Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Coonan Councillor (FF)

• 17-03-2011 11:15am
    Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭

A cheap shot artist of the highest degree.Article in the Indo today,

Councillor to make complaint over Ming's illegal drug use

A GROUP of councillors have said that South-Roscommon TD Luke 'Ming' Flanagan's personal use of a drug was his own business.

Their colleague, Kilkenny councillor John Coonan, is to make a formal complaint to gardai about the new TD, who openly admits smoking cannabis and growing it for personal use.

Mr Flanagan should not be given special treatment -- and he should be dealt with for breaking the law, according to the Fianna Fail councillor.

Mr Coonan -- a former psychiatric nurse -- is writing to gardai and Taoiseach Enda Kenny to express his concerns about Mr Flanagan's use of the drug.

A formal complaint will increase pressure on gardai to investigate Mr Flanagan.

Ten years ago, Mr Flanagan sent 500 cannabis joints to Irish politicians as part of his campaign to legalise the drug.

"I was gobsmacked that I didn't get support. Everybody made the point that Ming is an able and articulate man. That is not the point," said Mr Coonan.

"Gerry Ryan was a fantastic broadcaster but, unfortunately, he is not with us anymore. I'm not comparing Ming to anybody -- but Gerry Ryan is an unfortunate case and point of what illegal drugs can do."

Mr Coonan believes Mr Flanagan is sending out the wrong signal to young people, who will think it is acceptable to use illegal drugs.

"It would be remiss of me if I didn't express, as a public representative and a retired clinical nurse manager, my concern about this," he said.

Mr Flanagan did not return calls from the Irish Independent yesterday.

During a meeting of Kilkenny Borough Council, Mr Coonan said cannabis had "harmful side effects".

He said the same rule of law should apply to Mr Flanagan as to ordinary citizens.

"I know one of the most serious side effects of cannabis is depression. It is illegal for a reason. There are a lot of young people who I have seen suffer because of this drug. There's no such thing as a harmless illegal drug."

- Eimear Ni Bhraonain

Irish Independent

Talk about looking cheap publicity for yourself.Have to say that this guy is a low life on a par with any drug dealer in the country because he is dealing in poison politics.The biggest thread we have seen on here recently has been regarding Heroin Hell and not one comment from a councillor or politician posted.Have seen no rallies organised by Mr Coonan to shut down dealers around the town.He has seen a soft target to raise his own profile.Ming lives his life according to his own choices, he ain't going around robbing houses to feed his habit or engaging in anti social behaviour.He hasn't burned an economy to the ground or abused his position of power to line his own pocket.Please take note of his rescinding of half his TD salary,Mr Coonan.He'll do more for this country than you will ever achieve.There are dealers littered all over Kilkenny dealing death,get off your ass Mr.Coonan and do something about it,since you are so impassioned about tackling our drug crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭Davidian_ie

P.S if you don't like what I have to say about you,go complain to the Gardai about me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Fianna Fail could only deal with the superficial, real problems never existed for them. I wonder if he'd consider me a menace to society because I wouldn't take on a 35 mortgage!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Bottom line is the drug is illegal and "Ming" should be prosecuted for use of it, he certainly doesn't try to hide this fact he uses it and it doesn't matter if he steals or not.

Plenty of cocain users don't steal but that doesn't make their use of the drug ok.

Just because he thinks it should be legal doesn't mean its ok to use it.

Plenty of muppets think motorways should have speedlimits of 180km/hour but that doesn't make it ok for them to drive at those speeds. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Prosecute him or not, why is a Kilkenny councillor concerned about a TD in Roscommon? Isn't a local councillor, usually interested in local issues? I would hope a local representative dealt with things a bit closer to home.

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Shulgin

Cabaal wrote: »
    Plenty of muppets think motorways should have speedlimits of 180km/hour but that doesn't make it ok for them to drive at those speeds. :rolleyes:

In Fairness, growing your own cannabis and consuming it in your own home is NOTHING like wanting to drive at 180KM/Hour and putting your and other's lives in danger. Those kind of comparisons are ridiculous.

Ming doing this openly as an elected TD will hopefully finally get this stupid prohibition lifted. Good luck to him I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Bottom line is the drug is illegal and "Ming" should be prosecuted for use of it, he certainly doesn't try to hide this fact he uses it and it doesn't matter if he steals or not.

Plenty of cocain users don't steal but that doesn't make their use of the drug ok.

Just because he thinks it should be legal doesn't mean its ok to use it.

People driving at 180kmh would kill people. Heroin and Cocaine kills people. The legal status of the substance doesn't create any kind of "bottom line" as you would suggest.

Challenging a poorly written law is fair game in a democratic society as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

That Kilkenny Fianna Failster has a point. Luke Flanagan is, as an elected TD, a legislator, and is openly advocating breaking the law. Whatever anyone's opinion about whether weed should be legalised or not Flanagan has overstepped the mark. Having idealogues as politicians is never a good idea, just ask the Greens (remember them!). If Flanagan wants to smoke his head off in private, then that's fine by me, but he should shut his angry gob about it in public.

Cabaal driving at 180km/h is putting other peoples lives at risk also.Smoking cannabis at home is putting his own life at risk,he has made a choice as an adult to take this option.A lot of choices have been made for the people of Ireland by people in power that have killed more than cannabis will.If you were to look for a correlation between the recession and suicide,you may find it alarmingly exceeds death by cannabis right now.I think as an adult I would prefer to make my own choices in this life,legal or non legal.FF and bankers didn't really operate in a legal capacity when managing the finances of this country.

Why is John Coonan not leading dawn raids on drug dealers in Kilkenny?If he feels that strongly about it let him start a war on drugs in this constituency.Also john it was an awful pity that you were not on your guard when this happened http://www.hotpress.com/archive/2925360.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

+1 on what The Orb said.

I don't think the morality of taking cannabis is the point. The facts are that canabis is illegal, he is a TD and in my opinion it is wrong for a person in such a high public position to be promoting breaking the law. The moral issue of wether cannabis is OK or not is something completely different.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

The only way change can be brought about is by challenging the status quo. If David Norris fell into line and kept his trap shut, homosexuality would still be illegal. If Mary Robinson had to fall into line and keep her trap shut, women in Ireland would still be subject to massive discrimination.

Luke smoking weed is harming nobody and it is (I hope) promoting intelligent debate. I didn;t know anything about the guy until this election (I had always assumed he was a bit of an eejit) but I watched all his debates and read his manifesto and listened to his interviews. I find him to be an intelligent, articulate, hard working individual with solid, decent ideas to bring about general political and local government reform.

I could not say the same for John Coonan.

I personally don't care for cannabis at all, but I recognise its popularity and I believe that an intelligent and controlled approach should be made when dealing with the subject. Fair and informed debate and balanced arguement.

Spasticated Idiots like the above counseller trying to score cheap points by lumping hash in with cocaine to scare and confuse people is exactly what we don't need to progress matters. The fool probably never saw a joint in his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Coonan is a prize tit who runs to the guards at every opportunity.

A CONSTITUENT who accused a local politican of 'lies' when he met him out canvassing was convicted of engaging in threatening, abusive and insulting behaviour at Kilkenny District Court yesterday (Tuesday).

Martin Ryan, 8 Marble Crest, Loughboy had denied the offence at Dukes Meadows in the city on April 9. John Coonan, a Fianna Fail Councillor and a retired psychiatric nurse took the stand and recounted the incident which took place in the run up to the local elections last June.

“I had commenced canvassing for the local elections and was at the door of number 10 in Dukes Meadows, which is close to where I live when I heard, ‘Hey John, John Coonan, liar, lies, liar’. I turned around and saw Martin Ryan with his dog and he was walking up and down the footpath. I thought he would stop but it started again and the dog who was on a leash was jumping up and down.
    “He said, ‘What about your patients who died in our care? What about Paul?’.

I said that I didn’t want to speak to him and I got into my car and drove down to the end of the road and locked myself into the car and called the gardai. I told them that I was being harassed and intimidated. After some time I composed myself and got out of the car and recommenced my canvass at the other end.

I heard a voice say, ‘Lies, lies, Fianna Fail, Fianna Feck’. He took a mobile phone and said to me, ‘So you phoned the gardai and told them that you were being harassed’. Under cross examination by the defence solicior, Mr Tom Walsh put it to the witness that he was suggesting that his client, Martin Ryan had access to garda movements. “That is absolutely untrue,” replied Mr Coonan.

“I was seriously stressed at this stage and sat in the car. It seemed like ages but it was probably only between five and eight minutes. I started the car and drove to the entrance and saw a garda car and waved them down and got into their car. I couldn’t make a statement as I was so upset but I called to the station the next day and made one,” Mr Coonan said. He added lived just a few hundred yards ago at Willow Close and saw Mr Ryan regularly as he mother lived in the same estate at Marble Crest.
    Solicitor Tom Walsh put it to Mr Coonan that his client had engaged in a ‘political discussion’ about pay cuts to the public service, mental health services, the old age pension and a locally-operated casino. Mr Coonan told the court that the incident ‘had nothing to do with politics’ adding that he was ‘well-used to debate’. “He sought my views on a casino that had opened in the area. My son was involved but he is no longer involved and I gave a hand with teas and coffees but that was all,” added Mr Coonan.

He had a small dog on a leash and he angrily spoke to me and the dog was jumping up and down. I was seriously intimidates. He was speaking to me in an aggressive manner,” Mr Coonan told the court.

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/local/local_politican_wins_public_order_case_1_2171957

Oh, and the judge that convicted Martin Ryan is the same one that said this......

Judge William Harnett’s comments over HIV and cannabis. The judge had made comments linking HIV and cannabis in a court case, stating: “People with HIV or those who die of AIDS all started by taking cannabis resin”. Councillor Walsh submitted a letter for Judge Harnett’s attention before last week’s sitting of Waterford District Court calling for him to publicly apologise for the comments. As yet no apology has been made, nor has the judge replied to councillor Walsh, who said the comments displayed “pure ignorance”. Councillor Walsh told Tramore Town Council that the judge had inflicted pain on those suffering from HIV and AIDS. “This is a terrible stigma to put on people dying from AIDS”. He reiterated his comments in the letter to judge Harnett in his letter, stating: “As an educated person how can you link cannabis use to HIV. As you should well know HIV can only be contracted though contaminated needles and body fluids”

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:Npz5GijPI5QJ:www.drugsandalcohol.ie/9068/+http://www.drugsandalcohol.ie/9068/&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=ie&client=firefox-a&source=www.google.ie

I despair

People have little to be worrying about if they go after Ming........ but if they do I reckon Ming has a Plan B........ or perhaps this is Plan A all along.
    Watch this space....

The Fianna Fail strategy has always been "You can fool some of the people all of the time and they're the ones we have to concentrate on."

Another FFer had an ant blasphemy law on the table!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Brudy

Is John Coonan doing anything wrong or illegal in asking the gardai to investigate a crime ? If there is nothing illegal in what "Ming" is doing then surely he would'nt mind investigation by gardai He might even lead them to the spot where according to himself he grows his cannabis plants in a bog near Cloonchambers where he lives. His campaign to continue cutting of turf may even extend to cutting of cannabis plants. TD's have been arrested and charged for breaking the law in relation to drink driving because they broke the law of the land - is there something different about this law ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Yeah I would say there is a huge difference between Jim McDaid driving drunk against the flow of traffic on the Naas dual carraigeway in the middle of the day and a guy growing a plant in the bog in the middle of nowhere.

I agree with you that he would probably lead them to it and more than likely drive himself to prison. He built his political career with stunts like that, it's publicity for your cause that you can't buy. He doesn't want to evade the law, he wants to change it. Fair play to John Coonan for keeping the issue in the media.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Mr Coonan is not doing anything wrong. But then, should'nt he be shouting about the drug dealers around his own doorstep in the first instance.Instead he decides to complain about a politician living over a hundred miles away. Reminds me of the time the Taisce tree-huggers in Donegal who objected to a farmer's son building a house on his father's farm in Kerry.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I like the selectivness of some people in this thread, its ok for somebody to break lots of laws just because they think that those laws shouldn't exist but its not ok to break others,

Once again I go back to my speeding example, you'll find plenty of people in the Motors forum here on boards.ie that think speed limits on motorways should be atleast 160km and that such a limit wouild not harm anyone (yes they will think this but of course that doesn't make it right). Of course we know the risks that an increased limit would bring.

People are quick to say "ming" isn't harming anyone but widespread use of any drug that can affect the mind can and will harm people as people will be dumb enough to drive whilst using it etc, I've also met any number of fools throughout my life that certainly over used that drug and thats clear as day.

"Ming" is in a place in Goverment and like anyone else in that place he should set an example by following the laws of the country, if it was a FF or FG person who broke a law (be it any law) people would want him hung from the rafters but because he is who he is people think its fine.

Anybody and that includes you and me can make a complaint to the Gardai and ask them to investigate "Ming" in relation to his comments and usage of an illegal suspstance, there's nothing wrong with asking trhe Gardai to enforce the law in this country and until the law changes if "Ming" is investigated and fault guilty then he deserves all he gets.

If John didn't lodge a complaint you can be sure as day that a member of the public would have, would you comment and belittle them as well?

Yes,the real issue here is the breaking of the speed limit.We need to start throwing people in prison for this crime.

I have a carving knife in my hand now,wonder should I bring it out on my person tonight when I go drinking?

Not surprised at some of the replies here,as is always the case with Irish people it is try to keep the smaller man down.ming lives by his beliefs and doesn't go around dealing or mugging people to feed his habit.We do not live in a police state yet,which at times is unfortunate when you see the way corrupted politicians and bankers abused the laws of this country.But hey, it's Ireland and white collar crime is par for the course.

John Coonan has a very select memory, as I don't recall him advocating drug testing in the Dail, when the issue was raised before http://www.independent.ie/national-news/no-to-dail-coke-tests-minister-1116996.html. Go tackle these issues in Kilkenny first, if you want my respect.You won't because you haven't got the balls to do so.

A wise man once told me about the difference between Ireland and the USA.He saids in America, when a guy is trying to get himself unto the bottom rung of the ladder, his fellow American will reach down and offer his hand to help pull him up onto it.In Ireland, we will kick that guys hand away and always keep him down.

Not surprised at some of the replies here,as is always the case with Irish people it is try to keep the smaller man down.ming lives by his beliefs and doesn't go around dealing or mugging people to feed his habit.We do not live in a police state yet,which at times is unfortunate when you see the way corrupted politicians and bankers abused the laws of this country.But hey, it's Ireland and white collar crime is par for the course.

So its great we all bitch and moan about banker,s builders etc but if the "smaller man" breaks the law its ok then?

Just because somebody should be prosecuted for breaking the law doesn't mean its a police state, you don't get to pick what laws apply to you I'm afraid.

Selective persecution suits you and your kind.The war on drugs was lost long ago.People like you can hide behind your computer and take cheap shots at the people that don't suit your way of thinking or conform to your ideals.Since you are so moralistic about drugs,why didn't you perform a citizen arrest on those you encountered doing drugs in the past?There will be people murdered in this country tonight and someone will only get a couple of years for doing it.Our society broke down a long time ago but as long as the police catch people who break the speed limit, we will be alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Brudy

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Yeah I would say there is a huge difference between Jim McDaid driving drunk against the flow of traffic on the Naas dual carraigeway in the middle of the day and a guy growing a plant in the bog in the middle of nowhere.

I agree with you that he would probably lead them to it and more than likely drive himself to prison. He built his political career with stunts like that, it's publicity for your cause that you can't buy. He doesn't want to evade the law, he wants to change it. Fair play to John Coonan for keeping the issue in the media.

Fair play to John Coonan all right. At least he is unafraid to stand by what he believes in. It would suit fine to bury the issue of lawbreaking by certain elected people but it still does not make it right. I remember a quotation from my school days which seems appropriate in the circumstances :-"
    "Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around the laws." - Plato (427-347 B.C.)

Bit more up to date.
    “One has a moral responsibility to disobey unjust laws.”
    Martin Luther King
    Ps. There's an awful stench of shill off certain posts in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

I like the selectivness of some people in this thread, its ok for somebody to break lots of laws just because they think that those laws shouldn't exist but its not ok to break others,

Once again I go back to my speeding example, you'll find plenty of people in the Motors forum here on boards.ie that think speed limits on motorways should be atleast 160km and that such a limit wouild not harm anyone (yes they will think this but of course that doesn't make it right). Of course we know the risks that an increased limit would bring.

Well, the problem with your comparison is that it has been proven time and time again by scientists and experts that cannabis is one of the least harmful of all drugs, legal and illegal. Anyone with half an ounce of sense has called for it to be legalised for this reason among other sensible reasons such as the fact that the war against drugs will never be won and also if cannabis was to be legalised it could be taxed and the power would shift away from the illegal dealers.

Therefore the law is wrong.

Now, could you tell me what scientists and or other experts have said that an increased speed limit would be beneficial and should be implemented? Some links please?

The law is wrong and that Martin Luther King quote Mikom posted is spot on. I have no problem with someone in a position of power flouting the law if it is obviously wrong, especially when the people condemning this person have much to atone for themselves in the name of their political party while their condemnation has dubious motivations to say the least. That's what's wrong with Ireland-this constant lack of imagination, integrity, intellect and courage whereby any kind of dissent or rebellion, even when passive and astute, is frowned upon by gombeen politicians who only care about votes, along with members of the public, too subservient and civil to accept and understand the truth and who will go through life taking it up the ass cos it's the Irish way, will only lead to social and political stagnation and has done for a long time.

This country is going nowhere fast.

Viva La Ming!

A formal complaint will increase pressure on gardai to investigate Mr Flanagan.
    This is the line that concerns me. It may just bad editing but if he wanted the Gardai to investigate Mr Flanagan because of the views he expressed then we have disrespect for dissent and rancor.

If he wanted mister Flanagan investigated for the sending the 100 joints then he has a point.

The original piece is ambiguous on this point.

This just in...
    John Coonan has decided not to call for Ming to be investigated.... he's instead called for a national bank inquiry under the reign of his party Fianna Fail.
    Then I woke up.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭insight_man

Cabaal driving at 180km/h is putting other peoples lives at risk also.Smoking cannabis at home is putting his own life at risk,he has made a choice as an adult to take this option.A lot of choices have been made for the people of Ireland by people in power that have killed more than cannabis will.If you were to look for a correlation between the recession and suicide,you may find it alarmingly exceeds death by cannabis right now.I think as an adult I would prefer to make my own choices in this life,legal or non legal.FF and bankers didn't really operate in a legal capacity when managing the finances of this country.

Why is John Coonan not leading dawn raids on drug dealers in Kilkenny?If he feels that strongly about it let him start a war on drugs in this constituency.Also john it was an awful pity that you were not on your guard when this happened http://www.hotpress.com/archive/2925360.html

Reading this it seems to me its far easier to attack something far away ie Ming than do something closer to home. I don't think the drugs criminals in Kilkenny will lose any sleep with John Coonan on the job. Enough said.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Threadhead

John Coonan is an absolute disgrace if you ask me.

I'm not saying that Luke Flanagan is above the law but this thread is called 'John Coonan Councillor (FF)' so I'm going to express my opinion on him. He's a disgrace.

He should take a cue from his fellow FF councillor Joe Malone and step into the drug community in Kilkenny and engage with it in a head on manner. I'm not a FF supporter by the longest shot but Joe Malone has done some great work highlighting Kilkenny's drug problem and should be commended for it. John Coonan taking a cheap pop at someone who has nothing to do with him is disgraceful. He should channel his energies into issues closer to home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

Threadhead wrote: »
    John Coonan is an absolute disgrace if you ask me.

I'm not saying that Luke Flanagan is above the law but this thread is called 'John Coonan Councillor (FF)' so I'm going to express my opinion on him. He's a disgrace.

He should take a cue from his fellow FF councillor Joe Malone and step into the drug community in Kilkenny and engage with it in a head on manner. I'm not a FF supporter by the longest shot but Joe Malone has done some great work highlighting Kilkenny's drug problem and should be commended for it. John Coonan taking a cheap pop at someone who has nothing to do with him is disgraceful. He should channel his energies into issues closer to home.
    Publicly standing up to someone who holds a possible friends job against going after people who live close to him, the mans a hero dammit!

Well, the problem with your comparison is that it has been proven time and time again by scientists and experts that cannabis is one of the least harmful of all drugs, legal and illegal.

Selective reading if you think its not harmful tbh,

As an illegal drug it comes with many bad affects - http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/ming-flanagans-crusade-isnt-about-civil-rights-its-about-personal-gain/
    Here are a few examples:

* Cannabis impairs cognitive development
    * It affects the memory and prolonged use may lead to greater impairment (which may not recover with cessation of use)
    * Chronic users are likely to develop a dependence
    * It can exacerbate schizophrenia in affected individuals
    * Long-term smoking damages the trachea and major bronchi
    * Cannabis used during pregnancy is associated with impairment in fetal development
    * It may also lead to post-natal risk of rare forms of cancer.

The last thing we need is to legalise yet another harmful drug in this country,

Anyone with half an ounce of sense has called for it to be legalised for this reason among other sensible reasons such as the fact that the war against drugs will never be won and also if cannabis was to be legalised it could be taxed and the power would shift away from the illegal dealers.

Oh I get it, if you can't beat them join them?
    Seriously thats your reasoning?

As for your claim of sense I guess the WHO are a bunch of idiots I suppose?
    Therefore the law is wrong.

In your personal view, thankfully we don't obey your personal view as law.
    As such the law applys and anybody that breaks it deserves what they get.
    Now, could you tell me what scientists and or other experts have said that an increased speed limit would be beneficial and should be implemented? Some links please?

Your asking me for links, I refered to examples of people's personal views and how very clearly they are wrong and misleading.

I never mention official reports, of course if you want official reports how about you backup your claim about how great this illegal drug is and why it should be legal.....

Reputable sources only though please :)

The law is wrong and that Martin Luther King quote Mikom posted is spot on. I have no problem with someone in a position of power flouting the law if it is obviously wrong,

Again its wrong in your personal view, much like other people think its wrong your limited to 120km/hour on a motorway, these same idiots will then sight Germany as a road system where you can drive faster with no issues
    especially when the people condemning this person have much to atone for themselves in the name of their political party while their condemnation has dubious motivations to say the least.

I'm condeming it as well, I've no political motivations and as I've outlined I can also make an official complaint to the Gardai same as you can,

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Your asking me for links, I refered to examples of people's personal views and how very clearly they are wrong and misleading.

I never mention official reports, of course if you want official reports how about you backup your claim about how great this illegal drug is and why it should be legal.....

Reputable sources only though please :)

http://cachef.ft.com/cms/s/0/358db9d6-bf57-11df-965a-00144feab49a.html#axzz1HGfKtpPV

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/6981863/Replacement-for-Professor-David-Nutt-said-cannabis-should-be-legalised.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2009/oct/30/david-nutt-drugs-adviser-sacked

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/law-and-order/6495115/Governments-chief-scientist-backs-David-Nutt-on-cannabis.html

Now, these are only a few articles that sprang to mind as I had heard about them at the time. I haven't bothered searching for ones I haven't heard about. Imagine the amount of scientists that are of the same opinion as their esteemed fellows mentioned here but who are too afraid to speak out cos they have to tow the party/professional line (Like the politicians here)

Also Cabaal, may I ask if you think that alcohol and cigarettes should be made illegal when it has been proven by Professer David Nutt that they are a lot more harmful than cannabis and indeed ecstacy and lsd?

Also, I see you have listed a load of harmful side effects attributed to cannabis. Could I ask if you have ever experimented with cannabis properly or are you just rehashing propaganda you have soaked up through the media?

I mean if I was to drink too much coffee in a day I would end up with those side effects as well.

naturally you are totally entitled to your opinion and we'll have to agree to disagree but I was calling you on your comparison between opinions on speeding and opinions on cannabis legalisation.

Oh, and on a personal level-I used to smoke a lot of weed and I never experienced any problems. I also abused alcohol in the past and because of this and I haven't got drunk in 5 years. It destroyed my mind and body as it has done to many friends.