Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Etape Rás Mumhan, a day around Dingle anyone?

• 18-03-2011 10:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭

There is sportive on the 23rd of April (Easter Sat) to ride the Dingle Stage of the Ras Muhan.

Finishes on top of the Conor Pass.

Popular climb.... 3rd sportive to use it in April!!

http://www.etaperasmumhan.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Looks very interesting:- http://www.etaperasmumhan.com/

The route is mapped out here:- http://www.etaperasmumhan.com/?page_id=99

Hopefully it will take off and generate a lot of interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

3 sportifs in April featuring Slea Head & Conor Pass is a bit nuts. Talk about poor planning.
    That being said I was going to do either this or the Dingle CC event or this one. This has the novelty of being timed.

Given that it is timed I presume there are no stops. Do you know is there showers and refreshments at the finish?

Anyway IMHO this is one of the best courses in the country bar none.

The descent into Dingle could be interesting if people hang around to see the Rás stage end, riders, team cars, supporters....mayhem?

From the website:- Cyclists Receive:
    Timed challenge cycle
    All participants will receive a cycle number
    Escorted groups (both speeds) will receive the following cover:

Lead car
    Motoriders
    Neutral service
    Broom wagon
    Ambulance

Rehydration Station (& first aid point) at 48kms / 30 miles (approx)
    Rehydration and Food Station (& first aid point) at 96kms / 60 miles (approx)
    Emergency contact numbers
    Changing facilities
    Results information
    Post cycle refreshments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

ROK ON wrote: »
    3 sportifs in April featuring Slea Head & Conor Pass is a bit nuts. Talk about poor planning.
    That being said I was going to do either this or the Dingle CC event or this one. This has the novelty of being timed.

Given that it is timed I presume there are no stops. Do you know is there showers and refreshments at the finish?

Anyway IMHO this is one of the best courses in the country bar none.

Route looks great. Definitely want to do one of them - any details on the other 2 in April?

On the nickle.
    One of the other sportives is on the 30th April and run by Dingle CC. There is a thread here on it.

A private company called Kerry Cycling Tours is running a sportif on april 2. Some members of Tralee Earl of Desmond CC seem to be involved.

What speed are folks doing. Tempted by the 30k in that I did 28kmph for chain gang. But I was very fit last September.

I see the 2 April is "only" 100k, could get very familiar with the Conor Pass over April.

http://currowcc.com/2011/03/15/earl-of-desmond-kerry-cycling-tours/

@ROK ON, on Saturday I did my first 100k (Killorglin, Molls Gap, Ballaghbeama, Killorglin) at 25kph, I think I might come to a grinding halt on the Conor Pass if I'd chased around at 30kph! The plan seems to be to have the two groups come together at the start of the Conor Pass climb.

Lescol.
    If you did that on your own then you will easily do 30k in a group.
    Also Ballaghbeama while shorter is a significantly tougher climb than Conor Pass, also the descent is brutal so one would lose time there.
    You know you want to :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

Looks good alright. I guess each rider's official time will be the total elapsed time, from start to finish, rather than the "rolling time" (i.e. where the clock stops when you do).

A neat challenge would be to set off right at the end of the free start period (08:00hrs – 09:30hrs), then see if you could stay ahead of the 30.5kph escorted group, which departs a mere 5 minutes later, at 09:35hrs. EeeeK!

I see that the winner of the following Rás Mumhan stage (start at 12:00) is expected to average in excess of 36kph.

If the challenge suggested above doesn't sound tough enough, you could always try bettering the stage winner's time - solo! Imagine if you pulled it off - I bet that would ruffle a few feathers!

Option 1
    Open cycle – Full Course – 128kms
    Free start from 08:00hrs – 09:30hrs
    Option 2
    Escorted Group 1 – Full Course – 128km Average Speed 24kmph (15mph)
    Group start at 09:00hrs
    Option 3
    Escorted Group 2 – Full Course – 128Km Average Speed 30.5kmph (19mph)
    Group start at 09:35hrs
    Option 4
    Open cycle – Short Course – 64kms
    Free start from 10:00hrs – 11:00hrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Its hard to see where the money goes. I had a look on the web site and it doesnt seem to mention, any info?
    It does look a great event, the hill top finish will be intresting, many will die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Great route, and the views are great also ;)

EBFF3703F5D34133999A0A1F92147499-0000318644-0002231819-00800L-368ED8ACDF8E424AB3A6BE8D6BC077FD.jpg

A482F51C0573437298B8637ADF806E04-0000318644-0002231820-00800L-8FD07AC9B4AE48178A526B1B8AE1628D.jpg

ie. I was down in Dingle 2 weeks ago, & seeing as I've a keen interest in photography & cycling, this is a little bit of heaven !! I managed to squeeze in a cycle up the Connor Pass (Dingle side) and it's a nice ascent, highest gradient was 8/9% for a while but otherwise easily do-able, just really depends on what speed you attack it at !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

Its hard to see where the money goes?
    I have no idea where the money goes as i have nothing to do with the organisation. but raced the 4 days last year and it's a very well run event.

Some money must be spent on;
    Fueling all vehicles?
    escorting groups?
    marshalling?
    individual Timing chips and a timing system for the day?
    two feeding stations?
    Gardai?
    Closing the Connor pass road?

30 euro doesn't go too far these days but it sounds reasonable value to me. you can always race the full 4 days, twice the price but 4 times the pain?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

I thought the days of charging 10 euro for a 1 day sportive for a leisure event were over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Many heading down to this on Saturday . I'd say I will. Weather should be lovely and pretty warm. I will be going for the 24 kph group. Going up the pass at the end will be a killer I'd say. Anyone know where we start from? Park etc? Are there showers?

Sign on is at Pobail Scoil Chorca Dhuibne, it's on the Connor Pass road and there will be direction signs on the way into Dingle (I am reliably informed!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Cheers. Very little information being given about facilities for this event. To be honest considering this could cost you €50 to do , is if too much to ask for information about the event ?

P

This ranks as one of the best organised events that I have done.

1 probably one of most stunning routes in the country,
    2 great weather
    3 good marshalling
    4 fantastic back up. Two foodstops with tons of sambos, gels, hi 5 powder, coke and chocolate.
    5 showers and dressing rooms ina fantastic school in Dingle.
    6 to top it off a really really welcom and beautiful bowl of beef stew as a hot meal at the finish. Full to the brim with tender chunks of beef and spuds and veg. What a great idea.

Pace for 1st 120km was averaging 29km. A few guys from Chain Gang & my own club Killarney controlled the pace at the front. It was brisk but very comfortable. I got dropped from lead group going over the drag between Annascaul and Camp. Met up at feedstop with the group again.
    Descent to Camp was great fun. Lovely pace out to Conor Pass.
    At bottom of climb I cramped badly. Covered the 7km climb very very slowly (40-45mins?). Died badly.
    Heart Rate was only 160/65 going up the pass, but my left leg would work.
    Have not had too many long spins this year.
    Got to top and took 7/8 mins to descend.
    133km in total at 27.5pm
    Very sore and very happy.

Saw a guy in new Boards top and old shorts.
    Met Lescol.
    One or two others there whose monikers escape me.

The guys who organise this also organise the Iveragh200.
    I would highly recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

This event was as professiona as it can get, and the route as spectacular as it can get outside of Alps etc (and a classic stage finish of Ras Mumhan thrown in).

And I can't get why so few showed up - lots will travel abroad for events that wouldn't be as good as this.

I expect the organisers must have lost quite a bit of money on it - I hope they stick with it for another year and that riders give it a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭cantalach

And I can't get why so few showed up - lots will travel abroad for events that wouldn't be as good as this.

I think Easter weekend is a bad weekend to schedule something like this. I would have absolutely loved to do this event but couldn't because spending Easter with family. I know there are many others in the same boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Plastik

Would have also loved to have gone, but couldnt travel yesterday and didn't fancy the three hour drive from Cork this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭numorouno

ROK ON wrote: »
    This ranks as one of the best organised events that I have done.

1 probably one of most stunning routes in the country,
    2 great weather
    3 good marshalling
    4 fantastic back up. Two foodstops with tons of sambos, gels, hi 5 powder, coke and chocolate.
    5 showers and dressing rooms ina fantastic school in Dingle.
    6 to top it off a really really welcom and beautiful bowl of beef stew as a hot meal at the finish. Full to the brim with tender chunks of beef and spuds and veg. What a great idea.

Pace for 1st 120km was averaging 29km. A few guys from Chain Gang & my own club Killarney controlled the pace at the front. It was brisk but very comfortable. I got dropped from lead group going over the drag between Annascaul and Camp. Met up at feedstop with the group again.
    Descent to Camp was great fun. Lovely pace out to Conor Pass.
    At bottom of climb I cramped badly. Covered the 7km climb very very slowly (40-45mins?). Died badly.
    Heart Rate was only 160/65 going up the pass, but my left leg would work.
    Have not had too many long spins this year.
    Got to top and took 7/8 mins to descend.
    133km in total at 27.5pm
    Very sore and very happy.

Saw a guy in new Boards top and old shorts.
    Met Lescol.
    One or two others there whose monikers escape me.

The guys who organise this also organise the Iveragh200.
    I would highly recommend it.

ROK ON i have to disagree with you. its was advertised as a leisure cycle and i signed up for a 15mph average but the group took off at a rate of knots and for those at the end of the back markers there was no gels left at the first food stop and a half a bottle of water at the second food stop and i didnt see a marshall from dingle all the way to annascaul camp and up the conor pass. it didnt cater for what it was supposed to cater for. i have no problem with people going fast if they wanted to go in the 15mph or possibly the 19mph hour group would have suited them better. i do have a problem however paying 30 and 10 for license and not being given the basics such as water at a food stop. perhaps i might be the one dissesting voice but it was echoed by the back markers i met and cycled with

I got to the first stop with no problem, the lady dispensing water handed me back my bidon, I looked up and the main group had gone. I set off and what had been the lead car overtook me. From then on it was 80k of solo riding. By Stradbally I wanted to throw the bike in the ditch, I had to climb Conor Pass dehydrated and with a cramp in my right thigh. I chose an escorted group with support and ended up on my own, which I can do anytime without paying.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭garminguy

i was in the new boards jersey going the opposite direction and it seemed very fragmented for a sportive and i did not see a single marshall between camp and dingle.although it was a fab day to be cycling around kerry!

@Lescol & numerouno. I gues this is one of those occasions where different people can have completely legitimate butpolar opposite views on the quality of an event.

From my view the motorcycle outriders did a good job of marshalling. Every junction I arrived at (mostly after descents) were closed. This was really important for the very fast descent into Camp.

From Camp to base of Conor pass I recall two cars on the road (maybe that was your missing car Lescol) there was only 1 for first half.

Guys on motorbikes were helpful. One guy shadowed some of the struggling riders on the Conor Pass shouting encouragement and asking were people ok.

It cost me €30 to do this and it was worth every penny. I don't think timing chips add anything to an event and are unnecessary when most folk interested in such have bike computers.

I would have loved to continue with the group ride that I'd signed on for, instead I was abandoned, standing with a water bottle in my hand! There was no call and she was on her own pouring water from a large container, she couldn't do it any faster. The organiser should be there to organise the group and not leave people behind. I wasn't the only one. I ride mostly on my own, it was only on the approach to the Conor Pass that fatigue was setting in and I was out of water. I have never let this happen on a solo ride, but I was supposed to be in a supported group.

I also received some encouragement on the Conor Pass, some guy shouted at me to keep going, only 20mins to the top! I could have killed him! Anyway, it was about 10 mins to the top, so maybe he spurred me on.

I'm delighted you enjoyed it so much. The timing chip as you say is unnecessary and the only reason I stopped at the top was because I was being chased by a woman demanding her chip!

Just been for a 30k spin and all is working well after a night of rehydrating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭kerryscoob

I can see how there would be differing views on the event, the 24kph group left while I was gossiping so the start saw me chasing the group through Dingle, around Slea Head was glorious Chain Gang setting on the pace but I was happy to let them, at the 1st food stop average was close on 30kph so I was wondering were we all sand bagging or were we all going to blow up with the pace. Again missed the restart and heart rate was maxing chasing down the few watching the lead car, refreshments were great and craic was good.

Heading to Camp I was happy to see the 2nd food stop (no shortage of food), started to feel the pace but just hung on in there with the slow group :D still just under the 30kph at Camp.

Heading towards the Pass group was starting to get messy, a few near misses as pace dropped I think riders were watching the reserves, once the pace was upped group settled a bit, I knew head gasket was going to blow once I hit the Pass, and blow she did, could have walked faster, but normally I sit at the back and allow others work but yesterday I took on the role of domestique and was willing to bring the bunch to the bottom and then let the mountain goats go. Average to the bottom I think was 29.1 Kph finished at the top 27.5kph. Died a slow painful death for 5km, but it was a happy death, motorbikes were brillant on the climb holding traffic, encouragment, could ask no more.

The lads from Killarney were great, the Chain Gang worked hard, there was a lassie in black, *eck can she pedal.

I thoroughly enjoyed the event, yes I can understand some riders feeling disgruntled. But the organisers were under pressure with a big event chasing us, maybe some learnings (is there a need for timing) but I for one will be back. A big thumbs up from me for event organisers, a big undertaking, a spectacular route and to top it off a stage finish of the Rás Mumhan to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Pat Kavanagh

Anyone know what the timing chips were for?
    I assumed I would get a time - anybody know if the times are available?
    Also, I assumed that the route would be the same as the Ras Mumhan route but the 15mph and 19mph groups took two different routes.
    There were three options - one was an open time but the second and third were promoted with average times and should have been controlled at those speeds.
    So, it was a very good day in some respecgts it seems to have been a bit of a feck-up in other respects. Good value for money though.

@Pat Kavanagh, the last posting on Etape Ras Mumhans Facebook page:-

We will get the timed results to you either on here as a download or more probably on the official website as soon as we can after the stage race has finished...We will let you know when they go up....

I was confused at the first stop when a group of cyclists and an ambulance arrived from a different direction to the one the group I was in came from:confused:

I agree that the speeds should have been controlled as advertised, there were two options on the day for a cycling club to "take control" and decide the pace. If the 24kph group took off at a 30kph ave from the water stop then it explains why I simply couldn't catch them on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

Interesting about the two routes. My son did the faster route and I met him at the first stop. Given the 'slower group' was averaging 30kph to that point I thought the faster group must have been really shifting - sounds like they did a shorter route as his speedo distance read lower than mine at the end.

Scenary was just stunning, timing chips were a simple add on as sensors were already laid for the Ras. In fact the same could be said for the marshalling as the race was close behind, so I dont see them loosing on this. I saw sensors at the botom of the Conor Pass so I wonder will we see separate Conor Pass climb times. :eek:

I thought the food/drink stops were fairly basic and mistakely assumed we were stopping in Dingle so took little or nothing on the first stop - did not make that mistake twice:D

The pacing was way off and I think the compliants from those dropped are valid but more entries would lessen this problem or better still let the elks off with the fast group. I deliberately fell off the main bunch after the second stop having worked hard to stay on but I wanted to save a little for the end. I was sorry I did as I had a long spin on my own into the Pass with a headwind. I slowed a lot to wait for other riders to come along and was surprised it took so long. Enjoyed the climb all the same and legs gave in just as I crossed the line. I spun-out down to Dingle, which helped.

The warm shower, lovely stew and friendly faces at the end will probably draw me back next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Pat Kavanagh

lescol wrote: »
    We will get the timed results to you either on here as a download or more probably on the official website as soon as we can after the stage race has finished...

Thanks ... but I would have thought ye would have figured out how the timing was to be provided before the event and it shouldn't be necessary to keep entrants waiting for a few days.
    I hope ye do it again, but it might be as well to have a 'mass start' and let everyone find their own suitable group on the road.

The results are up now:- http://results.racetectiming.com/Results.aspx?CId=74&RId=10013&EId=5

Sorry, I wasn't involved in the organisation. A quick calculation shows the first from group 1, the 24kph group, finished with an average of approx 34kph, it would seem someone was pushing on a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Mellon

I did the open cycle with a couple of mates, it was a spectacular route and the weather was up there with the Tour de Burren of last year. Loved the mountain top finish and thought the Conor Pass KOH timing pushed you on that little extra. The stew back at the school was a life saver :)
    As pat said on the previous page did the Groups take different routes? As I couldn’t imagine the slower group averaging 34kmph and if you add in food/water stops it would be more like 36kmph!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

I left with the second group it was realy fast at times was only just hanging on to the wheel on a few occasions the taught of being by myself kept me hanging on. I tried to do my turns on the front as much as possible felt realy bad at bottom of climb but got a bit of energy as it went on. I think its a good idea to have chips its a time to beat for next year realy hope its on again next year the hilltop finish was excelent pity there isnt more in Ireland. looks like some of the people in the slower group should have been in the faster group. lets not complain but give some opinions for next year. Thanks to all the people who gave their free time only for them we would be cycling on our own most of the time. 10 out 10 from me.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

numorouno wrote: »
    paying 30 and 10 for license

They should not have been charging 10 euro for a license - a day license for a sportive should only cost 10% of the entry fee i.e 3 euro in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭DonVincenzo

Great event & magic day. My only (very small) complaint was that there was meant to be a neutral service support car for our group, which I badly needed with around 15kms to go.

Really enjoyable spin with the Group 3 - & we set a nice tempo to make the most of the weather, support motorbike & car. A group of around 12 of us were averaging around 34kmph with 15km to go to the top of the Conor Pass & then my rear tyre exploded!!

Was looking forward to a proper rattle up the Conor Pass, but alas, when I heard the pop, I pulled in safely to discover a 5 inch split in my rear tyre. Very lucky it hadn't exploded on the descent into Camp, which we hammered down.

Unfortunately, there's no O2 phone reception down on the road from Castlegregory to the Conor Pass, so I went through 3 tubes between Castlegregory & the top of the pass to get to the finish line. Thanks to guy from Mitchelstown who gave me the 3rd tube, or I would've had to walk the last 6kms. Would've been great if the support car was there & so I could've changed the tyre & tried to get back on (wishful thinking on my part!).

In any case, I just cycled the last 15kms with my ass outta the saddle to put as little weight on the rear tyre as possible. My last tube blew around 300mtrs from the top of the Pass, so for some daft reason I walked the last few meters over the finish line, lifting my bike off the ground - to make it clear mechanical rather than physical reason why I was walking - he he!!! It just made me look a little silly though.

Looking at the chipped times, it looks like the 3 tube changes, attempts at phone calls, & weird cycling style cost me around 25mins over the front group.

All in all though - a great day. I'd recommend anyone to do it next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,166 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

my rear tyre exploded!!

What is/was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭DonVincenzo

Lumen wrote: »
    What is/was it?

Sorry Lumen - am a little slow after long Bank Holiday drive back from kerry but - Que?