Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Weirdest house/flat mate you ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

Not as bad as the rest of these, but in first year I was due to move into my first house. Got there with my parents and rang the doorbell several times, no answer. We stay there for about 2 hours and are just about to give up when a very sleepy sloppy looking girl lets us in. I get chatting to her later, she seems a bit weird but OK. Later I'm opening presses to stock up food, they're full of empty beer and vodka bottles, turns out she's a complete alcoholic and gets drunk most nights but still manages to hold down a job, however she put plates with food still on them back in the press to be used again! Her boyfriend would come on the weekends and take over the whole table with his big stupid paper so I used to have to use a tiny corner of it to eat breakfast off! Then the other housemate who had been away for a while came back, she wasn't too bad, the alcho moved out and another girl moved in (the only normal one may I add.) The housemate who'd been away was OK as I've said but kind of boring and in her mid 30s so I didn't have much to talk to her about. I'd spend a lot of time in my room because she always took over the TV watching reality shows. The other housemate told me the 30's one was bitching about me saying I'm so unsociable and should make more of an effort even though I chatted to her every time I saw her, I really don't know why she was bothered trying to socialise with an 18 year old student

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I lived with a Chinese lad (at least I think he was). Lived in his room, never interacted with us. Kept a half hundred weight bag of rice under the sink. Wanked loudly and frequently. Apart from that he was fine to live with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭chuckliddell

i used to live with a crazy Croation dude, he was seriously f**ked up from the war, used to sleep with a Rambo style knife under his pillow and lights on! other than that he used to play at full volume some sort of cross between hardcore rave and croation country and western singin..... but the worst was yet to come.......

he bought a puppie for his latvian GF (who he uesd to beat the s**te out of) for her bDay/valentines i dunno! anyways she came to the house one day while he was at work and handed me the dog saying she didnt want it, fair enough he can just return it to where he got it right? he comes home i tell him shes been here doesn't want the dog your gonna have to return it the next day because we're not keeping any pets in house,then the other housemates gf rings and says she'll take the dog, with that i leave house and come back about 3/4 hours later......no dog, crazy croat says the other girl came and collected it, he was stirring this big pot at the time making some of his "goulash" asks me do i want a bit, i say know (thank F**k) forgot to mention he drank a litre of vodka and about 10 cans of amstel every day, couple hours later he bursts into the sitting room hammered drunk in tears saying he killed the puppy skined it cooked it and ate it, b*****ks i said to which he goes to the wheelie bin, takes out a black plastic bag and emptys it out on the back patio, it was horrific, the dogs skin and bones and intestines......... he says he put a plastic bag over its head and snapped its neck because he couldnt look at its face as he killed it......how considerate

he once met a hen night that were travellers and invited them back to the house for a party, was some craic when they're men turned up looking for them.....

needless to say i moved out fairly rapidly after the dog incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Guy has mental health issues and could do with help.
    <3 Alf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

That sounds like some bona-fide genuine eurotrash chuck ..

avoid all symptoms described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Guy owes falls and hard times owes 12k and you laugh at him? I know its not your problem but a bit of decency wouldnt go astray!

Decency? Decency goes straight out the window when someone starts stealing in my opinion.

First year in college lived with a group of girls who were quite tough to live with. Lots of weird moments in the house. But a memorable one is one night got back from the cinema with my boyfriend, and walked into my apartment into the sitting room area, and there was a guy completely naked sitting with them watching tv. I was shell shocked, and they all smiled at me, asked how I was and he asked me if I had been at a new nightclub opening the same week. That was one of the milder moments, :p I and my other housemate moved out by christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I have a house mate who stays in his room all the time. He eats all his meals in his room, and only comes out to go to the toilet or cook something. Even when he's cooking something he won't stay near the kitchen but go in and out of his room to check on his food.

I've been there for almost nine months and I've only had two conversations with him and they were about him trolling the internet, which I have no interest in but I think this is all he does. He won't say a word to me even if I say hello, it's gotten to the stage where we haven't said anything to each other in almost nine months.

Could be a lot worse though

Sounds ideal tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

I once had this flat mate who had this obsession with collecting dried up fruit, he also wrongfully accused me of sleeping with his ex and killing his pet goldfish, bit of a nutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

blackdog2 wrote: »
    God this thread really woke up auld fagan, have to have an allied Irish before going to work now!

Hahahaha

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

No, no I cant.......

I was coming on here to post an awesome story about a spunk-bucket of a housemate who used to shag EVERYONE. 3 of my mates at the same time in a pub toilet once. And literally any lad who called to the house for a few cans..... but after reading that OP story I just couldn;t do it any justice.

You consider yourself friends with 3 guys who'd have sex with an inebriated woman in a pub toilet, all at the same time?

You sound like one hell of a decent guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

I shared an apt with a guy who used to bring his scummy friends back for these crazy house partys that usually climaxed with A- The place being thrashed(literally) B- A huge fight,and even with knives involved C- The cops being called, which was most nights, mostly by myself. he used always rob food and alcohol that i owned from the fridge and I arrived home one day to find the TV taken from my room and gone and into his. BTW he was just borrowing it for the weekend cos his girlfriend was over and they wanted to watch movies in his room bla bla. 3 weeks later i had to sneak into his room to take it back. He never did any wash up or cleaned and after 3 months the place was like a rubbish tip so I just gave up and moved out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭mauzo

I stayed with some friends down in wexford, for 2 weeks during the summer.
    My boyfriend decides to bring a guy he works with and his girlfriend. The guy kept touching me. It started off with him squeezing my shoulders, then he'd start massaging me.
    Sitting down for dinner one night, he asked me what colour underwear was I wearing, does it match, is it lacy etc.....
    All the while his girlfriend is just smiling at me like its normal!!

I went mad at my boyfriend. Bringing a freak like that down. Turns out hes actually really normal, but the drugs he was taking made him weird. :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭carefulnow100

syndeyfife wrote: »
    I stayed with some friends down in wexford, for 2 weeks during the summer.
    My boyfriend decides to bring a guy he works with and his girlfriend. The guy kept touching me. It started off with him squeezing my shoulders, then he'd start massaging me.
    Sitting down for dinner one night, he asked me what colour underwear was I wearing, does it match, is it lacy etc.....
    All the while his girlfriend is just smiling at me like its normal!!

I went mad at my boyfriend. Bringing a freak like that down. Turns out hes actually really normal, but the drugs he was taking made him weird. :O

And?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

i am dissapointed someone hasnt told a story about me on this thread...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

You consider yourself friends with 3 guys who'd have sex with an inebriated woman in a pub toilet, all at the same time?

In fairness he didn't say it was a woman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

jayteecork wrote: »

And why not ? If the slut is up for it they are heroes ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭Fupping Grasshole

....no one has mentioned me so far.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭supernova84

I was under pressure from my landlord to find a replacement for lad who left. So I arranged to meet this new guy at lunch as I only worked a few minutes from the flat. He was an English guy mid to late 30's, had no job and talked an awful lot of crap about work experience he had. I was in a hurry back to work, so after asking if he had a deposit which he had I offered him the room. He had 3 big black bin bags with him, must have got a taxi from his previous place. I gave him his key and left him unpack. Came back from work later and no sign of him but he had all his stuff in room so everything looked ok. Went to bed anyway later and I was awoken at 2am by the lovely sound of the hoover. The little bollix was only back from wherever he was all day and decided to clean out his new room. I didn't want to say anything on his first day but by god he did some strange things after. He never got a job despite saying he had interviews and whatnot but believe me this lad was as close to unemployable as you get. He was claiming all his allowances, heat, rent even disability. He had some limp after a car hit him when he younger he told us. In short some other things he would do; sit in front of tv all day, record programes until the memory was full so basically nobody else could record anything, play weird jungle music in his room from, drop a log in the toilet and not flush, he left the heat switch for the shower on all over the Christmas once and claimed when we got the bill for over 400 euro the next month it wasn't him despite everyone else going home for the Christmas, we had one of those heaters that you plug in the living room and i remember approaching the living room door one Saturday morning and could feel the heat, so I opened the door to find the lad crouched like a baby fast asleep on the floor by the heater which was on full blast, he had a black eye once and said he slipped on ice but I know full well someone tried to knock him out. Anyway, theres plenty more I may have left out but it's a few years ago now. There really are some nutjobs out there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭N64

I was under pressure from my landlord to find a replacement for lad who left. So I arranged to meet this new guy at lunch as I only worked a few minutes from the flat. He was an English guy mid to late 30's, had no job and talked an awful lot of crap about work experience he had. I was in a hurry back to work, so after asking if he had a deposit which he had I offered him the room. He had 3 big black bin bags with him, must have got a taxi from his previous place. I gave him his key and left him unpack. Came back from work later and no sign of him but he had all his stuff in room so everything looked ok. Went to bed anyway later and I was awoken at 2am by the lovely sound of the hoover. The little bollix was only back from wherever he was all day and decided to clean out his new room. I didn't want to say anything on his first day but by god he did some strange things after. He never got a job despite saying he had interviews and whatnot but believe me this lad was as close to unemployable as you get. He was claiming all his allowances, heat, rent even disability. He had some limp after a car hit him when he younger he told us. In short some other things he would do; sit in front of tv all day, record programes until the memory was full so basically nobody else could record anything, play weird jungle music in his room from, drop a log in the toilet and not flush, he left the heat switch for the shower on all over the Christmas once and claimed when we got the bill for over 400 euro the next month it wasn't him despite everyone else going home for the Christmas, we had one of those heaters that you plug in the living room and i remember approaching the living room door one Saturday morning and could feel the heat, so I opened the door to find the lad crouched like a baby fast asleep on the floor by the heater which was on full blast, he had a black eye once and said he slipped on ice but I know full well someone tried to knock him out. Anyway, theres plenty more I may have left out but it's a few years ago now. There really are some nutjobs out there though.

Could you please format this properly please? its hard to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

anxiously read the whole thread to ensure there was no stories about me

relief !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

got a knock on the door one Sat morning about 11o'clock. Housemate answered it on her way out - i was in the kitchen. So went into the living room a few mins later. a guy was sitting on my armchair watching a Video, (yes a while ago) (which he'd brought with him) with the curtains closed.

Hi, say i. he grunts hello.

i wait. he says nothing for a moment, then gets up reaches for a bag besidee him, takes out a pizza (this is all true) heads into the kitchen. I follow. He switches on the oven, ovens the pizza box, wiats for a min, pops in the pizza, heads back to the livingroom.

now, this is 11 in the morn, sat morn.

I follow him back into the living room. he's pulled a large bottle of coke out of the bag, drinking it. 'hi,' i says again. he doesn't respond. I glare at him for 20 seconds. he finally looks at me.

'so, who are you then?' i say

'friend of XXXXXx' he grunts.

Ah, says I. I go upstairs to XXXXXX room, knock her door, tell her the story. in fairness she got rid of him sharpish, later sayin she'd only met him a few weeks earlier at the start of college.

sounds like nothing, but it was utterly mad. ps, the girl who let him in, didnt realise he had entered the hse, she assumed he'd wait at the door or something. and he'd no interest at all in talking to XXXXX.

• Registered Users Posts: 222 ✭✭orlyice

Lived with a very strange girl in college, she was alright but a little odd, kept to herself and had a lot of gentlemen callers she met on the internet.

She did have one male "friend" who used to be around a lot, he was a creep, used to come to the house high! they used to do stuff on the couch, have sexy time, while we were all in the house. the stairs was in the living room so on more than one occasion I was going across the landing to the loo only to see stuff that made me want to scratch my eyes out. My other house mate was going downstairs one night when she suddenly realised what was going on, he spotted her and winked at her and beckoned her to join them!! she ran!

he also ate all our food and drank every bit of alcohol we had. we sat her down and told her we didnt want him in the house anymore, she cried and told us she loved him (how could anyone love someone so vile we asked ourselves). so we told her no more sexy time in the living room and he cant touch our food/drink, or else he cant come into the house.

so a few days later he is there again, next morning we get up and there, in the middle of the bathroom floor is a big poo!!! nearly got sick!! confronted both of them, he claims he didnt do it (yea right). we made his "girlfriend" clean it up!! He also ate all the ham out of the fridge and then told my nice housemate that he had seen me eating it, and I am a veggie!! So we told him to leave and never come back, he then told yer one he was seeing that it was all over and she should probably get herself tested for STIs!

So he was never in the house again and a few months later we were out in town and saw him pull a knife on some guy only to be wrestled to the ground by a couple of guards. Major scumbag.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

In fairness he didnt say she was inebriated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

What?!?

The girl was clearly up for it. (You made up the bit about her being inebriated.) The guys were clearly up for it.

That fact aside, the poster didn't even have anything to do with the event! How the hell can you judge him on it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

Had a guy in the room beside me who would keep talking to himself. All I could hear at any stage of the night is FIE FI FO FUM! He would then continue talking to himself all night and could talk to himself for 24 hours a day even when cooking food in the kitchen. He also took long showers and all we could hear is dirty Japanese B****es pretty loudly from the bathroom. Me and the other housemates searched his room one day and we found porn fetish magazines of feet. The whole magazine was based on feet. He also robbed our food from the kitchen constantly and was just a really strange dude. He had plenty of weird friends as well. He would come down and watch a film or t.v and play xbox with us. Just really wierd when he's on his own, never shuts up talking to himself.

Had a drug dealing kn***er who talked absolute horse crap and was constantly taking acid and speed who lived with me another time. On Disabilty and just a bull sh**ing filthy creature who you would not like to be living with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

never do a one upping pissing contest about so called 'weird' house mates with someone who lives in institutional/residential care.:D

have lived in institutional and residential care since just before twentyith birthday [twenty eight now] primarily for adults with severe or profound multiple learning disability,many of whom were also physicaly disabled and some are terminaly ill.

however,have only ever felt remotely moved to recognise just several fellow resident as 'weird',she projectile vomits and rubs the sick in her hair,in front of support staff she shts,rolls it into balls and eats it;then woud throw it at staff,she woud stand in front of the male residents and strip off all of her clothes [knickers n all] and start scratching her vaj then she woud throw the nearest object at them because the lads were old fashioned and refused to hit a female.
    she knew am profoundly sound sensitive,which in turn triggered off autistic meltdowns, sensory overload [which am left temperarily blinded by] and epileptic seizures,so if she wasnt getting the attention she wanted she woud do things like set off the fire alarms [not a normal house alarm-it was a proper institutional setup] wait till am out of bedroom and get close enough but not close enough to hit,then scream-so woud fall down and head plant the flaw.
    this happened throughout the day every day,had collected a number of fractures [wrists and skull] from the fall out of her behavior,social services let it go on for a year until the girl got to close when she was going to scream so knocked her out.
    resulted in a emergency transfer to another hellhole residential home but thats council places.

in the home was transfered to,had knew most of the people there from the institution we all lived in before the council shut it down,this one girl was super crazy,am not sure why she was ever in learning disability services as her issue was mental health.
    she was forcibly on the pill because she used to try and find random men to have a baby with,she woud get delusional about them thinking they were marrying her and she come out with all this bollox about a non existant wedding,she was racist against foreign people and black staff-most of the staff were nigerians who had just got the job in her unit because the social services tried to get agency staff in for low risk residents-woud stand there laughing at how hypocritical she was-like best friends and then as soon as their shift was up it was like a total change chatting sht,the management had to stop black staff from working in their unit as they were getting complaints.

she had tricholomania-a impulsive habit in pulling the hair out,had had that as well as her but she actualy pulls the entire head of hair out and eats it,always wondered if she sat there coughing up hair balls in her unit like a cat.:pac:

male staff werent allowed in her unit on their own because she used to molest them-well grab them, swing them on the bed and urgh,no idea what else,there was a time where she pretended to be lifeless in her bed one morning when her 'favourite' male staff was on and he went in and put his head down to check on her breath,big mistake-she grabbed him and felt as much of him as she coud manage.
    even more immoral,when we used to live in the institution together,she used to try and force herself on a profoundly autistic lad; he was a lovely guy and never hurt a fly but he coudnt communicate at all what she had done.
    she used to stalk him to,she said they were getting married,as good a friend as sean was he didnt have the capacity or interest to understand marriage,she was really delusional.

as part of the autism am communication/speech impaired and used to have a high quality text to speech program upon the days of using windows,had once stood outside her locked bedroom door [she rarely ever opened it] and typed in a message saying hi marie, this is god...... and it went on until coudnt hold the laptop anylonger from laughing,she replied to all the questions until she heard a lot of sniggering going on.
    she is a christian and is very wicked towards anyone who doesnt follow her biases and prejudices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

This guy was pretty sound but he did one thing that annoyed the hell out of me.

He'd have the washing machine on at all hours. He NEVER put it on before 10pm at night and would frequently put it on when he woke up first thing in the morning at 5am. As the washing machine was pressed up against my wall, it would drive me nuts.

It wasn't a big problem because my job was winding down for the summer months so I didn't have to get up as early and I knew I was only going to be living with him for a few weeks as I was already moving elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

lived with a guy in england [he was the landlord] lovely guy but he never washed or put clean clothes on .
    he have a shower maybe once a month
    the house where i lived was really big as i had only one room there was another 6 bedrooms and 2 living rooms ,and every couple months he move bedrooms ,and leave an terrible smeely mess .
    he only eat indian curry even for breakfast ,the smell of him was something i never forget :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

areyawell wrote: »
    Had a guy in the room beside me who would keep talking to himself. All I could hear at any stage of the night is FIE FI FO FUM! He would then continue talking to himself all night and could talk to himself for 24 hours a day even when cooking food in the kitchen. He also took long showers and all we could hear is dirty Japanese B****es pretty loudly from the bathroom. Me and the other housemates searched his room one day and we found porn fetish magazines of feet. The whole magazine was based on feet. He also robbed our food from the kitchen constantly and was just a really strange dude. He had plenty of weird friends as well. He would come down and watch a film or t.v and play xbox with us. Just really wierd when he's on his own, never shuts up talking to himself.

Had a drug dealing kn***er who talked absolute horse crap and was constantly taking acid and speed who lived with me another time. On Disabilty and just a bull sh**ing filthy creature who you would not like to be living with.

Whatever about your man, searching his room is scum of the ****ing earth carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Years ago, shared a house with four other people. We were stuck for a new tenant, so basically took in the first person who showed up with the deposit. Anyway, a guy moved in who seemed a little strange. He used to stare at us while we were watching telly and conversation with him was tough going. Didn't think much of it at first, but he made us all feel just a little unsettled

My bedroom was directly above the living room, and I started to get woken up at night by him moving the furniture around. It was a tiled floor, so it made quite a bit of noise. The next morning I'd get up and everything would be in its original position. I asked him about it jokingly once, but he denied all knowledge and actually got offended

One of the girls once got up at around 4am for a glass of water, turned on the kitchen light and he was just standing there in the middle of the room staring at the sink. And just started a normal conversation with her as if it was fine to just stand there in the dark in the middle of the night

One night I arrived in from work and he was drinking with an equally weird friend. Offered them both a can, but they refused, telling me they would only drink their beer out of their tankards (no idea why they couldn't just pour the can into the tankard), and would only talk to me and each other in Ye Olde English, 'Bring me a fair maiden' etc. Got up to leave the room after a beer and he starting shouting at me about having no manners. In Ye Olde English of course. I let it go, and the rest of the house just tolerated his behaviour too as he wasn't really doing much wrong

Few weeks later, and he was at the same craic with one of my flatmates who told him if he didn't shut the f*ck up and stop acting like a weirdo, he'd hit him a slap. Next day, he came down and had a rant at all of us, said he knew where he wasn't welcome, and moved out, just like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Years ago, shared a house with four other people. We were stuck for a new tenant, so basically took in the first person who showed up with the deposit. Anyway, a guy moved in who seemed a little strange. He used to stare at us while we were watching telly and conversation with him was tough going. Didn't think much of it at first, but he made us all feel just a little unsettled

My bedroom was directly above the living room, and I started to get woken up at night by him moving the furniture around. It was a tiled floor, so it made quite a bit of noise. The next morning I'd get up and everything would be in its original position. I asked him about it jokingly once, but he denied all knowledge and actually got offended

One of the girls once got up at around 4am for a glass of water, turned on the kitchen light and he was just standing there in the middle of the room staring at the sink. And just started a normal conversation with her as if it was fine to just stand there in the dark in the middle of the night

One night I arrived in from work and he was drinking with an equally weird friend. Offered them both a can, but they refused, telling me they would only drink their beer out of their tankards (no idea why they couldn't just pour the can into the tankard), and would only talk to me and each other in Ye Olde English, 'Bring me a fair maiden' etc. Got up to leave the room after a beer and he starting shouting at me about having no manners. In Ye Olde English of course. I let it go, and the rest of the house just tolerated his behaviour too as he wasn't really doing much wrong

Few weeks later, and he was at the same craic with one of my flatmates who told him if he didn't shut the f*ck up and stop acting like a weirdo, he'd hit him a slap. Next day, he came down and had a rant at all of us, said he knew where he wasn't welcome, and moved out, just like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I once shared a room with this complete and utter effing maniac in a hostel in Melbourne (All NAtions for anyone whose ever had the eh, pleasure?)

Anyway, this dude was an A1 nut job, he was an Australian guy, and dhe stayed for nigh on a week or so, constantly wondering the corridors mumbling and talking to him self, oft times pretending he was talking into a walkie talkie.

He would claim that he was working as an undercover agent for the Australian military.

Anyway, about six days in to his stay, he had upset and unnerved so many of the backpackers that he was finally asked to leave the hoste;l.

Cue him refusing to comply with them managements request that he get his stuff together and find alternative accomodation, when a few of the security guys attempted to 'escort' him out of the building, he stiffened up like a poker/3 year old child, screaming like a baby, wailing he wouldnt go, then scribbled on a piece of A4 paper SOS, please send help! folded the paper into an aeroplane shape, then turfed it out the upstairs window, where it floated down into one of the busiest streets in downtown Melbourne (Spencer street).

He was the toast of many a drunken evening in the hostel bar for a few months afterwards. :D