Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Happy Irish National day everyone!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

nuxxx wrote: »
    Why dont ya feck off to England then :pac:
    Sisko wrote: »
    Terrible thread, where the feck do you self hating ******'s come from?

Read a history book, the amount of Irish that died and suffered under British rule is unreal.

As ****ed as we are we're still one of the top nations on this planet to live in and we've been far better off as a country free from the UK. Just cause things are "hard" now.

Also with your logic sure we may as well all join the american empire, UK included since we watch so many american movies. :rolleyes:

Ashamed? Ashamed we didn't militarily rape half the planet? The hell is wrong with people like you...
    J. Marston wrote: »
    If you feel that strongly and are so ashamed, leave. Go. Exit. Depart.

Piss off.
    He's just a drunken self hating ******* that's come onto boards to vent, delete your account and log into some UK forums if thats what you believe.

Btw I'm manually typing ****** as I don't think theres even a word for such people :pac:
    Ah the old, "Saying what the english did to us in the past is wrong means your not allowed to like modern england, english people, its entertainment or sports and should always boycott everything english or your a hypocrite" logic the self haters come out with.

Sigh...

Happy paddys day man.

1,2,3,4 and 5. Thanks for the help in getting me the easiest 20 quid in my life :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭HenryChinaski

Many a good point there. Especially the one about supporting English football teams I fcukin' hate that sh*t.

However I'm still incredibly proud to be Irish and for all our flaws we're still some of soundest most fun people out there. As someone who lives overseas and has spent the last few years doing a lot of travel, nothing beats the craic you have when you meet up with other Irish people. I don't know what it is but there's some sort of personality x-factor that Irish people generally seem to have.

Also and I don't care what anyone says here. Being Irish alone has gotten me into enough pairs of knickers that it's definitely worth a mention in the pro column. And that's coming from someone who's not a stud by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Havn't you seen the Terminal 2 Ad????

This......www.youtube.com/watch?v=abd4DH7sME8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

G'way outta that , I demand to hear more details of this bet! I can't picture it.

Yeah. I dont believe it either. Bit off more than he could chew and now trying to make light of it by making up the bet story. No doubt about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

ooh another anti-Irish thread on boards.ie, controversial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This thread may already have set the record for most trolls and troll feeders ever.

pithater1 wrote: »
    1,2,3,4 and 5. Thanks for the help in getting me the easiest 20 quid in my life :D

Well trolled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

The hell is wrong with people like you...
    I am proud that I've managed to loose 20kg. And that I've studied and got myself a decend job. And that I raised my son to be a good man. I am proud, because I achieved all this by myself.

I am not proud that I have a black hair. I am not proud that I am 184cm tall. I am also not proud of the place my mother happened to give birth in.

I am not proud of all these things because they were either achieved by others (and I am not a huge fan of taking my own credit of things others did) or are completely random and independent, hence did not involve me/my decisions/efforts/etc... Simply because being proud of it IS an utter bollocks.

Only your own actions should make you feel proud or ashamed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Nah Ads by google's comments might be harsh but I'd generally agree with him, Irelands not perfect at all. Still far too religious, equal rights issues still not addressed and hell abortion isnt even in. So theres still a few backwards things about this country.

"Far too religious"? Are you actually living in modern Ireland, or just on some British Protestant stereotype of Ireland?

And "hell abortion isn't even in" is arguably one of the most obvious signs of Irish "advancement" if we must phrase all this in terms of backwardness versus progress.
    Also if your not mad into sports and pubs or clubs socialising can be hard, and theres attitudes between irish men and irish women that need to be addressed.

I'd be fairly sure that there are "attitudes" between men and women in every country in the world. Irish men remain a universe away from the attitude of men in countries like Italy or Greece. The Irish electorate wouldn't accept somebody like Berlusconi.

I agree with you about pubs having way too central a position in Irish culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 11:11

I understand OP's concern.

It was my opinion up until a short while ago. Having travelled around Europe and beyond I was quite amazed at people's reaction to me being Irish. They revere us in a certain way. I just believed it was because of TV and stereotype etc.....but after a lot of interacting with different cultures I understand why Irish people are so loved.

We are not afraid to display emotion. We are very emotional people! Be it cynical or loving blah blah blah. There are so many countries (especially in Europe) who's people are so catatonic and mundane...when they meet an Irish person they are in awe of the fact we actually talk with some air of meaning and purpose. It's like a drug to these people.

But, there's a downside to the Irish. Greed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

We may as well admit it, we'd be better off still living under the crown. Sure we read British bloody newspapers, avidly watch British television, buy anything and everything in British shops and avidly support British football clubs. Not to mention the fact that under British rule that shower of traitors in Fianna Fail wouldn't have had the chance to plunge us into civil war, and let's not mention the rest...

Apologies but I find the whole 'be proud to be Irish' bull that always comes around this time of year to be complete and utter bollox.

Why should I be proud to be part of a tinpot island off the west coast of Europe who's main claim to fame is to be a nation of 'craic' loving alcoholics.

No I'm not proud, in fact I'm bloody ashamed.

A decent crop of fish I caught with that rancid piece of little bait there
    Lá Fhéile Phadraig shona do gach duine ar boards

God save the King indeed.

Any reason you posted in English? After all, if you're really Irish and wouldn't want to feel ashamed, you should have posted this in Irish and move to the Gaelteacht.

I love how the irony of you posting this rant in English didn't seem to occour to you. Also, you realize we're around the same level of England for alcoholic binge drinking, right?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's a pretty sad state of affairs that people consider the illegality of murdering unborn babies "backwards"

is there anything people won't blindly support in the name of progress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Any reason you posted in English? After all, if you're really Irish and wouldn't want to feel ashamed, you should have posted this in Irish and move to the Gaelteacht.

I love how the irony of you posting this rant in English didn't seem to occour to you.

In fairness to the man, if he posted in the Irish the "I'm so proud to be Irish; I just hate Irish culture" brigade would be here screaming "See, this is what Irish speakers are like!" and all the other anti-Irish prejudice which has poisoned numerous threads here.

They'd then go off and assert their Irishness by screaming at a TV in favour of some British soccer team.

PS: If you want to bring your children up within an Irish speaking community Dublin is now one of the best places, if not the best, in the country to do so. There are much more supports, gaelscoileanna, conversation classes, clubs and the like here. You don't have to "move to the gaeltacht".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I had a 3-in-1 for dinner, maybe I am Chinese.
    No, just a member of the poor peasant class :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭manster

It would be interesting to see an OP with a polar opposite pov ala a rabid Gaelgoir with peig sayers as his mother extolling the virtues of the modh cionniolach. I wonder what kind of response he would get. Thanks OP you certainly caught a netful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Dionysus wrote: »
    In fairness to the man, if he posted in the Irish the "I'm so proud to be Irish; I just hate Irish culture" brigade would be here screaming "See, this is what Irish speakers are like!" and all the other anti-Irish prejudice which has poisoned numerous threads here.

They'd then go off and assert their Irishness by screaming at a TV in favour of some British soccer team.

PS: If you want to bring your children up within an Irish speaking community Dublin is now one of the best places, if not the best, in the country to do so. There are much more supports, gaelscoileanna, conversation classes, clubs and the like here. You don't have to "move to the gaeltacht".

I was just pointing out the irony. If he posted it in the Gealige forum it's not going to be understood by non-Irish speakers. ;)

I know that, I grew up in Dublin and went to an Irish school myself. But if he hates how the English affect us, then surely he should move to a Gaelteacht?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

Havn't you seen the Terminal 2 Ad????

You mean this one i presume!

mfceiling bet me to it! D'oH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Look OP, why don't you just move to Britain and be done with it? I'm sick of all this anti-Irish feeling on boards.ie, it's becoming stereotypical on this site, almost like an Irish Woody Allen.

If you don't like this country, leave. Don't be the village whinger. Nobody likes that guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Terrible thread, where the feck do you self hating ******'s come from?
    Trolling aside, there's no guarantee that any of them are "self" haters. This being the internet they could be posting from an internet cafe in Zamboanga city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

markesmith wrote: »
    Look OP, why don't you just move to Britain and be done with it? I'm sick of all this anti-Irish feeling on boards.ie, it's becoming stereotypical on this site, almost like an Irish Woody Allen.

If you don't like this country, leave. Don't be the village whinger. Nobody likes that guy.

Problem is the mods are the worst:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Troll ban.
    thread title change :D