Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Major heroin dealer" beaten and warned to leave country or face death

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    You are a Garda are you not? No doubt you know of people in the "criminal gangs" who are around the place wandering free.

And? Should they just be interned until proof can be found?
    dlofnep wrote: »
    I doubt he was either. But I'm not making the assertion that he was guilty or innocent. I think communities generally have their ear to the ground and are perfectly aware of who's pushing in their communities. If the Gardaí don't act, and the streets continue to be flooded with the stuff - then naturally vigilantes will step up - whether it be groups like the CIRA or just concerned parents.

It's all very well communities knowing who is pushing around their estates but that won't accomplish anything unless they come forward with the info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

All the paramilitarys are into drug dealing the UVF are massive wholesalers of herion north and south of the border.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

As long as people use drugs, other people will step in to sell drugs, no matter how harsh the penalties. So in the long-term, the key is to reduce the number of drug users - targeting dealers will never, ever work, because there is an unlimited supply. I think Portugal's soft approach might be a better model for Ireland than the US-style hardline approach.

As for punishment beatings, community internal policing and the like, well, in the 1960s, you used to have that kind of stuff to keep drugs out of poor working class communities in the US...that didn't end well, and today a lot of those areas are hellholes. There is just too much money at stake to keep people honest when it comes to drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭blueyedson

Pity they didn't deal with the bankers before they fcuked the country up :rolleyes:

In my opinion they shouldn't have done what they did, I tend to agree with the general opinion here that the CIRA are scum.

Having said that, I also believe some communites have scum dealers who may be getting younger kids involved or being too heavy handed with thier customers; well then use vigilantes to sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    You havent really thought this through have you ?

Yes I have.

Middle class users buy drugs which cause problems in working class areas.

Such a punishment would be a huge detriment to middle class users regarding their social status and career prospects.

Resultant collapse in demand from middle class users would make life easier in WC areas.

Maybe you should put more thoughts in to your own posts. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yes I have.

Such a punishment would be a huge detriment to middle class users regarding their social status and career prospects.

Resultant collapse in demand from middle class users would make life easier in WC areas.

This hasn't worked in the US - why do you think it would work in Ireland? I'm being serious here.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    They think they are the CIRA? What does that matter? They should be rounded up and put in prison. The lot of them.

So you support internment and don't believe people have the right to a fair trial? :rolleyes:

You're not far off their level.....

This hasn't worked in the US - why do you think it would work in Ireland? I'm being serious here.

Because the middle class users I've come across have told me they do coke because they know they are immune from any real penalty.

It's either give that a try or just legalise everything.

The current system has failed utterly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

So you support internment and don't believe people have the right to a fair trial? :rolleyes:

You're not far off their level.....
    CIRA is an illegal organisation Zebra. They are criminals in a period of peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

As said earlier the CIRA are a bottomless bag of sh1te. There is absolutley no form of "street justice" here, its merely a case of themprotecting their business interests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Offy wrote: »
    What about your local GP? What about the young lady that works behind the counter in Boots? They sell drugs, is it ok to kill them too? Your attitude makes you no better than them. Its not ok to kill ANYONE. PERIOD. Take the blinkers off!

yeah, and let's kill all barmen and newsagents too...
    er no, you took me up wrong or were quoting the wrong person.
    All I said was I don't lose sleep over one drug dealer killing another in the grand scheme of things, not that I think it's any kind of justice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

What can the govt do to eliminate drug dealers?

Intercept a drugs shipments and mix in some lethal chemicals.

Kill off the scumbag users / pretentious wanker users and you eliminate the dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ogra Sinn Fein are saying they are involved in drug dealing, fair enough.

As for why they aren't behind bars, they have to be caught first, charged and face the courts, a process we have in a civilised society.

Ideally we could all dish out punishment beatings but law and order would break down.

Tbh, legalising it fully or partly seems to work, Portugal, Switzerland and Sweden have had reasonable success at it. The Swiss managed to reduce the rate and deter young people away from it, which is the future market after all.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Anybody know which area of Clondalkin this dealer was from?

The CIRA have been taxing dealers in Clondalkin for years,fella I went to school (complete idiot btw) with's house was shot up on a number of ocasions because he refused to pay them and he was only a very small time weed dealer,they are not out to protect the community,they are just out to protect their profits! Scum taxing scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Isn't competition good for the end user?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yes I have.

It aint just middle class people using drugs. If anything its working class people who use them much more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

What can the govt do to eliminate drug dealers? While I don't care about cannabis being legalized I don't think heroin ever should be. It is way too destructive of a drug. People know who these drug dealers are, the Gardaí sure as hell do, how are they still out on the streets?

I think you should care about Cannabis being legalised because as it is, the vast majority of the pro-drugs lobby are there because of Cannabis. For some reason Cannabis is lumped in with everything else. Get rid of Cannabis illegality and there will suddenly be a giant tumbleweed when it comes to drug legalisation.

That's the only point I wanted to make really. I'm only 29 so all I've seen from the CIRA is violence and gangsterism in my lifetime. I don't think they did much before that tbh. They certainly shouldn't be held up as bastions of society because they were violent towards heroin dealers. They are heroin dealers themselves.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    CIRA is an illegal organisation Zebra. They are criminals in a period of peace.

You didn't answer the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

In limerick city members of the C-IRA have been forcing the two main feuding gangs to pay them protection money and the same group is selling weapons to both sides of the feud. However the C-IRA in northern Ireland have claimed to have split recently from the southern division claiming that they were corrupt and influenced by selling drugs how true this is Im not sure as it could have just been a cover up for a internal power struggle.

Does anyone here know if the dissidents have actually been arrested or convicted for selling drugs as Ive heard people talking about how there drug dealers but have never seen a story about it in the news.

for those interested in the reasons and history behind why the dissidents are firing up again there is a interesting book called Legion of the rearguard by Martyn Frampton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Gunnerkid

as long as these paramilitaries remain they will always commit crimes like selling drugs in order to fund their cause.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In all honesty I feel it is an attempt, certainly in the north, to "community police" in order to build support.
    you can spin it any way you want but at the end of the day violently taking the law into your own hands is a criminal offence

Saying that the Guards aren't sorting out the problem is kinda redundant since if the Guards were taking all the criminals off the streets then they too would be locked up. Those are people who benefit from the features of our criminal justice system that are designed to avoid convicting the innocent without evidence.

If it was about removing criminals then they could simply take video recordings of the wrong doings and present themselves as witnesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

It's the same crap that goes on in Prisons.

Murderers give nonces a beating every now and then to try and give the perception that destroying lives with violence and thuggery is someone not as inhumane destroying lives with sexual abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Presumably those involved turned themselves into Gardai for arrest after they committed the crime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

OutlawPete wrote: »
    It's the same crap that goes on in Prisons.

Murderers give nonces a beating every now and then to try and give the perception that destroying lives with violence and thuggery is someone not as inhumane destroying lives with sexual abuse.

Ah shure aren't they just ordnrey daysent crimnls doing the public a service?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

"There's no justice in this world."
    		-- Frank Costello, on the prosecution of "Lucky" Luciano by
    		   New York district attorney Thomas Dewey after Luciano had
    		   saved Dewey from assassination by Dutch Schultz (by ordering
    		   the assassination of Schultz instead)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

I doubt this will reduce heroin consumption in Ireland by a single gram. Drugs are very profitable and if this guy leaves the trade there are dozens who will move in to get his old customers.