Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Immigration Is In The Irish Constitution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

F*cking joke of a state.

We bend over backwards not to be seen as 'racist'. I'm my opinion, that's being racist doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Oh I wonder why

Of course, it was the great depression but Keynes fiscal policy was not intended to create the monster that it has become. Milton Friedman's only regret as an economist, was said to be that he was disappointed John Maynard didn't live another decade to see what his Government Spending policy to get the economy going again had turned into - he would be turning in his grave, and it lives with us to this very day.

All in all, the government has turned what was intentionally a short term fix into a long-term normality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

zuroph wrote: »
    So the Gardaí decided to put him through the hassle of being arrested and bringing him to station, but not through the ordeal of actually charging him with the relevent crime? I doubt that. You don't know he wasnt carrying ID. Just not his passport. Do you carry your passport everywhere you go?

You don't know that he was arrested for any crime, it says he was detained until they proved he was a legal citizen and it looks that way seeing as they released him when his wife brought his papers/ passport.

Do I carry my passport? No, but if I lived in another country I would ensure I carried some form of ID that showed I had a right to be there, like a driving licence or a even one of those garda IDs that 18 year olds get. If the guy in this case happened to be here illegally and the Gardai didn't even check and just left him go, what does that say about them? Did you read the article? 'I told the Gardai I was Irish and they didnt believe me'. Are you suggesting that the Gardai just take everyones word from now on? Because thats the only alternative if the guy has no ID!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Its not a legal requirement as an Irish citizen to carry your passport with you at all times. He's an irish citizen, not a foreign national on a visa. If he had his driving licence, they could take his details and ask him to present his passport at a time that suited him, instead of detaining him for 3 hours, imagine how that would eat into your working day?

Are you telling me that you would have no problem with a member of the Gardaí detaining you for 3 hours because you didnt have your passport with you? After all, you may be, for example, an American, with a very good Irish accent impersonation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

token101 wrote: »
    Do I carry my passport? No, but if I lived in another country I would ensure I carried some form of ID that showed I had a right to be there,

He wasnt "in another country"

How are the Gardai supposed to know that he is an Irish citizen? If the guy looks ethnically different, then surely it's reasonable to assume that he isn't from Ireland originally. Profiling? I think its called common sense. Say they took his word, and he wasn't a citizen, do you think he's going to show up a Garda station?

No I would be very unhappy to be detained for 3 hours. And I would carry ID the next time. Do we have to mitigate for every single scenario? The bottom line is that if he had a driving licence with him, as you are supposed to at all times in Ireland, there would have been no problem as any Garda would have accepted that as a proof of ID. Are we going to become so fearful of being seen as racist that we now have to abandon any common sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Getting back to the original story -

How did this person get through the airport without a passport?
    Doesn't matter what nationality she is, to travel you need a passport.

How are the Gardai supposed to know that he is an Irish citizen? If the guy looks ethnically different, then surely it's reasonable to assume that he isn't from Ireland originally. Profiling? I think its called common sense. Say they took his word, and he wasn't a citizen, do you think he's going to show up a Garda station?

No I would be very unhappy to be detained for 3 hours. And I would carry ID the next time. Do we have to mitigate for every single scenario? The bottom line is that if he had a driving licence with him, as you are supposed to at all times in Ireland, there would have been no problem as any Garda would have accepted that as a proof of ID. Are we going to become so fearful of being seen as racist that we now have to abandon any common sense?

It doesnt say anywhere that he failed to produce a drivers licence.

If the guy looks ethnically different, then surely it's reasonable to assume that he isn't from Ireland originally. ?

No
    No I would be very unhappy to be detained for 3 hours. And I would carry ID the next time. Do we have to mitigate for every single scenario? The bottom line is that if he had a driving licence with him, as you are supposed to at all times in Ireland, there would have been no problem ?

My driving licence is in the post at the moment having some details updated. Do I have your permission to leave the house this week ?

It doesnt say anywhere that he failed to produce a drivers licence.

'Guo was arrested for failing to produce a valid passport or other equivalent documents.' A drivers licence would almost certainly be considered an equivalent document seeing as how you cant get one without passport or birth certificate.

if that was the case they would have charged him with not having licence with him in car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I know...I read that - Absolutely sickening.

The government are taking away our right each and every day. Unless we stand up against this, it will only continue. Privacy is a basic right. The Gardai have no business stopping you and asking for ID.

I fundamentally disagree. If you have done nothing wrong showing ID should not be a problem and you have nothing to fear. If anything it assists the Gardaí in their duties on the very, very rare occasion they need to see it.

I carry my Driving licence with my wallet even with not driving. It is ZERO incovenience. And if Gardaí stop me, what are they going to do, note down where I was and at what time if I have done nothing? Nope.

As said above as well, remember that you MUST have a driving licence with you in a car. Also, if you are stopped in a car for anything at all and Gardaí cannot establish who you are, they can and often will arrest you as otherwise you could just give a fake name. I'm of the opinion that this movement of people who object to everything the state/gardaí do - asking for your name, asking for ID, other general civil disobedience etc etc are hippies with no idea of how life works, no idea that crime exists, no respect for anyone but themselves and with their heads up their uneducated arses.

No

My driving licence is in the post at the moment having some details updated. Do I have your permission to leave the house this week ?

Hows is it unreasonable to assume that somebody who looks different in what is still a largely homogeneous society isn't from around here? Is that what racism is? I would think that is just common sense. If you were a Garda what would you have done? Just take his word?

My permission? Why would you need my permission? I would assume that if you get stopped for any reason the Gardai are going to want ID, like they ask EVERYONE for. So best bring some.

sdonn wrote: »
    I fundamentally disagree. If you have done nothing wrong showing ID should not be a problem and you have nothing to fear. If anything it assists the Gardaí in their duties on the very, very rare occasion they need to see it.

I carry my Driving licence with my wallet even with not driving. It is ZERO incovenience. And if Gardaí stop me, what are they going to do, note down where I was and at what time if I have done nothing? Nope.

As said above as well, remember that you MUST have a driving licence with you in a car. Also, if you are stopped in a car for anything at all and Gardaí cannot establish who you are, they can and often will arrest you as otherwise you could just give a fake name. I'm of the opinion that this movement of people who object to everything the state/gardaí do - asking for your name, asking for ID, other general civil disobedience etc etc are hippies with no idea of how life works, no idea that crime exists, no respect for anyone but themselves and with their heads up their uneducated arses.

Finally some common sense!!!

I'm of the opinion that this movement of people who object to everything the state/gardaí do - asking for your name, asking for ID, other general civil disobedience etc etc are hippies with no idea of how life works, no idea that crime exists, no respect for anyone but themselves and with their heads up their uneducated arses.

You completely discredited your entire post here.

If it is "how life works", then the definitive answer to that would need to be sought regarding, 'who has made life work like this'? And to an even greater extent, 'why is it increasing over the years?'.

if that was the case they would have charged him with not having licence with him in car.

Maybe they used their discretion and decided against it considering the ordeal they put him through. Or for all you know they did charge him. It doesn't say either way. But I would imagine that if he had a licence that he would have been fine. If they arrested him after providing a valid licence then you may have a point, it would be overzealous, but I really doubt thats the case.

You completely discredited your entire post here.

If it is "how life works", then the definitive answer to that would need to be sought regarding, 'who has made life work like this'? And to an even greater extent, 'why is it increasing over the years?'.

So rather than inconveniencing people by asking them to simply prove who they are, we are supposed to ask the Gardai to question the fundamentals of modern society? I don't think they would make great sociologists tbh.

Maybe they used their discretion and decided against it considering the ordeal they put him through. Or for all you know they did charge him. It doesn't say either way. But I would imagine that if he had a licence that he would have been fine. If they arrested him after providing a valid licence then you may have a point, it would be overzealous, but I really doubt thats the case.

The point is, we are not by law required to carry ID at all times - so by the Gardai stopping anyone (regardless of nationality) and asking them to produce in the street - if they have no ID, it is totally unacceptable to continue to hassle the guy. It's a nonsense situation.

The Gardai picked this guy out because he may have looked foreign and continued to hassle him because he had no ID (BUT HE WAS AN IRISH CITIZEN)....words fail me...

That Garda needs a kick-up the arse and told to cop on before he discriminates against somebody based on appearance again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Hows is it unreasonable to assume that somebody who looks different in what is still a largely homogeneous society isn't from around here? Is that what racism is? I would think that is just common sense. If you were a Garda what would you have done? Just take his word? .

Ireland is NOT a homogeneous society. Close to fifteen percent of the population were born outside of Ireland, and of that over 20% were born in Africa or Asia, meaning that they are most likely non-white. Not to mention the fact that there are many Irish citizens who were born in or raised in the US, and therefore have a 'foreign' accent even if they are ethnically Irish.

If Ireland were like most other European countries and issues national ID cards, this would all be a moot point. But the point of citizenship in a democracy is that everyone has the same rights under the law. Naturalized citizens cannot and should not be treated differently.

The point is, we are not by law required to carry ID at all times - so by the Gardai stopping anyone (regardless of nationality) and asking them to produce in the street - if they have no ID, it is totally unacceptable to continue to hassle the guy. It's a nonsense situation.

The Gardai picked this guy out because he may have looked foreign and continued to hassle him because he had no ID (BUT HE WAS AN IRISH CITIZEN)....words fail me...

That Garda needs a kick-up the arse and told to cop on before he discriminates against somebody based on appearance again.

But he didn't stop him in the street, he stopped him in his car. Where he is, by law, required to carry his driving licence at all times.

The reason for arrest may be inappropriate, but it is quite possible that said reason for arrest was not the actual reason the Garda chose to arrest him. See my above post and read it in detail.

Ireland is NOT a homogeneous society. Close to fifteen percent of the population were born outside of Ireland, and of that over 20% were born in Africa or Asia, meaning that they are most likely non-white. Not to mention the fact that there are many Irish citizens who were born in or raised in the US, and therefore have a 'foreign' accent even if they are ethnically Irish.

If Ireland were like most other European countries and issues national ID cards, this would all be a moot point. But the point of citizenship in a democracy is that everyone has the same rights under the law. Naturalized citizens cannot and should not be treated differently.

That Garda was most probably from the sticks and thought all Irish people were red-haired freckled dwarfs. :pac:

Just like the fella on the forum who presumed that all Gardaí were unintelligent country folk. ;)

Ninja edit? :D

Never! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

My sister was very nearly bundled into a car by two illegal immigrants a few years back at 2am. Only two unmarked special branch cars saved her.

So I've absolutely zero sympathy for any non-national who has to put up with the odd "put their hand in their pocket and show a card" maybe twice a year :rolleyes:

Ireland is riddled with crime, corruption, drugs and anti-social behaviour.
    Imagine if you had to swipe your card to get on the bus, and the bus had a record of everyone on the bus. Do you think that would cut down on a lot of anti-social behaviour on the nite-links ?

I'm absolutely PRO id cards, if it'll reduce crime in the future by enforcing that it is used across a wide range of services.

Well by that logic roughly 3% are non white? Thats still very homogeneous IMO! We'll know in a few weeks after the census, but that isn't the point. The point is that the Gardai needed to establish if he was a citizen. How are they supposed to that without ID? I would almost guarantee if this was a white American guy who was detained, which it could just as easily be, this wouldn't have been in the paper.

For crysakes how many times does it have to be pointed out :rolleyes:
    So I've absolutely zero sympathy for any non-national who has to put up with the odd "put their hand in their pocket and show a card" maybe twice a year :rolleyes:.

THE GUY WAS NOT A (to use that stupid phrase) "NON NATIONAL"

Have you tried actually reading the article FFS

They stopped him in his car. If they have no licence it is totally fair to 'continue hassling' them. It's their job to enforce regulations whether you like them or not. And enforcing regulations involves using common sense.

Well by that logic roughly 3% are non white? Thats still very homogeneous IMO! We'll know in a few weeks after the census, but that isn't the point. The point is that the Gardai needed to establish if he was a citizen. How are they supposed to that without ID?

THAT IS THE POINT. THERE IS NO NATIONAL ID FOR IRISH CITIZENS.
    I would almost guarantee if this was a white American guy who was detained, which it could just as easily be, this wouldn't have been in the paper.

Well, if he was an American - I.E. NOT AN IRISH CITIZEN - and he didn't have his passport on him, that is his fault. But the case in question involved a citizen.

Let me ask this though: if he has been stopped, and had an American accent but red hair and freckles, and said he was an Irish citizen, do you really think he would have been hauled into the police station to 'prove' that he was Irish?

THE GUY WAS NOT A (to use that stupid phrase) "NON NATIONAL"

Have you tried actually reading the article FFS

Yes, I read the article.

The original article in post one was about a West African Woman "Ms Dokie (40), who claims she is from Liberia".

So please enlighten me on this "guy" you are talking about ?
    Or are you talking about post 2 instead of the OP's post ?

But if we put our pedantic natures aside, I'm for EVERYONE in Ireland to carry an ID card.
    My last post mentioned nite-links, and I'm well aware that the vast majority of anti-social behaviour on nite-links is from Irish people.

You're derailing the point I was making.
    I'm all for ID cards for everyone in the country, for every service, bus, rail, airport, social welfare, medical etc, if it will curtail the crime ridden country we are faced, caused by the bleeding heart liberals.

They stopped him in his car. If they have no licence it is totally fair to 'continue hassling' them.

Where in the article does it state whether or not he had a licence or was asked to produce it ?
    I'm for EVERYONE in Ireland to carry an ID card.

What you are for or against is pretty much besides the point seeing as how Irish citizens are currently not required to carry passports in the course of their everyday business and are only required to carry driving licences when actually driving.

Yes, I read the article.

The original article in post one was about a West African Woman "Ms Dokie (40), who claims she is from Liberia".

So please enlighten me on this "guy" you are talking about ?
    Or are you talking about post 2 instead of the OP's post ?

But if we put our pedantic natures aside, I'm for EVERYONE in Ireland to carry an ID card.
    My last post mentioned nite-links, and I'm well aware that the vast majority of anti-social behaviour on nite-links is from Irish people.

You're derailing the point I was making.
    I'm all for ID cards for everyone in the country, for every service, bus, rail, airport, social welfare, medical etc, if it will curtail the crime ridden country we are faced, caused by the bleeding heart liberals.

The original article is a moot point; as may others have pointed out, the issue was under what statute a passport was required, not the issue of requiring a passport itself.

And since when were Fianna Fail 'bleeding heart liberals'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The problem here is the legislation. It did not allow for Gardaí to use reasonable suspicion to doubt a persons nationality. So anyone could claim to be Irish like the Chirish person in the article. The Garda was supposed to be all knowing as regards his immigration status.

Where in the article does it state whether or not he had a licence or was asked to produce it ?

What you are for or against is pretty much besides the point seeing as how Irish citizens are currently not required to carry passports in the course of their everyday business and are only required to carry driving licences when actually driving.

He was driving!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

'Guo was arrested for failing to produce a valid passport or other equivalent documents.'

A valid document would surely have included his driving licence would it not?

'Guo was arrested for failing to produce a valid passport or other equivalent documents.'

Id say they didnt accept it and insisted on passport. otherwise he would have been charged with not having it with him, since they were so determined to get him on something.

This isn't the 1960's where everyone knows everyone living on their street.
    The expanded population calls for extra powers to the State for law enforcement.

When the criminal gangs killed Veronica Guerin, we set up the CAB.
    With the massive welfare fraud, illegal immigrants and anti-social behaviour we need the ID card system.
    The original article is a moot point; as may others have pointed out, the issue was under what statute a passport was required, not the issue of requiring a passport itself.

And since when were Fianna Fail 'bleeding heart liberals'?

A national ID card is not a passport.
    It will not be recognised across other borders.

I was reading a book on philosophy recently.
    It said that democracy is a poor system, that panders to popular self interests.
    The best government is one that rises above popular opinion for the best long term interests of everyone.
    I believe that ID cards will cut down on fraud, anti-social behaviour on public transport, illegal immigrants and welfare fraud.

No, if non-citizens can obtain a drivers license. "Passport or equivalent document" refers to documents that can prove citizenship.
    This isn't the 1960's where everyone knows everyone living on their street.
    The expanded population calls for extra powers to the State for law enforcement.

When the criminal gangs killed Veronica Guerin, we set up the CAB.
    With the massive welfare fraud, illegal immigrants and anti-social behaviour we need the ID card system.

It will not be recognised across other borders.

I was reading a book on philosophy recently.
    It said that democracy is a poor system, that panders to popular self interests.
    The best government is one that rises above popular opinion for the best long term interests of everyone.
    I believe that ID cards will cut down on fraud, anti-social behaviour on public transport, illegal immigrants and welfare fraud.

I am not opposed to national id cards in theory. But Ireland currently does not have one. So under current Irish law, it makes no sense for the police to ask someone for proof of Irish citizenship because Irish citizens are not required to carry documentation proving this.

It will not be recognised across other borders..

It would be pretty crap then.

While I disagree with you on the whole ID card thing if we were to go down that route it would make sense to have one credit sized ID card serving as ID card, Passport, Driving licence and PPS/National insurance card conforming to a standard format recognisable throughout Europe (and preferably beyond)

It is the 21st century after all.

So under current Irish law, it makes no sense for the police to ask someone for proof of Irish citizenship because Irish citizens are not required to carry documentation proving this.

And there's a difference between stopping someone with a strong Irish accent who has no licence with them, and stopping someone with a foreign accent.

There's far too many unlicensed and uninsured foreign nationals on the road, and it's the guards who have to pick up the body parts and inform the next of kin.

There was an episode of the Irish show "customs," who caught a Polish motor cyclist outside my estate, uninsured.

So I'm absolutely all for increased motor checkpoints, and anti-immigration teams raiding foreign restaurants as seen on British TV.

Ireland is a soft touch, and needs to toughen up, especially in country collapsing recession.

And there's a difference between stopping someone with a strong Irish accent who has no licence with them, and stopping someone with a foreign accent..

The difference being ?

Surely both are liable to find themselves arrested ?

Whatever the case is about his licence, the point is pretty simple. Asking someone who looks and more than likely sounds ethnically different to prove he is a citizen isn't an unreasonable request. When you're talking about enforcing immigration law, which is a Garda's job, when someone is obviously foreign, be it accent, skin colour, whatever, it's common sense to be allowed to ask their immigration status. To suggest it's racist or whatever else is ridiculous.

And there's a difference between stopping someone with a strong Irish accent who has no licence with them, and stopping someone with a foreign accent.

There's far too many unlicensed and uninsured foreign nationals on the road, and it's the guards who have to pick up the body parts and inform the next of kin.

There was an episode of the Irish show "customs," who caught a Polish motor cyclist outside my estate, uninsured.

So I'm absolutely all for increased motor checkpoints, and anti-immigration teams raiding foreign restaurants as seen on British TV.

Ireland is a soft touch, and needs to toughen up, especially in country collapsing recession.

Again, there is no evidence to suggest that he was driving without a licence. Its the TAKING HIM INTO CUSTODY we have a problem with, its not his fault that irish citizens arent required to carry a national ID card or Passport

Asking someone who looks and more than likely sounds ethnically different to prove he is a citizen isn't an unreasonable request. .

It doesnt matter how many times you repeat yourself youre still wrong.

Again, there is no evidence to suggest that he was driving without a licence. Its the TAKING HIM INTO CUSTODY we have a problem with, its not his fault that irish citizens arent required to carry a national ID card or Passport

How are the gardai supposed to enforce immigration law at all if they cant even ask where the person is from? Do we take everyones word? Leaving aside legislation, he surely has responsibilities, like us all, as a citizen? Like the responsibility to assist the Gardai? There is no legislation requiring you to assist the Gardai but it's a responsibility as a a citizen.

Yes it is

Then you tell me how exactly you would enforce immigration laws? Laws that are beyond the control of the Gardai and are made by the government you elected.

How are the gardai supposed to enforce immigration law at all if they cant even ask where the person is from? Do we take everyones word? Leaving aside legislation, he surely has responsibilities, like us all, as a citizen? Like the responsibility to assist the Gardai? There is no legislation requiring you to assist the Gardai but it's a responsibility as a a citizen.

so bring him to his house to get passport at worst, instead of arresting him, presuming him guilty, and forcing him to lose 3 hours, and his wife to lose her time too to bring his documentation.

Again, there is no evidence to suggest that he was driving without a licence.

There's also no evidence to suggest he had a licence.

Gardai are getting frustrated with non-nationals giving false names & addresses, or going to addresses and being told "X doesn't live here any more".

If he was a badly driving takeaway delivery guy, he could've caught the attention of the guards.

The Gardai NEED the power to identify someone, just in the same way that banks needs to identify someone before opening a bank account for money laundering purposes.

Yes, maybe the guy shouldn't have been detained, but how can you not detain someone without identification ?

If someone has diplomatic immunity, you can't let them go because they "claim" to have diplomatic immunity. You must detain them and establish their identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Thing is, up until this ruling, all non Irish, non EU nationals were required by law to have their INIS card on them at all times or face immediate arrest. So this fake names/addresses issue is bogus as they would simply have been detained without it. Not even a passport would of helped. INIS card only.

so bring him to his house to get passport at worst, instead of arresting him, presuming him guilty, and forcing him to lose 3 hours, and his wife to lose her time too to bring his documentation.

They didn't assume him guilty! And they didn't assume him innocent either, they erred on the side of caution and detained him. I totally agree that bringing him home and getting the passport would be the way to do it, but maybe theres a reason they couldn't do that? Protocol maybe? I'd be totally against arresting the guy or making him embarrassed in any way but Gardai have a job to do and he should know that and be responsible and carry some ID. Like we all should. It's common sense really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Mena wrote: »
    Thing is, up until this ruling, all non Irish, non EU nationals were required by law to have their INIS card on them at all times or face immediate arrest. So this fake names/addresses issue is bogus as they would simply have been detained without it. Not even a passport would of helped. INIS card only.

You mean their GNIB card? You're missing the point. All they would have to say is they didn't need a card because they are a citizen and the Garda would have to take their word for it.