Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beady Eye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Temaz wrote: »
    Liam has covered Blue Moon and it is possibly the worst cover version I have ever heard. Cringe central in the video when Liam is kissing the City crest.

That video is pretty horrific alright. Can someone please explain why Two Shoes is wearing a helmet; what's the reference? I think the actual song is ok though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Hahahahaha… That is without doubt one of the gimpiest performance I've ever seen a band do. What's with the pelmet with the helmet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Hahahahaha… That is without doubt one of the gimpiest performance I've ever seen a band do. What's with the pelmet with the helmet?

shocking video but a great cover by beady eye fair play to the lads for doing blue moon and to liam showing his love for his club. after years of **** there finally half decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Absolute tripe..
    Sharrock follows Tranmere, Gem is from Sunderland and Andy is from Cardiff they have been acquiesced into playing this by Liam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Dotsey wrote: »
    Absolute tripe..
    Sharrock follows Tranmere, Gem is from Sunderland and Andy is from Cardiff they have been acquiesced into playing this by Liam

there big boys if they didnt want to do it they didnt have to. maybe they wanted to do it or maybe there isnt a pair of balls between the 3 of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Can someone please explain why Two Shoes is wearing a helmet; what's the reference?

Maybe its a reference to Liam nearly taking Noels head off with the guitar, allegedly, and he's just taking precautions :pac:

ricero wrote: »
    there big boys if they didnt want to do it they didnt have to. maybe they wanted to do it or maybe there isnt a pair of balls between the 3 of them
    I'd say balls could be the problem. We all know what happened to Alan White after he fell out with Liam

Gem and Two Shoes know they would be nobody without Liam. That really is a pretty pathetic way to exist in the world of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

Just reported today by the Japan Times.

Apparently Andy Bell thinks that Noel lied about why he left Oasis. He has declared that the fight between Liam and Noel about whether or not Liam could advertise Noel's clothing range on the tour programme was bull****.

http://www.contactmusic.com/news.nsf/story/noel-gallagher-lied-about-oasis-split_1239747

This is going to go on forever, first Noel calls Liam a born liar and now Beady Eye are one by one calling Noel the liar. I wonder what the outcome will be when Noel speaks back:eek:.

In the words of God, "can I have everybody singing, "who the f*ck is Andy Bell?""

karaokeman wrote: »
    Just reported today by the Japan Times.

Apparently Andy Bell thinks that Noel lied about why he left Oasis. He has declared that the fight between Liam and Noel about whether or not Liam could advertise his clothing range on the tour programme was bull****.

http://www.contactmusic.com/news.nsf/story/noel-gallagher-lied-about-oasis-split_1239747

This is going to go on forever, first Noel calls Liam a born liar and now Beady Eye are one by one calling Noel the liar. I wonder what the outcome will be when Noel speaks back:eek:.

Don't always take what Noel says as being literally true, he adds a spin onto things for the purpose of making it funny.

Andy Bell said there was nothing said about Pretty Green that night.. Noel never said there was but he did say it caused rows with him and Liam and it was kind of lingering in the air.

AB said there was three of them in the room.. Noel said he and Liam were arguing and AB was looking down at his shoes not saying a word despite being in the band nine years. It's mostly tit-for-tat.

The outcome will be Beady Eye will slowly fade from memory and will stay on the peripherals of the music scene where Noel will be successful. I cant see Beady Eye doing anything major, it's unfortunate and I'll still buy their music but it's just LG amd backing musicians in reality. AB was never one of Noel's friends anyway so it's not a surprise, Gem would be the one that closer to Noel and if Beady Eye don't push on I wouldn't be surprised to see Gem make the jump to play with Noel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Can'tseeme

Personally, I think Andy has a point there about Noel. I think Noel is very good in the media, he'll spin everything his way. But is not very good taking responsibility for his own attitude and behavour.

Regarding Noel's new song, It's not bad. But I've been reading some reviews and I think people are going over board about it. I'm hoping for better on the album/s tbh. Also, I'm sorry, this idea that it p1sses all over Beady Eye is just nonsense. Of the top of my head, honestly, I'd put Millionaire, FLW, The Roller, as better songs than that.

I really hope Beady Eye keep it going. For all the scoffers, DGSS still gets played in my car after 6 months, they were excellent live and look forward to a new album early next year.

Can'tseeme wrote: »
    Personally, I think Andy has a point there about Noel. I think Noel is very good in the media, he'll spin everything his way. But is not very good taking responsibility for his own attitude and behavour.

Regarding Noel's new song, It's not bad. But I've been reading some reviews and I think people are going over board about it. I'm hoping for better on the album/s tbh. Also, I'm sorry, this idea that it p1sses all over Beady Eye is just nonsense. Of the top of my head, honestly, I'd put Millionaire, FLW, The Roller, as better songs than that.

I really hope Beady Eye keep it going. For all the scoffers, DGSS still gets played in my car after 6 months, they were excellent live and look forward to a new album early next year.
    I find their music the opposite, to me it's all loud with attitude but with no real substance.

Noel is a very clever person and used the media for his own good a lot, he tended to do most of the Oasis media work becuase none of the others would step up to the plate.

Its always being well known that Andy and Noel weren't best mates, and I wouldn't take what Andy says at face value either. They all look after their own interests in interviews but Noel is just cleverer and wittyer than the rest of them and in a way he knows how to play the media game to sort of manipulate it.

Andy did say all the Beady Eye stuff was "new and fresh". There's at least 6 songs on the album that have been rejected off the last two Oasis albums and in the case of The Roller is been around 10 years. Noel's album will be similar in a way because a few of them songs have been in the working a while. Noel was the engine behind the Oasis machine so it will be interesting to see how Beady Eye get on

Really you can't blame Noel for being the propagandist he is. He was very helpful in the early days for raising Oasis' public image and that in turn helped them to sell records and gigs. And Liam in reality is the one who needs a wake-up call. Noel was right when he responded to Liam's claim that Beady Eye would become "bigger than Oasis". You can hardly expect that to ever happen when only a handful of Oasis hits were written by Liam.

Don't mind any of those songs. I like TDOYAM but its not the best song we've heard so far. Stop The Clocks is better than anything on Beady Eye's album and just from this song I have greater expectations for Noel's album.

It is still debatable whether or not Beady Eye will go on to play arenas next year. But I agree it will be a few years before we see an Oasis reunion. It will just take a while for Liam to see how impossible it really is for his band to compete with Noel.

I find their music the opposite, to me it's all loud with attitude but with no real substance.

Noel is a very clever person and used the media for his own good a lot, he tended to do most of the Oasis media work becuase none of the others would step up to the plate.

Its always being well known that Andy and Noel weren't best mates, and I wouldn't take what Andy says at face value either. They all look after their own interests in interviews but Noel is just cleverer and wittyer than the rest of them and in a way he knows how to play the media game to sort of manipulate it.

Andy did say all the Beady Eye stuff was "new and fresh". There's at least 6 songs on the album that have been rejected off the last two Oasis albums and in the case of The Roller is been around 10 years. Noel's album will be similar in a way because a few of them songs have been in the working a while. Noel was the engine behind the Oasis machine so it will be interesting to see how Beady Eye get on

Noel would do himself a favour if he took a bit more responsibility for his own actions at times. I'd say he isn't as innocent as he makes out.

I wouldn't take much notice to what was rejected of previous Oasis albums. Imo, the quality of DOYS is pretty poor, beside a few songs. FLW, Millionaire, Morning Son, Roller, TRC would all be better songs than alot of what's on that album. Plus I'm sure alot of the songs weren't fully completed for previous Oasis albums.

Personally, I think there is a fresheness to DGSS, I like the 60's rock n roll vibe to the album, having three songwriters contribute gives it more of a diverse feel to it. Andy, Gem and Chris are excellent musicians. Looking forward to what they can produce on the next album.

Really you can't blame Noel for being the propagandist he is. He was very helpful in the early days for raising Oasis' public image and that in turn helped them to sell records and gigs. And Liam in reality is the one who needs a wake-up call. Noel was right when he responded to Liam's claim that Beady Eye would become "bigger than Oasis". You can hardly expect that to ever happen when only a handful of Oasis hits were written by Liam.

No doubt Noel was the driving force and the hardest working in Oasis but I also think he behaved like a bit of a dictator with the rest of the band. Andy and Gem have said their songs weren't given much of a chance in the band at times.

Beady Eye will never be as big as Oasis, Liam is just spouting off. But I like the idea of several band members making songwriting contributions and look forward to hearing what they come up with next. It's refreshing to hear Liam singing more songs from Andy and Gem. The thing with Noel is he isn't a lyricist and has an awful habit of using the same feckin words (sun, shine, shining, sunshine, soul, dream, heaven help me) and it can make his music sound tired. But he can still write a tune and with good production behind him, I look forward to his new stuff coming out.

Don't mind any of those songs. I like TDOYAM but its not the best song we've heard so far. Stop The Clocks is better than anything on Beady Eye's album and just from this song I have greater expectations for Noel's album.

You can't be serious regarding the Stop the Clocks demo being better than anything on DGSS. But I'll look forward to hearing the finished track oon the album.

It is still debatable whether or not Beady Eye will go on to play arenas next year. But I agree it will be a few years before we see an Oasis reunion. It will just take a while for Liam to see how impossible it really is for his band to compete with Noel.

TBH, I'd be happy enough if they stick to the smaller venues. Arena gigs are overrated.

I don't get this idea of competing with each other. I like the fact we're getting twice the output now from Beady Eye and Noel compared to Oasis. An album from each this year and next year is great, looking forward to it. I've been a fan of Andy Bell's stuff in Ride, Hurricane No.1 and Oasis

Noel would do himself a favour if he took a bit more responsibility for his own actions at times. I'd say he isn't as innocent as he makes out.

I wouldn't take much notice to what was rejected of previous Oasis albums. Imo, the quality of DOYS is pretty poor, beside a few songs. FLW, Millionaire, Morning Son, Roller, TRC would all be better songs than alot of what's on that album. Plus I'm sure alot of the songs weren't fully completed for previous Oasis albums.

Personally, I think there is a fresheness to DGSS, I like the 60's rock n roll vibe to the album, having three songwriters contribute gives it more of a diverse feel to it. Andy, Gem and Chris are excellent musicians. Looking forward to what they can produce on the next album.

DOYS is top album until the end of track 7 and which Noel didn't contribute one song after that point. It has an excellent running order until that point with songs running into each other like Bag It Up and The Turning, WFTR and TSOTL.. the first half is maybe let down by High Horse Lady but when you listen to the album in its running order that song is mainly used as an intro and build up to the fantastic Falling Down.

I personally don't think DGSS has a freshness to it all, it's a return to type I can even hear a bit of Heathen Chemistry in there just with better production. It's basically a mid 90's indie album, something of which Ocean Colour Scene have done countless times and regularly sticking out the same sounding album and not being able to alter the sound or dynamic. Listen carefully and you will hear Liam's voice is HEAVILY processed on the album to alter the damage it's taken due to his or lack of singing style. Beady Eye will only ever be an Oasis tribute band because their sound won't change one bit.

The second Beady Eye album will be interesting, because they have little or no songs left on the shelf. What's on DGSS is their best from the last 10 years and I wonder with Noel already having a second album all but done will they rush it to get there before him. As far as I know Millionaire was pencilled in along with a Noel song Come On (It's Alright) for DOYS but Liam wouldn't put down a vocal track due to him leaving the studios in LA to return home. A lot of the other songs have been around and the titles were well known, according to what I've heard when Oasis met up for a new album it was generally decided Noel would contribute half and Liam/Andy/Gem would offer their two best songs each to make up the other half and they went from there.

I fully agree with Noel not being innocent in the break up and as I said he's a master of spin and knows how to manipulate the press to always show him in the best light possible. Noel is lot clever and wittier than the rest of the band and has used this to his advantage and Liam doesn't do himself any favours with his behaviour at times which makes it easy for Noel to show Liam as being dangerously mad. Speaking from experience about having a brother, I'm surprised they lasted so long in a band together.

DOYS is top album until the end of track 7 and which Noel didn't contribute one song after that point. It has an excellent running order until that point with songs running into each other like Bag It Up and The Turning, WFTR and TSOTL.. the first half is maybe let down by High Horse Lady but when you listen to the album in its running order that song is mainly used as an intro and build up to the fantastic Falling Down.

I personally don't think DGSS has a freshness to it all, it's a return to type I can even hear a bit of Heathen Chemistry in there just with better production. It's basically a mid 90's indie album, something of which Ocean Colour Scene have done countless times and regularly sticking out the same sounding album and not being able to alter the sound or dynamic. Listen carefully and you will hear Liam's voice is HEAVILY processed on the album to alter the damage it's taken due to his or lack of singing style. Beady Eye will only ever be an Oasis tribute band because their sound won't change one bit.

The second Beady Eye album will be interesting, because they have little or no songs left on the shelf. What's on DGSS is their best from the last 10 years and I wonder with Noel already having a second album all but done will they rush it to get there before him. As far as I know Millionaire was pencilled in along with a Noel song Come On (It's Alright) for DOYS but Liam wouldn't put down a vocal track due to him leaving the studios in LA to return home. A lot of the other songs have been around and the titles were well known, according to what I've heard when Oasis met up for a new album it was generally decided Noel would contribute half and Liam/Andy/Gem would offer their two best songs each to make up the other half and they went from there.

I fully agree with Noel not being innocent in the break up and as I said he's a master of spin and knows how to manipulate the press to always show him in the best light possible. Noel is lot clever and wittier than the rest of the band and has used this to his advantage and Liam doesn't do himself any favours with his behaviour at times which makes it easy for Noel to show Liam as being dangerously mad. Speaking from experience about having a brother, I'm surprised they lasted so long in a band together.

For me the best thing about DOYS was the remixes of TBWTL, I'm Outta Time, Falling Down and the The Turning. I thought the album version of TSOTL good. The rest of the album for me was pretty poor imho. I'm more of a fan of DBTT.

The problem I have with Noel is that he put too much pressure to come up with the goods on previous Oasis albums and the quality of his own output (especailly lyrically) wasn't always strong enough. He's was a dictator in the band and it seems his songs came first, were if he'd given more responsibility to Gem and Andy it might have helped the quality of the albums.

I find the freshness of DGSS is in the songwriting. Having three making their own contributions gives it a feel that there's a lot of different styles lyrically and musically on it. Which imo keeps it interesting. The psychedelic rock of FLW, The La's style For Anyone, The Charlatans country style of Millionaire, the boogie woogie piano with a bit of Small Faces on Bring the Light, The Stones/Who/Beatles style of TRC, Wind Up Dream, KFAD and Beatles n Stones. The glam rock of SOTEOTN and a great, mellow, psychedelic, Pink Floyd style finish on The Morning Son. Btw, I'm not comparing DGSS to those bands I've mentioned. Just giving the reasons why I enjoy the album as a whole. It's a real indulgence into the sixties but then I'm a huge fan of the music of the sixties.

Yes, OCS had a similar style but their songs bored me really. Except for the likes of HMHC, Riverboat Song, July and a few others on the greatest hits.

I'm looking forward to what Beady Eye serve up next. As you say, it'll be interesting if they have the songs to back up a good second album. But I did enjoy the latest B-side to TBGO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I like Beady Eye cos they are like the Small Faces in the 70s - just meat and potatoes rock n roll, and I mean that as a compliment. There's plenty of skinny indie bands with synths and reverbed vocals doing 80s inspired pop, and that's fair enough; but when you want something a little retro, Beady Eye are there.

And to an extent, Noel. If you playlist the BE album and stick TDOYAM in the middle, it fits in. Very similar production. And essentially a rewrite of TIOBI. I think the intersting Noel stuff will be on the second album he puts out.

Anyway back to Beady Eye. I don't think they'll just fade away as Liam is a pretty big star and will be the main draw. As long as they make decent albums with one or two good radio songs they'll be able to do big tours, maybe not arenas, but then again I can't see Noel playing arenas either.

Andy Bell is a pretty talented dude; some of the best Ride material is his. I think he's probably been diminished a little in the last decade, he needs to rediscover his experimental muse a bit. Having said that I like his DGSS contributions the most.

In fairness all I want is a Ride reunion but that'll never happen! ;-)

Agree about Andy Bell. Ride's Carnival of Light was a crackin' album

I was delighted when he joined Oasis as seen him as exactly what the band needed. He wrote some great songs in Ride and Hurricane that would have made amazing Oasis records and is a top musician. Songs like 'Step into My World' or Black Nite Crash would have made amazing Oasis songs. Especially with Liam on vocals. He seemed to not get too many songs on Oasis albums for whatever reason. Turn Up The Sun, was probably his best Oasis song.

As Eviltimeban says, hopefully out on his own, with Gem and Liam on vocals there's more to come from Andy.

maybe not arenas, but then again I can't see Noel playing arenas either.

While I did say its debatable if Beady Eye will be playing arenas next year, I don't think its entirely impossible. Beady Eye may have another theatre tour next year and perhaps do the O2 and other arenas in 2013.

It will happen eventually just not that soon at the rate its taking them to enter the mainstream arena of modern rock/indie bands.

Noel I can certainly see playing arenas next year since the anticipation for his debut is so high and the songs we've heard so far are promising.

But its unrealistic to say neither of the two will be playing arenas in my opinion. Noel and Liam are too big in the public eye and too well known to spend their time in little venues like the Olympia every tour.

Liam will surely take longer than Noel with his new band as they are taking considerably longer to rebuild the oldschool Oasis fanbase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

anyone going to see them tomorrow in Belfast? i'll be heading along myself

I'm busting to go but I'm only back from Barcelona and skint:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

But its unrealistic to say neither of the two will be playing arenas in my opinion. Noel and Liam are too big in the public eye and too well known to spend their time in little venues like the Olympia every tour.

Just because you're well known doesn't mean you're popular…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Saganist

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/liam-sues-noel-as-oasis-brothers-continue-war-of-words-517130.html

Liam Gallagher is taking his estranged brother Noel to court for allegedly lying about the break-up of Oasis.

The band's former singer claims his guitarist sibling has released false statements about the end of the band, including a comment that Liam pulled out of the group's headline slot at the V Festival in 2009 because he was suffering from a hangover, and has served him a high court writ over.

In a letter sent through his lawyers, Carter-Ruck, Liam claims Noel's comments went "way beyond rock and roll banter", and were a slur on his professionalism and he is demanding an official apology.

Since he has received no apology, Liam is now taking the lawsuit to a High Court in London.

According to The Sun newspaper, Liam's letter states: "I have taken legal action against Noel Gallagher for statements he made claiming Oasis pulled out of the 2009 V Festival Chelmsford gig because I had a hangover.

"That is a lie and I want Oasis fans and others who were at V to know the truth. I was gutted when I couldn't play the gig because I didn't want to let the fans down.

"But the truth is I had laryngitis, which Noel was made fully aware of that morning, diagnosed by a doctor.

"I am used to being called all sorts of things by Noel and I have in the past said things about him. But what Noel has alleged this time went way beyond rock-and-roll banter and questioned my professionalism.

"I tried to resolve this amicably but have been left with no choice but legal action. All I want is an apology."

Liam and Noel's problems reached a climax a few days after the cancellation of the V Festival performance when they had a huge bust-up backstage before a Paris music festival appearance which ended with the singer attacking his older sibling with a guitar.

The brothers reportedly haven't spoken since and while Noel has gone on to record a solo album as Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds, Liam and the other members of Oasis have formed Beady Eye.

At a press conference to announce his debut solo album in July, Noel claimed Liam had blamed him for the negative media coverage that followed the band pulling out of the V Festival.

The guitarist said: "You know he didn't turn up to the V Festival gig because he had a hangover. He claimed he had laryngitis, but whatever. There was a lot of bad press around that and in his own head he thinks I'm some kind of f***ing puppet master who controls the media in England."

I wish I was going to Ireland's second city tomorrow to see them play. The Vaccines pulling out does make it slightly less appealing however and I suppose I have already seen them play live twice this year.

On the suing thing, I think that's a bit ridiculous from Liam. Noel should just prove that Liam was drinking the night before V!

Peggy will have to have a word with them both

I wish I was going to Ireland's second city tomorrow to see them play. The Vaccines pulling out does make it slightly less appealing however and I suppose I have already seen them play live twice this year.

There's a few gigs part of the Belsonic festival I wouldn't mind seeing. Primal Scream are on tonight, Beady Eye tomorrow, Elbow play next week and The Specials finish things of next Saturday. Feckin' raging I'm missing out this year.

Things are starting to get messy with the Gallaghers.

Yeah, seems like a pretty cool idea. Dublin should have something like that. I suppose Marlay isn't too far off but the idea of having it in the city is quite appealing.

I went to the Weller and Kasabian gigs last year. Custom House Sq is quite a place handy place to put on a concert. It's central, handy for pubs, clubs, hotels and because it's flagstoned, there's no mud.

Peggy will have to have a word with them both

The lack of responses about Noel and Liam's fued is worrying:(.

Did anyone see The Beady Eyes on Saturday then? Were they any good?

It appears that Noel has apologized publicly to Liam over his accusation that Liam pulled out of the V Festival from a hangover.

I know some people here will say its 50/50 but at least Noel admits when he's wrong. That does a lot for credibility.

Noel Gallagher apologises to Liam over Oasis split 'lie'

By Sean Michaels for guardian.co.uk, Wednesday 24 August 2011 10.49 BST

Former Oasis guitarist admits his brother pulled out of V festival in 2009 because of laryngitis rather than a hangover

With a lawsuit hanging over his head, Noel Gallagher has admitted he lied about some of the details surrounding Oasis' split in 2009. In a webchat on Monday, Noel conceded that brother Liam had laryngitis – and not just a hangover – when he cancelled what would have been their final gig, at the Chelmsford V festival.

"For the record, it is a fact that he was diagnosed with laryngitis and it is a fact that he had a doctor's note to prove it," Noel said. While this may seem like a petty detail, the laryngitis issue is serious. Liam said last week that he was suing his brother over the hangover "lie". The claim "[went] way beyond rock'n'roll banter and questioned my professionalism", Liam told the Sun. "I tried to resolve this amicably but have been left with no choice but legal action. All I want is an apology."

Noel has now said sorry. "If he gets offended by my opinions on such things then, you know, I apologise," he said. "But it's all getting very silly and a little bit out of hand and it's not very cool. But there you go."

"If he gets offended by my opinions on such things then, you know, I apologise,"

In other words, "sorry he got offended by my opinion that he was hungover at V; I'm not withdrawing it, I'm merely sorry if he took offensive." The press are hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Live4Ever

Hello boys, I'mmmmm back! Took fcuking long enough aswell trying to resolve that dispute let me tell ya!

Things are getting really messy between them! Although I did breakdown in laughter when I heard LG was suing Noel, its typical!

Did anyone go to Belsonic? I didnt have enough money to go after forking out E200 for a Noely G ticket for the Olympia! Really regretting not going now I have to say, I'd say it was deadly. The crowd at Oxegen were cnuts and kinda ruined the gig a lil bit, but LG was on top form and they sounded great.

Rumour has it:
    Reunion Tour in 2015.

Live4Ever wrote: »
    Did anyone go to Belsonic? I didnt have enough money to go after forking out E200 for a Noely G ticket for the Olympia! Really regretting not going now I have to say, I'd say it was deadly. The crowd at Oxegen were cnuts and kinda ruined the gig a lil bit, but LG was on top form and they sounded great.

I didn't go to Belsonic unfortunately:(.

I'd imagine it would've been good, Beady Eye weren't too bad at Oxegen now that I think back at it. I was at the back of the crowd so that's probably why the sound was so bad for me.

I really hope that Beady Eye's second album will come around early in the new year. Liam said they had finished most of the album but wanted to take a break leading up to christmas so hopefully there is nothing more to be done on the record just a little bit of tweeking and thats it.

Hopefully we will be seeing them at a few more festivals next year, perhaps not Oxegen again but Electric Picnic maybe? As much as I would love Beady Eye to return to Oxegen its unlikely with Noel as a possibility and you know Liam will evade any festival his brother plays, like that incident at the London hotel.

Was at the Belfast gig Saturday nite, not a huge crowd but there was enough for a good atmosphere. Got right up near the barrier so managed to get a good view.

The setlist was similar if not the same as the Olympia gig. I didn't hear any new b-sides or other new stuff. Liam seemed talkative enough.

Custom House Square is a great venue for a gig, good sound quality and right in the city centre, highly recommend it for a gig.

Attached are some pics from the nite.

172184.jpg

172185.jpg

172186.jpg

172187.jpg

Studio in February, album in the Summer. No time put aside for song writing but some songs already written. Beady Eye at Reading

More UK dates added for November.

11 November - BLACKPOOL, Empress Ballroom
    12 November - SHEFFIELD, O2 Academy
    14 November - BIRMINGHAM, O2 Academy
    15 November - SWINDON, Oasis Leisure Centre
    17 November - LONDON, O2 Academy Brixton

http://www.beadyeyemusic.com/news.php?id=292

Don't think I'll be making a trip over myself, they should have done another Dublin gig. Apparently LG is blaming Adele for DGSS not hitting number one :rolleyes:

Live4Ever wrote: »
    Apparently LG is blaming Adele for DGSS not hitting number one :rolleyes:

Who was #2 that week?

Surely Adele doesn't deserve all the blame because DGSS went to #3.

Listen carefully and you will hear Liam's voice is HEAVILY processed on the album to alter the damage it's taken due to his or lack of singing style.

I find it hard to believe its just now Liam has lost his voice.

Admitedly I didn't think he sang well at Oxegen but that is probably because the sound was terrible when I was at the back.

He sounded fine on DOYS with the high notes in The Shock of The Lightning.

I find it hard to believe its just now Liam has lost his voice.

Admitedly I didn't think he sang well at Oxegen but that is probably because the sound was terrible when I was at the back.

He sounded fine on DOYS with the high notes in The Shock of The Lightning.

Agree.

Liams voice is BETTER than it was at the end of Oasis. I remember being at Slane '09 and thinking 'fcuking hell, he's voice is ****e, ah well, LIAMO LIAMO LIAMO!'.

Plus he's off the booze 8 months now which has really helped.

Actually Liams abstinence from gargle hasn't been discussed, definetly taking a few points of his legend status for that. I always enjoyed his locked on stage ramblings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Must say I think their gameplan is a terrible road to nowhere.. gig constantly, then immediately release another album when the tour is over without taking any time out at all to write songs, and then gig constantly again.

People are already getting sick of them, gigs become less of 'events' when the band is around all the time, Sometimes less is more.
    And they really should be putting everything into getting some quality material together.. whats the rush?

nm wrote: »
    Must say I think their gameplan is a terrible road to nowhere.. gig constantly, then immediately release another album when the tour is over without taking any time out at all to write songs, and then gig constantly again.

People are already getting sick of them, gigs become less of 'events' when the band is around all the time, Sometimes less is more.
    And they really should be putting everything into getting some quality material together.. whats the rush?

Hmmmm your comment makes sense alright, they are doing ALOT of touring but I'd put that down to the lads just loving the buzz of live performances! Personally I'd be delighted with a Beady Eye gig every month in Dublin!! :D

Ah man what are you on about, they don't need time to write songs! Not sure if you knew, but Liam Gallagher is the reincarnation of John Lennon, they songs simply fall on his lap! ;)...:D

nm wrote: »

Ah now I'm not sure about that one.

I actually prefer the idea of them touring constantly, that is a sign of commitment and it also means more and more fans will have that chance to see them performing live.

Personally I wouldn't go to another Beady Eye gig until they have new material out as mentioned previously that the Belfast gig had pretty much the same setlist as both Oxegen and the Olympia.

In case anyone wasn't listening out, this report may be or interest to some of you (certainly was for me).

It appears Beady Eye will be playing Oasis songs live but probably not until their third record;

http://www.gigwise.com/news/66378/Liam-Gallagher-Beady-Eye-Will-Perform-Oasis-Songs-Live

Ah now I'm not sure about that one.

I actually prefer the idea of them touring constantly, that is a sign of commitment and it also means more and more fans will have that chance to see them performing live.

Personally I wouldn't go to another Beady Eye gig until they have new material out as mentioned previously that the Belfast gig had pretty much the same setlist as both Oxegen and the Olympia.

In case anyone wasn't listening out, this report may be or interest to some of you (certainly was for me).

It appears Beady Eye will be playing Oasis songs live but probably not until their third record;

http://www.gigwise.com/news/66378/Liam-Gallagher-Beady-Eye-Will-Perform-Oasis-Songs-Live

Thanks for that Karaokeman! Got your PM! :)

Have to say it would be fantastic if Beady Eye played Digsys Dinner, Be Here Now and Put Your Money Where Your Mouth is at their gigs! :D I'm all for the 'unknown' classics rather than the most well known ones. Also, I can't see them playing any that Noel regularly sings in his solo sets.

They should start their gigs with Digsys Dinner, love that intro!

Honestly, I never got my head around the fact that Beady won't play I'm Outta Time, Songbird or Little James!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

I have no doubt that at some stage they will play the Oasis tunes they wrote. Songbird,Turn Up The Sun etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 iGenius

Agree about them touring less and writing more. Not a fan of DGSS at all. A couple of 'good' tunes, a few average ones and quite a few sh*te ones. Like a recent Oasis album without the real quality songs.

Liam should stick to singing, or if he insists on writing, work with someone on his lyrics.. They are embarrassingly simple and repetitive.

Andy Bell is a capable writer, Gem I'm not convinced by, but he's written a few decent tunes.

Anyway, I'm new to the forum, hope I'm not making enemies. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Wasn't really feeling his jacket there at the isle of white. Criminal, did he get a lend of that from johnny logan? at least that ian brown burnt an england flag in front of an english crowd. whereas gallagher was proudly draped in union glory :/