Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now you're eating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

I'd feckin love to but it's a friend's gig that night and I promised I'd go. :(

Edit: Someone drink a plum sake martini for me! And eat some tempura!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

I'd feckin love to but it's a friend's gig that night and I promised I'd go. :(

You'll be missed as much as Jokettle was missed last time.... which was a lot. :(

It's okay Few, I'll just crash the after drinks and serenade you then. :P

Hooray! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭nessy382

sounds good im in :D

Fewcifur wrote: »
    Hooray! :D

\o/ It shall be beautiful. Or very drunk and out of tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

I can aspire to be there :)

I hope you are Spoony, I hope you are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

I'm gonna be in dublin for beers which hopefully will see alot of you there too ye's can check the thread for details :p

So where is this thing happening and what time and more importantly...where? Gonna see if I can possibly make it :)

EDIT: I know where we going now! :pac:

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    I'm gonna be in dublin for beers which hopefully will see alot of you there too ye's can check the thread for details :p

So where is this thing happening and what time and more importantly...where? Gonna see if I can possibly make it :)

EDIT: I know where we going now! :pac:

Oh Tudz, you're so beautifully confused :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Maguined

Since it is on a Saturday I will book the table on the Wednesday previous so people have between now and then to decide if they want to go, say that they are going and then pull out at the last minute. :P

What time would people prefer for dinner? 6pm ? 7pm? Either way it should be plenty of time to get our feed on before going to TGC beers. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭trowelled

I love Japanese food.

Sadly the 21st is a no go for me as I shall be in Kilkenny/Waterford with Twinny.

Hope you enjoy and I'll try make the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I'm moving house that weekend, so no guarantees from me!

Damn it, we're losing so many good souls due to the date.

I'm a maybe, but I think I'll most likely stay in; I have a LOT of crAp to move so I'll probably be too tired/unwashed/unable to find clothes to be sociable.

jokettle wrote: »
    I'm a maybe, but I think I'll most likely stay in; I have a LOT of crAp to move so I'll probably be too tired/unwashed/unable to find clothes to be sociable.

Are you no longer going to be a D4 head? Is that why you're sad and not sociable? :p

Not quite; I'm only moving across the road and down a bit :P

Oh, well then get over yourself and get some sushi in yo face. I hear it's brain food. You like brains. Right? Yeah ya do. Excellent.

Lamest excuse ever.

Especially when you admit you are only moving across the road and not across town. :p

Does the distance matter, though? I'm still packing up my ENTIRE LIFE, transporting it across a couple of roads (approx. 12 minutes walk from current location) and unpacking it all in a slightly smaller apartment. If it were 12 miles away, would I be more tired? No, because I'd be driving my belongings instead of carrying them. So, so, so shut up :P

I do love me some sake, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭micayla

7 would be suit me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I hear it's brain food. You like brains. Right? Yeah ya do. Excellent.
    There'll be no talk of that kind round here mister:p

I expect the mighty DooM and fearsome Nerin to pop by for a chat, to...discuss what happened to the last zed to show its face in the forum:cool:

And on that note, have a good meal everyone...me and fish dont mix, and doubtful I'd be back from Galway on time anyway heh so I shan't be there.

Does the distance matter, though? I'm still packing up my ENTIRE LIFE, transporting it across a couple of roads (approx. 12 minutes walk from current location) and unpacking it all in a slightly smaller apartment. If it were 12 miles away, would I be more tired? No, because I'd be driving my belongings instead of carrying them. So, so, so shut up :P

I do love me some sake, though.

12 miles would mean it would take time for each trip, a 12 minute walk means its much quicker so you get it all done quicker.

I suspect the real cause of the time and tiredness will be you wanting to pack and move like a "girl" ie you are probably planning on neatly folding all your clothing into suitcases and making several trips emptying and refilling suitcases instead of moving like a "boy" ie throwing every scrap of clothing into a pile on top of your bed, wrapping it up in your bedsheets and then dragging the bulging mass to your new place in one go. :pac:

Besides if it is only 12 minutes away can you not get a hoard of friends to help you move? 4 people moving stuff in a loop would get it done in no time.

The main problem is moving furniture; there will be beds and lockers and booshelves, and none of this flatpack sh!te either, proper furniture! Hence my probable tiredness. But if I get it all done in good time and I'm not too tuckered out, I will come along. It will just depend on the day, so it's probably best not to book it expecting that my ass will be filling a seat.

You shoot lasers into people brains and map their brains with daily nonchalance so I have full confidence you can move a few sticks of wood in time for delicious food. :)

Maguined wrote: »
    You shoot lasers into people brains and map their brains with daily nonchalance so I have full confidence you can move a few sticks of wood in time for delicious food. :)

I like this positivity! If Jokettle can't do it, nobody can! Which... probably means that if JK doesn't make it then we should all cancel it. Damn the extended logic of slogans!

How many does that count for on your run counter? Did you buy all this stuff for your apartment or are ya just stealing it as part of some sort of vendetta with the landlord?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

They server stuff without fish, 90% of sushi does not have fish in it.

Appetizers

Haru Maki
    Deep fried spring roll with sirloin beef,
    sweet potato noodle and peppers

Tempura
    Crisp, light tempura batter with warm soy
    and ginger dip…
    Wild Irish Prawn
    Haddock

Tuna Carpaccio
    Yellow fin tuna with rocket
    and wasabi mayo

Mandu
    Hand made Korean dumplings
    Steamed and pan fried Hake and Prawn
    Deep fried vegetable and soya protein

Pan Fried Scallop
    With wasabi pea puree
    and crisp hijiki seaweed

Roast Peking Duck -shared starter or main
    Twice cooked duck made to a traditional
    recipe with garnish, special hoi sin sauce
    and steamed pancakes

Goma-Ae
    Green beans in sweet sesame sauce

Tofu Salad
    Mixed leaves, veg and tofu with seeds,
    seaweed and soy dressing

Sunomono C /VG
    Lightly pickled cucumber & Seaweed salad
    topped with Salmon & Tuna Sashimi

V = Vegetarian / VG = Vegan / C = Coeliac friendly

Mains

Pork Belly
    Suckling pig belly in sticky ginger, sesame
    and soy glaze with rice and root vegetables

Bul Go Gi
    Marinated Irish sirloin beef & vegetables
    pan fried & served on a sizzling plate with rice
    with traditional accompaniments

Bi Bim Bap
    Rice, assorted vegetables, a fried egg, soy sauce
    and spicy Gochu Jang chilli sauce
    designed to be combined at your table
    With bul go gi beef

Saba Tatsuta- Age
    Marinated mackerel crisply fried with salad,
    rice and sauces

Chap Che
    Marinated sweet potato noodle
    Pan fried with vegetables and rice
    With bul go gi beef

Kim Chi Ji Gea
    Spicy stew of kim chi, pork belly, onion,
    noodles and tofu. Served with rice

Fillet Beef
    Prime Irish beef with fried mushrooms,
    green beans and roast potato and squash.
    Unfortunately can only be cooked
    from rare to medium

Tuna Loin
    Seared fresh tuna cooked to your liking
    with ponzu sauce and asian greens

Japanese Golden Curry
    With vegetables, rice and pickles
    Katsu curry – With Panko breaded chicken
    breast rice and pickle

Salmon Teriyaki
    Baked fillet of Salmon in ginger infused Teriyaki sauce
    with Asian greens and rice

And on that note, have a good meal everyone...me and fish dont mix, and doubtful I'd be back from Galway on time anyway heh so I shan't be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

They server stuff without fish, 90% of sushi does not have fish in it.
    Cheers for the research, but by fish...I also mean meat. I see that two appetisers have no meat in em :pac:

Have to lol at this though:

Sunomono C /VG
    topped with Salmon & Tuna Sashimi.

"Vegan" dish coated with salmon and tuna :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Cheers for the research, but by fish...I also mean meat. I see that two appetisers have no meat in em :pac:

Have to lol at this though:

Sunomono C /VG
    topped with Salmon & Tuna Sashimi.

"Vegan" dish coated with salmon and tuna :p

tuna is one of my favorite vegetables. :D

And finally....my presence is required at a family event that evening, so I'm definitely not going to make it. There's going to be free cake; cake beats you guys hands down :P

:(

And finally....my presence is required at a family event that evening, so I'm definitely not going to make it. There's going to be free cake; cake beats you guys hands down :P

But we can make cake. Then we're a combined force that will beat everything!

I guess we'll just have to catch you next time then... :cool:

*cue pokeball*

This isn't the first time a woman chose cake over me. :(

Damn you sexy cake. :mad:

This isn't the first time a woman chose cake over me. :(

Damn you sexy cake. :mad:

Cake all over you? DAMN... that IS a sexeh cake! ;)

Damn my feeble brain, I only just realised that Satu 21st is the Heineken final!

So who wants to find a pub around the corner from Ukiyo to watch Leinster win!

Does that mean dinner is off?

Oh god no, Kick off is 5pm, Dinner will be 7pm so if the pub is just around the corner it should be grand.

It just means I get to watch the rugby, then go have dinner with you lovely people all before getting smashed at the TGC beers. It's a 3 in 1 night of awesome!

There are at least 5 pubs with large screens { 1 that will be 90% boggers } within walking/stumbling distince of $Food.
    Oh god no, Kick off is 5pm, Dinner will be 7pm so if the pub is just around the corner it should be grand.

It just means I get to watch the rugby, then go have dinner with you lovely people all before getting smashed at the TGC beers. It's a 3 in 1 night of awesome!

Can we get 3in1s after the beers? Cause now that you've put the idea into my head... :)

We sup upon the finest oriental cuisine at Ukiyo early in the night and then finish the night drunkenly and debauched while eating the crappiest oriental cuisine out of Charlie's.

I love it when a plan comes together. :cool:

Just got an invite to German at the end of the month...
    Have to double checks the dates but luckily I can still make it \0/

BUMP!

Okay folks now we are closer to the event it's time to start looking for confirmed numbers.

I will be booking this on Thursday so you have between now and then to send me a pm if you are definitely able to go.

In case anyone forgot it will be Saturday 21st, Ukiyo restaurant for 7pm.

Before dinner at 5pm I will be watching the Heineken final in a pub around the corner if anyone wants to join me and The Gentleman's Club beers are going on that night so after food I am heading off the that if anyone else wants to come.

Nom Nom Nom is imminent.

Count me in sir

COUGH reminder COUGH

Okay folks, a final reminder as I will be booking this tomorrow.

So far we have confirmed Maguined, Rose +1, Fewcifur and Micayla.

Anyone else want to hop aboard the tasty train then sign up now.

COUGH reminder COUGH

No BZ? But he suggested the bladdy place! Oh my :rolleyes:

I thought I was already confirmed :/
    COUGH reminder COUGH

Quick! Press the confirm button harder!

I wasn't sure as you said you had to check as you might be going to Germany.

Got your pm though so you are defo confirmed now.

Dinner is booked for Saturday 7pm under my name at Ukiyo.

I will be watching the rugby in the Stags Head just down the street in case anyone shows up to town early.

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

See you at the game Maggie.
    I'll pop along to dinner with ye if *someone* has an unfortunate accident.