Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/otherfarmmachinery/4586370
    id be more inclined to skip dosing this one and proceed straight to mart :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

At least they showed how it could work with a headstrong one . Alot of those ads show a pure pet licking up her dose without a bother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Be mighty yoke for skulling or ringing bulls too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

€350 :eek: that's for nothing. There's a lad in Athenry who's charging 500 + Vat for his one. Might give that lad a ring.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭ordinary farmer

munkus wrote: »
    €350 :eek: that's for nothing. There's a lad in Athenry who's charging 500 + Vat for his one. Might give that lad a ring.

could do with a few close up pictures of it not in use etc. but good video on how easy it makes life. every farmer should have one instead of trying to do this in a ordinary gate takes all the stress out of it.!

munkus wrote: »
    I know a lad in athenry that made his own version out of a fence post and a few pieces of rebar welded on the other side of the headgate to keep it up ;) All got for about a tenner . Mightnt be quite as reliable as te one in the video but it would do for awhile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

moy83 wrote: »
    I know a lad in athenry that made his own version out of a fence post and a few pieces of rebar welded on the other side of the headgate to keep it up ;) All got for about a tenner . Mightnt be quite as reliable as te one in the video but it would do for awhile

I have one of those myself, wouldn't dose sucklers otherwise. Even still it's a two man job with me getting under the head and wedging them up while the auld lad then tries to drop the bomb. Need a one man solution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Feel sorry for the girls out tonight, there's a storm brewing up here. Especially the wee blue fella that's the youngest. I won't be feeling as sorry for them when I'm down with them at 3/4am looking at the overdue cows:rolleyes:

img2013050800081.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

img2013050800082.jpg

img2013050800084.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Great shelter in that field Kovu Murr. No fear of young calves in a field like that.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Great shelter in that field Kovu Murr. No fear of young calves in a field like that.

Wasn't much shelter when I was up looking in blowing rain this morning! Thought I'd have to weigh down my wellies:pac:

Little blue heifer arrived grand anyway! Thank god the mother is as quiet as a lamb, there's a lot to be said for petting the replacements, was stratching her ears by torchlight and her licking the calf :D

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Corkfarmer

Was very busy last week.
    Got a couple of neglected fields opened up with track machine.
    [IMG][/img]051.jpg
    Made an open drain to tap a spring, will let it dry out over the summer and fill with stone and pipe in the autumn.
    [IMG][/img]058.jpg
    Hoping to get this ploughed and reseeded as has been poached and neglected for years.
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-06210520.jpg
    Cattle out grazing
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-02093107.jpg
    Got this field reseeded in between
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-06211424.jpg
    Fodder crisis hitting hard. Our five lawnmowers.
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-08163316.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Corkfarmer wrote: »
    Was very busy last week.
    Got a couple of neglected fields opened up with track machine.
    [IMG][/img]051.jpg
    Made an open drain to tap a spring, will let it dry out over the summer and fill with stone and pipe in the autumn.
    [IMG][/img]058.jpg
    Hoping to get this ploughed and reseeded as has been poached and neglected for years.
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-06210520.jpg
    Cattle out grazing
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-02093107.jpg
    Got this field reseeded in between
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-06211424.jpg
    Fodder crisis hitting hard. Our five lawnmowers.
    [IMG][/img]2013-05-08163316.jpg

Great pics let us know how drainage for the spring goes have a couple here myself that need doing will be a while before it is dry enough to get to them

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Haven't been in Dingle since I took an unplanned dive off Dun Shean head!:pac:
    now thats a story I`d like to hear more of !

PMU wrote: »
    With pictures of course :p

PMU wrote: »
    moy83 wrote: »
    With pictures of course :p

Eh.....no. It did involve a helicopter ride and a cracked helmet and that's as much as you're getting!

No bother Kovu I have the full story with picures already made up in my head anyhow :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Pic 030:A couple of nice 18 Mth old LimX heifers ready for the bull. The black with the reddish hue is by ABI out of a Blonde cow, she has a twin heifer too.
    The other black is by Uboy out of an AAXBB cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Bizzum wrote: »
    Pic 030:A couple of nice 18 Mth old LimX heifers ready for the bull. The black with the reddish hue is by ABI out of a Blonde cow, she has a twin heifer too.
    The other black is by Uboy out of an AAXBB cow.

Serious length in the brigadeer heifer bizzum, the blonde blood is showing in her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Pic 026: A nice lump of a Charolais maiden heifer. By Alcazar I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

last day of AI on the cows yesterday, and finished on the heifers the day before, stock bulls in to finish off the season.
    one more left to calf, maize and reseeds done 10 days ago,
    a few nights in belinteer house booked for next week looking forward to a few days off:D:D

253294.jpg

Am ...... is there a different condition scoring system for dairy cows?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Ah ffs Dar, I'm nowhere near finished calving yet, not to mind AI :P

Muckit wrote: »
    Am ...... is there a different condition scoring system for dairy cows?? :confused:

Hmm maybe alittle on the thin side but once they are cycling and go back in calf that's the main job done! Afew RUUs there I'm guessing Dar, which tend to have a low BCS.

I wasn't being smart. Just, not being in milk, I wouldn't have a clue if those cows were in good or bad condition. Perhaps you'd be judging them more on milk supply rather than body condition??? :confused:

I know if they were sucklers I'd be doin a lot of tut tuttin' :D

I wasn't being smart. Just, not being in milk, I wouldn't have a clue if those cows were in good or bad condition. Perhaps you'd be judging them more on milk supply rather than body condition??? :confused:

Ugh, milk supply and body condition are inversely related with a high yielding dairy cow, the more milk she gives the more fat she will lose of her back if her diet isn't up to scratch. Always difficult to get the balance right this time of year, and the spring we just had did nothing to aid it!

think i should have took a second look at the pic before putting it up, they seem to have lined up in order of bsc, with the thinnest nearest to camera.

but sure no point only showing the best, and hiding the rest.
    the 2nd from right is only a low 2.5 next two are a good 2.5, conception rate might be a bit lower, but at least they are in with a chance once served, bcs is moving in the right direction which will help.

a week before breeding started only 4% of herd was below 2.75 bcs

from the other side, a bit better looking
    fit rather than fat for breeding:confused:

253322.jpg

That dividing gate looks like a great idea, I need to put in another division in the slats to split the milkers and drycows, and the likes of that would certainly be a runner! Is it just on a pully system or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭limo_100

bucket feed calf thriving well in my opinion, i bought them for future cows hopefully they will be lucky. is she 150kg??
    img0170tj.jpg
    img0171rn.jpg

OZS heifer calf doing well October born shes nearly as big as the cow. what weight do use think she is i think shes between 200 and 250kg
    img0176sv.jpg
    img0175d.jpg

img0177gf.jpg

Timmaay wrote: »
    That dividing gate looks like a great idea, I need to put in another division in the slats to split the milkers and drycows, and the likes of that would certainly be a runner! Is it just on a pully system or something?

no they are weighted on a pivot, in the 2nd pic you can see the next gate up is closed. if they are balanced right you can open/close them with your finger

First blonde heifer ever here. Breeding replacement already marked :D

Just lucky to catch the cow though, she decided to calve into a drain, If I'd been there 1/2 hour later the calf would have been out and drowned in it. :pac:

img2013051200093.jpg

EDIT- This is where she tried to calve, arseways in.

img2013051200089.jpg

Thank fook for quiet cows!

img2013051200091.jpg

Calf is KCE Blonde btw.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hope the blonde calf has a bit of milk on the maternal figures, what is she by?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Hope the blonde calf has a bit of milk on the maternal figures, what is she by?

Kilmoney Bruce. Dam is a PR LM by Navarin and out of a Ulysse dam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Whast does the tattoo say? Though it was Kovu Murr there for a while.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Whast does the tattoo say? Though it was Kovu Murr there for a while.

Hahah not that dedicated to the username! It says 'Aut Vincere Aut Mori' which is Latin. Translates as 'Either Conquer or Die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Hahah not that dedicated to the username! It says 'Aut Vincere Aut Mori' which is Latin. Translates as 'Either Conquer or Die.

Do you like it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

First blonde heifer ever here. Breeding replacement already marked :D

Just lucky to catch the cow though, she decided to calve into a drain, If I'd been there 1/2 hour later the calf would have been out and drowned in it. :pac:

EDIT- This is where she tried to calve, arseways in.

img2013051200089.jpg

Thank fook for quiet cows!

img2013051200091.jpg

Calf is KCE Blonde btw.

Nice team kovu .
    Hope they go well for ya .
    Many left to calf???

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Nice team kovu .
    Hope they go well for ya .
    Many left to calf???
    Thanks, cow has to go this year though, her back foot has been acting up the last couple years and looking at it this morning the growth through the hoof has been ridged the last while, plus the clout (cloot?) has started to be worn away from the skin at the back. Difficult to explain in words actually!

And just the one left! She'll calve in the next day or two, another PB LM in calf to VMP.

Do you like it?

The tattoo? Or the quote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

The tattoo? Or the quote?

Both

Thanks, cow has to go this year though, her back foot has been acting up the last couple years and looking at it this morning the growth through the hoof has been ridged the last while, plus the clout (cloot?) has started to be worn away from the skin at the back. Difficult to explain in words actually!

And just the one left! She'll calve in the next day or two, another PB LM in calf to VMP.

Oh stick a pic up of vmp if all goes well ...
    Bought a few straws @ eur5 last year and havent seen any progeny of him yet ;)

Both

I don't actually notice the tattoo anymore, it's been there for a few years now! The quote is off the family crest so yea, I like it.

The arm though....I'm particularly attached to that :rolleyes:

Oh stick a pic up of vmp if all goes well ...
    Bought a few straws @ eur5 last year and havent seen any progeny of him yet ;)

Have one off him in the field, wee blue heifer that was calved the stormy night this week. Can get a pic of her if you like! Lovely colouring, again she's off a PB LM.

Dont go outta your way , whenever you can :)
    Would you not put a LM straw into any of these cows ???
    Are the registered???

Dont go outta your way , whenever you can :)
    Would you not put a LM straw into any of these cows ???
    Are the registered???

All are RG, just not the market we're into at the moment. Most of them we crossed with LM for a year or two and kept the heifers. Originally started with one cow :o She produced two heifers in a row off Navarin, these then produced twins and a heifer and then the heifer had a heifer and the cow had another one and so on....now we have half a herd of them.

Doesnt sound like a bad herd to me so .
    I find the blonde and limousin cow cross great with a BB bull .
    Iv a pb Castleview Casino calf out of a rocky first calver that il keep .
    Hope iv as much luck as you did :D .
    Have the rocky heifer 4 month back in calf to DBZ manitou ..... trial an error maybe

Doesnt sound like a bad herd to me so .
    I find the blonde and limousin cow cross great with a BB bull .
    Iv a pb Castleview Casino calf out of a rocky first calver that il keep .
    Hope iv as much luck as you did :D .
    Have the rocky heifer 4 month back in calf to DBZ manitou ..... trial an error maybe

Is C Casino ERE? We've a smasher of a bull out of him this year, was looking for a replacement but a live calf is just as good! A lot of our cows are by Navarin or PAM. We went through a phase of using him and he seemed to produce a lot of heifers!

No castleview is CWI . Standing in Dovea....
    Lovely head on him and heifer is the same .
    Afaik he not great on the oul docility though , which is as important as the milk and fertility in replacements .

ERE is elite erasmus . Big boy that lad .

Are your limos quiet ???

No castleview is CWI . Standing in Dovea....
    Lovely head on him and heifer is the same .
    Afaik he not great on the oul docility though , which is as important as the milk and fertility in replacements .

ERE is elite erasmus . Big boy that lad .

Are your limos quiet ???

Duh Kovu....shouldn't have been so lazy and walked to the book :P

All are quiet enough, Acer, the cow in the photo was halter trained and was even ai'd in the field with it on her. Her two daughters are the same, lugs of cattle that have to be pushed out of the way, it was one of those that I had calving this week by torch to VMP. Two others are V quiet but wouldn't be trusted after calving and the other few are quiet to touch but not halter trained. So yes, all very quiet, even more docile than the crossbreeds we have. A lot to be said for having a quiet mother to a calf though, once hey watch you pet the mother they can see you as a trustworthy being.

Duh Kovu....shouldn't have been so lazy and walked to the book :P

All are quiet enough, Acer, the cow in the photo was halter trained and was even ai'd in the field with it on her. Her two daughters are the same, lugs of cattle that have to be pushed out of the way, it was one of those that I had calving this week by torch to VMP. Two others are V quiet but wouldn't be trusted after calving and the other few are quiet to touch but not halter trained. So yes, all very quiet, even more docile than the crossbreeds we have. A lot to be said for having a quiet mother to a calf though, once hey watch you pet the mother they can see you as a trustworthy being.

AI in the field ..... now your just boastin :D ....

Jaysus i could tlk bout them all day , but told herself we'd go out for dinner :rolleyes:.
    Il throw up a pic of that cwi heifer when i get a chance .
    You work on the vmp one ...
    Gluck