Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sunderland v Liverpool Sky Sports 1 & HD1 at 1pm 20th March

• 20-03-2011 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭

Any thoughts ? Will Carroll start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

No crests? Controversial...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,591 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Hoping to see Danny Wellbeck feature today. Will be interesting to see if Liverpool have a strong finish to the season or if it peters out now that they can't win anything. I predict dull 0-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Carroll to start and Liverpool to play like Stoke,just as they did Thursday,2-1 to Sunderland. (Want Mereleis to score due to Fantasy Football).

The King Kenny effect has worn off and Liverpool have reverted to type,playing bland one dimensional football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,824 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Suaraz to score the winner in a 3-2 thriller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Liverpool, with Suarez in the team, won't need to play like Stoke.

a conservative 1-1 prediction from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Is this a 1pm kick off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

2-1 Sunderland.

I'll be having a bit on Sunderland at 15/8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Today's team, or so I'm hearing:

Reina

Carra
    Skrtel
    Kygriakos----Johnson

Spearing

Lucas
    Meireles

Kuyt
    Carroll
    Suarez

That's a central defensive trio that inspires no confidence.

Good forward line though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

2-0 Sunderland.

They have been excellent at home this season for the most part whereas Liverpool have been dreadful on the road.

Only see one winner in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Tough game today, Brucie has Sunderland performing well, I will go for a Sunderland win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Despite the best efforts of Beach Ball, that Liverpool front line will have too much for Sunderland.

1-3. Hope Welbeck continues his good form, Carroll to open his account to the dismay of the Sunderland faithful, Suarez to shine again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I despair at Spearing getting repeated starts. I really hope we sort out that position in the summer and we never have to see him in a Liverpool shirt again.

Really looking forward to seeing Carroll and Suarez together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

Is this a 1pm kick off?

No 1.30, coverage from 1pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Wouldn't inspire defensively but it would be as good as attacking team as he could put out.

Our Away form is as good as anybody under Kenny.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Agger and Skyrtel are playing. Think Agger will be LB.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Team: Reina, Johnson, Carragher, Agger, Skrtel, Spearing, Lucas, Meireles, Suarez, Kuyt, Carroll.

Subs: Gulacsi, Kyrgiakos, Wilson, Cole, Maxi, Poulsen, Ngog.

4-4-2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

1-2 Liverpool :(

We won't be able to handle Carroll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Reina
    Johnson Carra Skrtel Agger
    Spearing Lucas
    Meireles
    Kuyt
    Carroll---Saurez

I hope. Could be 4-3-3

It's an interesting team selection, maybe 4-2-3-1 with Suarez turning up anywhere.

Tusky wrote: »
    I despair at Spearing getting repeated starts. I really hope we sort out that position in the summer and we never have to see him in a Liverpool shirt again.

Really looking forward to seeing Carroll and Suarez together.

Its either Poulsen of Spearing so I'd probably have Spearing over him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Re-jig from the provisional team I was given last night. Mensah's fit to play which means the defensive 4 changes and Cattermole doesn't start, according to the website.

When Gerrard is back that's a decent team, need a couple of defenders and a DM though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

l9fys.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Just took my seat here at the stadium, Liverpool just after coming out to warm up, the stadium doesn't have many in it and the boo's for Carroll are still pretty loud! Can't wait until it is full :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Come on Liverpool.

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

Good to see Carroll and Suarez start together
    Going for 2-1 liverpool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Who is going to provide the width for crosses to Carroll :confused:
    Or will we be hoofing it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,685 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lol @ the beach ball bit on sky sports

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

With Spearing and Lucas in midfield I think it's safe to assume we'll be hoofing a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Headshot wrote: »
    Lol @ the beach ball bit on sky sports

was so funny :D

Who is going to provide the width for crosses to Carroll :confused:
    Or will we be hoofing it again

Suarez should add something, barring that, same as it always was, nobody unless Johnson and Agger attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Need to get the ball from Agger and Johnson (unless he is getting down the wing) to Meireles and Suarez

K-9 wrote: »
    When Gerrard is back that's a decent team, need a couple of defenders and a DM though.

There's no point in signing Carroll unless ye also invest in some genuine width and more importantly good crossers of the ball. Someone along the lines of Anto Valancia would be just what ye need.

If ye don't ye could very easily turn into long ball merchants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Best football of the day there played by Steve Bruces dogs

Suarez and Carroll :)

Spearing :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Paully D wrote: »
    Re-jig from the provisional team I was given last night. Mensah's fit to play which means the defensive 4 changes and Cattermole doesn't start, according to the website.

tbh i prefered your defence without Mensah ;)... Id say he'll enjoy squaring up to Suarez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,685 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Anyone know for definite what formation will pool play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭meercat

any good streams lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

101001 wrote: »
    tbh i prefered your defence without Mensah ;)... Id say he'll enjoy squaring up to Suarez

Should be an interested pairing, Gyan comments on it were honest & amusing : )
    meercat wrote: »
    any good streams lads?

http://mypremium.tv/

stream 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Lads what's the craic with Craig Gordon? Is he out of favour now or what?

looking forward to this mon the pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

flahavaj wrote: »
    There's no point in signing Carroll unless ye also invest in some genuine width and more importantly good crossers of the ball. Someone along the lines of Anto Valancia would be just what ye need.

If ye don't ye could very easily turn into long ball merchants.

I'd be shocked if no width was purchased in the summer. I'd say it's definitely in the plans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Fizman wrote: »
    Lads what's the craic with Craig Gordon? Is he out of favour now or what?

Carrying a knee injury, the Mig is in good form

Haaa'waaay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Go on Beachball!!

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭blockedPaT

Carra right back and johnson left

blockedPaT wrote: »
    Carra right back and johnson left

Makes more sense that.

missed the teams at the start whats confirmed formation... 4 4 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Interesting thing about todays selection is that every wide player for Liverpool (2 full backs and 2 wingers) is playing out of position.

101001 wrote: »
    missed the teams at the start whats confirmed formation... 4 4 2?

Seems a bit of a 4-4-1-1, I'd say it'll change a fair bit, Suarez will be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

So clever from Suarez..