After being in the hospital for a while I looked like I had lost a fight with a porcupine. :D

Anyway the were sure I had not had a heart attack but thought I may have had a stroke... :(

I phoned my sister to let her know, however she told me before I said anything that my dad has a tumor in his throat and terminal lung cancer. So I am a tad unhappy just now.

The hospital have sent me home tonight with the possibility that I have suffered nerve damage due to my diabetes, and the stroke is unlikely.

Anyway guys my head is totally banjaxed for now, so I may be off key for a while. Off back to hospital on Thursday for results of final tests. Probably, if I am not in the hospital at the weekend, I will be up to see my dad,

Sorry to cause a bit of a downer, but I needed to unload to somebody.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

More news :
    I took ill in work and the lads took care of me until the paramedic arrived, he thought I had a heart attack. But to be sure he sent me to the doctor who disagreed but sent me to the hospital to be sure. After being in the hospital for a while I looked like I had lost a fight with a porcupine. :D

Anyway the were sure I had not had a heart attack but thought I may have had a stroke... :(

I phoned my sister to let her know, however she told me before I said anything that my dad has a tumor in his throat and terminal lung cancer. So I am a tad unhappy just now.

The hospital have sent me home tonight with the possibility that I have suffered nerve damage due to my diabetes, and the stroke is unlikely.

Anyway guys my head is totally banjaxed for now, so I may be off key for a while. Off back to hospital on Thursday for results of final tests. Probably, if I am not in the hospital at the weekend, I will be up to see my dad,

Sorry to cause a bit of a downer, but I needed to unload to somebody.

Take care of yourself, that's a lot to be coping with.

Stheno wrote: »
    Take care of yourself, that's a lot to be coping with.

Thank you Stheno. I intend to try my best.

Ah Rube, sorry to hear all that. Can only send good wishes and don't worry about us, we will still be here.

looksee wrote: »
    Ah Rube, sorry to hear all that. Can only send good wishes and don't worry about us, we will still be here.

You lot will be here forever hon xxx

Sorry to hear your news Rube. Take care of yourself, we'll be thinking of you and we will be here for you whenever you need us.

It's impossible to find words that will lift you in the face of so many devastating blows Rubes.
    I doubt that even a picture of a cat would help but I'm afraid that cat pictures are the only canons I have in my arsenal of well wishes.

Here is a cat picture from W(h)ales.

c9f7e3290cf3a17feb58313b05cea4b4.jpg

Wishing you well my friend.

Unload here anytime Rube. "The champions are the ones that get back up again"