Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

aghead wrote: »
    Ya slightly disappointed with those two TUZ's.....
    Have you tried LZR in NCBC. My AI guy recomended him above Rio. I didn't use him,...yet anyway.

P.S. - I just had a look through your photos. Fine herd there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Thoughts on INRA '95? 3 week old heifer calf, first calver,along with a KIB and two TUZ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=b-urEpqies4

Couple of very nice calves there. Did you ever try a Culard Charolais on the Salers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

pakalasa wrote: »
    Have you tried LZR in NCBC. My AI guy recomended him above Rio. I didn't use him,...yet anyway.

BHU is a fine saler bull too. I know the man that bred him well and have often been in his yard, im actually going out with his niece ;) His dam and grandam are huge cows with a back on them as wide as a double bed!! Milk is very high on his list of priorities too. Im not biased and wouldnt be a big saler fan but he should be fairly good going from his ancestors. I think his sire cost 18k when he brought him in from france!!

• Registered Users Posts: 30 aghead

He's supposed to be working well in france, lzr, but his sire THE never really done much over there or here so, BHU in dovea should be the pick of salers bulls in ai here, from a replacement and beef perspective, but maybe a shade short, but that's only being really critical, fine bull, RIO has coined the phrase leggy buggers for them and questionable Milk apparently no?

• Registered Users Posts: 30 aghead

Bizzum wrote: »
    Couple of very nice calves there. Did you ever try a Culard Charolais on the Salers?

We have, cracking cross, only 2 yearlings at the moment to liverot culard charls bull in eurogene, culard charls/charls is the only cross for the salers, if bothering crossing we find, very saleable at any stage, but the only thing you may lose with culard heifer calves, as the straight salers heifers are worth so much for breeding now, xbred or otherwise, so what you gain with the bull calves you lose out with the heifers!

the two orange beef bulls you'd swear were charls sired, but actually all by same salers stock bull out of a simx cow and a chxfr dam, rest are either unregistered salers or unsold bulls, bulls were killed a month later after video, averaging over 2050 euro, 488kgs dead, 6u's two r's, two r's in kepak

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBqx8Lj31IQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭limo_100

?

The main problem i find with the saler breed is the temperament there shocking wild only ever had two of them and it was to many. But they were nice cattle, but compared to the limousine the limousine is by far the more stylish animal in my opinion. And also use alot of AI limousine and never had a problem with there temperament, find them easy enough to work with.... but its just my opinion what do the rest of use guys think????

I find they behave differently to other cattle. It's not so much that they are agressive, but flighty. They hate to be rounded up and are more likely to run away from you, than attack you. I had a saler teaser bull that I kept to 2 1/2 years. He never showed any wickedness to me, but one day the AI man came into the yard and he cleared a 5 ft wall to get away. Very athletic animal, if he did turn bad, he would have done serious damage if he wanted to.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 teaserbull

limo_100 wrote: »
    The main problem i find with the saler breed is the temperament there shocking wild only ever had two of them .... but its just my opinion what do the rest of use guys think????

This has been discussed to death, but having personally visited and worked with hundreds of salers across a number of countries...this issue/myth of salers temperament has only arisen here in this country, in france on several farms we frequented one could personally lay a hand on practically every weanling/calf, incredible to see... with the older stock even reluctant to move for one in the field being so docile!

They're a major success in real suckler situations ie. australia, States, even highly regarded/sought in Scotland on the highlands, with several hundred head herds running, several salers bulls with them, were the breed comes into it's own with hardiness and low mortality rates esp at calving!

And this isn't even biased as us being breeders! as we'd have all charolais ourselves only with off farm commitments and fragmented farming we couldn't justify or manage such stock efficiently.

This is not a case of a breeder defending/ ignoring flaws with his breed, and not claiming that salers are any quieter than any other breed, but on a par docility wise, as poor temperament cattle are no addition to anyone! breeder nor commercial man so why would we continue breeding and promoting such stock if they were so wild....it would be senseless?

The UCD professors of Genetics along with worldwide experts also question the heritability of docitliy/ temperament, only believing it to have a very little bearing on progeny whatsover... below 10% heritable..... that the environment/ conditions and what calf "learns" off dam far more substantial an influence on animal temperament... ie. poor stockmanship/husbandry and facilities leading to wild cattle.

And with salers being such low maintenance, great fertility rates, short gestation, easy calving, great mothering ability they are often adopted by poor stockmen who many have somewhat "leave em at it approach" on off farms etc and the like, with limited human contact ie herding etc and with any hands on human contact being for unpleasant procedures ie dosing/testing/weaning/transport! Also very few numbers of salers in the country to have a fair assesment of the breed.

Granted they are not as stylish/visually as some limmo's or charls, but they surprisingly weigh quite well compared to many limmo's that I feel disappoint on the scales as opposed to the charls!, and when finished properly will grade good r's if not some u's!

And also with the proposals of Animal health Ireland and Johnes Eradication in the next few years, Johnes prevalence amoungst limmo's in particular, is shockingly high, Importation of limousine cattle originally credited (along with other dairy stock) of the disease into this country.

Limo's were as mad as a bag of spiders when they came first but with a good socitey and dedicated breeders the breed it out of them and they are now the most popular breed in the country. Saler breeders should be doing the same thing and I am sure they are but claiming that overall they are as quiet as any other breed is wrong from my experience of them. I dont agree with that UCD study either, most of our cows are quiet and well handled but we have had a few over the years through no fault of our own as soon as the seen you they were going away from ya and as soon as they calved they were coming towards you, none of their calves were any better. There is a few nutters within every breed but salers at the moment seem to have a higher % than most. My uncle has 10 of them and the rest of his cows are limos, the limos are quiet but the salers are not. Actually I would go as far as to say they are dangerous when they calve and get very giddy when in a yard or crush but they do everything else well. Nobody wants the hassle of flighty and contrary cattle which is what is holding them back at the minute in my honest opinion.

Limo's were as mad as a bag of spiders when they came first but with a good socitey and dedicated breeders the breed it out of them and they are now the most popular breed in the country. Saler breeders should be doing the same thing and I am sure they are but claiming that overall they are as quiet as any other breed is wrong from my experience of them. I dont agree with that UCD study either, most of our cows are quiet and well handled but we have had a few over the years through no fault of our own as soon as the seen you they were going away from ya and as soon as they calved they were coming towards you, none of their calves were any better. There is a few nutters within every breed but salers at the moment seem to have a higher % than most.My uncle has 10 of them and the rest of his cows are limos, the limos are quiet but the salers are not. Actually I would go as far as to say they are dangerous when they calve and get very giddy when in a yard or crush but they do everything else well. Nobody wants the hassle of flighty and contrary cattle which is what is holding them back at the minute in my honest opinion.

With reference to to their protectiveness of a calf in the first few hours....maybe day or two post calving.....you may regard it as an issue, but look at the other end of the spectrum.....we don't want a suckler cow with poor mothering instinct either....look at cf52 daughters in charls....or other hopeless mothering skills amoungst other mas du clu limmos?? who desert the calf if not neglects it.....it's very difficult to strike a balance between mothering ability and excessive mothering/agression.....but if one knows the cow is dangerous WHY TAKE THE RISK! install facilities....and inform everyone else that the cow is dangerous around calving! It's negligence to not be weary of a newborn cow, far more lethal than any bull! whatever the breed!

And with UCD behavioural and geneticists.....it's not just their thoughts it's apparently well documented around the world....and if you take it out of your own context.... (I too was sceptical initially ) ie. If you had a newborn calf....from whatever nutjob of a wild cow whether limmo, salers, blonde whatever......take that calf as soon as it is born away from the cow, within hours (after it's beastings of course) as an experiment raise it amongst artificially reared dairy calves (away from it's cow 100% effectively rear it as a dairy calf).........you mean to tell me that heifer calf is going to be a nutjob as a cow herself? completely to the contrary, she'll act completely the same as her counterparts...a well handled socialised animal....

The heifers/salers your uncle has himself...does he know how the cows themselves were reared as calves? what the husbandry was like etc?

They're regarded as highly intelligent cattle in france, often acting as an obstacle in milking herds with milk let down etc due to the calf having to be presentat milking!

the french cannot understand these complaints the irish have with the descendants of their livestock? they are seriously bamboozled, I hope it's not a case that the irish are that poor of stockmen, or just initially brand something "new" or "different"? possibly the massive amount of part time farming that occurs here is to blame?

And btw I'm not claiming that contrary/wild/flighty salers don't exist! I just don't regard them anything different to other suckler breeds! if not handled often and well! they will run wild!

the french cannot understand these complaints the irish have with the descendants of their stock? they are seriously bamboozled, I hope it's not a case that the irish are that poor of stockmen, or just initially that the Irish brand or knock something "new" or "different"? or just want to blame/ or look at other reasons to disguise poor stockmanship..... possibly the massive amount of parttime farming that occurs here is to blame?

10% of calves dying before they reach 22 days of age in this country....(majority due to calving difficulties....scours....poor beastings intake....poor husbandry... perhaps we should take note of french farming practices? as opposed to critising their apparently "wild" livestock...

And btw I'm not claiming that wild/flighty salers don't exist! I just don't regard them anything different to other suckler breeds! if not handled often and well from an early age! they will run wild!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

teaserbull wrote: »
    With reference to to their protectiveness of a calf in the first few hours....maybe day or two post calving.....you may regard it as an issue, but look at the other end of the spectrum.....we don't want a suckler cow with poor mothering instinct either....look at cf52 daughters in charls....or other hopeless mothering skills amoungst other mas du clu limmos?? who desert the calf if not neglects it.....it's very difficult to strike a balance between mothering ability and excessive mothering/agression.....but if one knows the cow is dangerous WHY TAKE THE RISK! install facilities....and inform everyone else that the cow is dangerous around calving! It's negligence to not be weary of a newborn cow, far more lethal than any bull! whatever the breed!

And with UCD behavioural and geneticists.....it's not just their thoughts it's apparently well documented around the world....and if you take it out of your own context.... (I too was sceptical initially ) ie. If you had a newborn calf....from whatever nutjob of a wild cow whether limmo, salers, blonde whatever......take that calf as soon as it is born away from the cow, within hours (after it's beastings of course) as an experiment raise it amongst artificially reared dairy calves (away from it's cow 100% effectively rear it as a dairy calf).........you mean to tell me that heifer calf is going to be a nutjob as a cow herself? completely to the contrary, she'll act completely the same as her counterparts...a well handled socialised animal....

The heifers/salers your uncle has himself...does he know how the cows themselves were reared as calves? what the husbandry was like etc?

They're regarded as highly intelligent cattle in france, often acting as an obstacle in milking herds with milk let down etc due to the calf having to be presentat milking!

the french cannot understand these complaints the irish have with the descendants of their livestock? they are seriously bamboozled, I hope it's not a case that the irish are that poor of stockmen, or just initially brand something "new" or "different"? possibly the massive amount of part time farming that occurs here is to blame?

And btw I'm not claiming that contrary/wild/flighty salers don't exist! I just don't regard them anything different to other suckler breeds! if not handled often and well! they will run wild!

I have never calved a Saler in my life yet I know three things.
    1- A wild heifer, calving to a "quiet" saler will end in tears
    2- Many farmers are choosing this bull for hardiness & maternal traits as they work away from the farm. Forward heifers will be wilder from no handling.
    3- I personally feel (and I may be wrong) The society is trying to get to a minority farmer who is still adamant about Charolais.

I know all the good points of the breed and I am not going to argue them with you. Without a doubt they breed a lovely charlaois calf and in generally are milky enough for suckling. All my uncles salers were ai bred by himself and reared alongside his limos and handled the same as each other. Most cows are a bit tempermental when they calf but the salers actually seem like they want to kill you, they dont like being penned up in the yard either. His limos are a lot quieter than them and their calves are just as good as the salers. I know plenty more people who have them that will say the same. They are being promoted as the ultimate cow and rather than saying they are quiet now which isint really the case compared to other breeds maybe the society should address the docility issue. I dont want to get in an argument over it and you have a different experience of them. I am only talking from my experience of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

fr350.jpg

fr350.jpg

My first thought was miniature sheep :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Karen112 wrote: »
    My first thought was miniature sheep :)

she is just as dirty as one anyhow

Think were after getting lucky today. Auld lad fed cows this morning and said a cow had calved and she was sucked but he didnt see the calf so I went down to go searching. Spent a good half hour walking and look where I found the hoor, no way he could get up out of it and a big thick bull calf he is.
    DSC00128.jpg

DSC00129.jpg

DSC00132.jpg

The same cows calf from last year.

photo-54.jpg

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Another calf born on the surface of the moon:D

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

galway bay looks lovely in this kind of weather,redzer

PMU wrote: »
    galway bay looks lovely in this kind of weather,redzer

Its a bit hazy today, normally you can see connemara and the twelve pens and the aran islands, I do be waving over at johngalway there somedays but he never responds :( There is a class view off it alright though!!

This has been discussed to death, but having personally visited and worked with hundreds of salers across a number of countries...this issue/myth of salers temperament has only arisen here in this country, in france on several farms we frequented one could personally lay a hand on practically every weanling/calf, incredible to see... with the older stock even reluctant to move for one in the field being so docile!

Be it issue or myth there certainly is a perception that Salers are wild. Perhaps a proactive approach by the soc is needed to address and redress this perception?
    They're a major success in real suckler situations

Perhaps they have something to offer, I'm sure they have. I don't see that many of them about and I see a good few real suckler situations.

And with salers being such low maintenance, great fertility rates, short gestation, easy calving, great mothering ability they are often adopted by poor stockmen who many have somewhat "leave em at it approach" on off farms etc and the like, with limited human contact ie herding etc and with any hands on human contact being for unpleasant procedures ie dosing/testing/weaning/transport! Also very few numbers of salers in the country to have a fair assesment of the breed.

I dunno are Saler breeders any better or worse than breeders of other stock. Indeed I think it's disingenuous to term them poor stockmen.

On your point of "very few numbers (of Salers) in this country".
    Surely this would contradict them being "a major success in" ? After all any debate should be on their merits/demerits here in Ireland.
    Further, Perhaps said low numbers contain an above average number of stock with questionable temperament? Maybe the French knew what to get rid of?

the french cannot understand these complaints the irish have with the descendants of their stock? they are seriously bamboozled, I hope it's not a case that the irish are that poor of stockmen, or just initially that the Irish brand or knock something "new" or "different"? or just want to blame/ or look at other reasons to disguise poor stockmanship..... possibly the massive amount of parttime farming that occurs here is to blame?

Indeed on the grand scale of thing Charolais are only here a wet week, on an evolutionary scale. They seem to have settled in well. As did Lim, Sim and others. I think if something is good enough, we Irish will take in on board, maybe reluctantly at first but like I say if something is good enough..........Parthenaise seem to be flying at the moment, so lets wait and see.
    10% of calves dying before they reach 22 days of age in this country....(majority due to calving difficulties....scours....poor beastings intake....poor husbandry... perhaps we should take note of french farming practices? as opposed to critising their apparently "wild" livestock...

Will converting to Salers solve this?
    And btw I'm not claiming that wild/flighty salers don't exist! I just don't regard them anything different to other suckler breeds! if not handled often and well from an early age! they will run wild!

You could be right. My opinion is that there is room for all breeds. I have never used a Saler. I see them at the shows and can see they will bring something to the mix. I may well chance a few maybe on a small muscular type cow. I would think a SA x Lim could be decent cow.
    I do think too that the Salers here in Ireland have improved. The "poor stockmen" must be doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

As it happened- springer calving outside.
    20120326234702.jpg
    20120326234827.jpg
    20120326235005.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Ya slightly disappointed with those two TUZ's my first time experimenting with said bull but calves are still quite young, the 4 dams are all fairly similar salers heifers/2nd calver dams, we just needed an outcross to our own imported salers breeding lines.

https://picasaweb.google.com/104615288857731262209/AshburySalers

Fair play to you, ye have lovely salers and have great success with them. i see your prefix mentioned alot at shows/sales.. id love to buy a pedigree saler cow/heifer in the future

use outfit i take it dats its a limousine calf? is it by stock bull or ai

20120326234827.jpg

I think you have a ghost in the background there Just Do It:D

Bizzum wrote: »

"Perhaps they have something to offer, I'm sure they have. I don't see that many of them about and I see a good few real suckler situations."

Apologies but i don't believe any real suckler situations exist in this country, well few comparable the the large herds in the uk. and other reasoning

1. the average herd size in this country is less than 10 cows
    2. Very few suckler herds in this country could actually be economically viable without supplementation whether single farm payments, reps, off farm income etc. (current beef prices has distorted views and helped lessen the HUGE deficit that existed)
    3. The workforce here and a massive part time farming, through no fault of their own maybe (through other work commitments, fragmented farms etc) can operate ANY suckler system to it's highest efficiency levels with whatever breed!

"I dunno are Saler breeders any better or worse than breeders of other stock. Indeed I think it's disingenuous to term them poor stockmen."

Sorry I referring to farmers who adopted salers as a quick fix solution to their suckling situation which may not have been firing on all cyclinders before the salers introduction to their herds.

With several bulls bred by ourselves working well in dairy herds as clean up bulls with little complaints i think is testament to their suitability, with Dairy enterprises being the best measure of a stock bulls worth....calving ease wise etc and also byproduct beef production

"On your point of "very few numbers (of Salers) in this country".
    Further, Perhaps said low numbers contain an above average number of stock with questionable temperament? Maybe the French knew what to get rid of? "

I can name you several salers herds here, with moderate numbers of animals, all extremely docile, you can hardly suggest that the french isolated wild strains and actively exported them to tarnish the name of their breed???

"You could be right. My opinion is that there is room for all breeds. I have never used a Saler. I see them at the shows and can see they will bring something to the mix. I may well chance a few maybe on a small muscular type cow. I would think a SA x Lim could be decent cow.
    I do think too that the Salers here in Ireland have improved. The "poor stockmen" must be doing something right.
    "

Salers lim, great cross, improving salers musculature whilst improving/reinforcing fertility, calving, milk....but you would be amazed by how well pure salers grade and weigh!

Salers actually possess pelvis's on average 15 cm3greather in diametre (internally most importantly) than any other breed and have a 14% greater rumen capacity than the limmo, which is highlighted in the multibreed bull test stations in france, where the emphasis is on roughage/fibre diets as opposed to concentrates...where the salers consistantly trump the Limousine in lwg's!
    Also salers having the shortest gestation figures and calving ease (easier than angus's)

The 10% mortality figure of calves in this country, on an international level embarrassing.............( i know a number of factors contribute to this figure) but salers can contribute considerably in lowering this shocking figure nationally!

The calf mortality rates of salers in france is under 2% and here i do belive also is comparable....

Karen112 wrote: »
    I think you have a ghost in the background there Just Do It:D
    And here's an even better one - She's getting closer - time to get out of there!!!
    20120327013057.jpg

And here is the calf 45mins after being born. When I came back to she how they were doing he was having a go at sucking and she's going to make a good mother. She's a nice quiet one and I've been resting a hand on her in the slatted pen for the last 3-4weeks. It does make a difference getting into to the pen and slowly getting them used to you putting a hand on them.

So the Springer was born Oct 09 and is as good as PB. She was out of a low round roomy beefy cow that unfortunately is gone. The calf is a bull and is either by FL22 or CVV and he flopped out. Blister at 11.15, back down to see her at 11.40. Head and front legs out, calf fully out 2 minutes later after 2 pushes. There is something to be said for Limousins! 293 day gestation by the way.

20120327012713.jpg

It wasn't a ghost after all!

20120327092150.jpg

just do it wrote: »
    It wasn't a ghost after all!

20120327092150.jpg

nice growty looking calf is he off a stock bull? never mind seen ur earlier post

Said id go walking the wet ground today with the fine weather. Nice to see my spraying last september working :)

photo-57.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Oh I just love dead and dying rushes, brings a smile to my face :D

Fly is having a tough time coping with this "heatwave" we're having :D

20120327_145926.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Said id go walking the wet ground today with the fine weather. Nice to see my spraying last september working :)

It's always great to see positive results after your hard work.

And fair play lad for your regular postings on this tread. Your always nearly guaranteed to see new and interesting photos when you've posted! Keep them coming ;)

Its a bit hazy today, normally you can see connemara and the twelve pens and the aran islands, I do be waving over at johngalway there somedays but he never responds :( There is a class view off it alright though!!

I do too, yer just blind! That haze yesterday was a fire I reckon, got it hard to see the islands out from my farm that are normally easy to see. See more smoke down south again today. Am going to have to start carrying the spade or shovel in the car again I think!

Speaking of views, we can see Mt Brandon down in Kerry from here some days, seen it from higher up farther North as well, as well as Aran but nor a great view of them, and the edge of the Cliffs of Moher some days as well.

Muckit wrote: »

And fair play lad for your regular postings on this tread. Your always nearly guaranteed to see new and interesting photos when you've posted! Keep them coming ;)

Sound muckit, ill stay going til the camera and the iphone break :)

johngalway wrote: »

I do too, yer just blind! That haze yesterday was a fire I reckon, got it hard to see the islands out from my farm that are normally easy to see. See more smoke down south again today. Am going to have to start carrying the spade or shovel in the car again I think!

Speaking of views, we can see Mt Brandon down in Kerry from here some days, seen it from higher up farther North as well, as well as Aran but nor a great view of them, and the edge of the Cliffs of Moher some days as well.

Ill bring the spy goggles the next day and look a bit harder!! I can see kerry from our the top of our bog aswell. Tis lovely on a fine day to climb to the top of a mountain and just sit down, tis amazing how far you can see!!

Redz,
    Is it too early for Mackeral fishing at Ballyvaughan? Have you seen anyone out yet?
    Must take a trip back there soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I'll second that - always top quality photo's from Redzer - JohnGalway is another man who takes a great photo

If the farming ever goes to pot lads ye have another career to fall back on

Redz,
    Is it too early for Mackeral fishing at Ballyvaughan? Have you seen anyone out yet?
    Must take a trip back there soon...

Seen 2 lads in black head yesterday, dont know what they were fishing for though. I dont normally go till around june and come august september you would want to be bringing a manure bag with you. Actually seen them literally jumping out of the water last year!! Could be worth a shot though.

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I'll second that - always top quality photo's from Redzer - JohnGalway is another man who takes a great photo

Herself bought me a camera for Christmas, I must get out and use it, just seem to always have jobs in front of me :pac:

Tipp Man wrote: »

Yes JohnGalway too! Great to see hilly 'difficult' land being farmed to it's potential. Love the photos and I wouldn't know one end of a sheep from another!!! Keep them coming ;)

Jeez I hope to knock more out of it yet :D If this is it, I think I'll retire :pac:

Some day, my skin is a bit fair for this crack :rolleyes:

Had some pull with this lad out of a 2 year old springer this morning

photo-63.jpg

photo-62.jpg

The cows stopping for refreshments coming home from the ''moon'' at 7 this morning.

photo-60.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Got a few out yesterday evening.

The cows stopping for refreshments coming home from the ''moon'' at 7 this morning.

God the BWH has some bag of milk!!

She had some lump of a calf a few hours after!!
    You can see the nuts starting to take affect now, fleshy calves!!

photo-65.jpg

photo-64.jpg

Spent the whole day spot spraying rushes with this yoke. Im scalded and crippled after it, mind you I would probably be more crippled if I was using the knapsack ;)

photo-66.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Had to use the jack with this lad today, black lim 2nd calver at only 37 months, calved her last year at 25 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Bodacious wrote: »
    Had to use the jack with this lad today, black lim 2nd calver at only 37 months, calved her last year at 25 months
    looks big:eek:

Bodacious wrote: »

hes a fair length of a calf aswell fine big calf pity that bull is gone aswel