Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Made 200 of the small haylage bales today , feckin labourers uncle died and he couldnt come to give me a hand today . Ill sleep tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

moy83 wrote: »
    Made 200 of the small haylage bales today , feckin labourers uncle died and he couldnt come to give me a hand today . Ill sleep tonight

How inconvenient for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

just do it wrote: »
    RobinBanks
    Can you tell us a bit more about the white stakes. Homemade? How high?

I will put a tape on them this evening when I get home. I got them in a horse supplies shop of all places! Co-op i'm sure have them as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

hugo29 wrote: »
    its great when it works, took mine a few days too, but most of them come out now, only fcuker is moving the trough every few days,

Looks great job, ill be weaning mine soon now, is it just a simple beef nut you give them or rolled barley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

saranac1 wrote: »
    Looks great job, ill be weaning mine soon now, is it just a simple beef nut you give them or rolled barley

mixed ration here,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

saranac1 wrote: »

Start off with weanling crunch and once they're all eating it I move to beef nut.

RobinBanks wrote: »
    I will put a tape on them this evening when I get home. I got them in a horse supplies shop of all places! Co-op i'm sure have them as well.

Nearly finished weaning here but will look into these for next year. Current system is too time consuming

First Autumn calf by HCA. Didn't expect this one to calf yet, I was checking on one of her comrades!
    dqr7.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

^^
    Good going for a cow with no aparrent head :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

bbam wrote: »
    ^^

Great savings on feeding.

Something wrong here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

What do you feed those small haylage bales to or do you sell for horses?

How did the bin bags go?

bbam wrote: »
    ^^

The saw slipped when we were dehorning her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

The saw slipped when we were dehorning her!
    what were ya using a chainsaw :D

Muckit wrote: »
    What do you feed those small haylage bales to or do you sell for horses?
    Sell them for horses . I might treat the odd sick cow to one but thats about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Something wrong here....

That dog looks scared sh!tless :)

How did the bin bags go?
    Not too bad I got green plastic for them instead of black but the black ones I made earlier are perfect when opened too. There is 100 heading back your neck of the woods next week hopefully the rest will follow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

First Autumn calf by HCA. Didn't expect this one to calf yet, I was checking on one of her comrades!
    dqr7.jpg

Bull or heifer JD ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

found this growing in my field of kale (weeds)
    the drought stricken east coast, even sunflower are growing of their own accord

271467.jpg

dar31 wrote: »

271467.jpg
    Imposter

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Bull or heifer JD ????

Handy heifer calf. Springer is 25mo by OMA with a maternal rating of 134.

Just checked on them and I'm glad to report the cow's head has reappeared :D

Thank god for that :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

There's a beaut of a replacement for ya

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sharpshooter at least it's better than caterpillars!

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

dar31 wrote: »

271467.jpg

Neighbours crop of fodder beet lying flat yesterday evening and every day this week. Perked up now drizzling since 10 am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Neighbours crop of fodder beet lying flat yesterday evening and every day this week. Perked up now drizzling since 10 am.
    When it's flat its really working hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭eire23

025.jpg
    Some lleyn hoggets

DSCF1785_zps2061cb11.jpg
    DSCF1784_zps375c7e03.jpg
    2 year old lleyn ram, Hope i have the pictures up right, if there to big can mods resize them?

Yearling 400kg heifer jammed in the drinker. So what would you do?
    sduq.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

sduq.jpg

get a couple gallons fairly liquid or else an angle grinder ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

ud hardly need an angle grinder to cut her legs off ;)

leave her for a while and see if the figures it out, otherwise angle grinder, can she go backwards at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Lost a heifer in a similar situation a few years back. Left her for a while to see if she'd get out herself and she started to swell. By the time I had her cut out with the grinder, she was severely swelled and she died about 2 days later.

she is well stuck alright id say especially if trough underneath her, grinder might set her off, hack saw fairly lively id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

grinder then welder and put bar across so it does not happen again.

leg wax wrote: »
    put bar across so it does not happen again.
    I've been meaning to do this ever since they went in. Bad design to begin with :rolleyes:

She went back the way she came through. Once the racket was tight I used a long crowbar to pop her ribs back in, racket again, and then she got the idea and reversed out - a bit sore and sorry for herself.

ou5h.jpg

I wouldn't mind but she is a quiet one and I thought she'd be alright by herself in the pen for the ten minutes she was left there.

Vander - another job for Darcy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Fair Play JDI,
    I was going to suggest a Rope halter on her head while you were using the grinder. She looks like a quiet one anyway.

She went back the way she came through. Once the racket was tight I used a long crowbar to pop her ribs back in, racket again, and then she got the idea and reversed out - a bit sore and sorry for herself.

ou5h.jpg
    That ll teach her to have manners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

sduq.jpg
    first words would be fook it:D

ZFL bull calf off a bbq heifer x fr. Five days early . He was only a couple of hours old in the pic and sucking like a good thing

Got another 47 bales made this evening . Im no grass measurer but we have heaps ahead of ourselves so I might chance another 60 next week and wont be sorry then if it comes wet for the next 8 months . Talk about a different year to the last one !

did ya cut hay off that field earlier in the year

No , pit silage early on then it was grazed

just thought i could see a few whisps of hay on the ground like our fields

I zoomed in there and see what you're talking about alright . I cut it myself and I'm not used to using the mower because the father usually cuts everthing . I'd say I had it cocked a bit off level with the ground and thats what you're seeing

ah yeah cos when we cut silage in the hay fields and when the mower went through it i notices all the little bits of hay at the base of the grass. was surprised that it was still there

ou5h.jpg
    I do have to laugh cos id look at that and say sure a cow would never try to get through there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭adne

Was it lying in the sward, unusual to see the yellow undergrowth?

I wouldn't mind but she is a quiet one and I thought she'd be alright by herself in the pen for the ten minutes she was left there.

Vander - another job for Darcy!

even if you drilled 2 holes and ran strong threaded bar thru it would prob solve your problem