Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Terry reinstated as permanent English captain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

HE WAS FUCKING HIS TEAMMATE'S BIRD WHILE HE WAS MARRIED WITH TWO KIDS.

I don't know if you can grasp the fact that as captain, you are supposed to have the respect of your teammates, you are supposed to be a role model for young kids etc.
    I dont think the fact he was married is really relevant to the captaincy, nor do I agree that as Captain he has any obligation to be a role model to young kids. What Terry did though with his team mates gf was a disgrace, and I reckon he should have been dropped permanently
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    I'm his worlds least fan and it was a horrible act without question but...

But so is banging hookers while your wife is pregnant.

Or gettng into a fght in a pub.

Or "missing" a drug test

:o

But none of that is relevant to the team. Im not condoning any of it, but what Terry did had a massive impact on the dressing room, and had the potential to cause a major split in the dressing room. Rooney/Gerrards actions while questionable, arnt IMO really relevant to the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

doc_17 wrote: »
    2 Problems for England.

1 - The Captaincy Issue

2 - The team aren't good enough.

2 >> 1

The problems for England are simply that the expectation level is way to high, and that this is fuelled by the media.
    They pay the managers way too much money, and still think they are a big power in world football just because they invented it, when in fact the rest of the world has caught up.
    They need to just enjoy the moment, rather than expecting to win things. and they need to stop the Sun printing pictures of turnips and sausages :D
    They should have sacked Capello when they had the chance.
    Its no good castrating Terry, when a former manager was dipping his wick in everything that moved.
    Bridges girlfriend was the club bike and only he was silly enough to not to see her for was she was - a wannabe WAG
    Wrong or right, did he/didnt he, Terry's moral issue pails when set against the italian PM, Ribery etc. They are all still employed. Look at the world cup. Football is a corrupt but profitable business, and if England cant find a better capt that says more about the state of english football than anything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,833 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

the thread is headed one direction, endless sniping between the "team terry" versus "team bridge".
    Nothing we haven't heard before at this stage, he has got the armband back, end of discussion.
    hit the shutdown says me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

gaijin4komawe3.jpg

So much for Capello standing up for his principles of wanting a good role model as captain,but in fairness there's not a lot to choose from in the England camp.

zerks wrote: »

So much for Capello standing up for his principles of wanting a good role model as captain,but in fairness there's not a lot to choose from in the England camp.

Whos the gormless, ugly blokes shouting at the TV?????:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Whos the gormless, ugly blokes shouting at the TV?????:D:D:D

England fans of course:D:D:D:D Nobody does it better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

monkey9 wrote: »
    Disagree! He rode a teammate's bird. I wouldn't want to know or respect the c*nt after that. As far i would be concerned, he should just shut the f*ck up and play football.

Capello made a decision to take the armband off him, once he made that decision, he should have stuck to it.

Terry is still the same person and the same player!!
    Let's put this into perspective here.

HE WAS FUCKING HIS TEAMMATE'S BIRD WHILE HE WAS MARRIED WITH TWO KIDS.

I don't know if you can grasp the fact that as captain, you are supposed to have the respect of your teammates, you are supposed to be a role model for young kids etc.

Now you tell me how he can be respected in that dressing room after what he did without sprouting a load of rubbish ''great leader''...''able to deal with pressure''....

And don't dare try to tell me that off the field issues don't matter because that's bull****, he wouldn't have stripped him of the captaincy in the first place if that was the case.
    ex-bird. Which means she's just a bird. Big deal, he's the best man for the captaincy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,468 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Paparazzo wrote: »
    ex-bird. Which means she's just a bird. Big deal, he's the best man for the captaincy.

ex-bird now....Bridge was going out with her while Terry decided to slip one into her..and wasn't he the captain at Chelsea?
    Really dispicable behaviour...not to mention the fact that he tried to flog himself to sponsors for the world cup etc...he might be a so-called captain in the dressing room but in real life the man's a skid mark on the underpants of life.
    How can any player look upto this pleb who's supposed to be your Captain but you're wondering if he's banging your bird or whoring himself to sponsors?:rolleyes:

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    ex-bird now....Bridge was going out with her while Terry decided to slip one into her..and wasn't he the captain at Chelsea?
    Really dispicable behaviour...not to mention the fact that he tried to flog himself to sponsors for the world cup etc...he might be a so-called captain in the dressing room but in real life the man's a skid mark on the underpants of life.
    How can any player look upto this pleb who's supposed to be your Captain but you're wondering if he's banging your bird or whoring himself to sponsors?:rolleyes:

It wasn't great behavior, but she had split up with Bridge at the time.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/8488232.stm

Agree with you with "he might be a so-called captain in the dressing room but in real life the man's a skid mark on the underpants of life". Many other footballers fit that description too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

doc_17 wrote: »
    2 Problems for England.

1 - The Captaincy Issue

2 - The team aren't good enough.

2 >> 1

There's a number of problems for England.

1) The youth structure. One player was turned away by Birmingham because he wasn't tall enough, he's now one of the best players in the underage set-up at Real Madrid after being spotted by scouts whilst playing football on a beach during the summer holidays. Players being turned away because they're not 6 ft + tall at the age of 14 or 15 is a disgrace, and it's why the majority of English players are so poor technically. They can run and run all day though, so that's grand :rolleyes:

2) The manager. Until a manager grows a spine and starts picking players on the basis of how well they're performing and not based on the name on the back of their shirt or what club they play for, England will go nowhere. Rooney has by and large had an atrocious season, but there's never any danger of him losing his place in the England side. Capello also said that he only started Darren Bent because he's playing better now that he's at Aston Villa. This is despite him being the top English goalscorer last season and not going to the World Cup basically because of who he played for. That also needs to stop. Whether a player is playing for Wigan or Manchester United they should be picked if they're playing well enough.

3) The media. The media have too much influence on all things English football. Referring to plays as ''JT'', ''Stevie G'', ''Wazza'', etc. If the media says pick so and so, he's picked. This stems back to problem 2. Also, the players aren't as good as the media has everyone believe they are. Every single time England come into a major tournamnet they're built up to win it. Every other country must piss themselves laughing.

4) The FA. Too many ''jobs for the lads'' and not enough people who'll turn their London based agenda upside down. No-one in there is willing to do anything for the sake of football. It's all about the money there and until this changes England will be up against it.

There's a lot more problems than the captaincy, but the fact that it's all we're talking about just stresses further how incompetent The FA and Capello really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

terry has only played for england twice since the world cup,according to sky.

also,sky this morning (goals on sunday i think) were discussing terry & the captaincy and they reckon there will be a backlash in the england dressing room because hes been reinstated as captain,hes certainly not the players favourite person by any imagination apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Night Night - dont you have school in the morning? - oh no - tomorrows Sunday!

Some gentle satire there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Capello doesn't seem to have an iota what he's at and that surprises me.

Obviously, he was correct to take the captains armband away from Terry when what he did is not exactly gonna galvanise the squad together. Terry lost respect from a lot of the players and was always lucky to stay in the squad.

But jaysus, Capello making that decision 18 odd months ago and then reversing it is laughable. This is a decision you stand by or don't make at all. I really don't see the difference between now and then.

Terry is still the despicable character that you couldn't respect or want leading you out to represent your country!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

As others have said, Bridge wasn't going out with her at the time so it's not right to say that JT was ****ing a teammates bird. Because he wasn't. It's not a pleasant thing that he did but the whole saga did get blown way out of proportion.

The victim in all this was Mrs Terry and their kids. But sadly England are going to struggle to find a camptain who hasn't done the dirty on their other half.

barryd09 wrote: »
    terry has only played for england twice since the world cup,according to sky.

There's only been 3 competitive matches since then, so I dont see what thats got to do with anything!

Friday, 3 September 2010
    vs. Bulgaria,

Tuesday, 7 September 2010
    vs. Switzerland,

and

Tuesday, 12 October 2010
    vs. Montenegro

Rio has been available for four of England's 12 matches since he was appointed captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,416 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Terry is a warrior football player, a fantastic leader on the pitch who leaves his heart and soul there in an effort to win football matches. He is a far superior choice for captain. The mistake in all of this is not the reversal of the decision to strip him of the captaincy - it was the original decision itself.

That he is a dislikeable person seems moot in this context, because it is hard to pinpoint a senior player in that squad as integral to the first team as Terry who holds a spotless personal record.

It will be forgotten about soon enough anyway.