Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Charlie Sheen

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Azalea wrote: »
    . I don't think the other person is entirely absolved of responsibility if they have made the decision to go bareback.

Meeh. I don't really think this is honestly a case of apportioning blame in that manner. "Oh, you're so 80% guilty of being a grade A lying bucket of weasel vomit, but darling, sleeping with him unprotected? You're 20% to blame for this life-destroying disease you now have..."

I dunno why that went faintly Valley Girl, but the point still stands.
    KKkitty wrote: »
    For all we know Charlie Sheen could have gone into denial and shock following his diagnosis. He may have gone through a stage where he honestly thought it wasn't happening to him.

Nope. There's no excuse. Went into shock, maybe didn't believe it himself, etc... Maybe, just -maybe- you could make the mistake once, but I honestly do not know how sheer guilt couldn't shake you awake after that.

Also, if it is indeed that he is HIV+ and that he has been sleeping with X number of women in the meantime...how dare he act the arrogant sociopath by dropping -teasers- for this interview for attention? When how many lives could be affected? If he was -sorry-, he'd contact as many of those women urgently as he could remember and make an announcement on his personal whatevers. Twitter even! Interview after. Word out first and y'know, maybe some sort of apology.

Fortunately, HIV transmission is actually fairly complicated and certainly not 100% in transmission or anything close. But it's a roulette if he was sleeping with them unprotected. In a way, that makes it the worst...transmission rates drop to nearly 0 with effective condom use. For something so damned simple, and he's too selfish to even take that precaution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Samaris wrote: »
    Meeh. I don't really think this is honestly a case of apportioning blame in that manner. "Oh, you're so 80% guilty of being a grade A lying bucket of weasel vomit, but darling, sleeping with him unprotected? You're 20% to blame for this life-destroying disease you now have..."
    This was perhaps true 20 or even 10 years ago. As has been mentioned, we're at the point now where HIV is a manageable illness, with potential effects on the person at later life. There are other STDs in the same bracket, which are manageable but potentially devastating if left unmanaged.

Ultimately sex education being where it is, yes a person has to acknowledge the risks of unprotected sex and take some blame when it goes wrong. There's the old story of the girl telling the guy not to bother with a condom because, "I'm on the pill". When she falls pregnant, does anyone listen to his pleas of, "It's not my fault, she lied"? No, he's told to man up and accept what he's done.
    Harsh as it sounds, if you've contracted HIV (or any STI) through unprotected sex, you have to shoulder a large chunk of the blame.

Just like the pregnancy example, yes the person who lied is a scummy piece of ****. But they didn't take away the "victim's" ability to choose, and they chose to go bareback and therefore chose to accept the risks.

Regarding life-destroying;

Yeah, it can be managed and treated now, but it requires a complex regimen of pills to be taken, constant checking the white blood cells, decreased immune system, -thoroughly- disrupted home life, prospect of having children, restriction of free movement (due to the complex nature of treating the illness), etc, etc, that while it -probably- won't kill you nowadays, it's certainly a horrible enough disease to warrent the title!

Regarding blame;

Yes, I see your points. But at the end of it, I can't help but think that the results are so cruel and the act so...deliberate, that I can't condemn the innocent and mildly foolish. Few people would think that this guy standing in front of you could be harbouring a secret like that, would so deliberately put you at risk of something like that. No, I hope Charlie Sheen is punished severely and thoroughly for this. If it's true, what he's been doing can't be mitigated by blaming the women for their situation now, and cannot be excused in the slightest.

Edit: I don't say that you ARE trying to mitigate his actions, by the way. Just...meh. We all know we shouldn't accept lifts from strangers, but the blame is still on the murderer or rapist if someone does.

No, I hope Charlie Sheen is punished severely and thoroughly for this.
    In California it's actually punishable by up to 8 years in prison. And California prisons are tough.

That said, Sheen might be a complete nutbar, but he's not an idiot. I very much doubt he would willingly put himself in line for a prosecution by just randomly going on the air with this. I wouldn't be surprised if his partner(s) since discovering his diagnosis have been paid off or otherwise gagged to prevent him being charged with a felony.

Clearly this is partially to do with "the Charlie show", since Sheen has fallen off the air in the last couple of years. But the pessimist in me thinks that Sheen is being public with his diagnosis now so he can't be charged later on for not disclosing it to future sexual partners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

newacc2015 wrote: »
    Eh? Thats such BS in 2015. With all the excellent meds there is now. People with HIV can now live amazing and near normal lives. You can now suppress the virus with meds now to undetectable levels ie cant be detected in a HIV test due to such low levels in the blood. When you are "HIV undetectable", you cant spread the virus to others.

Statically if you catch HIV tomorrow and 20 years old. You should live to the age of 75 years, as the meds are so good. There is no muscle wasted like the 1980s anymore. HIV is probably more manageable than diabetes now

Yeah, but the cocktail of nauseating drugs you have to take everyday is a misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

I like Charlie but he seems to be his own worst enemy at times, he's got the 'lust for life' that Iggy Pop sang about and as many a rake finds out sooner or later you have to pay the price. If I had his money though I'd be finding doctors who are on the cutting edge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

People aren't always sensible, and celeb status sometimes means they get to make demands that joe bloggs wouldn't. The women might assume that that they're on the pill will protect them from worst consequences, but never dream that someone - even a bat**** nut like Sheen - would sleep with them unprotected knowing he had HIV.

Very true. And people can still be ignorant. They can still firmly believe that HIV/AIDS is a disease only for the poor. Only for junkies, crack-head hookers and poor naive queers engaging in multiple partner unprotected gangbangs. Not the rich and famous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,269 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Every time I read about Charlie Sheen, I feel sorry for his father. Every interview I've seen with him, and anyone I know who interacted with him during his time in NUIG gives the impression that Martin Sheen is a lovely man and could only be heart-broken by his son's self-destructive behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

its official he confirmed it today

Sleepy wrote: »
    Every time I read about Charlie Sheen, I feel sorry for his father. Every interview I've seen with him, and anyone I know who interacted with him during his time in NUIG gives the impression that Martin Sheen is a lovely man and could only be heart-broken by his son's self-destructive behaviour.
    Looking at his wiki page, and the things said about him specifically by his ex-wives, he would appear to be suffering from some form of mental illness. Which obviously doesn't excuse his behaviours but goes some way to explaining it.

It's not as if Martin Sheen himself or any of his other kids went madly off the rails. I'm sure Martin partied hard in his time, but Charlie Sheen is off the scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Sleepy wrote: »

He was in NUI when I was studying there. Very normal, unassuming man. Seemed very down to earth

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Seems like he has been honest about it to anyone he's slept with since his diagnosis. Really hope this is true. I'm sure his sexual partners will get tested to be on the safe side. There are no winners in this unfortunately. His only priority is to stay as fit and well as possible. He obviously thought he was invincible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭Seanachai

It's crazy the way you have to go on TV in America and somehow apologise to the nation and appear to be contrite even if you secretly don't give a f**k what the public think. These celebrities have shed-loads of cash but at the same time they're kind of beholden to so many people.

Seanachai wrote: »
    It's crazy the way you have to go on TV in America and somehow apologise to the nation and appear to be contrite even if you secretly don't give a f**k what the public think. These celebrities have shed-loads of cash but at the same time they're kind of beholden to so many people.

They must think they own him over there. I saw on the Daily edge that many people blackmailed him to keep quiet about his condition. If my friend told me they had HIV, famous or not I wouldn't blackmail them over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I like Charlie. He's as mad as a bucket of frogs but fúck me he's lived some life.
    It was always going to end in disaster of one form or another.
    Plus, 2 and a half men has been a steaming pile of shíte since he left.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 braniganl

I'm sure he can afford the best health care, newest meds and access to HIV specialists that money can buy. He'll be grand as long as he keeps his drug and alcohol problems in check, which is easier said than done unfortunately for him.

People trying to blackmail him over his hiv status are absolute scum, though if you move in the circles he does, most people probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Now I know what that "tiger blood" and "Adonis DNA" was all about

Seanachai wrote: »

I'm sure the only reason he came clean in such a fashion is because he was being blackmailed for $10m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

irishjay wrote: »
    http://content.usatoday.com/communities/entertainment/post/2011/03/charlie-sheen-breaks-twitter-record/1
    it just goes to show you ...when your famous no matter what you do .. youre in a win win situation.
    2 million a show i nearly blew a gasket ,and to hear if he goes back . he wants 3 mill.. and he may even get it madness
    god i love america .........................not.

Funny, when I first saw this thread just now, I assumed it was created on the back of the HIV news this week. How ironic that the opening post from 4 years ago inferred that money and fame can pretty much buy you invincibility. Sheen's diagnosis proves we are all fallible. I was never a fan of him but am sad that he has been diagnosed with this. Thankfully HIV is not the death sentence it once was. It may also change some perceptions that this is somehow still a "gay plague" and make more, particularly young people cop on about safe sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 braniganl

ongarboy wrote: »
    Funny, when I first saw this thread just now, I assumed it was created on the back of the HIV news this week. How ironic that the opening post from 4 years ago inferred that money and fame can pretty much buy you invincibility. Sheen's diagnosis proves we are all fallible. I was never a fan of him but am sad that he has been diagnosed with this. Thankfully HIV is not the death sentence it once was. It may also change some perceptions that this is somehow still a "gay plague" and make more, particularly young people cop on about safe sex.

Very hard for a man to contract HIV through unprotected vaginal intercourse (0.04% chance or 1 in 2,500 exposures, compared to a 1.8% or 1 in 161 exposures for unprotected anal sex.) Of course, plenty of other lovely diseases besides HIV can be picked up by straight and gay people who don't practice safe sex!

Statistically speaking, MSM/Gay men are still far and away the highest population group diagnosed with HIV in this country every year. (183 men, or 49% of all new HIV diagnosis in 2014, and the median age of diagnosis has dropped from 37 to 31 since 2005)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

It is ridiculously difficult to contract it from vaginal sex alright. A German pop star who was hiv positive was sued by some of her sexual partners, but got off becuase her doctor had advised her the risks were very low.

However. Charlie Sheen was reported as having sexual partners from both genders, and I wouldn't rule out him being more adventurous than just vaginal sex.

I dunno if CS ever did intravenous drugs, but obviously that raises all sorts of issues too. Weird, when this thread opened, he'd already been diagnosed.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

errlloyd wrote: »
    Weird, when this thread opened, he'd already been diagnosed.

In his interview he mentions when he started being outspoken is after diagnosis and down to the 'droids (steroids I'm assuming).

Fair play to Charlie.
    F*ck the people who blackmailed him.
    F*ck the media for forcing him to have to announce this.

I hope he'll be ok and his family too. The press and paparazzi will be all over them now. Now more than ever the media will be hounding them and anyone that's close to the family for a news story on this.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    In his interview he mentions when he started being outspoken is after diagnosis and down to the 'droids (steroids I'm assuming).

Fair play to Charlie.
    F*ck the people who blackmailed him.
    F*ck the media for forcing him to have to announce this.

Couldn't agree more.

Regarding life-destroying;

Yeah, it can be managed and treated now, but it requires a complex regimen of pills to be taken

One pill a day.
    constant checking the white blood cells, decreased immune system,

A blood test, every 6 months. ETA: if a person is undergoing proper treatment, their immune system will be fine.
    -thoroughly- disrupted home life, prospect of having children,

No disruption to home life, and the risk of passing it to a child while pregnant is negligble if undergoing the treatment - of one pill a day.
    restriction of free movement (due to the complex nature of treating the illness)

Treatment is remarkably uncomplicated for people who aren't chaotic drug users or have other separate devastating illnesses.
    etc, etc, that while it -probably- won't kill you nowadays, it's certainly a horrible enough disease to warrent the title!

That certainly used to be the case, but it really isn't anymore. Which is great news.
    Yeah, but the cocktail of nauseating drugs you have to take everyday is a misery.

Not the generation of drugs currently in use, after a period of initial adjustment for a few weeks, people tolerate the drugs as well as an aspirin.

There's a lot of hope for people with HIV, and most will have a near normal life expectancy and live uncomplicated and happy lives. Their biggest problem is the way both the illness and it's treatment is misunderstood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

ongarboy wrote: »
    Thankfully HIV is not the death sentence it once was. It may also change some perceptions that this is somehow still a "gay plague" and make more, particularly young people cop on about safe sex.
    Yeah, great idea. Maybe if his interview can be broadcast in 1990.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Boom_Bap wrote: »

Steroids used medically? I doubt that was the cause. They make you at most a bit giddy and excitable. I say this as someone who was previously on a high dose of steroids for a medical issue. I didn't even get the expected giddiness.

Thanks for the info, Candie, I'm apparently out of date! It certainly used to be a hell of a lot more complicated.

As for the rest of it, well, guess the start of the thread is right, its been spun to make everyone sorry for him. I honestly...no, no-one has the right to put anyone at risk in that way. That Bree woman certainly was implying she didn't know about it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Steroids used medically? I doubt that was the cause. They make you at most a bit giddy and excitable.

Not sure that it specifies for medical reasons, my assumption that it may be part of treatment but I aint no doctor....but Chuck wouldn't be the type to do things in moderation if he got drugs in his hands.

Thanks for the info, Candie, I'm apparently out of date! It certainly used to be a hell of a lot more complicated.

As for the rest of it, well, guess the start of the thread is right, its been spun to make everyone sorry for him. I honestly...no, no-one has the right to put anyone at risk in that way. That Bree woman certainly was implying she didn't know about it.

If he knew he had it, then he was legally and morally obliged to disclose that. If he was in ignorance and untreated and was sticking his head in the sand, then that is a moral failure and not a legal one.

Its not a fun thing to have, but if he cuts out the recreational drug use, he'll be absolutely fine. The people who don't have the best outcomes are unfortunately the drug abusers or the mentally ill who might not be able to be consistent with the treatment, and most of all, the desperately impoverished who can't afford treatment, meaning most of those affected in Africa and other developing countries.

Unfortunately there's no treatment to make him a decent person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

My man Charlie. It's a bad buzz but as said it's entirely livable these days (especially when you've the money!)

Candie wrote: »
    If he knew he had it, then he was legally and morally obliged to disclose that. If he was in ignorance and untreated and was sticking his head in the sand, then that is a moral failure and not a legal one.

Sounds like he was getting treated while keeping up his lifestyle. If so, he can't really say he was hiding from it.

**** him.

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭XplaygirlX

Domo230 wrote:
    Two and a half men is pretty funny too

Two and a half men is the best American comedy ever

Sounds like he was getting treated while keeping up his lifestyle. If so, he can't really say he was hiding from it.

**** him.

If thats the case, he was legally required to disclose. If he didn't, he's an absolute psycho.

If he was abusing drugs the legalities and consequences probably weren't his top priority.

I never liked the man, but I hope he and all his former partners are okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Wow he's really fcuked his life up, also there's multiple rats leaking stuff to the press saying he's been using crack since 2010. I know all of his woes are probably self inflicted but I still feel sympathy for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Sorry about that, it was actually ceadaoin.'s previous post I had in mind writing that, not the one I quoted.
    Should have multiquoted.

Anyway, doesnt matter.

Shame for Charlie Sheen and all concerned. I'd reserve judgement though until it actually comes to let what happened, if he knew, etc.

What do you mean? I never implied anyone deserves HIV? My post was saying that many people won't have sympathy for these women because of what they do for a living. Doesnt mean I think like that myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wow he's really fcuked his life up, also there's multiple rats leaking stuff to the press saying he's been using crack since 2010. I know all of his woes are probably self inflicted but I still feel sympathy for him.

What a life though

I don't think the life of a HIV+ drug addict is anything to envy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Candie wrote: »
    I don't think the life of a HIV+ drug addict is anything to envy.

Boys will be boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

errlloyd wrote: »
    It is ridiculously difficult to contract it from vaginal sex alright. A German pop star who was hiv positive was sued by some of her sexual partners, but got off becuase her doctor had advised her the risks were very low.

However. Charlie Sheen was reported as having sexual partners from both genders, and I wouldn't rule out him being more adventurous than just vaginal sex.

I dunno if CS ever did intravenous drugs, but obviously that raises all sorts of issues too. Weird, when this thread opened, he'd already been diagnosed.

Both genders? First I've heard of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

XplaygirlX wrote:

No, no its not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Jon Stark wrote: »
    Both genders? First I've heard of it.

That's according to the national enquirer, which might be a terrible source, who knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭Canterelle

XplaygirlX wrote: »

Two and a half men is utter tripe. Obviously all the budget went on paying Charlie's wages because they sure didn't spend it on script writing

Boys will be boys.

Oh, you!

Bree Olsen is in the media today saying Charlie never disclosed to her that he has HIV. She says they used lambskin condoms which don't prevent transmission of HIV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Another of his exes became pregnant after a condom failure and had an abortion. She says she was never informed of his illness either. Personally, I don't believe that he told everyone, this is Charlie sheen we are talking about here. Does anyone really think that a person working in the adult film industry would risk it? I'd imagine he has paid off anyone else and they will have had to sign non disclosure agreements. Maybe that's what he calls blackmail?

Either way I hope he can stay healthy for the sake of his kids and grandkids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I've seen him named all over the net for over a week now so it was no real secret, apparently he paid some of his former partners millions to keep quiet up until now.

If he went bareback knowing he had HIV he was a Grade A scumbag but I think people should wait and see if it's true first before judging him.

Doubt many would want to be with him now, no way would I go near someone who has HIV and I doubt I'm alone in thinking this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Doubt many would want to be with him now.

Money Money Money.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

anna080 wrote: »
    She says they used lambskin condoms which don't prevent transmission of HIV.

What the blazes are they?!

On second thought, I prefer not to know!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

XplaygirlX wrote: »

I despair. :(