Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best clubs/socs to join

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭LimerickLad92

Hate to hijack a thread, but thought this is the best place to post.

I also will be a first year this september, i would love to join soccer and rugby but Im not very athletic, I just want to join for the fun to be had in it, are these type of members allowed?

Also would love to join tennis, any views on that

Finally, after reading this thread I shall be signing up to debating!

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Absolutely, it's all about fun and making friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭reunion

maybe this thread should have a summary of every club and society so far on the first post? Instead of having to go through 7 pages and then more after this.

I joined alot more clubs and societies than I should have in first year, so just keep in mind that these experiences may not actually reflect how they are currently (just finished fourth year) and that may experience may have just been a once off thing. I will also give my two cents regarding the club/society if I have ever had dealing with them. I also apologise in advance for offending some clubs and societies but this is the impression I was left with and my experience.

First thing I will note, as clubs compete, they tend not to cater for beginners after a while, also I may have went off topic after a while so sorry for that too! The blank ones I've never joined and haven't heard much.
    Clubs
    American Football
    Only heard good things about the Vikings, badly run club administration wise as they didn’t a budget the year they won a shamrock bowl. The year after managed to raise the money they needed. Members are really enthusiastic and love what they do, they even have cheerleader I think. Went to one game was pretty good.
    Archery
    Joined in first year and went for 2-4 sessions, the first few weeks there was space for loads of beginners but week after week they got rid of one beginner range so if you couldn’t go some week wasn’t much point in coming back unless you were advanced. As they took on so many beginners that year. I spend most of my time just sitting down waiting to use the bow and arrow. I have heard people who stuck with it and say they loved it
    Athletics

Badminton
    Join in first year, but had to wait to get a court so only got 1 game in like 2 hours so didn’t come back. Rejoined in 3rd year with some friends and it was fun. Went on a night that wasn’t the first night so wasn’t as packed. I would recommend that they get some dialogue between current and new members as I never got to talk to the people other than first years or my friends.
    Basketball
    Joined but went to one training session but never participated in it. I can’t remember why but I did enjoy playing basketball in secondary school. Have never heard anything from these guys or run into any members during my four years.
    Boarders

Capoeira

Chess
    Has transformed in the last 4 years, and won an award this year. They cater as much as they can to beginners and I have heard people saying they found it like a family with new people always welcome. I wouldn’t exclude this club because of the stereotype people associate with it.
    Dance UL
    Joined in second or third year. It was good fun, I enjoyed it. It was something I wouldn’t do normally and people were helpful.
    Fencing

GAA
    They do raise a lot of money and get 1/6th of the entire money available to clubs and societies every year. Well organised but never submit anything to the clubs and societies award, which for the amount they get is a disgrace. As such haven’t heard much about them.
    Handball

Judo

Karate Shotokan
    Definetly one that if you try to join half way during the year, you are an outsider and they don’t want you. They are a closed off group and judging from the husting submission this year (new/improved) unorganised and unprepared.
    Kayak
    Best individual award this year, looks like great craic, only heard good things.
    Krav Maga
    Hard workers, willing to work with others. Up for best individual award this year. Seem very friendly and open to new people.
    Ladies Hockey

Ladies Rugby
    Heard nothing but negative things about woman rugby. I would recommend people to NOT join and to do something else. They have been up for an award this year (best event I think) and last year (new/improved). They won new/improved 2009/10. They aren’t friendly to people not in their club and other clubs and societies. Their submission this year was a more of a “we are better than everyone else”. They had numerous inside jokes and the same picture appeared more than 3 times in their presentation. During other peoples presentations they said people were losers and marked any activity they thought was loserish as last prior to even viewing the presentation. Maybe it was a one year blip in the running of it but it has left a lot of people not willing to work or help them because of their childish behaviour.
    Men's Rugby
    The men’s rugby was up for an award last year (2009/10) for improved and best individual. The guys presenting didn’t present well but they did enjoy what they did.
    Mountain Bike

Outdoor Pursuits
    Well huge club, seems like great craic; won best individual and best club this year I think. I joined in first year, rock climbing was fun.
    Parkour
    Up for new/improved this year, their presentation was professionally done (from what I heard paid by someone to make). It was really good but their video was bad, terrible even. Would have won if they didn’t show that video. They do a lot of hard work and I think the video didn’t do them justice. You can join any time of year.
    Pool & Darts
    Disorganised and for a while everyone was unsure if they still existed. Worst stand at the recruitment drive as they are a badly run club. Went to one of their advertised nights in the SU playing pool and no one was there at all. Waited for half an hour and then left. Guys in charge are disruptive and annoying during clubs and societies council and class rep meetings. I wouldn’t join.
    Rowing
    Elitist but mainly because people need to be in top shape. They should try to cater for those beginning but it’s too much hassle for someone to keep up the training and the beginners stuff. Have some fun charity events.
    Sailing

Skydive
    Joined but never go. They go to france for two weeks which is good for those who can afford it. Expensive.
    Soccer
    Joined in first year, they took my membership money and that’s the last I heard of them. They only had trials for one day and people who didn’t make any team were gone.Ladies soccer is good and fun from what I’ve heard.
    Softball

Sub Aqua
    They get 1/10th of the entire money available to clubs and societies, while only having 60 members that is €500 per person who joins. That’s if they have a 100% retention rate. Haven’t heard much from them then that, heard it was a lecturer running the club and they aren’t really open to new people.
    Tae Kwon Do
    Did a tour of Korea this year and were up for best event because of it. It seemed like a holiday to Korea and they didn’t explain the benefits of being there. Have heard they are run well.
    Tennis

Trampoline
    Went on foreign trip this year and one of their members were injured. They didn’t inform anyone that they had left the country eventhough they are required to do so. They are trying to set a world record, looks like fun.
    Ultimate Frisbee

Water Polo
    Intense training and hard sport. I didn’t know they were still around (they don’t have a big (any) presence on campus anymore)
    Windsurfing
    Heard nothing but good things. Their trips are fun and they cater for all standards of ability. Won their intervarsity 3 years in a row. Won best event this year and was nominated for best or improved club I think last year. Nice and friendly.

Societies
    Airsoft

Anime and Manga
    Drawing classes seems like they could be fun and the Japanese class might interest some people. They try to cater to as many people as they can. Really fun and the people doing it enjoy it. Nominated for new society 2009/10 but didn’t win, yet won the national awards for best society. Nominated in conjunction with Gaming Society for best event this year for Brocon (which is happening this weekend). The submission for best event was terrible.
    Architecture

Choral
    People enjoy it, heard good things.
    Christian Union

Computer
    Joined in first year, it has services that suited people like ten years ago but they haven’t really been updated since. A lot of clubs and societies rely on them for web hosting, they are a good friendly bunch.
    Cumann Gaelach

Debating Union
    Good society, were nominated for best individual, best event and they were really bad presentations. For a debating society they didn’t exactly present well at all. Heard they are good but in first year they were really good and big (over 115 members) but numbers have been dropping off since (last year 83) and it isn’t as good as it used to be.
    Development
    For a development society, they haven’t developed themselves much and seem to be a closed off group.
    DJ

Drama

Enterprise & Finance
    Heard these guys are very bad! They are just a select few who get the benefits while others are shunned. Friend joined this year and he contacted them about when they meet but they didn’t reply. Webpage was out of date and not helpful, my friend wasted his money.
    Fashion
    Seem good and well run! Still on/finishing a 15 week trial. I’m not sure where they are headed but they had a fashion show which had a few sponsors which is pretty good for something that young!
    Games
    Closed of group that could do a lot more. They meet Monday for board game night and Wednesday for console day. Monday is fun as you can play monopoly to risk. Wednesday could be so much better and is just the same people playing the old games they like. Nominated in conjunction with Anime and Manga Society for best event this year for Brocon (which is happening this weekend). The submission for best event was terrible.
    History

International
    Huge, they love when Irish people join though. More for international students and people wanting to see Ireland. Won best event, best individual and improved society this year I think.
    Law

Medical

Music
    Won best society in 2009/10 and nominated again this year. Was the exact same presentation with the same people. Heard they were contacted to get a band for paid gig but no reply was ever given. Heard they rigged a battle of the bands contest so someone they knew could win. Not sure what to make of them, need to be in a band to get any benefit.
    Nature

Ogra Fianna Fail

Out in UL

Photographic
    Very closed off group. Friend joined, got out a camera and said it was fun. Heard they aren’t run very well recently but they are fun and have really good cameras for taking pictures.
    Poker
    Fun! Played in the Poker Championship night which was done really well. They are new (just finished their 15 week trial this year). Gone to some games, nice and fun. Need to cater for people with less money though as I couldn’t afford to go every week. Tried to offer beginner lessons this year. Had some enjoyable nights playing poker there.
    Socialist Youth

ULTV
    Nominated for best individual and best society (which they won?) . No idea of what they did until the nominations this year. They filmed something in the courtyard at some point which looked interesting. I feel they could do so much more and they could advertise their videos more.
    Young Fine Gael

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭neil_

I really can't recommend mountain biking enough! I joined at the start of last year with basically no previous experience of mountain biking and absolutely love it now :cool: It's a pretty laid back club, nobody wears lycra shorts and we don't usually get huge crowds out on spins so it's easy to get to know people.

There's cycles every sunday, you don't need your own bike (or helmet) as the club has a load you can borrow. Last year the spins were quite a nice mix of fast adrenaline rushy stuff and more relaxed cross country cycles. The ones at the start of the year are always pretty beginner friendly. We also meet for pizza every monday :) We went on two weekend trips away last year, one to killarney and one to wicklow where we got a day of coaching from a professional cross country rider. Highlight of the year was 10 days in Les Gets in the french alps in June.

I'd really encourage anyone to give it a go, like I said you don't need your own bike and the first few spins will be very beginner friendly. If you're curious feel free to post on our forum or PM me!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

DJCR wrote: »
    Defo go with Trampolining!!! I'm in it and it's awesome!! (Hows that for vested interest advertising).

No seriously, your from Limerick we are doing a 24 hour Guiness record breaking attempt out in Delta tomorrow. Its on from 1pm tomorrow afternoon to 1pm saturday afternoon. Come out and ask one of the Trampoliners for Dave or Frenchy (both are me) and we'll throw you up on the trampoline for a laugh!!! Teach you some of the simple stuff and then you can see if you like it or not !! :)

Thanks for the offer but I couldn't actually make it today which is disappointing seeing as I'm only up the road from Delta. I'll get to bounce eventually :D

Great summary by reunion, i'll keep it in mind for when i go to the recruitment drive.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Patrick 1

I'm hurt that airsoft was one of the societies who just got mentioned in the summary, keep an eye out for us at the recruitment drive, I'll be the guy blending in.

Patrick 1 wrote: »
    I'm hurt that airsoft was one of the societies who just got mentioned in the summary, keep an eye out for us at the recruitment drive, I'll be the guy blending in.

Well I don't know anything about your society (I know what airsoft is), I just haven't heard anything about the society. Ye are relatively new and I did have an FYP to do this year, also there were tons of new clubs and societies this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Catch15

Fair play for taking the time to do a summary, special note to the clubs and societies not mentioned though that some clubs & socs, like ladies hockey or airsoft are great to join but might find it hard to get widespread recognition because they are specific. Sports clubs will always attract members who have an interest, but they will not retain them when matches come along, simple fact of life. No committee member would willingly let any member fall off their radar though, as (lets be cynical here) they are potentially a great source of income!

You mention the Sub Aqua crew limiting their members and costing so much, their problem is that it cost so much to train people that they have to make sure they get committed members and justify the money. In saying that, I've wrecked my brain trying to come up with a better budget system, which would provide the core funding each club needs - not wants. I don't think it's fair that club X get funding to buy some expensive equipment while club Y can't afford a bus to a match. It's fundamentally wrong, in that a members experience of C&S is put in the hands of another student, who may make a budget error or, heaven forbid, miss a council meeting due to a project, thus forfeiting part of the entire club's budget. #rant :)

Catch15 wrote: »
    Fair play for taking the time to do a summary, special note to the clubs and societies not mentioned though that some clubs & socs, like ladies hockey or airsoft are great to join but might find it hard to get widespread recognition because they are specific.

I think there should be something (like what I posted) on the first page but with other people's comments too about clubs and societies. That way the ones I didn't have a view on (or had a view that was incorrect) a more up to date view could be heard. As for being hard to get widespread recognition, some clubs forget to make themselves known and just compete nothing else.
    Sports clubs will always attract members who have an interest, but they will not retain them when matches come along, simple fact of life. No committee member would willingly let any member fall off their radar though, as (lets be cynical here) they are potentially a great source of income!

Societies will also attract members who have that interest too. You would be surprized as committee could just use people to join so that their membership numbers are increased (for the 75% students condition) and that they have money which they can use for what they please. Enterprise and Finance is an example of the committee (from what I've heard!!) shunning members which helps them get access to limited facilities to a select few.
    You mention the Sub Aqua crew limiting their members and costing so much, their problem is that it cost so much to train people that they have to make sure they get committed members and justify the money.
    That's what I've heard (the limiting part). As for training people, it costs ~€45 per pool dive so that's ~20 times per member (fundraising half!). No club or society should ever exclude anybody, for any reason. If you have to be skilled to play, training or coaching should be available. It should not an elite group who spend the budget on themselves.
    In saying that, I've wrecked my brain trying to come up with a better budget system, which would provide the core funding each club needs - not wants. I don't think it's fair that club X get funding to buy some expensive equipment while club Y can't afford a bus to a match. It's fundamentally wrong, in that a members experience of C&S is put in the hands of another student, who may make a budget error or, heaven forbid, miss a council meeting due to a project, thus forfeiting part of the entire club's budget. #rant :)

Well if you go through the figures for membership last year and budgets awarded, Sub Aqua were awarded ~€440 per member (raised ~€460 per member) while DJ soc was awarded ~€3.70 per member (raised ~€9 per member). A category A club (high competition (more than one team, compete often) should get awarded more than a category B club (one team compete weekly/fortnightly/monthly), while a category B club should be awarded more than a category C club (low/no competition). A catgory C club should have similar funding as a society as neither compete (or have low levels of competition). Sub Aqua (60) and Skydive (119) combined got more this year than GAA (800 members).

The system is a whole discussion in itself and I think only people active with the system for 2 or more years know how it works so it should be left with that, though I would be interested in hearing about people's possible solutions to the budget system.

Will the history soc or any of the political socs be having any field trips during the coming semester?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Been getting into pitch & putt/golf recently, anything there for that?

Regret not joining anything last year, I really fancy the mountain biking club this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

reunion wrote: »
    Badminton
    [/LEFT]
    Join in first year, but had to wait to get a court so only got 1 game in like 2 hours so didn’t come back. Rejoined in 3rd year with some friends and it was fun. Went on a night that wasn’t the first night so wasn’t as packed. I would recommend that they get some dialogue between current and new members as I never got to talk to the people other than first years or my friends.

Hi, going into my fourth year in Badminton now and I know where you're coming from RE the beginner's courts. Take-up is high in the first weeks and months, but you'll see that fall off eventually and there will be more space.

If you're any bit good then there's teams that compete in leagues, and trips organised to competitions in Aberdeen, Norway and elsewhere.

I can't wait to get back into it properly this year, last semester was a non-starter for me as I came back mid-season from Co-Op when teams were already put together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭pinkdiamond

I joined the ladies basketball team in 2nd year. I didn't join in first year because I was a bit overwhelmed with part time work, moving out and starting college. Basically- it was awful. I was the ONLY second year on the FIRST year team. I was certainly not a beginner. I have played for years and years and have won many competitions with my local team.

When I contacted the coach- i think her name was noreen- her was response was that if i thought i was able to train with the second years, then I could try it. To me, I found that quite offensive. After realizing that the main competition for first years was the first year tournament- which I obviously wasnt able to compete in - I left the team. After 2 months of training twice a week at 7am. I love basketball and was very upset over how the team was managed.

I joined the ladies basketball team in 2nd year. I didn't join in first year because I was a bit overwhelmed with part time work, moving out and starting college. Basically- it was awful. I was the ONLY second year on the FIRST year team. I was certainly not a beginner. I have played for years and years and have won many competitions with my local team.

When I contacted the coach- i think her name was noreen- her was response was that if i thought i was able to train with the second years, then I could try it. To me, I found that quite offensive. After realizing that the main competition for first years was the first year tournament- which I obviously wasnt able to compete in - I left the team. After 2 months of training twice a week at 7am. I love basketball and was very upset over how the team was managed.

Why didn't you go for the 2nd year training?

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭DJCR

Trampoline

Went on foreign trip this year and one of their members were injured. They didn’t inform anyone that they had left the country even though they are required to do so. They are trying to set a world record, looks like fun.

Don't be scaring people away and telling tales ;) . And just a quick update ... We got the record. That person got mighty fine NHS treatment as well I'll have you know - she was lucky to be injured abroad :)

+1 for looks fun, tis fun too when you do it...

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭heresjohnnie

Thinking of taking up hurling, but I've been recommended against joining the UL GAA/Hurling club because they apparently train/play to a high level and everyone there has played since before and know the rules/have the skills, etc. I'm also not exactly that fit either - but just wondering does anyone know if they welcome beginners and have a number of complete newbies to the sport at the club??

You'd be better off finding a local club to join up with, there are a number of UL teams but all would play to at least a decent standard..

Though maybe a club member could put me right on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 delta_xray

maybe this thread should have a summary of every club and society so far on the first post? Instead of having to go through 7 pages and then more after this.

With regard to the summary you have given, I find it hard to believe that you can offer something credible for new students to believe. You seem to have an opinion about a lot of clubs and societies, so much so that I would imagine that while you may have attended some of them you have not given any of them due time to form an opinion which can be grounded in anything concrete other than the opinion of a person who flits between many clubs and societies.
    these experiences may not actually reflect how they are currently (just finished fourth year) and that may experience may have just been a once off thing

I also caution you that hearsay (which from briefly reading your post is littered with) can be very misinformative to people who actually may wish to try out these clubs or societies but are put off by your opinions which seem to be a lot of "I've heard this about". As I'm sure many people know, its always the bad thats heard about and never the good, so again if you were to fully know and understand each club or society then perhaps you would have had a better grasp of each club's history and achievements.
    Karate Shotokan
    Definetly one that if you try to join half way during the year, you are an outsider and they don’t want you. They are a closed off group and judging from the husting submission this year (new/improved) unorganised and unprepared.

Taking the Karate Club as an example as I am the incoming Chairperson for the Karate Club, I must say that I was hurt and offended to see that such a review existed. While I agree with you on the poor presentation at the hustings, I can assure you that the club always has been organised and prepared to a very high standard.

With regard to joining halfway through the semester, I wonder if this has actually been your own experience, because as one of the club's instructors I have always strived to keep "clicks" out of the club and to promote an atmosphere where you will all be treated the same regardless of rank or when you joined.

That said walking in late into the semester into the Karate club especially can prove tough especially if you are a beginner at Karate as we cant bring the whole class back to week 1 to accommodate 1 person. However I have always assigned senior students to work with new people on a 1 to 1 basis so that they can catch up at a good pace.

If your opinion on the Karate Club has been your own personal experience then I would like you to PM me so that the issue can be rectified. The club was under a different admnistration last year with 2 other instructors taking up the strain in addition to myself. However I can say that we had 2 members join us late in Semester 2 and have returned to their respective countries (they were erasmus students) and have since taken up Karate at home and graded to their first belts.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭joey12

In my experience clubs and socs are a very "clicky" bunch I decided to stay away from them. From what I hear the Karate and kayaking are the most "clicky". but thats just my opinion ha

joey12 wrote: »
    In my experience clubs and socs are a very "clicky" bunch I decided to stay away from them. From what I hear the Karate and kayaking are the most "clicky". but thats just my opinion ha

Thats a sad thing to hear. With the Karate Club there are only about 40 members or so that are active and for the most part everyone seems to get on with everyone. By its nature, Karate is a solitary endeavour among a class, although there are frequent aspects of partner work. Most of the social side of it happens post training, which everybody is invited to, but its usually the same people that show up outside of the training hall.

Did you "hear" these things in the last year or is it from some time ago???

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭joey12

just from my experience it a general consensus with people. but I do think clubs and socs need to be more accessible to people the numbers just do not join. Infact I dont think there are enough clubs and soc for the size of the university.

Are there any ideas why so few join clubs?

A certain percentage go home at the end of the day, i.e outside the university grounds and do not wish to remain on campus for much longer.

Others would rather drink than do something clubs and socs related.

Others would rather study or have a higher workload, e.g postgrads and 4th years.

Factor in that a percentage of students are also on erasmus and co-op at any given time and the replacements from other countries join the international soc, so thats their market share gone.

I would think that we have a nice broad range of clubs and socs and every club or soc could in fact take on more people if the demand was there.

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭bazkennedy

Here's my two cents as someone who's been in and around the c&s scene for a few years.

When ever you get a group of people together for what ever reason (sports team, hobby or interest, shared experience) friendships are formed, in jokes are born etc etc. Now to the outsider looking in this almost always looks like a closed group.

While close friendships and in jokes are common in clubs and sods, I can tell you most of them are very open and welcoming and you'll soon feel like you've been a member for years. This is proven by the large numbers of first years who join every year and get heavily involved during their 4 or so years in ul.

There are a few clubs and socs that I am a member of but I have friends in a lot more and often find myself on nights out with clubs or socs that I would have no interest or reason to join.

By their very nature clubs and socs need to be open and welcoming or they will cease to exist. I could mention one or two former clubs, socs which fell by the wayside for this reason.

As for why there aren't more c&s in ul? It takes students to run them and students to join them.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 DragonboyVNY

bazkennedy wrote: »
    Here's my two cents as someone who's been in and around the c&s scene for a few years.

When ever you get a group of people together for what ever reason (sports team, hobby or interest, shared experience) friendships are formed, in jokes are born etc etc. Now to the outsider looking in this almost always looks like a closed group.

While close friendships and in jokes are common in clubs and sods, I can tell you most of them are very open and welcoming and you'll soon feel like you've been a member for years. This is proven by the large numbers of first years who join every year and get heavily involved during their 4 or so years in ul.

There are a few clubs and socs that I am a member of but I have friends in a lot more and often find myself on nights out with clubs or socs that I would have no interest or reason to join.

By their very nature clubs and socs need to be open and welcoming or they will cease to exist. I could mention one or two former clubs, socs which fell by the wayside for this reason.

As for why there aren't more c&s in ul? It takes students to run them and students to join them.

Excellent Baz :) I agree clubs and societies need to be open as much as possible but without sacrificing the clubs' ideals. What do I mean by this?

A club is nothing without its members/students/teachers. And a balance is needed for everything for a club to succeed.

Well I've been part of the Karate club for six years or so. Over this time I had seen some highs and lows (with the club and with my person). It is through the club and the friends/comrades/sempai(senior) and kohai(junior) that I rose above things such as bereavement and heart break (different important life lessons).

There were phases to the club I would describe as "chapters". The first was what I'd describe as a "social club". Not that it is necessarily a bad thing. The atmosphere was very soft and open. The chairperson at the time won Club Individual of the Year and deserved it. Nights out in Molly's/Trinners were practically a weekly thing. It was during this time my father died unexpectedly and the club (aside from my classmates) was there for me.
    But the training was very lax and sloppy (especially after the departure of the black belt instructor due to internal and external politics). The Karate world is wrought with politics (same goes for every other mass spread martial art) and this was more likely to affect those already indoctrinated than the beginners/freshers. I was a beginner who just wanted to train. I wanted to learn this Japanese art (despite my Chinese background) and get healthier, stronger, and understand myself more. I don't give a rats' ass about politics and affiliates, only care for the individuals that make it "work".

The second phase is the chapter I'd call "seriousness with a feint smile". I became much more serious with my training after second year of college, and found some people who joined were senior to me on the Karate or Life path and guided me. Those who were now junior to me I kept an eye on and we can easily spot those wh have heart and those who see it as a brief fling with fitness and learning to kick butt. Karate isn't about "kicking butt". You want to learn to fight from day one, you've the wrong Martial Art.
    Not to be condescending, but my admirations always go to those with spirit/heart who keep coming back (who may not be very good at this Karate), and not the technically brilliant with a natural talent who come back only once a month (and who'd rather go on the bottle). "Karate is like boiling water, once the heat is removed it returns to its tepid state" -a Karate maxim.

The club is still in this current chapter. Although we train with utmost seriousness, we have had fun times. I recall many a martial art/nerd movie night (cinema or DVD), discussions about Bruce Lee/Karate masters/our own instructors late into the night... or a few nights just making shapes in the local disco. Instructors come and go, but I believe the club has achieved what it sets out to do: To introduce people new to this art/activity, and also provide a place for those who already train in Karate back home before coming to UL. I have recently found a "home club" to train with and found my own "sensei" (teacher). Without the club I'd never have found what I needed in life the most aside from money, family and career.

MY honest word is this: if you come with a "heart" I will take you seriously. Otherwise it is a waste of my time.

Time is like a finite number of transactions of your life. And to waste time rather than spend time effectively (or spend it with people you like) is a waste of life.

delta_xray wrote: »
    With regard to the summary you have given, I find it hard to believe that you can offer something credible for new students to believe. You seem to have an opinion about a lot of clubs and societies, so much so that I would imagine that while you may have attended some of them you have not given any of them due time to form an opinion which can be grounded in anything concrete other than the opinion of a person who flits between many clubs and societies.

I have joined 18 different clubs and societies over the years of my undergrad. Not all in the same year but throughout the four years. I am an active member in quite a few and have been on a committee before. My opinion is still valid as the next person, someone random could join and pretend to be a member of a club/society and greatly exaggerate how good/bad they are. This is why I said these experiences may have been a once off thing.

I also caution you that hearsay (which from briefly reading your post is littered with) can be very misinformative to people who actually may wish to try out these clubs or societies but are put off by your opinions which seem to be a lot of "I've heard this about". As I'm sure many people know, its always the bad thats heard about and never the good, so again if you were to fully know and understand each club or society then perhaps you would have had a better grasp of each club's history and achievements.
    Well I'm sorry that it reads this way, but I certainly do not want to name names (of the people who told me this). I gathered from this paragraph and the one before that I said something bad about a club/society you were in. As for only the bad things are heard, I have heard of good trips with OPC, Windsurfing, etc so if you have only heard bad things, your members aren't passing on the good things and you aren't promoting yourself they way you should. A club/society could win a trophy and still be filled with horrible people so achievements aren't everything.

Taking the Karate Club as an example as I am the incoming Chairperson for the Karate Club, I must say that I was hurt and offended to see that such a review existed. While I agree with you on the poor presentation at the hustings, I can assure you that the club always has been organised and prepared to a very high standard.

I have previously taken charge of a club/society from a useless tool who gave the club/society a bad rep. Bad reviews will exist no matter what you do. The husting presentation definetly didn't show a well organised and prepared club.
    With regard to joining halfway through the semester, I wonder if this has actually been your own experience, because as one of the club's instructors I have always strived to keep "clicks" out of the club and to promote an atmosphere where you will all be treated the same regardless of rank or when you joined.

One of the members I know told me not to join (I thought about joining because ye were shortlisted for husting so halfway during the year) unless its at the start of the year/semester as it becomes a closed off group.

That said walking in late into the semester into the Karate club especially can prove tough especially if you are a beginner at Karate as we cant bring the whole class back to week 1 to accommodate 1 person. However I have always assigned senior students to work with new people on a 1 to 1 basis so that they can catch up at a good pace.

That's pretty good but you only get to know 1 person. It might be a nice idea that for the first half hour of training pair people up randomly and do some fun exercise? I still go to a club and society just because the people were so friendly and I got to know them. I have been taken to dance club halfway through the year as one of my friends said it was fun and I went. I got to know a few people and had fun, eventhough dance isn't something I'm particularly interested in.
    MY honest word is this: if you come with a "heart" I will take you seriously. Otherwise it is a waste of my time.

Time is like a finite number of transactions of your life. And to waste time rather than spend time effectively (or spend it with people you like) is a waste of life.

I don't agree with that statement dragon. Everybody should be welcome, those who are passoniate and those who aren't. A life lesson can be learned from any experience, you could try to convince someone to be passionate about karate and develop the same "heart" that you did. If everyone is like dragon in karate then it sounds (from what dragon said) that it becomes a closed off group.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 DragonboyVNY

I don't agree with that statement dragon. Everybody should be welcome, those who are passoniate and those who aren't. A life lesson can be learned from any experience, you could try to convince someone to be passionate about karate and develop the same "heart" that you did. If everyone is like dragon in karate then it sounds (from what dragon said) that it becomes a closed off group.

Thanks. I learned something today too. I understand what you mean and will take that into account in future. It's not that I don't welcome them or the passerby, I'm happy to show what works and why things are done if asked.

As a senior I am expected to help tweak things and help with the karate, and this I have found a delightful experience when given that chance (depends on the instructor on the night), otherwise I am left to my own training and bubble on the training hall. I'll keep an open mind sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

I was just wondering do you have to pre-register for C&S's that you would like to join before the drive on Wednesday(?) or can you just sign up there?

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭shabouwcaw

you can just sign up there, but it saves a lot of time if you pre-register.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ulpokersoc

You can register for any club and society here: http://www.registercs.ul.ie

You should join the poker society!

We have a freeroll (free to enter) poker event on the 14th of September in the Sports Bar from 6:30pm. Finger food is provided on the night and you have to be a UL Poker Society member to play (€2 to join for the year (non-ul students can join too!)).

Prizes have been sponsored by the SU, Paddypower and the Fitzpatrick Casino in town. We also have free drinks to the first 10 people knocked out.

We run our UL Poker Championship game once a semester where we take no registration fee (so if you pay €10 to enter €10 stays in the pot), free finger food and a bracelet for first and second.

We have a weekly game in the Sports Bar on monday evenings from 7 pm.

We also go to other tournaments around Ireland and won the student masters tournament last year.

Our website is http://www.ulpoker.ie/ if you want to find out more!