Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Places You've Never Been To...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

There's nothing special out in Mulhuddart, there's Our Lady's Well and a really old graveyard... but the rest is just houses and industrial estates.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Twee. wrote: »
    That's what I do everywhere else! I think I'd make an occasion out of it :) I never go to nice bars, so if I was to go to one, I'd like to look nice!

TBH, its the bar is nothing special, just the same as any other hotel bar - lifeless

anyhoo

i have never been inside St. Patrick's Catheral

Collins Barracks
    Coopers
    Jamesons Distillery
    aras an uachtarain
    the victorian pub in phibsboro - The Hut i think its called
    The Gravediggers

i am sure there are loads more but getting loads of great ideas here.

Me and the boy kinda act like tourists in dublin - we like wandering around going to touristy things.

we usual make a list of new places to go during the summer and spend the weekends going to different places.

the liffey cruises is next on our list, just waiting for weather to get a bit warmer.

also we are going to do a 2 hour guided tour of howth

Sundew wrote: »
    Casino in Marino.

Make this a priority - it is flipping amazing, i think it is the best guided tour of house i have done.

the place is fascinating.

You also reminded me we have to go the jewish museum this summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

irishbird wrote: »
    i have never been inside St. Patrick's Catheral

Collins Barracks
    Coopers
    Jamesons Distillery
    aras an uachtarain
    the victorian pub in phibsboro - The Hut i think its called
    The Gravediggers

Oddly enough I don't think I've ever been to St. Patrick's either. I've walked around the grounds a fair bit but every time I tried to go inside it seemed to be closed.

Coppers, wouldn't bother to be honest.

Never been Jamesons either...

Are you able to get into Aras an Uachtaran? I never knew :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Also never been to Dun Laoghaire (again for shame!) and to walk the pier is on my hitlist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Lahm

Are you able to get into Aras an Uachtaran? I never knew :eek:

http://www.president.ie/index.php?section=4&lang=eng

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

im from raheny

Southside's a state of mind. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

WindSock wrote: »
    As a Dubliner!

I haven't set foot in The George, Copper Faced Jacks or St James's Gate yet. I am sure there are plenty more institutions I haven't tried but can't think of at the moment. I know people say you're not missing much, but I still feel I must grace their doorways at some stage or another. Anyone have any places they feel they should visit as a Dub?
    the george is a good spot it's not only gay people that drink there you should try kilmainham gaol too if tou havent been yet they have guided tours everyday and it's steeped in history..

Lahm wrote: »
    Clery's
    Bewley's
    Eason
    Shelbourne Hotel
    Gresham Hotel
    Connolly Station
    One of them Polish shops on Talbot Street.
    do ya live in Dublin:D:D:D

Twee. wrote: »
    That's what I do everywhere else! I think I'd make an occasion out of it :) I never go to nice bars, so if I was to go to one, I'd like to look nice!
    sure why not if you want to make an occasion of it and dress up nice go for it it's a nice spot tooo id say you will like it enjoy...

Never been to the Zoo (For shame I know!), so think I might take a trip during the Summer!

Also never been to Dun Laoghaire (again for shame!) and to walk the pier is on my hitlist.

Pubs wise, O Neills, Murrays, and Bruxelles are three I've never darkened the door of. Some day!
    ya should try them all you'd love it and a walk in dun laoghaire on a sunny summer's day is just great :)

Never been to the Zoo (For shame I know!), so think I might take a trip during the Summer!

Pubs wise, O Neills, Murrays, and Bruxelles are three I've never darkened the door of. Some day!
    never say some day {carpe diam} for tomorrow is promised to noone:):)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

iveagh gardens, hear theyre bit of a hidden gem!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

Make this a priority - it is flipping amazing, i think it is the best guided tour of house i have done.

the place is fascinating.

You also reminded me we have to go the jewish museum this summer

The Casino is high on my list now!
    get yourself down to st patrick's. Very interesting cathedral!

A few more spots which I have yets to see are.
    *Marsh's Library
    *The Shaw Birthplace on Synge St
    *St Audeon's

I would remind folks who would like an opportunity to visit some of Dublin's Buildings that that the Open House Event which takes place in October is absoutely brilliant. there are free guided tours of loads of places like Goverment Buildings/Inchicore Railway Works and The Central bank.
    Yiz should all pencil t in for next October but make sure to book your free spot before hand as crowds usually turn out for it. It's avery popular event.
    http://www.architecturefoundation.ie/openhouse/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Lahm

do ya live in Dublin:D:D:D

Eh yeah, why not?

You're not a true dubliner if you haven't walked out to the end of the south bull wall or walked to the top of 3 rock. I'm not a dubliner btw! But 2 things that are worth doing

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Ah 3 Rock, haven't been there since I was a child. Always had great times up there.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    You're not a true dubliner if you haven't walked out to the end of the south bull wall or walked to the top of 3 rock. I'm not a dubliner btw! But 2 things that are worth doing

i really want to do the walk to the end of south bull wall but is going to sound really strange - i have no i idea how to get there :o:o

i have seen photos etc. (not originally from Dublin)

i really want to do the walk to the end of south bull wall but is going to sound really strange - i have no i idea how to get there :o:o

If you have a car it's easy. Coming from the north side, go over the east link toll bridge, head straight through the roundabout and take your first left. The road goes right around to the south bull wall. A bus goes there too, think it's route number 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Sundew wrote: »
    The Casino is high on my list now!
    [/URL]

I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Collins Barracks is still on my list.
    Think I've been pretty much everywhere else, being a dub who's now lived on both sides of the river :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ah you may as well say you are:p

• Registered Users Posts: 11,353 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I've been to paradise, but I've never been to me :p

Seriously, nice idea for a thread.

I've never taken an open top tour bus tour of the city, I hear they're amazing - and probably an idea for a DFC beers!.

I took a foreign girl on a first date on one of those many years ago. Had always fancied it. All was going well until the heavens opened and the tour guide made a joke about northside men :)

Worth a couple of euro though.

For me, I've never been to Kilmainham Gaol. Stayed in hotel opposite once and planned to go in but couldn;t be bothered with queue and said I'd come back another day.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Shegull

Collie D wrote: »
    I took a foreign girl on a first date on one of those many years ago. Had always fancied it. All was going well until the heavens opened and the tour guide made a joke about northside men :)

Worth a couple of euro though.

For me, I've never been to Kilmainham Gaol. Stayed in hotel opposite once and planned to go in but couldn;t be bothered with queue and said I'd come back another day.

I went to Kilmainham today for the second time only. I also did some of the Collins Barracks Museum but got tired so will probably go back another day to do it all.

Went to the Glasnevin Cemetery Museum yesterday and walked the whole way around the cemetery. Pretty amazing place.

Arbour Hill, Christchurch, Patricks Cathedral all on list

Shegull wrote: »
    I went to Kilmainham today for the second time only. I also did some of the Collins Barracks Museum but got tired so will probably go back another day to do it all.

Went to the Glasnevin Cemetery Museum yesterday and walked the whole way around the cemetery. Pretty amazing place.

Arbour Hill, Christchurch, Patricks Cathedral all on list

Has the Angels Plot in Glasnevin started renovations yet?

I didn't get a chance to check because it started raining and we had to run for cover. The old angels plot looks lovely and very well kept. I will be going back again over the next couple of weeks to check over another grave and will have a look for you. Sorry for asking but what exactly was getting done. I hadn't been up there for a long time before yesterday. They seem to be doing a lot of work all over. Lots of the real old broken headstones have been restored and tidied up.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Need to visit Kilmainham Gaol/Hospital, Dublin Castle and Grand Canal Theatre soon enough!

Oh and I saw the flooszie in the jacuzzi in her new home too. Looks a bit strange though. She needs to have something behind her to lean on. She looks like she is trying to pull herself up out of the water into a sitting position.

Shegull wrote: »
    I didn't get a chance to check because it started raining and we had to run for cover. The old angels plot looks lovely and very well kept. I will be going back again over the next couple of weeks to check over another grave and will have a look for you. Sorry for asking but what exactly was getting done. I hadn't been up there for a long time before yesterday. They seem to be doing a lot of work all over. Lots of the real old broken headstones have been restored and tidied up.

They were supposed to be removing all the keepsakes and stuff that the parents had left there and landscaping a garden over it...
    http://www.alittlelifetime.ie/angels-memory-garden-glasnevin-mainmenu-36

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Eleonore

would love to see the view of the city from the top of Boland's mill. Strawberry beds, Howth and Bray head and Dalkey Quarry are also great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

Eleonore wrote: »
    would love to see the view of the city from the top of Boland's mill.

To be honest I doubt Boland's Mill will ever be renovated in the near to medium future. I'd say it'll be close to 15-20 years before anything happens to the site, if at all.