Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever walked out in the middle of a movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭TheEscapist

I don't think I've ever walked out of a film because it was crap but there's plenty I wish I had done. Most recently was Somewhere, load of pretentious tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Dick Burns

once i was in a movie (cant remember what it was) but it was so bad i knew another one was starting so me and the GF just walked out and went into another one

i walked out of year one because it probaly is one the worse films of all time

i also left a girl in a movie once she was bit of a dose so just said i was going bathroom and went home and turned off the phone BOOM :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

You can always find better things even when the movie is bad ;)

I've never left during a movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I did not hit her! i did not oh hey Danny!
    Mark! Its Mark, and I am equally ashamed and thrilled that I know that.

I would have walked out on Closer but my friends were enjoying it.

I walked out on The Fisher King, but I was young. I saw it again years later and appreciated it a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Walked out of Inglorious Bast*rds

It was sh*t !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I don't think I can judge a movie's worth until I've sat through the whole thing; rubbish or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

prinz wrote: »
    Yes once
    Some12 wrote: »
    Once many years ago.
    once walked out of cinema
    Degag wrote: »
    Once, some film
    jc84 wrote: »
    Only ever once
    wellboy76 wrote: »
    Only once and it needs to be really bad for me to do it
    Turtyturd wrote: »
    I did walk in on the end of a movie once
    Only ever once
    only once
    SomeFool wrote: »
    once
    Once
    Dick Burns wrote: »
    once

I agree with you all. Hansard in particular ruined it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

..some people really have terrible taste in films. In particular i mean the two people who didn't understand Eternal Sunshine. Don't worry, Transformers is out in July ;)

^^^
    Just for the record.... I did understand the film, and I accept that it is widely acclaimed to be one of the best films of the 2000s. But, for whatever reason, I just didn't like it. I'm not a big fan of Jim Carey, and the quirkiness of the film got on my nerves. (And I don't like Transformers) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Walked out of

Thin Red Line
    Saving Private Ryan
    Scary Movie 2
    Matrix 2
    Slumdog Millionaire
    The Bounty Hunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

bonerm wrote: »
    I agree with you all. Hansard in particular ruined it.

The old fella fixing the hoovers ruined it for me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Cybertron85

bonerm wrote: »
    I love the irony of Guy Ritchie being cited as a source of stolen material.

Name me one film similar to Snatch or LSATSB.

Ottostreet: That was my reason for going, I like Gleeson, Murphy and Gabriel Byrne did the 'voiceover'. That was part of why I walked out feeling it could've been so much better!

Name me one film similar to Snatch or LSATSB.

Combine The Long Good Friday with Pulp Fiction and you've got the genesis of practically every Guy Ritchie movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭Cybertron85

Fair enough, point taken. My thoughts about Perriers bounty still stand though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

Faith+1 wrote: »
    The Insider, What a load of boll*x!

And I thought someone walking out of Zodiac made me sad,now this :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭scoobymunster

I've never walked out of a film, don't see the point. To get my moneys worth I either go for some action with the missus;) to kill time, or failing that cinema seats are surprisingly comfy for a good ol kip! I've paid me money, so don't see the point of leaving and duttering around the shops instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I remember my mates spending a while to convince me to go and see Scary Movie 2. I hated the first one. Halfway through the sequel, which is complete pants by the way, they apologized to me one by one. If I'd left I might have missed them grovelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I've walked out of 3 movies in my entire life, all of them in 2010 o.0

Inception

Date Night

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Walked out of Inglorious Bast*rds

It was sh*t !!

what is wrong with you!?
    Dermighty wrote: »
    I've walked out of 3 movies in my entire life, all of them in 2010 o.0

Inception

Date Night

Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1

what is wrong with you!? i havent seen date night or harry potter, but surely they weren't THAT bad, were they?

im not insulting either of ye by the way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

Didn't but probably should have walked out on:

Inglorious Basterds and Burn after Reading. Both were pretty awful. Burn after reading especially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

the only time I walked out was The Dark Knight..but only because the sound went 20 minutes in.

The last movie I turned off half way through was 'Death Bed: The bed that eats'..have a guess what that was like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭1mcampo1

Fell asleep during one of the xmen movies.... cant remember which one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Fuck off!!! No you didn't!! Awesome movie!

Yes I did.

MR Love wrote: »
    OPEN WATER, biggest load of ****e the only film i ever left, i waited to see the couple get attacked by the sharks for some sort of entertainment and when it eventually did happen the screen went black!!!!!

I didn't see it in the cinema but that movie was so bad and so hyped that it made me angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Superman. About ten minutes from the end the lights went on. Standing at the back of the cinema were soldiers with rifles. An officer asked us to leave and show our national identity cards.

How did the film end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

walked out on what just happened only movie I've ever done it on. probably the worst movie ever made ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I walked out of Titanic because someone ruined the ending on me.
    Bastards :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I never have but I came very very close when I went to see Indy 4. Only for the fact I was there with a couple of the lads truly terrible film.

I also brought the mother to see Evita not caring for musicals and having no time for Madonna. I knew nothing about it and was less then pleased but I had a lovely sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

If I was there on my own, I'd of definitely walked out on Transformers, still to this day the only film that literally gave me a splitting headache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

I wish I'd walked out of The Departed...What a bucket of feces...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

I would have walked out of harry potter but Emma Watson was keeping me there

my god what a ride

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

old hippy wrote: »
    I remember a lot of people walking out during Goodfellas.

WTF?! :eek:

Burn after Reading.

It was a weird sort of film. Granted. But, if ye'd walked, ye'd have missed the way it all came together in the last five minutes. And that final conversation, between the two CIA guys? Just f**kin priceless!

There, I'm laughing now, just remembering it again! :D

" Elite Squad ". I bought it on DVD, having seen the adverts for it. Mate and I settled down for some bad ass action. Like " BlackHawk Down " or " The Kingdom ".

Jaysus fcuking wept! What we got was some absolutely dire, subtitled garbage with about as much action as a pile of crusting over sh!t!

Twenty minutes. Out of the machine. Disc snapped and thrown away. Total and utter garbage!

kincsem wrote: »
    Superman. About ten minutes from the end the lights went on. Standing at the back of the cinema were soldiers with rifles. An officer asked us to leave and show our national identity cards.

How did the film end?

Superman flies to Washington and whilst standing at the steps of the Lincoln memorial admits to a large crowd of onlookers that he's gay and will from this day on be known as Fabulousman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

dclane wrote: »
    Walked out of

Thin Red Line
    Saving Private Ryan

Scary Movie 2
    Matrix 2
    Slumdog Millionaire
    The Bounty Hunter

Are you German or Japanese? Or Both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Walked out of The Passion Of the Christ.

I was told it was a remake of the Life Of Brian but I didn't laugh once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

No, I have never, first reason is after spending so much in movie I enjoy the environment to the fullest. Secondly I go for movies very rarely, so cannot afford leaving it in half. Once when I went with my family my dad got bored of the movie and took all of us out from the cinema hall. That was the most angriest moment for me, and from that time never went for movie with my family.

Does anyone else really want to take this poster to the "cinema hall" and pay for everything (including overpriced popcorn and coke), and try to make sure that she/he has a really good time?

I love people who really enjoy and appreciate a treat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭SirDelboy18

Fell asleep during the Good Shepard, wow, what a boring tedious movie

Fell asleep during No Country For Old Men ( Might give that another go, I may have been tired)

Almost fell asleep relatively near the start of Avatar, thank f*ck I didn't.

And the only movie I left early was AI - Artifical Intellegence, although that wasn't by choice.

I'd fall asleep in there before I'd leave, can't see how anything could be so bad as to make you forfeit your money

cml387 wrote: »
    Walked out of The Passion Of the Christ.

I was told it was a remake of the Life Of Brian but I didn't laugh once.

It's not a remake and you're a very naughty boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭shellib

My boyfriend walked out of cloverfield about 5 minutes in.. I was about to stuff my face wit popcorn n nachos but had to follow him very annoyed... he wouldn't speak to me as I called him to ask him why he had left... he walked out of the cinema then threw up everywhere!!! He has that motion sickness thing and the camera jumping about made him puke haha!!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Must have walked out of 50 or so over the years.

Last one was Season of the Witch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Never walked out of a movie however I have bought DVD's watched them for 5 minutes before taking them out of the machine and chucking them in the bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Dick Burns wrote: »
    once i was in a movie (cant remember what it was) but it was so bad i knew another one was starting so me and the GF just walked out and went into another one

i walked out of year one because it probaly is one the worse films of all time

i also left a girl in a movie once she was bit of a dose so just said i was going bathroom and went home and turned off the phone BOOM :)

That's a dreadful thing to do. It's not only ungentlemanly, it's also terribly unmanly. It's no way to treat another human being. You must be very proud.

There's an earlier post on this thread of a woman doing exactly the same to some bloke. I hope you'll go back and give her a few words as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 bowsie

My Own Private Idaho, Star Trek Generations, Alien 3 and The Swiss Family Robinson (although wasn't really a walk-out, I was about 8 and had, eh, pissed myself, inadvertently like. Although it was a **** movie anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Biggins wrote: »
    Obviously you have yet to sit through the Sex In The City films.

you went to a movie theatre to see sex in the city movies?

either your female or a very camp possibly gay male to have even considered buying a ticket for those movies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

bowsie wrote: »
    My Own Private Idaho..

I seen this in the old Lighthouse Cinema, which - bizarrely, was no where near a 'lighthouse' - but was on Abbey St, beside the Adelphi.

Twice now I have heard people come out of the Lighthouse Cinema in Smithfield, look up at the Chimney tower and say: 'That must be the Lighthouse so' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

UrbanSea wrote: »
    I walked out of Watchmen. I tried to stay for as long as I could but the film was incredibly long and boring.
    I saw lots of people, rows I mean, walking out Watchmen in Cineworld. Wha? :confused:

Never walked out of a movie myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 tomcruiser

I am the last samuri

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

As far as I know I've walked out of two movies:

House of Wax (although not before Paris Hilton got impaled through the head - I really wanted to see her die! :p)

And Epic Movie. Epic it was not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I walked out of "In Bruges" after about 20 minutes and couldnt be arsed to watch "Valkyries" to the finish either.

Went to see Antichrist (Dir: Lars von Triers) and the best thing about it was the constant flow of utterly bewildered people walking out.:D There were only ablut five of us left by the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I walked out of "In Bruges" after about 20 minutes and couldnt be arsed to watch "Valkyries" to the finish either.

Went to see Antichrist (Dir: Lars von Triers) and the best thing about it was the constant flow of utterly bewildered people walking out.:D There were only ablut five of us left by the end.

In Bruges is a fantastic film. Go back and finish it!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Me and my mate walked out about 3-4 times during Saw 6 for a smoke. Mainly because we were buzzing off our heads from herbal xtc and wanted to give everyone a break from our talking... Was probably the best cinema experience I ever had and ever will have.