Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A restoration tale (with pics)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Hey dnme,
    I should have plenty of the "mahogany" for that job, I'll have a look some evening during the week and let you know whats there, I might even be able to cut it to sizes but we can discuss. Getting it up to you shouldnt be a problem, I know a company who do deliveries right up the west coast and the drivers are all local and sound.
    That weather forecast blunder caught us all I think, while you were slaving away I was in Cork, and nearly cancelled a date over it, but we ended up going to Fota wildlife park for the afternoon and it was lovely with only two showers. Plenty of drinks later while drying out in the pub :-) and yes the date went brilliantly thanks :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭dnme

johnr1 wrote: »
    Hey dnme,
    I should have plenty of the "mahogany" for that job, I'll have a look some evening during the week and let you know whats there

jesus John that's be fantastic. Belss you, if we can get something together I'd gladly pay for delivery. Many many thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

Hi Dnme,

Congrats on getting this far, I've been following your updates avidly and am blown away by your determination in the face of adversity!

Your posts are really enjoyable, you have a gift for communicating both the highs and the lows, keep it up please, I'm looking forward to the launch pics....

All the best and thanks for sharing the experience.

Pete.

God belss you Pete, cracking post

• Registered Users Posts: 356 ✭✭Gerard93

Hi dnme, Great thread I.ve been following for a while now, hooked on the thread at this stage have to check in for a 'fix' daily, your making great progress, I'de love to have the determination & courage to take on a job like that, fair play to you.

Regds,

Ger

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Well there's a name for your boat.:D

Even-Keel-Logo.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

Well done man, looks absolutely incredible. I knew you'd get it done, but if I'm honest not to that standard, they look truly professional, not someone who has learnt along the way over a few months.

I agree with pete in regards to your communicating skills, they are brilliant, you make the posts amazing. So much so I'm looking forward to reading about the 24th June 2006 :) really getting into that diary!

I also like the name and design fergal has :D

Can you just feel the love in this room.

Alex wait til you get to August 2nd, 3rd and 4th. Best adventure of my life. Thanks for reading btw.

• Company Representative Posts: 9,461 ✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: John

dnme wrote: »
    Can you just feel the love in this room.

Alex wait til you get to August 2nd, 3rd and 4th. Best adventure of my life. Thanks for reading btw.

dnme,

the Yachtie in me loves this thread and as you know I keenly follow it - however can you ever just get the thing into the water asap so you can get back to what used be your obsession - buying AV kit from me:D

Best of luck,

John Mc & Crew

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

dnme,

the Yachtie in me loves this thread and as you know I keenly follow it - however can you ever just get the thing into the water asap so you can get back to what used be your obsession - buying AV kit from me:D

Best of luck,

John Mc & Crew

Nice ad John, never miss an op eh:cool:

DN,

wish it was an advert - more like a confession - I've 4 boats in stock at the moment & I can' find the time to get out in any of them! - it's an affliction sorry I meant addiction (actually not sure which is worse!)

Keep up the great work,

PS I've a spare stern light in 'excess' stock if you need one?

ATVB,

John Mc

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

Ho there-e is! I'm just breaking your balls over here:D
    Sorry John, watching Sopranos again. That light sounds interesting, is there any chance you could post a pic of it at some stage (says he being choosy while begging). Thanks for watching.

Food Tip

To celebrate the keels, went to LIDL today and hit the bakery. Here's a tip for ya; go to the new bakery counter, grab a bag and pick up a few of these Apple Turnovers. They are beyond nice, especially when still warm, you can taste the butter, a hint of salt, all contrasting with the sweet apple filling oozing out. Pure pornography. Just about to tuck into another one. ke ke ke ke ke

170049.jpg

Ho there-e is! I'm just breaking your balls over here:D
    Sorry John, watching Sopranos again. That light sounds interesting, is there any chance you could post a pic of it at some stage (says he being choosy while begging). Thanks for watching.

Not worth sending pic - just PM your addy and I'll pop it in the post and you can chuck it if not needed - its a pretty standard Stern light for a french plastic fantastic tub..

ATVB,

J

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

my suggestion to name this boat is:

All Aboards

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭ronanphilip

great blog / thread. interesting read. i look forward to seeing her completed :)

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

dnme

I am a keen follower of this thread i check it daily for updates

the thread really is great your communication skills are top notch and i for onr think the odd video clip really add a little something to the tread .

keep up the good no the great work i cant wait to she the finished product

regards jugger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

Those keels look fantastic. You managed to get a very professional looking finish.
    Really looking forward to seeing the rest of boat coming together.
    Colour scheme wise,...I really liked a recent photo of a similiar model that was orange and white.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Colour scheme wise,...I really liked a recent photo of a similiar model that was orange and white.

From someone called GINGERsnaps :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭ScabbyLeg

Fasntastic stuff there dnme, read the update with pleasure first thing this morning!

Just looking at your video there at around the 2:22 mark you point to another patch job - has that yet to be tackled or did it turn out to be alright? I've lost track with all this fibreglassing :D

PS. I read the diary in two sittings - was feckin wrecked in work yesterday cause I was awake till all hours reading! Sounded like some fantastic experience. I only wish I had the drive to do something like that myself, and the skill to document it so well! I must get a copy of Into The Wild, sounds like a good read. Have you ever seen a documentary called Grizzly Man by Werner Herzog?

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭wush06

Hi dnme
    I know feck all about boats. But I have read every bit of your posts and have to say I'm hook:D. Keep up the good work.
    Do you have a timeframe as when you would like to get out on the water. I know your on a tight budget.

ScabbyLeg wrote: »
    Fasntastic stuff there dnme, read the update with pleasure first thing this morning!

Just looking at your video there at around the 2:22 mark you point to another patch job - has that yet to be tackled or did it turn out to be alright? I've lost track with all this fibreglassing :D

PS. I read the diary in two sittings - was feckin wrecked in work yesterday cause I was awake till all hours reading! Sounded like some fantastic experience. I only wish I had the drive to do something like that myself, and the skill to document it so well! I must get a copy of Into The Wild, sounds like a good read. Have you ever seen a documentary called Grizzly Man by Werner Herzog?

Scabby, you're dead right, there are two more old patch repairs on the bow starboard side, infact I just looked at them again tonight. I might just try and grind and glass them, but they are water proof as they stand so not too urgent. WRT Grizzly Man, is that the guy who went to live with the bears? I've seen it, thought he was a complete narcisist with invinciblity fantasies, he had a skewed understanding of the animal, his death was inevitable and totally self caused.

wush06 wrote: »
    Hi dnme
    I know feck all about boats. But I have read every bit of your posts and have to say I'm hook:D. Keep up the good work.
    Do you have a timeframe as when you would like to get out on the water. I know your on a tight budget.

Wush, I hope to have it out on the water proper next summer. Many thanks for your company.

Day 40

Now this isn't much of a post to be honest. I just got one small job done today. The main reason being I was inundated with dam friends calling round and annoying me.:D The tossers are like buses, you dont see one for ages, then all of a sudden, four in one day. Jesus I've been eaten out of house and home, even the dog is looking worried after seeing the state of the fridge. Friends ???? Yeah friends how are ya!

One advantage to these cold callers though, is that you can put them to work, so for today, I had a cameraman and a fella to make tea. I wouldn't trust them with anything else. That was earlier today, then this evening our very own Slig and missis called round for a chat and they had the decency to bring a chocolate cake. :p (many thanks Amy).

1. I didn't take this, after an afternoon with old collage mates manning the camera, what do you expect. Good man Tris:D
    Img_6918.jpg

2. Drilling a hole, it's why men exist! Calipers was about 3 quid in Lidl.
    Image1.jpg

3. Health and safety, hows my hair?
    Shirt - Top Man, €12.50. Jeans - Miss Selfridge, €220. Gloves - Man about town, €22.78. Hair by Raphael
    Img_6944.jpg

4. Making a ply backing board to screw the drain assembly into.
    Img_6963.jpg

5. The lads have gone at this stage so I've no one to hold the piece in place, made up a quick baton to hold it while I screwed into it from the outside.
    Img_6967.jpg

6. New drain plug fitted with sikaflex
    Img_6968.jpg

7. The view from inside, I'll let this set up overnight and glass it in along with the new knee as soon as the weather permits. Forecast for the week is terrible though.
    Img_6970.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,327 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

That's one fine looking bung hole :D

fergal.b wrote: »

I was wondering how long it would take ya Fergal:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

fergal.b wrote: »

Clearly someone else was using fibreglass as well today, those fumes are deadly :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭Shane Slv

tis only 3 meters long, approx 10 feet. So it will only cover half your boat. Perhaps you could use it to cover the sections your working on at the time.

Btw this thread is easily my favoured thread on boards. I eagerly anticipate every update :) The boat is looking amazing and the hard graft is done, now the fun really begins:) What you have done is a inspiration. All the blood sweet and tears will be worth it when your out on the water. You have put great time and effort into her, but she will pay it back over the years 10 times over :) She will always be special to you.

It must be a nice to think that you have saved a old boat from rotted away and been forgotten

If you every find yourself on Lough Derg give me a shout ;)

Shane Slv wrote: »
    tis only 3 meters long, approx 10 feet. So it will only cover half your boat. Perhaps you could use it to cover the sections your working on at the time.

Btw this thread is easily my favoured thread on boards. I eagerly anticipate every update :) The boat is looking amazing and the hard graft is done, now the fun really begins:) What you have done is a inspiration. All the blood sweet and tears will be worth it when your out on the water. You have put great time and effort into her, but she will pay it back over the years 10 times over :) She will always be special to you.

It must be a nice to think that you have saved a old boat from rotted away and been forgotten

If you every find yourself on Lough Derg give me a shout ;)

Hey shane, many thanks for a lovely post. What I'm thinking with the Lidl tent, is that I might cover the table where I work at the stern and a bit of the deck, it would be something, also I might be able to croc clip the tarp to it giving me even more cover.