Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Stupid Question You Have Ever Been Asked..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

Me: My sister had a baby girl yesterday.

Friend: No way, what age is she?

Me: A day old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭yogimotorsport

"whats that dancing on ice about"
    would have thought its self explanetory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

'What's the nut on top of a Walnut Whip called?'
    'Is Pakistan not a made up country, like Kazakhstan?'
    'Is Gotham City not a real place?'

My sister, the genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

when i was 7 i was in the local shop - a neighbour came in - she was 9. and says to the shop keeper 'how much are the penny jellies?' he says a penny she says 'ill have one so'

i had to ask my dad how old i was the other week.
    mind you THEY ask ME what date their anniversary is - every year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

was once asked by a waitress in a restraunt I worked 'is the beef stroganof vegetarian friendly?'.

She was quite pretty and nice, if a little dim, so myself and the head chef tried out best not to laugh while explaining that, no, it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

Wearing a bicycle helmet and holding my bike at the end of the working day, one of the salesmen asked me if I was cycling home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Originally Posted by qz View Post
    A friend once asked me, "Mark, how many shirts would you say you own?"
    What's dumb about that? Maybe his girlfriend or mother thought he was mad because he owns loads but he himself thinks he has a normal quantity.

Maybe his name isn't Mark :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

In the office where I work (and like a lot of two story houses I imagine) when you come in the door (at the bottom of the stairs) you can turn the light on for upstairs. And when you go upstairs there is a light switch to turn on/off the same light.

Anyways the receptionist asks me one day could I check the lights as every time she comes to the top of the stairs and turns on the light switch the lights go off! (after she has hit the light switch downstairs :D)

To this day she still doesn't get it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Do you want tea?? of course i want tea!!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Not a question but in 4th class in primary school someone spent about twenty minutes trying to convince me that the queen doesn't fart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Pouring concrete on a site a few years ago and was asked by an engineer what it was,"Sand" I replied,"ok" he says,"thats grand."Thought the RE was going to pass out laughing behind him.
    Worked in a shop when I was younger and was asked by a guy for cat food with no meat as Good Friday was coming up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭tough__cookie

Had some laugh reading through this thread.

Worst one I can think of is my friend asking me how big is a 12 inch pizza.

Another one is when you come in the door soaked into the skin and someone asks you "is it raining?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Lightshow

Great thread, I could easily take over the whole thing and rename it "things wot my girlfriend says"

I'll keep it to two examples though.

While watching Universal Soldier a few years ago she asks "is this based on true events?"

On another occasion while watching footie she asks "is there a premier league for little people?" After a great 20 min conversation I was still at a loss as to what the hell she meant.

Cheers babe. You're a never-ending source of hilarity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

A girl I was seeing before asked me if there was a better chance of winning the lotto in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

When taking part in an All-Ireland level underage quiz we were asked "Windmills produce wind: True or False?"

False. I bet some people said true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Number 5

I have to say the most stupid question I have ever been asked was by a friend of a friend one night in the pub. She wanted to know if Sean (brothers name) was still my brother????

I mean you can ditch a boyfriend/girlfriend but can you ditch a brother or sister???..........mmmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

NotExactly wrote: »
    False. I bet some people said true?

I bet the op said true:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Can you please pull out before you cum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

What colour are cats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

A lady in the shop I work in called me over to ask me a question, she pointed at a cup cake stand which comes in a box with a picture of the stand populated with various cupcakes and muffins, and asks do they come with it?
    I was pretty confused with the question and asked sorry what do you mean?
    She then pointed at the cupcakes and muffins and asked do they come with the stand?
    When I said no, she walked out looking pretty dissapointed.

I was gobsmacked, especially considering the shop I work in clearly sells no food of any kind, just kitchenware and linens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭panevthe3rd

I was working with a fella before and no word of a lie he had to ring his mother to ask "how do you make weetabix"
    did in front of four of us, it was spread to the whole site by the time his mam actually did explain it to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I was working as a bank cashier when the euro came in. Customer rings me a few months into 2002 in a panic - looking for French Francs. I told her that they had been superseded by the euro that January.

"What!? I thought the euro was for Ireland only."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I was the one who asked this dumb question.

Standing at a urinal in a pub, fairly bladdered. The guy next to me says my name.

My response was (after looking at him for a few seconds), "who the fnck are you and how do you know my name?"

It was my cousin. He still slags me about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I once picked up a plate and asked my boyfriend if it was a bowl or a plate......:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Husband joined boards and wanted to know who sticky was and why he had loads of threads on the top of most pages.

A friends new girlfriend heard I was veggie and asked if I ate McDonalds and if that counted as meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭ilovejames

" two breakfast rolls please" At 6 o clock in the evening when all the deli lights are off and im breaking my back mopping the floor arghhh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

"Can you set up a conference call between two people"

"Is a lunar eclipse when the sun gets between the moon and the earth?"

I've blocked out the rest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Was it as good for you:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

my ma asked me once....

"Is a gigabyte the same thing as internet explorer"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

On holiday in France back before the euro came in my friend asked "What's the french for bureau de change?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭breadandjam

While sitting reading a book in the canteen I have, more than once, been asked "What are you reading? A book?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

what makes you happy.

Oh I've another one. My friend was ringing a hotel to book a room and he was distracted, so he asked the receptionist "How much is a double bed?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

When I was 17 I was part of a student exchange in Memphis, and we were all meeting with the mayor. Before he came out his right hand man was chatting with us and asked 'do you have African Americans in Ireland?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

''Where are the goats eggs?''
    - Customer in shop I worked in

''If I get to the million do I get it in credit?''
    - My sister while playing Who Wants To Be A Millionaire mobile phone game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭johnnycnandy

About 7 or 8 years ago, some friend of my mother's gave her a cd she thought she'd like. My mother didn't have a CD player so I gave her my one. As she's plugging it in in her room she asks me "How do I know when I've to turn the CD over?" Bless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Didnt ask me but on the train to waterford a woman in the next seat asked her friend is this the same way we came up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

What's the Irish for taoiseach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Quackles wrote: »
    Oh I've another one. My friend was ringing a hotel to book a room and he was distracted, so he asked the receptionist "How much is a double bed?".

...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

The Luas is a great spot for stupid questions.

Two older women, staring at my mp3 player (which is smaller than a phone) - "Is that a CD player? Where do you put the CDs in?"

Man with thick Cork accent - "Ye don't get much rain up here, do ye?"

Child - "Is Killaloe bigger than Dublin?"

Woman to a group of friends -
    "Where do you get off for Connolly Street?"
    "Ehm.. you mean O'Connell Street?"
    "Oh, yeah. You can't expect me to know the name of every street in Dublin!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

I worked for a tour operator as one of their overseas resort representatives. One day we had brought 7 bus loads of Irish into a Spanish hotel late one night and the following morning I hosted a welcome meeting for close to 400 people.

The hotel was a 2 star property but our company used their own grading system, keys and falcons, and this particular property was graded 2 key.
    In the middle of my welcome meeting this crazy lady came screaming at me on stage that she had to talk to me ASAP it was urgent, so I explained my meeting would only last for another 10 or so minutes but this lady was adamant that I talk to her now and obviously quite upset.

So I interrupted my meeting and took the lady to one side of the stage to talk with her (every one of the 400 heads were now turned staring at us)

The lady then proceeds to fire at me:

Crazy Lady: ”When I booked this holiday it showed 2 keys in the brochure”
    Me: ”Yes that is correct; this is graded as a 2key property”
    Crazy Lady: ‘’Well when I checked in I only received one key to my room… who has the other key”
    Me: ‘’ ….. Speechless…..’’

It was days like this that made me love being a rep!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

pipelaser wrote: »
    "Is it in?"
    Erm announcing on Boards how small you are is a good idea how??? :confused:

...?

As in, double bed, not room. Piece of furniture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Daddy or Chips ? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

RedXIV wrote: »
    I once got asked in tesco by a woman holding a green pepper if it was in fact, a red pepper
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    A blonde girl I once worked with asked me were limes really lemons that were not yet ripe!:eek::eek::eek:
    Bell pepper, also known as sweet pepper
    Cultivars of the plant produce fruits in different colors, including red, yellow and orange. The fruit is also frequently consumed in its unripe form, when the fruit is still green
    Fizman wrote: »
    A girl I was seeing before asked me if there was a better chance of winning the lotto in Spain.
    irish lotto, pick 6 from 45
    spanish lotto, pick 6 from 49, i'd say you've a better chance in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭ilovejames

oh your home are you? No its just your imagination, im not really standing in front of you.

Whispered wrote: »
    A friends new girlfriend heard I was veggie and asked if I ate McDonalds and if that counted as meat.

Well it's a fair question :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Not so much a stupid question..but more a comment.Years ago when me and my girlfriend first bought a house we were plagued by the phone ringing every night during the week for about two weeks.It would stop after two or three rings each time.Both of us worked full time and were often in bed by that time......being in love etc etc .. by the time either of us got downstairs whoever it was had hung up .....the phone calls were between 9.30 and 10 each night.Eventually having dinner one weekend with her family we mentioned the phonecalls and her younger sister piped up admitting it was her...her reasoning for hanging so quickly was ..if we were awake we would,ve answered the phone fast....and if we were asleep we wouldnt have heard the short ringing time of the phone......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

'Is army of two.....two player?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 androma

Once was training girl in to be supervisor and she was taking down figures. When writing she turned to me and asked, "how many zeros are there in 1,000"