Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

characters of Laois

• 20-03-2011 1:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Yer man with the rooster at the GAA games!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Rocky Scully's barber shop on Main street Portlaoise, lovely man and sadly missed. There are a few more characters I can barely remember, was too young to remember their names, too long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

40 coats.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

baz2009 wrote: »
    40 coats.

Where has he gone! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Danno wrote: »

The one and only Jungle Joe.

How about Noel Keegan of Guinness ad and XFactor renown?

• Registered Users Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Evolution Enter

Ya always know your home when you see Seymour Blundell bopping down main street Portlaoise

Mountrath - Joe Smike or Sam Dunne are what you might term local legends

• Registered Users Posts: 18,602 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Where has he gone! :pac:

40 coats used to go between thurles and portlaoise......haven't seen him in yonks. Rumour has it he never wanted to live in a house????

msthe80s wrote: »
    Rumour has it he never wanted to live in a house????

Heard that rumour myself years ago and the background story as to why! Probably all bull. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

cowboy duffy

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

The Diesel Queen, though I think she's of Tipp origin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

That just sent a shiver down my spine:D

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭kizzyf

thought she was in Waterford.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,590 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

cowboy duffy

you mean the muller !!! gas man!!

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭adser53

Ah come on lads, explanations for the current characters please for us blow-ins.

I havn't a clue who yis are on about! Although I've picked a few out myself already from my wanderings about town. All I need are some witty nicknames for them and I'm laughin! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

sydthebeat wrote: »
    you mean the muller !!! gas man!!

Always ready with the thong if a striper is needed and thats some bike:D

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭moose112

The mockler a real legend in the Town and the Heath he is even mentioned in the "The Portlaoise Queen"

40 coats used to go between thurles and portlaoise......haven't seen him in yonks. Rumour has it he never wanted to live in a house????

He has returned!

1zpoegh.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

Yeah, saw him in Abbeyleix last night...

Yes!!! Saw him in Portlaoise today...ah, we were all missing him so he came back.....

• Subscribers Posts: 41,590 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

we called him gu-doink

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Bicky

Hey Adam.

40 coats is as the picture above. A homeless man who wears a number of coat layers; hail, rain or shine. In fact im sure thats the same coat he has been wearing for as long as i know him(to see). Heard all kind of rumours about him over the years, his house burnt down, his family were killed, he has a sqajillion dollars in a caymen bank account etc.
    That would be jungle joe aka Joe Phelan. He has big teeth and smile and is a great auld character (ie he is mad as a bag of Peruvian badgers)

jungle joe
    civdef wrote: »
    How about Noel Keegan of Guinness ad and XFactor renown?
    Lol. What can i say about Noel.That this clip cant say better. He is an entertainer and just likes to give everyone a laugh. He thinks he is the next big thing and has auditioned for xfactor. Hard not to like him. Bat **** crazy.

Seymour Blundell. For sure you know Seymour to see. Rumour says he fell off a horse and hit his head as a child. He can be met anywhere around town at any time of day or night. A poet and philosopher he is not a bad skin unless you catch him on a day he skips the medication. We have had a few run ins.

Now blow-in i told all. I bet you can see a pattern here.
    In general this thread is referring to locals with psychiatric problems. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Bubblegums

I know most of the 'characters' mentioned appear to be less than bright and possibly a bit scary but there is one person that I'd say thousands of people would know of and that was the great Ger Gorman who had the corner sweet shop in Mountrath at the zebra crossing to the convent door.

Ger Gorman - A real gentleman :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

What I heard was is that his house burned down and since then he chose not to live in a house again. Who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

How is the young lad who walks around the town in the blue tracksuit, baseball cap and can of coke? You could see him at Downeys or Lakeglen. He loves Tescos.

Methinks you mean Joe ?

Always has a smile on his face-:)

Methinks you mean Joe ?

Always has a smile on his face-:)

What is his story? Is he homeless or what? Is it a smile or a scared grin?

Not homeless- genuinely happy out,not a care in the world- nice way to be nowadays:)

He is dressed in the same clothes for ages and just wanders arbiut the town. Maybe he is happy out but I think there is something else. Is he vunerable?

Honest Answer: I don't know.

Cautious Answer: You're not him,are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Sonic_exyouth

Whos that guy that used to always ask me for 50cent for a bag of chips?

He had a bike too if memory serves