Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

class attendence??

Options
  • 26-03-2011 12:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭

Hi im a first year business student.
    Our economics lecturer says if we dont go to at least 14 lectures in the semester then we will fail the module...however he never takes attendence and there like 3 or 4 hundred people doing the module.. no one takes it seriously because how could he possibly no who is attending and who is not, but he keeps sending us e-mails about the numbers attending each lecture.
    Is it possible that he could no who is attending and who is not??

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

I don't see how, with the amount of people in a lecture, it would be very difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 961 ✭✭✭TEMPLAR KNIGHT

I think hes just getting someone to count it from the glass box where that technician fella stays at the back of the hall over looking it, id say one of the TAs counts and he lets on he knows whos going and who isnt

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

He counts the amount there by making everyone sit in the front section of the hall. He knows how many seats there are and then just counts how many seats are empty and add on one or two who come in late and sit in the back section. He isn't able to tell which students are there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I think you may have mistaken tutorial for lecture. Tutorial attendance is easier to track.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

i reckon 99er is right..i had that module last yr and it was tutorial attendance made up a nice portion of the marks