Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No point in learning web development programming languages?

Options
  • 13-03-2011 2:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭

With all these web development tools out there like Joomla and Wordpress, I was wondering if there is any point in being skilled in web development programming anymore?

Will companies start looking for CMS experts instead of PHP/ASP.NET developers for example? Is it the norm now to build a website using one of these tools instead of creating one from scratch?

Btw, I'm new to the world of web development and have no experience using a CMS, so I'm aware that I might be coming across as naive or even stupid :o

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

They are frameworks and by their nature have restrictions. The moment you want or need to do something outside of the framework or under the bonnet then you need these languages. E.g. say you want to make what appears a basic change like the heading Categories to Products in WordPress, how do you do that? Then there's business critical matters like tweaking online product listing for conversion which can easily be very messy if you choose a framework without knowing the nuances of the consequences of its implementation. Those are just 2 possible issues, there are hundreds if not thousands more.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Yeah exactly. A CMS is really only suitable for a small general website. What about big web apps like Amazon, Facebook etc? - we can hardly use a CMS for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput