Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Places You've Never Been To...

• 26-03-2011 10:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

As a Dubliner!

I haven't set foot in The George, Copper Faced Jacks or St James's Gate yet. I am sure there are plenty more institutions I haven't tried but can't think of at the moment. I know people say you're not missing much, but I still feel I must grace their doorways at some stage or another. Anyone have any places they feel they should visit as a Dub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Lahm

Clery's
    Bewley's
    Eason
    Shelbourne Hotel
    Gresham Hotel
    Connolly Station
    One of them Polish shops on Talbot Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i never been to clonsilla, mulhuddart and that general direction of the city. i was only in finglas for the first time last stephens day
    ive been in most bars in the city but hate the majority of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me :p

Seriously, nice idea for a thread.

I've never taken an open top tour bus tour of the city, I hear they're amazing - and probably an idea for a DFC beers!.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Never been in Noctors!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I've never set foot inside Croke Park, The Gaiety or Mountjoy Prison :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

St James Gate
    Gresham hotel
    St Patricks Cathedral

:o

:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Most every time I visit a city I do the open top bus tour, never did it in Dublin.

My one and only time queing for Copper Face Jacks I was stopped at the door. And I had a GAA jersey :pac:
    So I don't know what I'm missing, never been inside

I used to go to plays a lot in Galway. Have never been to the Abbey/Gaiety, etc in Dublin and I think I'd enjoy myself there if I went

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

+1 for the Dublin tour bus. Was only thinking about this recently with the better half!

Also Guinness Store House.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭hamstercrusher

Ive been on the opent top tour bus, Its actually quite interesting, just make sure you dont get the one thats a multi language one with the earphones rather than the live commentary as its liek its talking to primary school kids and if you live in dublin its a bit wtf?! but we got off I think in the park and got one of the live commentary ones back and thats much much better.

Have also done the Ghost Bus and while its expensive its really great fun the tour guide was really good had me jumpy as hell by the end of it though as he kept creeping up on people with a mask on :D. Also at the end of it the he asked for a volunteer to unlock the gates of the city and OH jumped at the chance she was quite chuffed with herself :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

In all my 36 years of living in Dublin I have never set foot in the Botanic Gardens in Glasnevin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

The Shelbourne, I've past by thousands of times but never actually had any reason to go inside.

Never been to the Savoy either come to think of it, got as far as outside and realised I didn't actually have the time to sit through 2 and a half hours of some ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Brown Thomas

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Jameson distillery
    Botanic Gardens
    Merrion Square (Park)
    Christ Church Cathederal

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Never been inside:
    Christchurch
    Coppers, D2, The Palace, Flannery's (and that's GRAND with me!)
    The Shelbourne. Would love to go in for a drink, get all dressed up nice :)
    Dublin Castle
    Gallery of Photography, Temple Bar

I recently visited the Snail/Secret bar on Fade Street. It was deadly inside, so big! It was a quiet night, but I'd say the smoking garden is jammed on a nice day. Also went to Dice Bar for the first time, it was awesome. Music is VERY loud, but it's good. And they do draught Red Stripe :D

The Lighthouse Cinema, Smithfield is in uncertain times right now, so I recommend anyone who's never been to take in a film. It's such an amazing space in it self, as well as comfy seats! Also, they do bottles of minerals, not the big watery buckets. It's the little things! Lighthouse.

Wold be a great idea for a beers, the open top bus. And then some pints in the best pubs in Dublin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

ive nver been in the northside :) well i have like a few times because some of my cousins are northsiders and went to the ireland italy match in cro park

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭diddlybit

WindSock wrote: »
    As a Dubliner!

I haven't set foot in The George, Copper Faced Jacks or St James's Gate yet.

That's an interesting mix of places, but then I always do feel that going to the George is the gay equivalent of Coppers. :)

Feel ashamed that I still have made it to Christchurch and also want to visit the remains of St. Valentine.

The Bram Stoker musuem is also on the list, and I think a bunch of us are going to reclaim our childhoods soon and take a trip to the zoo.

Now that I'm in the area, I want to visit the graves of the leaders of the 1916 rising, as it's just around the corner.

Best place in Dublin to visit: The Dead Zoo, without a doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

partyndbs wrote: »
    ive nver been in the northside :) well i have like a few times because some of my cousins are northsiders and went to the ireland italy match in cro park

So you have been to the northside? Sound's a tad trollish.

Are you seriously saying you've never been to the Phoenix Park, the Zoo, O'Connell Street, Henry Street, Collins Barracks, The Point/O2, the Airport, Busaras, Howth, Sutton, Malahide, Chapter 1 etc. etc.... yeah right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

You dont need to get dressed up all nice to go into the Shelbourne. Just walk in, head to the bar and order a pint of Guinness like you would anywhere else.

CiaranC wrote: »
    You dont need to get dressed up all nice to go into the Shelbourne. Just walk in, head to the bar and order a pint of Guinness like you would anywhere else.

That's what I do everywhere else! I think I'd make an occasion out of it :) I never go to nice bars, so if I was to go to one, I'd like to look nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Never been to the Zoo (For shame I know!), so think I might take a trip during the Summer!

Also never been to Dun Laoghaire (again for shame!) and to walk the pier is on my hitlist.

Pubs wise, O Neills, Murrays, and Bruxelles are three I've never darkened the door of. Some day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Never been to the Gravediggers... it's close to me, and hear they do a fantastic Guinness!

Also, @ diddlybit: What's the dead zoo?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Never been to the Gravediggers... it's close to me, and hear they do a fantastic Guinness!

Also, @ diddlybit: What's the dead zoo?
    Natural history museum. Great place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Natural history museum. Great place.

Oh right. I've been there. Never heard of it referred to as that before though!

I went to the Long Hall for the first time tonight! It was lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Never been to:

Chester Beatty Library
    Hugh Lane Gallery
    Any of the islands
    Been on the Viking splash tour or an open bus tour
    Never been to some of the seaside villages in upper North Dublin (Skerries, Balbriggan, Rush)

Have been to:
    The Zoo
    Every other library/museum/gallery that I can think of
    Every (major) park
    Every town/village that's worth something
    Lots of historical sights of significance
    The mountains
    Kilmainham
    Every theatre I can think of
    Every major cinema except the new one, the Lighthouse
    Farmleigh House
    Dublin Castle
    Government Buildings
    Botanical Gardens

Would like to also do:
    Steam train ride from Pearse station I once saw going by, though I never cheacked up about it.
    Visit of the Áras.
    Tour of the underground/hidden passageways and rivers (inspired by a Roddy Doyle book - A Star Called Henry)

Hmm, any other good'uns?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

enda1 wrote: »
    Never been to:

Chester Beatty Library

Would like to also do:
    Steam train ride from Pearse station I once saw going by, though I never cheacked up about it.

Hmm, any other good'uns?

Get yourself into The Chester Beatty . It's a fascinating museum. Great rainy day place and they have agreat cafe too!
    here's some info on next years steam train outings!
    http://www.rpsi-online.org/events/

As I'm a culchie ( living in Dub for over 12 years)I have visited most places in Dublin....even the flats in ballymun ;)
    I have never visited the military cemetery at Arbour Hill even though it's not far from where i live!
    The National Print Museum in Begger's Bush!
    Casino in Marino.
    James Joyce Tower.
    Jewish Museum
    Dublin Castle
    I've also never been inside Lansdown Rd Stadium (Aviva).
    The Rotunda! :D

Must pencil in a few of these places with the Summer coming up!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Must check out many of the places I haven't been.

The Botanics are great, they were amazing in the snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I remember years ago as a kid we'd be passing the Black Church and the old rumour of walking around it 3 times saying the Hail Mary and you'd see the Devil, in my shy childhood, I became terrified of the building, often being afraid to look at it in case the Devil was hanging out around the back of it on the day but it's one of those buildings now that I'd love to get a look inside!

St._Marys_Chapel_of_Ease%2C_Dublin.JPG

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Marys_Chapel_of_Ease,_Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

i never been to clonsilla, mulhuddart and that general direction of the city. i was only in finglas for the first time last stephens day
    ive been in most bars in the city but hate the majority of them

Southsider :rolleyes:

I haven't been in much of the suburban Southside of Dublin.

I've not been in St. Patrick's Cathedral nor Dublin Castle (interior).

I've not been in Mount Jerome Cemetery.

Northsider :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Southsider :rolleyes:

I haven't been in much of the suburban Southside of Dublin.

I've not been in St. Patrick's Cathedral nor Dublin Castle (interior).

I've not been in Mount Jerome Cemetery.

Northsider :rolleyes:

im from raheny