Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Last time I done that,I walked off,letting it run away into the sprayer.and had the lid on tight on the cube.came back cube all sucked in,and bars bent.lol

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Costruction project

Built to full grant specification!

attach.gif

menupop.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭againstthetide

No pics of the rebar? Tidy job though fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Conor556 wrote: »
    Costruction project

Built to full grant specification!

attach.gif

menupop.gif

Very tasty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Some fine sheep spotted in Kilfenora, anyone know what breed they are lads :P

1229977_10152154294748835_1898189946_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

brilliant, they aint mayo blackfaces anyway

up here in Sligo we would just use zebras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

The latest addition to the flock. January born lamb - had to give quite a bit more for him than i'd intended last night. Just looking at the 1st pic i think he doesn't know where to run as the red army advances :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

I'd say they're clare improvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Sure are they not belclares??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

interracial porn for Banner men ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

when did clare women start using make up;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

Sure are they not belclares??

They could be when they have the colours off

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

No pics of the rebar? Tidy job though fair play

Used welding rods and expanding metal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

new tanker a few months ago

some reseeding grass this time last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

GY A1 wrote: »

It would be a shame to dirty it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

gate that was hung yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

whelan1 wrote: »
    gate that was hung yesterday

Reminds me of a story I was told about builder I know.

He put in a mantle piece for a woman and the woman rings him up a few days later to say the mantel piece isnt level and would he drop back to fix it. Lazy fecker that he was comes up with the ideal to stick the level into the deep freeze with the bubble bang on in the middle and freezes it there. Rocks down to the womans house, throws up the frozen level on the mantel and says look missus its perfect :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

dont mind the ford, more massey porn today

ford not ours lol
    only massey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Were you using the powerbox to do a bit of levelling and how did it work out?
    270528.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

SwitSwoo . Fine tank , hope it's lucky for you . Do the cattle pull much silage under the barrier without a small wall or timbers to block it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Did some reseeding about six weeks ago. Have been surface tilling for the last few fields now but i'm sick of dealing with dead, **** grass that sitting on the surface. So bad in spots that we had to rake it in and burn it.

temporary_zps72a4f969.jpg

Six weeks after sowing, even Towser's happy.

temporary_zpsc096ccc4.jpg

Seed mix from Mcguinness/Seeddirect.ie

temporary_zps12fc6d83.jpg

Will be ploughing anymore. At least you know exactly how it will turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Looking very well there. Would you just try poweharrowing? How did you till that? Don't say poweharrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Muckit wrote: »
    Looking very well there. Would you just try poweharrowing? How did you till that? Don't say poweharrow

Burned off with roundup and 3 weeks later burned with fire, HU RA!

Contractor with one of the big disk harrows twice, and then crusher for a few runs. Eventually after a few days light rub of the spring harrow. Seed and fert then chain harrow and finally roll. Turned out perfect but alot of diesel burned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Disced ready for power harrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Marooned75 wrote: »
    New way of trying to stop rats hording poison

I think you should have used hi tensile wire, a rat wouldnt be long chewing through the cord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

I think you should have used hi tensile wire, a rat wouldnt be long chewing through the cord.

It'll do for now better than loose for a while anyhow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

I useta nail the poison to a pallet dont think it really worked though so now just use the red grain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

quadboy wrote: »
    I useta nail the poison to a pallet dont think it really worked though so now just use the red grain

We use the red blocks - we had a problem around the house and over a couple of month they took about 10kg of blue blocks but they were still around. Laid the red blocks. They took them once and I replenished them The blocks are still there to this day - 8 months later and the critters are gone!!

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭countryjimbo

reilig wrote: »
    We use the red blocks

What are the red blocks Reilig? I've the same problem with the blue ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Rodex I'd be thinking. It's good stuff for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Yorkshire Terrier:cool:

Not alone the most efficient way to get rid of an infestation, but also the best way to prevent reinfestation. No farmyard should be without a good Yorkie, for rat control:P

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZLTzbT9cls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Vertox I think they were called.

was told that vermin become immune to types after a while so we should be changing the colour every time we buy a new box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Heard of a fella with a serious rat problem and was using the blue blocks the rats kept taking them. one day cleaning out the shed he found all the blocks in a heap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Heard of a fella with a serious rat problem and was using the blue blocks the rats kept taking them. one day cleaning out the shed he found all the blocks in a heap
    The rats stockpile them as they think its food. get the poison that is like grains of corn, it stops the rats carrying it away and they have to eat it where it is placed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Isn't it just poetry in motion watching a dog do what he was bred to do.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Isn't it just poetry in motion watching a dog do what he was bred to do.
    amen to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭stanflt

last of the grassland sprayed today- thank f**k

72o5.jpg
    y137.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Don't keep putting them out. Put out a few, let them eat them. Then put out nothing for one week. Then try another few out to see what if anything is left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭fredweena

Are any of these poisons safe for the birds of prey that may eat the rodents? Was reading in the paper today about the reduction in barn owls cos of secondary poisoning. Remember seeing a barn owl on the way home from the pub locked one night. Frightened the bejasus out of me. Wouldn't like to think I was helping reduce their numbers but need to get rid of the rats too obviously. Terrier not an option in our case unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

fredweena wrote: »
    Was reading in the paper today about the reduction in barn owls cos of secondary poisoning. Remember seeing a barn owl on the way home from the pub locked one night.

Well there ya are. You answered your own question. If they're on the drink regularly obviously their days are numbered!

Difficult to get it up, easy pickings in a fight, probably crap chipper food. How could they survive?:D

Bizzum wrote: »
    Well there ya are. You answered your own question. If they're on the drink regularly obviously their days are numbered!

Difficult to get it up, easy pickings in a fight, probably crap chipper food. How could they survive?:D

They ll be on the dole next :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

The rats stockpile them as they think its food. get the poison that is like grains of corn, it stops the rats carrying it away and they have to eat it where it is placed

The little buggers will stockpile alright :(

You need to either tie the bait with wire or else have a bait box.

Ours is a simple homemade job using a large biscuit tin, cut two holes in it for Roland to enter and exit and a board of timber across it with two nails for to place the bait on.

Has worked very well and means the bait is weatherproof too.

towzer2010 wrote: »
    Were you using the powerbox to do a bit of levelling and how did it work out?
    270528.jpg

hi just had it picking a few of the big stones here, we used a land leveller in this field, its on the other massey at end of the field.

have used the power box for other levelling and its a great job,
    have a few pics of cleaning and levelling a dirt road, will throw them up

moy83 wrote: »
    SwitSwoo . Fine tank , hope it's lucky for you . Do the cattle pull much silage under the barrier without a small wall or timbers to block it ?

thanks, i have'nt use it yet now tho,
    we have timbers that fill the gap between the ground and gate, their wedged between the bay girders,
    were taken out for cleaning and powerwashing

filling in potholes in the road and removed the grass hump in the middle,
    scooped up the grass with the power box, and shook 804 along with loader,
    levelled off some bad spots with the power box full of 804 for weight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

The old man waited till the skies looked darkest before starting cutting !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,876 ✭✭✭mf240

fredweena wrote: »
    Remember seeing a barn owl on the way home from the pub locked one night. Frightened the bejasus out of me..

At least he had the sense not to try flying home in that state.