Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

IndyCar 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Absolutely delighted for Tags. I was really hoping the rain would hold and he wouldn't have had to go through another run, but he excelled and took a well-deserved pole :)

Tags for 500 spoiler maybe? :D

1 77 Alex Tagliani Sam Schmidt Motorsports 227.472 mph (366 km/h) 15
    2 9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 227.340 mph (366 km/h) 13
    3 2 Oriol Servià Newman/Haas Racing 227.168 mph (366 km/h) 12
    4 99 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt Motorsports 226.887 mph (365 km/h) 11
    5 12 Will Power Team Penske 226.773 mph (365 km/h) 10
    6 98 Dan Wheldon Bryan Herta Autosport 226.490 mph (365 km/h) 9
    7 44 Buddy Rice Panther Racing 225.786 mph (363 km/h) 8
    8 67 Ed Carpenter Sarah Fisher Racing 225.121 mph (362 km/h) 7
    9 10 Dario Franchitti Chip Ganassi Racing No time 6

Actually Tags' #77 is a full-time car this year. Although Schmidt did mention on the coverage that they are still looking for a sponsor to run 2012...
    Ah really? I haven't been keeping up with IndyCar's at all this season. Thought I heard someone mention it on the stream I was using.

Please tell me somebody else watched that Bump Day?

Incredible! Marco was on the bubble for aaaages and was eventually bumped by Alex Lloyd with only 3 minutes left and this put Marco's team-mate Ryan Hunter-Raey on the bubble. THEN Lloyd's team-mate managed to get in front of Marco in the line of cars but his run was ended because he was too slow. Marco had just enough time (about 3 seconds) to start his run and set an excellent lap. It really showed excellent bottle from him.

Shame for RHR, though. The stream I was watching had people that were FUMING that Marco didn't go out earlier, even though when he was on the bubble he was still qualified, and by going out he would have lost his time! Some people really fail to see sense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Missed it, thought it was going to be rained off.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Drama with a capital A for Andretti... (or even two capital A's for Andretti Autosport)

Those that DNQ'd:
    8 Ho-Pin Tung Dragon Racing Crashed during qualifying attempt on Pole Day, not medically cleared to continue taking part in qualifying.
    20 Scott Speed/Patrick Carpentier Dragon Racing Speed did not attempt to qualify on Pole Day. Team withdrew on Bump Day after Carpentier crashed and the team could not secure a back-up car.
    27 Mike Conway Andretti Autosport Bumped from the field, too slow to re-qualify.
    34 Sebastián Saavedra Conquest Racing Bumped from the field, too slow to re-qualify.
    17 Raphael Matos AFS Racing Bumped from the field, too slow to re-qualify.
    18 James Jakes Dale Coyne Racing Bumped from the field, too slow to re-qualify.
    28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Bumped from the field.

Starting grid (subject to change based on driver or car changes):
    77 Alex Tagliani 9 Scott Dixon (W) 2 Oriol Servià
    99 Townsend Bell 12 Will Power 98 Dan Wheldon (W)
    44 Buddy Rice (W) 67 Ed Carpenter 10 Dario Franchitti (W)
    5 Takuma Sato 14 Vitor Meira 4 J. R. Hildebrand (R)
    06 James Hinchcliffe (R) 30 Bertrand Baguette 11 Davey Hamilton
    3 Hélio Castroneves (W) 43 John Andretti 59 E. J. Viso
    41 Bruno Junqueira 22 Justin Wilson 88 Jay Howard (R)
    07 Tomas Scheckter 82 Tony Kanaan 78T Simona de Silvestro
    23 Paul Tracy 7 Danica Patrick 6T Ryan Briscoe
    26 Marco Andretti 83 Charlie Kimball (R) 38 Graham Rahal
    19 Alex Lloyd 36 Pippa Mann (R) 24 Ana Beatriz

Fair play to Pippa Mann for getting in on (I think?) her first attempt. Pity for RHR and Conway though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

andyman wrote: »
    Please tell me somebody else watched that Bump Day?

Didnt miss a minute :D I did say it would be awesome! So much drama i wonder if the 500 will be an anti climax. Really bad for Conway, Lloyd drove the wheels off that thing, and Marco just making it - even looked like Danica was out at one point.

Ryan Hunter-Reay could be driving the 500 afterall. Apparently he's gotten AJ Foyts 41 car instead of Bruno Junquiera. If I was Junquiera I would be really pissed off now. 2nd time in 3 years this has happened to him I believe.

andyman wrote: »
    Ryan Hunter-Reay could be driving the 500 afterall. Apparently he's gotten AJ Foyts 41 car instead of Bruno Junquiera. If I was Junquiera I would be really pissed off now. 2nd time in 3 years this has happened to him I believe.

I'd be liable to headbutt someone TBH.

So, Indy coverage on ABC starts in a little under 10 minutes. Time to sit down and find a reliable stream :D

TheChrisD wrote: »
    So, Indy coverage on ABC starts in a little under 10 minutes. Time to sit down and find a reliable stream :D

Stick it up here if you come across one, something to do for the half hour before Sky pick it up. :)

Links can be found on the MyP2P forum: http://www.myp2pforum.eu/threads/56323-The-95th-Indianapolis-500-2011-STREAMING-DISCUSS?p=1276924#post1276924

Nothing very good right now, will be better once besweet starts up on JTV :D

EDIT: As a backup, 6brian6 is running on JTV right now. http://www.justin.tv/6brian6 - Oddly his link isn't actually showing on the JTV directory :/

Just remembered that my connection is being throttled and can't use streams. :pac: If there's any pre-race news feel free to throw it here. Got my bottle of nice beer open and a 6 pack of Dutch Gold ready for this. ^_^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,397 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

What time does race start?

Should be just after 5, Sky coverage starts at half 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Big hd tv check!
    Cans check!
    Crisps check!
    Crackers and cheese Check

Bring it on!!!!!!!!!!!!

Looking forward to this race :D

Ham sandwiches for me. :pac:

Fingers crossed Tags or one of the other smaller teams can get the win today, would be deadly.

Ladies and gentlemen, start your engines!!!

GREEN FLAG

That's what I call a cheer! Has to get there some day.

Some start to the race, Tags, Wheldon and Franchitti look to have great early pace.

What is up with Tags? He can follow so obviously has some downforce but he seems excellent out front too.

Threw a couple of quid on Wheldon there, he's the first driver of the ones I think have a chance who's at odds worth betting.

Ah Taku.

pity to see Sato out early

Damn, Taku...

Power... idiot crew.

Crash on the double-file restart! And there goes another KV car!

Very silly stuff on the retart. Great onboard shot with Marco.

another lotus gone

I assume Richard Petty got something done to his teeth because wow does he like to show them off. :pac:

Ganassi running the show... *yawn*

Ya happy now bitch? :pac:

Like I said, connection is ****e so can't check, what are the standings and who's yet to pit? Anyone lose a lap from pitting early?

Jaysus christ lads, PUT THE BLOODY WHEELS ON!
    amacachi wrote: »
    Like I said, connection is ****e so can't check, what are the standings and who's yet to pit? Anyone lose a lap from pitting early?

http://racecontrol.indycar.com/

Yeah but it's all flash and stuff, won't load. I'm on not much better than dial-up here.

Pity about Simona whatever the issue is.

Jesus that was a terrifying lap and a bit!

EDIT: Anyone else have a feeling Tags is holding back a little? :)

Aww man, mayor of Hinchtown's out :(

Just about to say we could do with a yellow. Near enough to go to the end from here?

Yellow

NOT TAGS

Has to be a penalty for Danica for blocking there, ridiculous.

And there goes the last of the Sam Schmidt cars. WTF did Penkse do to Bell?

Looking at this replay, they could have both got out of it if Briscoe had have yanked the wheel left!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

amacachi wrote: »
    Has to be a penalty for Danica for blocking there, ridiculous.

You are joking me right?

She got cut up very nasty on the restart and i have no idea how she avoided complete carnage:eek:

Sparks43 wrote: »
    You are joking me right?

She got cut up very nasty on the restart and i have no idea how she avoided complete carnage:eek:

She went down very, very low forcing whoever that was to go to the put road. I'm open to correction with a replay.

I'd be surprised if a few more don't dive to the pits before the green.

Turning into a good race. :D

Final stops, hope it's good end to it

Jesus this is tense!

NOOO!

Fecking hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Trampas

back marker should be shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Nearly threw the laptop into the rook at the end, thats terrible!