Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Total Fitness has closed down *MOD note post 1* Please Read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭mrpink6789

FFS, the gym is closed, get over it and move on. Id hate to see what you'd all be like if you had a real problem in your lives. just go to a new one, talk about sad! coming on every day for an update n the gym status, what are ye like. I was in castlknock for 13 years and now im in a different gym, change of scene, the only good staff in castleknock were from eastern europe, realy nice. the irish staff were ignorant and couldnt give a toss.

harsh....but have to admit kind of fair! people should just move on. I joined a new gym and love it up there, was in TF for 2 years. Only thing I'm bitter about is I paid a full years membership by laser 3 weeks before it closed.

You always here people saying how they are scared going to gyms for the first time so maybe its having to do that all over again in a new gym thats effecting people.

Ah sure when Ben Dunne opens in the Beacon in September everyone will flock there and they'll be like "Total who?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭chiefbrody1974

yeah, im not being nasty saying that, but its true. I could undertsand someone having a similar view starting a new job, easily, that can be tough especially if you're nervous. But its just a gym, its leisure and should be treated as such. hanging on daily in the hopes that someone is going to open it again under new management is only a point of interest for the people who worked there, not the members. I lost money on it too but I came up trumps paying 225 for a year in Northwood, they wanted 575 in TF castleknock. for what?? 2 out of 5 bikes working? 75% threadmills plugged in at any one time? 2 barbells between 4 benches and two squat racks??? sauna in the mens dressing room Out of order permanently??. this is what annoyed me about this gym. they would take peoples money by selling the gym as a fully equiped one, that's 575.00 for full use of everything. then when you pay, you realise machines are damaged and sauna's are down at least one day a week and the list went on. If you paid someone for a 3 piece suit, would you be happy to go home without the jacket???? and pay the full amount. I had my locker broken into over in that gym even with a lock on it, and they wouldnt even wave a months membership as a gesture of goodwill, I had money and my phone stolen and they never even reported it to the police. assholes in that gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I live within spitting distance of TF Sandyford, didn't go as often as I should but was there regularly enough. Very easy to use on the way in to / home from work. Plus at the weekend I could literally roll out of bed and get an hour in - something I wouldn't have been as likely to do with a gym further away.

There's not much point in me joining a gym now that is awkward / a chore to get too as I know I wont get much (if any) use out of it. I would rather pay €500 for something than €250 for nothing so I hope it opens again.

Everyone's circumstances are different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭dumbbell

FFS, the gym is closed, get over it and move on. Id hate to see what you'd all be like if you had a real problem in your lives. just go to a new one, talk about sad! coming on every day for an update n the gym status, what are ye like. I was in castlknock for 13 years and now im in a different gym, change of scene, the only good staff in castleknock were from eastern europe, realy nice. the irish staff were ignorant and couldnt give a toss.
    yeah, im not being nasty saying that, but its true. I could undertsand someone having a similar view starting a new job, easily, that can be tough especially if you're nervous. But its just a gym, its leisure and should be treated as such. hanging on daily in the hopes that someone is going to open it again under new management is only a point of interest for the people who worked there, not the members. I lost money on it too but I came up trumps paying 225 for a year in Northwood, they wanted 575 in TF castleknock. for what?? 2 out of 5 bikes working? 75% threadmills plugged in at any one time? 2 barbells between 4 benches and two squat racks??? sauna in the mens dressing room Out of order permanently??. this is what annoyed me about this gym. they would take peoples money by selling the gym as a fully equiped one, that's 575.00 for full use of everything. then when you pay, you realise machines are damaged and sauna's are down at least one day a week and the list went on. If you paid someone for a 3 piece suit, would you be happy to go home without the jacket???? and pay the full amount. I had my locker broken into over in that gym even with a lock on it, and they wouldnt even wave a months membership as a gesture of goodwill, I had money and my phone stolen and they never even reported it to the police. assholes in that gym.

GREAT MAN ARENT YE!!

Maybe the reason is TF was well equiped / value for money and local.

Other so called gyms are charging the same if not more than TF and not offering the same FULLY equiped QUALITY goods or extras that was at hands reach in the TF centers.

So on yer bike ..

your post is strong winded and of actuall fact shows you have a rubish attitude. Lucky your able to move on so quick cause it seems people wont be hanging around you for very long if thats how you carry on

dumbbell wrote: »
    GREAT MAN ARENT YE!!

Maybe the reason is TF was well equiped / value for money and local.

Other so called gyms are charging the same if not more than TF and not offering the same FULLY equiped QUALITY goods or extras that was at hands reach in the TF centers.

So on yer bike ..

your post is strong winded and of actuall fact shows you have a rubish attitude. Lucky your able to move on so quick cause it seems people wont be hanging around you for very long if thats how you carry on

ahhhhhhh listen to the poor ex instructor or what not. value for money??? ask anyone if total fitness casteknock was actually value for money, in the last couple of years!!!!! Ripping off the members with a multitude of different rates, from 295 to 395 -495 - 575 depending on who you were or who you knew in the office. I'm only speaking about TF casleknock by the way cry baby!! TF even charged new members 295.00 euro for 1 year if they produced their current gym card upon signing up. Meanwhile loyal members where been charged twice that and over, subsidising the new member cheap rates. Get a grip, you have every idea that this went on so save the moral high ground sales speak for someone with your own intelligence level!! If you can actually find an amoeba!!

And please explain the line you wrote, marked in Bold??? (Makes no sense at all) I guess there really is a reason you clean toilets in gyms for a living!
    In response to your advice regarding me getting on myr bike", I would If I could find one that worked, in TF castleknock!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

chiefbrody you've already been infracted for you behaviour in this thread - don't post in it again or you'll be banned.

g'em wrote: »
    chiefbrody you've already been infracted for you behaviour in this thread - don't post in it again or you'll be banned.

oh I see, so Im allowed to be told where to go etc and be insulted, but god forbid I retort to same in kind? I've said my piece, dont worry.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

oh I see, so Im allowed to be told where to go etc and be insulted, but god forbid I retort to same in kind? I've said my piece, dont worry.;)

see you in a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Fella37

I Spoke to the liquidator last week and they confirmed that all 3 sites had been taken over by a new gym group - so no aldi and lidls for sure. I was not at liberty to say who yet but he assured me it was a definte and would be made know shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,837 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Fella37 wrote: »
    I Spoke to the liquidator last week and they confirmed that all 3 sites had been taken over by a new gym group - so no aldi and lidls for sure. I was not at liberty to say who yet but he assured me it was a definte and would be made know shortly

If this is true it's good news.
    You'll forgive me for questioning the validity of such a claim by someone with 1 post however.

Glazers Out!

fair enough, but as a supplier to them I can only go on what the liquidator has told me - i am waiting with bated breath as I have left items in place on the off chance i can pick up trading with the new provider - whoever that is

°°°°°

fair enough, but as a supplier to them I can only go on what the liquidator has told me - i am waiting with bated breath as I have left items in place on the off chance i can pick up trading with the new provider - whoever that is

Thanks for sharing, hopefully you're right and we can see the place re open.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭LOLA08

I to spoke to the liquidator last week, he said that they had a company interested in buying it, woud know for sure in 2 weeks time. he would not say who but it was diffo staying as a gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Good news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If thats correct, and if the new group is offering the same good value as T/F (I got my last two years subs for €349) then that would be brilliant.

Although I've an excellent gym in work - much better equipt then T/F, it has no pool area & thats what I miss most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭LOLA08

i was going to join a new gym in the next few wks. the only reason i rang the liquidator is because i had heard they had a buyer, and wanted to hear it from the horses mouth before i went ahead and signed up to another gym. most of the gyms are offering better value for money up front. which i would have done of course on my visa, but it would have meant i would be locked into a year contract. so ya i will hold off now and see if this purchase goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I just don't see how the 3 gyms can come back from the dead so to speak. Virtually all the regulars at this stage will have joined other gyms. People who didn't go won't want to pay up again.
    I don't see the landlord renegotiating the rent downwards either. Apparently its all to do with NAMA. It's a joke but I won't get in to that now.
    It was a great gym all the same. I loved the one up in Sandyford. Lots of parking, nice area, massive gym. It had everything really!
    But I'm in a new gym now which has everything I need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

I just don't see how the 3 gyms can come back from the dead so to speak. Virtually all the regulars at this stage will have joined other gyms. People who didn't go won't want to pay up again.
    I don't see the landlord renegotiating the rent downwards either. Apparently its all to do with NAMA. It's a joke but I won't get in to that now.
    It was a great gym all the same. I loved the one up in Sandyford. Lots of parking, nice area, massive gym. It had everything really!

The beat on the street is Gubay who ones the land will reopen sandyford. Now i've heard July and a few people i've been talking to are 100% certain there will be an announcement soon. I'll wait with bated breath. I joined somewhere myself- but i'd go up to SF if it reopened and look at the facility and prices and take it all into consideration. i wouldnt run straight back up with a fistful of notes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

i wouldnt run straight back up with a fistful of notes.

Too right. Once bitten.......

Nate

The beat on the street is Gubay who ones the land will reopen sandyford. Now i've heard July and a few people i've been talking to are 100% certain there will be an announcement soon. I'll wait with bated breath. I joined somewhere myself- but i'd go up to SF if it reopened and look at the facility and prices and take it all into consideration. i wouldnt run straight back up with a fistful of notes.
    I'd probably recognise you from being up there. Hopefully that's true then. I was in my new gym today and just haven't gotten in to the mode just yet. Still doesn't feel right. It's a small gym but it can be busy. Sometimes I've had to leave without getting everything I wanted done, where as I TF, I often did a bit extra. I had been going to the gym 5/6 days a week up until it closed, now im going about 4:(.
    So if he reopens it as a gym will my membership continue?

I'd probably recognise you from being up there. Hopefully that's true then. I was in my new gym today and just haven't gotten in to the mode just yet. Still doesn't feel right. It's a small gym but it can be busy. Sometimes I've had to leave without getting everything I wanted done, where as I TF, I often did a bit extra. I had been going to the gym 5/6 days a week up until it closed, now im going about 4:(.
    So if he reopens it as a gym will my membership continue?

No, New business so they might have an offer to get old members back- maybe a cheaper first year, but you can wave goodbye to your original membership. I joined energie nutgrove and i have to say i like it. small but its decent. I always loved the running track in SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Lloyd Xmas

I went down at about 1pm on a monday, Place was packed, full of 15/16 year olds, couldn't get a bench, weights all over the place.

Asked the guy if there was a sauna, he said, no, we did have one but kids were throwing buckets of water on the hot stones so we got rid of it. Just really didnt like the place.

At least that was a trial visit. I forked out EUR 250 thinking that it would be alright for the price. How wrong I was.
    I think the atmosphere is horrible, the shower area is filthy, you've people deliberately standing in the way, by the mirrors, between the changing area and pool, out of pure ignorance. The power in the showers was very poor and the floor was covered in toe-nails and hair.

The treadmills are beyond a joke and your knees will fare better running on concrete. There's guys standing around the free-weights area doing nothing but being intimidating. The final straw on my second visit, was when I was sitting on a bench doing curls. The next thing was, this chap hopped up on the dip station next to me to do leg raises which was fine. However, when doing the leg raises his feet were coming up to within about 12 inches of my head. I just thought it was the most ignorant thing and for that reason, I won't ever be going back to any of Ben Dunnes gyms. I wouldn't become a member if it was free.

I checked with the Liquidator again today and he told me that the deal they had with the crowd that were supposed to take the sites fell through at at the last minute. Apparantly thier demands were unrealistic He said there are a couple of parties still interested (as Gyms). By next week if nothing happens he said he will adviseany suppliers who have equipment on site to remove :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Lloyd Xmas wrote: »
    when I was sitting on a bench doing curls. .

I hate people who do that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 tem

i saw guys out at malahide gym to-day, yesterday, said it all 3 gyms will be opening soon, better than before new equip and better layout...fingers crossed

tem wrote: »
    i saw guys out at malahide gym to-day, yesterday, said it all 3 gyms will be opening soon, better than before new equip and better layout...fingers crossed
    But who's going to join them, they've lost all their customers by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

judging by this thread and from plenty of people up around Sandyford who have since joined other gyms - the consensus is that we'd all go back to TF Sandyford in a heartbeat assuming it's not priced stupidly. Yes there'll be people who won't come back but I think plenty will.

The facility is top class.

all bot price and value for money just hope they hire good staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Neverlandland

Has this closed down? When I go onto their website, it says that the liquidator has been appointed and that it's gone. When I drive by it, it says that it's accepting membership, although obviously there's the possibility that when the liquidator took over, they just didn't bother taking them down!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I take it you haven't tried to go in during the last 2 months so...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Sportylfc

Rumour has it malahide and Sandyford are set to reopen. Has anyone else heard this??

Sportylfc wrote: »
    Rumour has it malahide and Sandyford are set to reopen. Has anyone else heard this??

Yup.

Has anything else been confirmed with the new owners? Rumours. Are rife. Apparently it's to reopen in July !

What's going on do u know?

There's a rumour it's supposed to be reopening?

Ive heard that but were is it all coming from?

Apparantly people who have spoken to the liquidator. They confirmed they where in talks with people to take over. But until there is a sign saying "reopen" i'm gonna be a non believer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭ct_roy

Apparantly people who have spoken to the liquidator. They confirmed they where in talks with people to take over. But until there is a sign saying "reopen" i'm gonna be a non believer.

there's been lots of chinese whispers flying around the place about a reopening but until we hear something definitive I'm going to assume it's nothing more than bluster. If something had been set in stone you'd be bloody sure someone would be shouting from the rooftops about it.

As pure speculation I don't think anyone other than Gubay himself would have the clout to take over Sandyford. The rent is too high. Ben Dunne ain't going hear it given he is opening in the Beacon in July. My guess is Gubay will have a good look at it and eventually give it a go for 6 months and see what happens. Again - just pure idle speculation!

The other possibility is that Crunch are looking at it again. Apparently there were in the hunt early on - again I'm guessing rents were the deal breaker.

Heard gubay is reopening under his company name end of July

Thats the rumour alright. But as someone says its taking a long time TBC.

you think there would be a big announcement to let people know.

I've noticed windows in the sandyford one keep getting smashed and then repaired quiet quickly. Places like that which arent being used are attractions for kids- and knacks with nothing better to do but smash windows

Thats the rumour alright. But as someone says its taking a long time TBC.

you think there would be a big announcement to let people know.

I've noticed windows in the sandyford one keep getting smashed and then repaired quiet quickly. Places like that which arent being used are attractions for kids- and knacks with nothing better to do but smash windows

hope someone opens soon as a member can't wait to get back to TF sandyford......no other gym comes close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 jessup

I supposed it's a sign of how tight things are that I noticed having an extra €60 per month in the bank account. It's a nice 'bonus' but there's no doubt that I'm one of those that needs the habit and ritual of going to the gym. I looked at the alternatives and wasn't impressed and I really have been doing feck all since TF closed so I hope it does re-open soon.

Rec'd a photo today of the malahide gym doors open. Someones in there just who and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

Rec'd a photo today of the malahide gym doors open. Someones in there just who and why?

lets hope its all sorted out soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭ethanb

shakencat wrote: »

lets hope its all sorted out soon

Heard on grapevine 1st Sept date for TF Sandyford re opening ?

ethanb wrote: »
    Heard on grapevine 1st Sept date for TF Sandyford re opening ?

Yeah I heard that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Hanley wrote: »
    Yeah I heard that too.

Any word on Castleknock?

FOGOFUNK wrote: »
    Any word on Castleknock?

I've heard various things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭FOGOFUNK

Hanley wrote: »
    I've heard various things.

Variously positive?

°°°°°

These grapevines are notoriously unreliable.

I find it hard to believe that any of these gyms will ever re open at this stage.
    Sandyford will soon have a Bed Dunne crap-o-gym only a stones throw from the TF Sandyford site. Making any reopening of TF a hugely difficult proposition given the immense competition the gym in Sandyford would have faced even if it had still been open and operating successfully upon Ben Dunnes arrival.

In my opinion the TF gyms should be in the process of reopening now to stand a chance of being a worthwhile business venture. Sadly, the longer they sit vacant the more likely it is that they will not reopen at all.

I'm settled in my new gym now but I still miss TF and it's sad to think that the fantastic facilities I had the use of in Sandyford will most likely sit idle as a target for idiotic vandals and arsonists as the place has been under sige for months by scumbags, fire brigades are now it's most regular visitors. Gubay must be desperate for someone to take it off his hands at this stage.

Glazers Out!