Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Stupid Question You Have Ever Been Asked..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

One of my slower friends once asked "Is the Queen the Queen of England or the Queen of the World?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

One of my slower friends once asked "Is the Queen the Queen of England or the Queen of the World?"

She is queen of a lot more places than just England. Sixteen countries in total including the UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

The Shtig wrote: »
    When i was working in the school tuck shop a girl asked 'How much are those .05c sweets?'

Gs they must have been tiny sweets if they only cost .05c. Would they have to buy 20 at a time and hand in 1c or how did it work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

RedXIV wrote: »
    I once got asked in tesco by a woman holding a green pepper if it was in fact, a red pepper
    I grab the paper from reception and use the one at the front of the building.. ;)
    I don't really get it. I mean it may be very odd, but hardly stupid exactly.

I mean like the pepper one above....that's stupid.

I think what they are referring to is when saying 'pepper' they mean 'paper' no? Its in the the accent I suppose. More like 'paypar' rather than 'pepper' down here...

I have been asked many stupid questions in my time and Have asked many stupid questions in my time also!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Heard someone asking this: 'Are those Horses?' (the said person were looking at camels with humps at a circus!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Used to use Dolphin's Barn public library. Walked through the front door and straight to the counter. Put a plastic bag on the counter and then take a book out and hand it to the librarian. He'd always ask: "Are you bringing this back or taking it out?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"Do you have cars in Ireland?" asked by an american tourist as I was sitting in a car at a campsite :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 *dream09*

I was on a walking tour in Berlin during the summer.

At the END of the tour, the guide asked if there was any questions.

An American girl raises her hand and asks...

"So like, Why did they even build the wall?"

I just felt bad for the poor tour guide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

This one was asked to me by a work colleague, who shall we say, is lacking in some intelligence.

We have standard swivel chairs in the office.

Him: "how do you raise the chair?"

Me: "pull the lever"

Him: "no! I want it up, up!"

Me: "stand up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭toodleytoo

working in xtravision, some lady came into the shop recently and asked 'can i rent dvds here?' didnt laugh in her face tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭blue-army

"Who's Barack Obama?!" - A 6th year on US election day 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Where did you lose it?

fu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭brokenhinge

Was asked by my bank over the phone "And, has your date of birth changed"

I repeated the question about twice in hopes that she'd notice what she just asked but alas, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭johnnykilo

About 10 years ago when working in the AOL call centre in Waterford, over the space of approximately 8 months I was asked on 2 or 3 occasions "How do you spell AOL?"

Jesus Wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

working in a shop when this auld boy comes up

"Will this kettle boil water "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Il Trap wrote: »
    Once when I was working in a supermarket, a man approached me holding a bottle of 7UP Free. He asked me, absolutely seriously, 'Is this actually free?!'

No word of a lie... (I'm sure I've posted about it previously)

I was behind someone who was having their shopping checked out in Dunnes, the checkout girl scanned the '7up free', then the customer asked 'should that not be free?

The checkout girl looked at it quizzically and agreed that it ought to be.
    She called her line manager who looked at quizzically and deduced (srysly) that it ought to be free. She called whomever is next highest in the Dunnes food chain. She stared at them all like they had two heads as I had been doing the entire time.

Honestly, my jaw was on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭tenchi-fan

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    A blonde girl I once worked with asked me were limes really lemons that were not yet ripe!:eek::eek::eek:

that;s pretty dumb.

But in defence of the red pepper lady, green peppers are simply unripe red (or orange or yellow) peppers. So you can see why there might be some confusion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

Where did you lose it?

fu.

and when they find it they ask "why is it always in the last place you look???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭noel farrell

on a ryanair flight back from bosnia my four year was playing with the window shutter . a woman leaned over watch your child he will fall out you should know better. hard to keep a straight face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

jaysus that reminds me the first time i was ever on a plane - which was to lourdes when i was 7 - i said to my dad (after trying to figure it out) its really hot in here how do i open the windows? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 SharpBerry

Was working in a supermarket, at the meat counter during that pork scare:

Customer: Can I have some bacon?
    Me: Sorry, but we're not allowed to sell any pork products today.
    Customer: Bacon doesn't come from pork, it comes from pigs
    Me:....

This continued for the entire day, with variations for rashers, sausages, ham, etc

Do yis not know where your food's coming from!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

The office I work in doesn't have individual name plates on the door, just the name of the department etc. Anyway, becuase I was allowed to use the office to conduct some research for my thesis, I said that I'd print off my name on paper and put it on the door, so the participants knew straight away that this was where they are to go. The interviews were first thing on a Monday morning, so before I left on the Friday I stuck the piece of paper onto the door with my name on it. This lady that I work with - heart of gold, but not that brightest spark was passing by so I told her why I was putting my name tag on the door. SHe hadn't worked in the place long so only knew me on first name terms so she looked at the sign and said "God, is that your surname?". I was so flabbergasted I looked at her and said 'yes'...and she said 'ah isn't it a lovely one'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

UpCork wrote: »
    The office I work in doesn't have individual name plates on the door, just the name of the department etc. Anyway, becuase I was allowed to use the office to conduct some research for my thesis, I said that I'd print off my name on paper and put it on the door, so the participants knew straight away that this was where they are to go. The interviews were first thing on a Monday morning, so before I left on the Friday I stuck the piece of paper onto the door with my name on it. This lady that I work with - heart of gold, but not that brightest spark was passing by so I told her why I was putting my name tag on the door. SHe hadn't worked in the place long so only knew me on first name terms so she looked at the sign and said "God, is that your surname?". I was so flabbergasted I looked at her and said 'yes'...and she said 'ah isn't it a lovely one'.

In fairness, it sounds more like making conversation rather than asking a stupid question.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    that;s pretty dumb.

But in defence of the red pepper lady, green peppers are simply unripe red (or orange or yellow) peppers. So you can see why there might be some confusion!

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/citrus/msg0914563012015.html

It can be confusing even to hobbyists.

The panda one wasn't that stupid. I mean thy kind of look like bears and the term 'panda bear' get bandied about a lot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

*dream09* wrote: »
    I was on a walking tour in Berlin during the summer.

At the END of the tour, the guide asked if there was any questions.

An American girl raises her hand and asks...

"So like, Why did they even build the wall?"

I just felt bad for the poor tour guide!

It's a question that can be responded to with a simple stock answer, at least she was trying to educate herself by going on the tour and asking the question.

UpCork wrote: »

Is there a part missing? Did she essentially ask you if your name was Jonathon AccountsPayableDepartment?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

My mother looks after children, and one of the mothers asked her one day:

What's a ditch?

She lives in the countryside :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

SharpBerry wrote: »
    Do yis not know where your food's coming from!?
    I'd just be interested to know what would happen if you asked them to draw you a picture of a pork.

My mother looks after children, and one of the mothers asked her one day:

What's a ditch?

She lives in the countryside :confused:

Is it that part of the countryside that calls a hedge a ditch and a ditch a dyke? Took me a while to unlearn that :o

Is there a part missing? Did she essentially ask you if your name was Jonathon AccountsPayableDepartment?
    No. She looked at the piece of paper which clearly had my name on it, stuck to the door, and said 'God is that your surname'. Why in the name of sweet Jesus wouldn't it be, if I was putting my name on thet door.

Another stupid question that always gets on my nerves is - has the bus come yet, as there is a queue of about 10 people waiting in the bus shelter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

An ex who was born on the 20th of April once asked me "Why her birthday never fell on Friday the 13th"!!!!! :eek:

In fairness, it sounds more like making conversation rather than asking a stupid question.
    It's not really. In that instance I would have said 'I didn't know your surname before etc'. NOt, is that your surname.

Having said that though, you may need to know this lady to see why it was a stupid question. As I say, lovely person BUT she does ask extra-ordinarily stupid things

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

''Do you know the English alphabet?''

I was asked this less than an hour ago, by an Irish girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

The panda one wasn't that stupid. I mean thy kind of look like bears and the term 'panda bear' get bandied about a lot.

I cant tell if you're serious or not....

They're called "Panda Bears" because they are members of the bear family..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

A friend of mine went to South Africa for a few weeks over Easter when we were in 5th year.

In Leaving Cert, in like September or October that same friend was talking about how she had been eating a coconut, or using it in cooking, or something like that anyway. My other friend suddenly exclaims, "WHERE did you get a coconut from?????" She pondered for a second, then added, "OOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, in Africa was it??"

Other friend just solemnly answered "...Tesco..."

Cue some serious laughter and never letting her live it down!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

"do you need a BluRay player to play BluRay discs ?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    A friend of mine went to South Africa for a few weeks over Easter when we were in 5th year.

In Leaving Cert, in like September or October that same friend was talking about how she had been eating a coconut, or using it in cooking, or something like that anyway. My other friend suddenly exclaims, "WHERE did you get a coconut from?????" She pondered for a second, then added, "OOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, in Africa was it??"

Other friend just solemnly answered "...Tesco..."

Cue some serious laughter and never letting her live it down!:D
    Id say a swallow might have dropped it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

bluewolf wrote: »
    'can i have a cheeseburger with no cheese' ... so a burger, then

My nephew did that while he was visiting me a while back too...

I once got asked by an American "Do you celebrate St. Patrick's Day in Ireland too"

duh!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Chatting to an English lad in Cyprus queuing for a club. Told him I was from Ireland and he was like:

:ah cool man, is that Dublin or Belfast man?
    :No its Cork, the very southern end
    :ah yeah so that in Dublin so man
    :no its Cork another city
    :i though there were only two like places in Ireland, Dublin and Belfast.

BizzyC wrote: »
    I cant tell if you're serious or not....

They're called "Panda Bears" because they are members of the bear family..

Only the black and white ones are and it was only relatively recently decided they were bears and not racoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

Where did I learn how to speak english....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

"What (dart) station do I get off to go to Lansdowne Rd?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

A woman standing beside michael collins' grave in glasnevin cemetry asks the guide:
    "so wheres julia roberts buried?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

If the world could dis-invent 3 things what would they be ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭pvt6zh395dqbrj

I was once asked:

"do you love Michael Schofield?"

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

its more admiration than love. But come on - how obvious is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Do you work here ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 LoopTheLoop

Pointing to the empty chair beside you, "Is anybody sitting there?"

A classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sparkle_23

I work in a supermarket deli and during the summer they hired a total idiot! One day a customer asked him to dice up two chicken fillets. He cut them up, bagged them and then turned to me and asked "How much are chicken fillets when they're cut up?" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Jigglypuff

"Do these stairs go up as well as down?"
    Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭lolie

When i 'd come in the door in the evening my my mother would say ahh is that you or are ya home?
    A few years evanesence had a song with the line "wont stop till i find a cure for this cancer" in it, one evening when the song was on the radio my sister asked me was he really looking for a cure for cancer. She wondered why i started laughing at her:D