Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Army Equitation School - "to Promote Ireland and the Irish Horse"

• 09-03-2011 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭

Like wtf?! Surely special needs assistants take a higher priority than this priviliged elite who get to muck about with expensive horses all day in the name of "promoting the Irish horse". Isn't there a quango for promoting horses already?

http://www.military.ie/army/specialists/equit/

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

It's important for Irish horses to be able to speak in the native tongue.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

galwayrush wrote: »
    It's important for Irish horses to be able to speak in the native tongue.:D

Mr Ed as Gaeilge! lol.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

What has equations got to do with horse riding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

.......what else would the Army Equitation School do?

On unrelated note 'Irish Air Core to fly planes and helicopters and stuff' :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Militaries all over the world are centres of sporting excellence and always have been. The equitation sports are no different. The army also has teams and athletes representing Ireland in a solid fistful of other sports. Would you rather they didn't promote sports?

strobe wrote: »

On unrelated note 'Irish Air Core to fly planes and helicopters and stuff' :eek:

I guess when the choppers break down, there's always a fine horse and trap available to ferry ministers about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

JonJoeDali wrote: »
    Like wtf?! Surely special needs assistants take a higher priority than this priviliged elite who get to muck about with expensive horses all day in the name of "promoting the Irish horse".

Hi, you must be new to this planet, welcome, a lot of things won't make obvious sense. perhaps a libertarian can come along and explain the f*cked logic at play here. I only pretend to understand it.

Militaries all over the world are centres of sporting excellence and always have been. The equitation sports are no different. The army also has teams and athletes representing Ireland in a solid fistful of other sports. Would you rather they didn't promote sports?

But they haven't won anything recently? What do they do all day?

There are athletes out there on the dole who perform better in their chosen sport.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

strobe wrote: »

Maths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

But they haven't won anything recently? What do they do all day?

There are athletes out there on the dole who perform better in their chosen sport.

Really? Put it this way, when Irish medals get won in Olympic equestrian events, the riders' titles aren't Mr or Ms. They're military titles.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,507 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Like wtf?! Surely special needs assistants take a higher priority than this priviliged elite who get to muck about with expensive horses all day in the name of "promoting the Irish horse". Isn't there a quango for promoting horses already?

Errrrr...which elite would that be?The farmer/breeders of irish Sports Horse?

They'll be over any time now lads...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056204463

lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

when did it become "Equitation" instead of "Equestrian"?

Why is the army teaching people how to sit on a horse instead of how to ride it?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,507 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

"Equitation refers to a rider's position while mounted, and encompasses a rider's ability to ride correctly and with effective aids"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

We keep it open so long as we can tax the bollox out of those rich horse riding c**ts down in kildare that mccreevy gave a free pass to. Let them pay to keep it open

Bambi wrote: »
    We keep it open so long as we can tax the bollox out of those rich horse riding c**ts down in kildare that mccreevy gave a free pass to. Let them pay to keep it open
    Horse racing has nothing to do with the Army School. The Army team promote the Irish Sports Horse, a huge money spinner for Ireland, between horse sales and tourism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I dont get what this thread is about. You don't like horses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Horses = cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

Really? Put it this way, when Irish medals get won in Olympic equestrian events, the riders' titles aren't Mr or Ms. They're military titles.

Oh right I remember Capt Cian O Connor and Sgt Jessicia Curtain riding horses now when did Capt or Comdt anyone win an Olympic medal???

In fact I now remember Cpl Carruth win a medal and then get promoted to Sgt cant remember his horses name.

Name an Irish Olympic Champion who won with a Military Title please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Complete horse-sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Oh right I remember Capt Cian O Connor and Sgt Jessicia Curtain riding horses now when did Capt or Comdt anyone win an Olympic medal???

In fact I now remember Cpl Carruth win a medal and then get promoted to Sgt cant remember his horses name.

Didn't you hear?

Only Officers are allowed ride the horses. You won't find enlisted personnel competing on a horse from the Equitation School, they're only peasants.

Poor Jessica would never have gotten near a horse if she was a Sgt. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Was Carruth not a Saegent in the army when he won his boxing title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Carruth was a Saegent in the army when he won his boxing title.

He wasn't.

There was uproar when he got promoted as he hadn't even done a standard NCO's course.

The promotion to Sgt was in recognition of his Olympic Gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Errrrr...which elite would that be?The farmer/breeders of irish Sports Horse?

Yes. They et billions in tax breaks because ... um, some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

mike65 wrote: »
    Horses = cash

Horses = tasty

We could make even more money breeding them for meat and exporting it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

That's not a horse, that's the Irish Army's new stealth motorbike.
    They put rubber shoes on it to minimise the sound too.

Poccington wrote: »
    Didn't you hear?

Only Officers are allowed ride the horses. You won't find enlisted personnel competing on a horse from the Equitation School, they're only peasants.

Do officers have to shovel their own horse ****, or is there a lacky to do that for them?

Apparently these horses cost the taxpayer more than the entire FCA.

They cost over 720 euro a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

He wasn't.

There was uproar when he got promoted as he hadn't even done a standard NCO's course.

The promotion to Sgt was in recognition of his Olympic Gold.

Aaah I see.
    So the only way to promotion nowadays is to win Olympic gold:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

We need horses for the petfood industry so townies can feed their little dears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

In fairness a galloping horse can do more damage than the entire FCA.

Was Carruth not a Saegent in the army when he won his boxing title.

There's a picture of him in the Unit of when he came back to the Bn after winning gold, he still has Cpl rank markings on his No. 1's.
    Do officers have to shovel their own horse ****, or is there a lacky to do that for them?

Enlisted personnel are employed in the Equitation School as grooms, so they deal with shovelling ****e etc.

Only Officers are allowed to be jockeys in the Equitation School.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Didn't you hear?

Why, in the name of jaysus, do you have to be an officer to ride a horse?

Nodin wrote: »

Cause us enlisted folk are cavemen, obviously.

In all seriousness I honestly haven't a clue. I'd imagine it's just to do with the class system in the DF. Officers, cultured... Enlisted folk, scum.

Nodin wrote: »

It's probably a side effect of having an army that founded and filled be de brits :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Cause us enlisted folk are cavemen, obviously.

In all seriousness I honestly haven't a clue. I'd imagine it's just to do with the class system in the DF. Officers, cultured... Enlisted folk, scum.

Aren't they deluded scum who think they're cultured?:confused:

It's probably a side effect of having an army that founded and filled be de brits :)

Yeah, but does egalitarianism work on the battle field? Have a committee meeting to decide who's gonna ride the horse into battle against the terrorists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

The Brits have moved on though, their horse guys have to go to Afghanistan when not in the saddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

Horses = tasty

We could make even more money breeding them for meat and exporting it :)

There's a stall selling horse meat skewers at the Temple Bar food market, the guy on the stall had an Irish National Stud baseball cap on, he said the meat was from horses 'that didn't run fast enough' i.e. failed racehorses.

Didn't partake of it, I had the lamb skewers instead

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

baalthor wrote: »
    The Brits have moved on though, their horse guys have to go to Afghanistan when not in the saddle.

The Americans have been in the saddle in afghanistan. For transport, local relations and, yes, cavalry charges.

During a rotation at NTC my unit dragged out the regimental ceremonial horse unit and conducted a mounted charge against the Bluefor base. Last thing they were expecting. It worked.

NTM

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

I agree completely, why not get rid of the horses and let the army ride the special needs assistants instead... there, everyones happy!

I wonder are the horses as old as the soldiers? Apparently the average age of a seargant is like 42. I imagine it's only getting worse now with the public service recruitment ban.

Geriatric soldiers on clapped out horses. Great craic altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Irish Defence Forces -Lol!!! Do they still go home at dinner hour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Nope, enlisted personnel clean the horse's, feed them, shovel sh*t, saddle them etc etc etc.

Well Someone's got to do it. Might as well be the uneducated muck savages from Bally-go-backwards on €300 a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

Well Someone's got to do it. Might as well be the uneducated muck savages from Bally-go-backwards on €300 a week.

He's talking about soldiers, not Trinity Arts students.

Donny5 wrote: »
    He's talking about soldiers, not Trinity Arts students.

I thought the DF only hire NUIG graudates? Too much of an inferiority complex perhaps... Although, the equitation school officers probably went to Trinity... lol