Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who have jobs complaining about people on the dole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

panda100 wrote: »
    I don't envy anyone on the dole. Not working can really play havoc on your self esteem and self worth.

For those who would like to get back to work I would really recommend doing a FAS course in health care,manual handling or a bit of volunteer work working with elderly people. Ireland is crying out for care assistants in nursing homes and in the community, because we have an ageing population.You do not need much experience for the job, except patience, good humour and a commitment to care.
    Since I moved up to Dublin I have had at least 20 calls asking me to come for interviews in various nursing homes. Might be an option for some.....

If not working affects your self esteem or self worth you didn't really have it in the first place. Self esteem is accepting yourself regardless. If you only accept yourself when the right conditions are met that are outside of your control you don't have self esteem. What you have is feelings based off of how you compare to other people. These people need other people to be worse off than them to have "self esteem".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

If not working affects your self esteem or self worth you didn't really have it in the first place. Self esteem is accepting yourself regardless. If you only accept yourself when the right conditions are met that are outside of your control you don't have self esteem. What you have is feelings based off of how you compare to other people. These people need other people to be worse off than them to have "self esteem".

Sorry,I don't agree.
    I'm a fairly confident person in myself, and recently got two rejection letters for jobs I really, really wanted, and it did knock my self esteem a bit, despite the fact I have a decent job.
    I have friends who are on the dole and getting rejection letters every day, I've seen their self esteem in them selves plummet over the last few months. Its not about comparing yourselves to others, but your on self worth and belief in yourself. When your skills are constantly getting rejected by employers, and your getting judgmental comments from people for being on the dole, it would affect even the most confident person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

panda100 wrote: »
    Sorry,I don't agree.
    I'm a fairly confident person in myself, and recently got two rejection letters for jobs I really, really wanted, and it did knock my self esteem a bit, despite the fact I have a decent job.
    I have friends who are on the dole and getting rejection letters every day, I've seen their self esteem in them selves plummet over the last few months. Its not about comparing yourselves to others, but your on self worth and belief in yourself. When your skills are constantly getting rejected by employers, and your getting judgmental comments from people for being on the dole, it would affect even the most confident person.

I disagree. It's affecting your image of yourself and how you compare yourself to others. Rejection letters affect people's circumstancial confidence. It wouldn't affect someone's core confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Dude, I have a good paying job and have never been on the dole in 20 years but I'm cool with you. You worked and now you need to go on the scratch till the next gig comes along. I'm happy to pay taxes to carry you. Don't mind the cunts who call you a sponger. Guarantee you the vast majority of them got their jobs through a hand-up or got their lucky break through a connection. Not only that but the vast majority of them would fiddle their taxes or dodge some financial obligation if the opportunity arose. They would keep the change if they were undercharged and would do their utmost to stiff a waitress out of her tip yet they piss and moan about others "on the take". Fcuk 'em. Enjoy your hiatus, get to the gym or the park and get some exercise then get to the library and enjoy some literature. Healthy body, healthy mind = healthy outlook. Then go for a pint. You deserve it.

I prefer to watch boxset dvds all day myself. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭poppyvalley

time to get off the dole and get another job .

I'm sure he would if there jobs out there. It's not quite that easy for all unemployed people to up sticks and fly off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭NeedaNewName

Worked in Ireland for the last 13 years. Going on the dole next week. looking forward to claiming my tax back tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

my god I have never heard as much crying in my life about having to pay tax as I have read on this thread.

all you crying little babies should know that your taxes don't just go to dole payments' they go to emergency services, roads and as you know all the rest and it is the law that you pay your taxes so stop crying and whinging about how much tax you have to pay. the working man/woman is a slave to all governments as all taxpayers will be paying a criminal organisation called the banks and their criminal cronies billions for the very far future.

also the disgust of having to read the evil comments of some posters here slagging off people on social welfare is in itself a disgrace as YOU will probably soon end up on welfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

zenno wrote: »
    my god I have never heard as much crying in my life about having to pay tax as I have read on this thread.

all you crying little babies should know that your taxes don't just go to dole payments' they go to emergency services, roads and as you know all the rest and it is the law that you pay your taxes so stop crying and whinging about how much tax you have to pay. the working man/woman is a slave to all governments as all taxpayers will be paying a criminal organisation called the banks and their criminal cronies billions for the very far future.

also the disgust of having to read the evil comments of some posters here slagging off people on social welfare is in itself a disgrace as YOU will probably soon end up on welfare.

Yes but for some reason all the folks that think everyone on the dole doesn't deserve it seem to believe that they're literally paying for the dole. Which is a bit odd since I'd like to know who pays my 185 a week and thank them

As for the second part, they don't believe they will go on the dole and if they do then they're entitled to it since they worked. But of course, while they work nobody else is and we're all scroungers. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Yes but for some reason all the folks that think everyone on the dole doesn't deserve it seem to believe that they're literally paying for the dole. Which is a bit odd since I'd like to know who pays my 185 a week and thank them

As for the second part, they don't believe they will go on the dole and if they do then they're entitled to it since they worked. But of course, while they work nobody else is and we're all scroungers. :rolleyes:

well the mentality of these people' it can not be good for their own health stressed out about constantly moaning of having to pay tax' gosh you would think every cent of their tax was going to (so-called dole scroungers).

I worked in computer repair for years and I am unemployed now a while but you won't hear me whinging about the tax I had to pay out.

if a person doesn't want to work then thats their business because i have more important things in my life to deal with' like enjoying myself now for a change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I personally know 5 people who haven't worked in around three years and they are happy as **** living at home with mammy, getting all their meals for free, getting up at 2 in the afternoon everyday, playing World of Warcraft for the rest of the day and then nipping down the pub in the evening for 2 or 3 pints or getting a slab for an evening in. A couple of them went straight from school to the dole to do this. Another one of them left a perfectly good job to do this.

What you mean is that you couldn't be happy on the dole for three years. There's plenty of people out there who are perfectly happy to get stuck in a little state-sponsored rut with the recession as an excuse not to even bother looking for work.
    yeah youre right ,Im sorry .I see those veryday drinking in the pub half ten in the morning(or whenever it opens) and I know people who never worked and dont intend working.
    I no ,wouldnt be happy with no purpose .I have worked my ass off to make some kind of career for myself and slaved through college.I feel sorry for people who have no purpose.Without purpose you are empty.i think anyway

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭Bryano11

eternal wrote: »
    yeah youre right ,Im sorry .I see those veryday drinking in the pub half ten in the morning(or whenever it opens) and I know people who never worked and dont intend working.
    I no ,wouldnt be happy with no purpose .I have worked my ass off to make some kind of career for myself and slaved through college.I feel sorry for people who have no purpose.Without purpose you are empty.i think anyway
    "I slaved through college":rolleyes:

Discuss?

zenno wrote: »
    well the mentality of these people' it can not be good for their own health stressed out about constantly moaning of having to pay tax' gosh you would think every cent of their tax was going to (so-called dole scroungers).

I worked in computer repair for years and I am unemployed now a while but you won't hear me whinging about the tax I had to pay out.

if a person doesn't want to work then thats their business because i have more important things in my life to deal with' like enjoying myself now for a change.

Yeah but the great question is "do we take the benefits away and give them reason to commit crimes"?

Some people are happy not working and being on the dole. They don't share your beliefs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If not working affects your self esteem or self worth you didn't really have it in the first place.
    Can't see how you'd know that...
    Self esteem is accepting yourself regardless. If you only accept yourself when the right conditions are met that are outside of your control you don't have self esteem. What you have is feelings based off of how you compare to other people. These people need other people to be worse off than them to have "self esteem".
    Too simplistic and not taking into consideration the complexities of the human condition - it is not at all unfeasible for a person with self esteem to have it eroded away by being out of work. Not just because of comparing themselves to other people - I would say that's the least of their concerns...

Bryano11 wrote: »
    "I slaved through college":rolleyes:

Discuss?
    yeah whats to discuss ,I worked extremely hard all through college .Slaving not meant in the literal term as slavery doesnt exist anymore .F*cking smartass

yeah whats to discuss ,I worked extremely hard all through college .Slaving not meant in the literal term as slavery doesnt exist anymore.

So you got to go to college and you should be able to look down on those that didn't?

WHERE did I say that ? yeah where

I just got that from the fact you seemed to have a "purpose" and anyone else who didn't "make a career" by "slaving through college" didn't have a "purpose". Perhaps you didn't mean it that way. Perhaps you can explain what you meant by having a purpose because you want to college?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

0verblood wrote: »
    STFU!

It's my money I'm receiving, I've worked year in year out for the last 7 years since I was 18, now I'm on the dole for the first time ever, and all I see is people complaining that I'm taking their money. Will ye shut up to f*ck, I'm entitled to it and it's not your money! I can blow it all on coke on collection day and you shouldn't give a toss. I paid my taxes and PRSI and PAYE and VAT and TV Licence and all sorts of stealth tax, feck off!

Have any of you on the dole received similar flack?

No, it's not your money.

You paid tax granted - it wasn't your choice, it was taken from you by force to subsidise some rich guys industrial business. And you're not "entitled" to anything in this world. I hate it when people say "I'm entitled to it" - go live in a hardcore capitalist country and they'll get such a kick up the arse.

Don't argue with those who complain you're on it - complain about the government who fuels the complaints by having such a lackluster system to begin with.

It IS an entitlement and it IS their money - if it wasn't, they'd have to pay it back like a loan. We're all entitled to it - unfortunately that's open to abuse, but not by the majority.

No, it's not your money.

You paid tax granted - it wasn't your choice, it was taken from you by force to subsidise some rich guys industrial business. And you're not "entitled" to anything in this world. I hate it when people say "I'm entitled to it" - go live in a hardcore capitalist country and they'll get such a kick up the arse.

Don't argue with those who complain you're on it - complain about the government who fuels the complaints by having such a lackluster system to begin with.

How about you do that instead of complaining about how I spend my money?

I just got that from the fact you seemed to have a "purpose" and anyone else who didn't "make a career" by "slaving through college" didn't have a "purpose". Perhaps you didn't mean it that way. Perhaps you can explain what you meant by having a purpose because you want to college?
    No the original arguement was that someone said about people they knew being on the dole happy for five years and they had no intention of looking for work.
    And I said that I couldnt be happy doing that that I worked hard most my life ,of course I have lost jobs too ,I know what that feels like.College really doesnt come into it.The person said YOU couldnt be happy doing that and I agreed with said post.
    Twisting my meaning ,he was addressing me and I answered him.Thats all.i never commented on people who have never gone to college ,thats their own choice.
    You obviously have some problem that you didnt go ,so youre attacking me over it and I wasnt even talking to or about you

How about you do that instead of complaining about how I spend my money?

I'm not complaining about how you spend your money at all.. :confused:

I want you to keep your money and not pay taxes for subsidies to bureaucrats.

No the original arguement was that someone said about people they knew being on the dole happy for five years and they had no intention of looking for work.
    And I said that I couldnt be happy doing that that I worked hard most my life ,of course I have lost jobs too ,I know what that feels like.College really doesnt come into it.The person said YOU couldnt be happy doing that and I agreed with said post.
    Twisting my meaning ,he was addressing me and I answered him.Thats all.i never commented on people who have never gone to college ,thats their own choice.
    You obviously have some problem that you didnt go ,so youre attacking me over it and I wasnt even talking to or about you

Ah... yes, I understand now. We only get to reply to one person and your post should have been hidden from my views.

But see, we could all see your post and as such, we could all comment on it.
    If you don't want people to respond, then don't post in the forum, just PM the guy.

I wasn't twisting your meaning. You said:

So tell me, what difference does it make that you went to college? Doesn't the President have a purpose just like the guy picking up rubbish on the street? Or is it not a true purpose since he never went to college?
    I'm not complaining about how you spend your money at all.. :confused:

I want you to keep your money and not pay taxes for subsidies to bureaucrats.

I could have picked you up wrong. I thought you were having a go at people on the dole saying their entitled to it and you were telling thme not to argue with people who say they aren't entitled to it?

The president and the guy picking up litter are both working and not on the dole five years so yes they do have purpose.im not saying anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

look guys lets just settle this argument... its MY money... that is all ;)

The president and the guy picking up litter are both working and not on the dole five years so yes they do have purpose.im not saying anymore

Yeah, you know you got caught out and are wrong and have to back out now. :rolleyes:

look guys lets just settle this argument... its MY money... that is all ;)

Uh... I need to check that. Let me take "your" money and if it really is yours, you'll get it back. Otherwise, I'll spend it and it'll go back to the government.

You can trust me. :)

Feckin' eejit if he trusts me :D

Yeah, you know you got caught out and are wrong and have to back out now. :rolleyes:
    Im not wrong the guy said YOU would not be happy I agreed .the post was always about me not about anyone else .
    Im not saying anymore cos you the pettiest person I have ever come across ,and not worth arguing with.

Im not wrong the guy said YOU would not be happy I agreed .the post was always about me not about anyone else .
    Im not saying anymore cos you the pettiest person I have ever come across ,and not worth arguing with.

Who's the one who associated slaving through college with having a purpose? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

So tell me, what difference does it make that you went to college? Doesn't the President have a purpose just like the guy picking up rubbish on the street? Or is it not a true purpose since he never went to college?

I don't think he's saying it makes any difference. I think he was just extolling on his point of view with the example from his life of how his purpose was to put himself through college to get the job he wants. He never said it was a prerequisite to go to college to have a purpose. He was talking about his own motivations.

Buceph wrote: »
    I don't think he's saying it makes any difference. I think he was just extolling on his point of view with the example from his life of how his purpose was to put himself through college to get the job he wants. He never said it was a prerequisite to go to college to have a purpose. He was talking about his own motivations.

I know that person. Trust me, they're not saying that.

What I find funny is that if we didn't have people drinking all day, wouldn't the pubs lose business?

Chaotic_Forces you've been on the dole for 3 years, theres no excuse for that!!:rolleyes:

Bryano11 wrote: »
    Chaotic_Forces you've been on the dole for 3 years, theres no excuse for that!!:rolleyes:

So... call me a scrounger? I don't care what anyone thinks. When I manage to get a job that pays me at least 185 a week (after lunch and travel fare) then I'll take it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I know that person. Trust me, they're not saying that.

No. I'll take the person on face value for the meantime. They haven't given me any reason to do otherwise.

Buceph wrote: »
    No. I'll take the person on face value for the meantime. They haven't given me any reason to do otherwise.

If you saw their other posts, you'd know. Anyway, that's fine. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭jim69

im on dole 1 week.worked last 25 years,cant sleep at night,feel ****,most people at dole office seem fine with it,would know more if any of them could speak english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Dudess wrote: »
    While I agree with lots of what you say and I understand your annoyance, being abusive won't help your case - and saying people shouldn't have kids if they can't afford them is as bad, in my opinion, as saying people on the dole are scroungers.

If you can't afford to have kids, then you shouldn't be having kids. End of.
    The taxpayer shouldn't have to pay the way for other's snot-factories

Rodin wrote: »
    ]While I agree with lots of what you say and I understand your annoyance, being abusive won't help your case - and saying people shouldn't have kids if they can't afford them is as bad, in my opinion, as saying people on the dole are scroungers.

Learn what sex is.

And learn how to quote too...

"Snot factories" - wtf? If people have always wanted to have a family, they can't put it off forever and they'll manage two children. There is nothing extravagant or luxurious about pro-creating.
    During poorer times, families managed a hell of a lot more than two children. It might have been a struggle at times, but they got by.

Dudess wrote: »
    "Snot factories" - wtf? If people have always wanted to have a family, they can't put it off forever and they'll manage two children. There is nothing extravagant or luxurious about pro-creating.
    During poorer times, families managed a hell of a lot more than two children. It might have been a struggle at times, but they got by.

And they did it in most cases without asking someone else to fund it. SO they could, in fact, afford to have children.

Absolutely spot on - it's a welcome change to see some of us haven't lost our minds.

Dudess, I think you're off another planet if you truly believe people should be having kids at others expense. Where do you draw the line? We can't expect to fund each others life choices. Having a child is a huge decision in life. First, comes the financial aspect i.e - can i afford to support a child?

The Government nor your next door neighbour should bare the cost of your decisions in life. I think you're way off the mark! Absolutely and utterly delusional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭jim69

chaotic forces you seem to be a waste of money and oxygen.why dont you do us a favour and fall in the sea

Absolutely spot on - it's a welcome change to see some of us haven't lost our minds.

Dudess, I think you're off another planet if you truly believe people should be having kids at others expense. Where do you draw the line? We can't expect to fund each others life choices. Having a child is a huge decision in life. First, comes the financial aspect i.e - can i afford to support a child?

The Government nor your next door neighbour should bare the cost of your decisions in life. I think you're way off the mark! Absolutely and utterly delusional.

So after "YOU MUST WORK TO HAVE A CHILD OR YOU WILL BE PUNISHED!" law, what will be next? Hmm? The "white people only, Irish, six foot tall, built like a tank, blue eyes, blonde hair, worked 60 years from the day they were born" are allowed to claim any kind of benefit?

Seriously, get some sex eduation and learn how "babies are made".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

On PRSI. we all paid very low PRSI during the bubble years.

4-6%.

In Northern Ireland, people paid 10% and upwards on far lower wages and limits.

For some strange reason, the PRSI fund ran out pretty quickly and so yes, peoples taxes are paying for Welfare, Public Service pay etc.

If you look at tax revenues every year, you'll find your taxes aren't even covering Pay and welfare.

Suppose it's easier blaming sections of society than actually taking responsibility.

So, pay all the taxes you have to. It doesn't even cover opening and running hospitals, the machine that goes beep (shameless Python plug), opening a school, Garda Barracks, luxuries like that.

Just blame the Germans and the French and you'll be grand.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

So after "YOU MUST WORK TO HAVE A CHILD OR YOU WILL BE PUNISHED!" law, what will be next? Hmm? The "white people only, Irish, six foot tall, built like a tank, blue eyes, blonde hair, worked 60 years from the day they were born" are allowed to claim any kind of benefit?

Bud, ya can't even spell EDUCATION:rolleyes:

K-9 wrote: »
    On PRSI. we all paid very low PRSI during the bubble years.

4-6%.

In Northern Ireland, people paid 10% and upwards on far lower wages and limits.

For some strange reason, the PRSI fund ran out pretty quickly and so yes, peoples taxes are paying for Welfare, Public Service pay etc.

If you look at tax revenues every year, you'll find your taxes aren't even covering Pay and welfare.

Suppose it's easier blaming sections of society than actually taking responsibility.

So, pay all the taxes you have to. It doesn't even cover opening and running hospitals, the machine that goes beep (shameless Python plug), opening a school, Garda Barracks, luxuries like that.

We know that part. The problem is people don;t realize taxes that they pay don't just pay the dole.

'learn how "babies are made'
    relevance to the argument that people should be able to afford to raise children before having them?

I haven't a notion what you're talking about...and I think you're clasping at ends.

Nobody should fund your life, period. It's not their responsibility - it's yours!
    If you want to have a child, fine - nobodies stopping you, but to expect others to raise your child is absolutely absurd, bordering on the mentality inept!
    No wonder this country is in a financial hole with your attitude.

'learn how "babies are made'
    relevance to the argument that people should be able to afford to raise children before having them?

Well... yeah. I don't think it's fair to force a woman to either "adopt, abort or take the morning after pill". And condoms/the pill don't work 100% of the time. So you're pretty much saying "no sex if you're not able to afford kids" unless you want to add "oh we can adopt or abort them, though".

I haven't a notion what you're talking about...and I think you're clasping at ends.

Nobody should fund your life, period. It's not their responsibility - it's yours!
    If you want to have a child, fine - nobodies stopping you, but to expect others to raise your child is absolutely absurd, bordering on the mentality inept!
    No wonder this country is in a financial hole with your attitude.

I don't see what's wrong with people being allowed to have sex since contraception doesn't work 100% of the time.