Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster v Leinster, Saturday 2nd April, 19.30. **Mod Warning. Read OP**.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

If games were decided on a composite team of the two teams playing then the team with the most memebers in it would win every game. France would be 6N's Grand Slam winners every year, Toulouse the HC winners. New Zealand 5 times WC winners and the Crusaders S10-15 champs since the turn of the millenium.

England wouldn't be 6 Nations champs, SA World Champs and Munster wouldn't have won 2 HC's.

That player X in team A is better then player X in team B is by and large irrelevant. Rugby more then any sport is a team game. There a far more factors at play then an individual players merits.

And I don't just say this because Leinster have heaps more talent in their team then Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Agreed plus there's a lot to be said for home advantage, tactics, who turns up on the day and who wants it more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Yes, ONE try. Not a great return for all those line breaks (and at home). As I said, both teams were very poor in that match. The following week Leinster scored 5 tries against Racing Metro. That I would consider to be a bit of a rout.

In fairness, at the fever in the aviva, Leinster had knocked down the door and had plundered the Munster house in terms of penetration, and don't forget that this was Leinsters first decent performance coming off the back of 4 or so defeats in early season. Had the game been a couple of weeks later, it could well have been a 4 or 5 try route. Leinster were good for about 3 tries on the day imo, but weren't at the clinical level to put chances away yet, as they were in the following games.

Munster haven't looked like scoring a try against Leinster since Keith Earls' break in Croke Park almost 2 years ago.

I agree Munster are going to take Leinster on up front, they will heavily rely on O'Gara for territory, and they will look for quick ball to catch Leinster out.

I think flaws in this plan are that, if Thomond is correct and Leamy is on the bench, they don't have a dynamic back-row, and that will offset the loss of Jennings for Leinster, the master of slowing down ball in Irish rugby, but on the plus side, Leinster are building momentum from scratch again, and it really is a season of 2 parts, pre and post six nations, and we need to kick start from this game.

I think if Leinster can protect and win possession with the better pack and Sexton has a very good game and can match O'Gara's attempts to pin us back, I think our defence organises quickly, they don't have the forwards to overpower us and get the quick ball they want, I don't think they have enough good carriers to develop momentum forward ball in the pack, I think set-piece ball will be fairly even, I don't think either team will dominate, which is a loss for Leinster as it's somewhere we've really hurt Munster in the past with a crumbling scrum and no O'Connell in the lineout...

Munster have the massive advantage of fortress Thomond, and revenge on their mind, but I just really hope if all Leinster players play to their ability, I just think we have a better team, and should scrape through.

I don't care how we do it, or by what score, but we really really need to win this game, and not even in the contrast of it being Munster, but just in what it means for our league push and building for Leicester. Ugggggh, not sure i can wait any longer, so desperate for a win, this will be a massive game and massive atmosphere, can't wait. Both teams will be at full tilit for this. This is Munsters Heineken Cup quarter final, they'll throw everything at us.

leinster.jpg

C'MON LEINSTER!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

durkadurka wrote: »
    Agreed plus there's a lot to be said for home advantage, tactics, who turns up on the day and who wants it more.

Home advantage: Munster
    Tactics: Leinster
    Who turns up on the day: More likely to be Leinster
    Who wants it more: More likely to be Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Any truth in the rumour that O'Gara's out for the game?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

CouchSmart wrote: »

Guess we'll find out tomorrow. Munster are in serious trouble if it's true though.

Wouldn't put much stock in rumours though really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

CouchSmart wrote: »

I'm waiting for "April Fools!!!!".....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm waiting for "April Fools!!!!".....

Surely an early April Fools is bad luck or something :p

Six minutes to go

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Sin a bhfuil

[Jackass] wrote: »
    In fairness, at the fever in the aviva, Leinster had knocked down the door and had plundered the Munster house in terms of penetration, and don't forget that this was Leinsters first decent performance coming off the back of 4 or so defeats in early season. Had the game been a couple of weeks later, it could well have been a 4 or 5 try route. Leinster were good for about 3 tries on the day imo, but weren't at the clinical level to put chances away yet, as they were in the following games.

Munster haven't looked like scoring a try against Leinster since Keith Earls' break in Croke Park almost 2 years ago.

I agree Munster are going to take Leinster on up front, they will heavily rely on O'Gara for territory, and they will look for quick ball to catch Leinster out.

I think flaws in this plan are that, if Thomond is correct and Leamy is on the bench, they don't have a dynamic back-row, and that will offset the loss of Jennings for Leinster, the master of slowing down ball in Irish rugby, but on the plus side, Leinster are building momentum from scratch again, and it really is a season of 2 parts, pre and post six nations, and we need to kick start from this game.

I think if Leinster can protect and win possession with the better pack and Sexton has a very good game and can match O'Gara's attempts to pin us back, I think our defence organises quickly, they don't have the forwards to overpower us and get the quick ball they want, I don't think they have enough good carriers to develop momentum forward ball in the pack, I think set-piece ball will be fairly even, I don't think either team will dominate, which is a loss for Leinster as it's somewhere we've really hurt Munster in the past with a crumbling scrum and no O'Connell in the lineout...

Munster have the massive advantage of fortress Thomond, and revenge on their mind, but I just really hope if all Leinster players play to their ability, I just think we have a better team, and should scrape through.

I don't care how we do it, or by what score, but we really really need to win this game, and not even in the contrast of it being Munster, but just in what it means for our league push and building for Leicester. Ugggggh, not sure i can wait any longer, so desperate for a win, this will be a massive game and massive atmosphere, can't wait. Both teams will be at full tilit for this. This is Munsters Heineken Cup quarter final, they'll throw everything at us.

Not a huge difference in tries for/tries against in the league really:

Munster: TF: 39 TA: 19
    Leinster: TF: 38 TA: 22

And out of interest in the Heineken Cup:
    Leinster: TF: 21 TA: 9
    Munster: TF: 17 TA: 9 (Toulon who won the group TF: 13 TA: 13).

Both teams are well able to score tries & defend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I offer you this little 'gem' courtesy of our friends over on Planet Rugby :D

http://forum.planet-rugby.com/index.php?t=msg&th=221235&start=0&

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

O'Gara and Earls picked up injuries in training, Mick O'Driscoll to start in backrow :confused:

http://breakingnews.ie/sport/munster-announce-team-for-call-saturday-59392.html

Bod and ISA rated as doubtful too

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Ah come on lads, enough of this messing, my heart can't take it!

By the way, there is a rumour that ROG is out on Twitter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

wixfjord wrote: »
    Ah come on lads, enough of this messing, my heart can't take it!

By the way, there is a rumour that ROG is out on Twitter!

ROG is definitely out. Has tweaked a hammer in training and won't be risked. Warwick to start.

GerM wrote: »
    ROG is definitely out. Has tweaked a hammer in training and won't be risked. Warwick to start.

Heaslip has just tweeted that hes devastated ROG isn't playing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

April Fools?

Linkety link??

April Fools?

ROG and Sexy are both out, jackass and myself are both being flown home to play 10.

If you thought ROG vs Sexton was a fierce personal battle, you ain't seen nothing yet.

• Seems Sexton might have a problem getting to the game if he has to drive!
    http://yfrog.com/h3aoyiqj

BOD just posted that on twitter.

The Leinster team to face Munster in Saturday night's Magners League clash in Thomond Park (KO: 7.30pm) has been named...
    Boyne's Shane Horgan will make history when he lines out for his home province for the 200th time - in doing so he becomes the first Leinster player to reach the milestone. Horgan continues in the back three alongside Luke Fitzgerald and Isa Nacewa who both started last weekend's 26-26 victory over the Dragons.

Gordon D'Arcy partners Brian O'Driscoll at centre with Isaac Boss - a try scorer in Newport - and Jonathan Sexton continuing their half-back partnership.

In all there are six Ireland internationals in the starting pack with props Cian Healy and Mike Ross returning to the front row and Kevin McLaughlin forming a back-row unit alongside Sean O'Brien and Jamie Heaslip.

Leo Cullen leads the team and partners Scotland's Nathan Hines at second row.

Internationals Heinke van der Merwe, Stan Wright, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin Reddan and Fergus McFadden are named amongst a strong replacements bench.

LEINSTER:

15: Isa Nacewa
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Brian O'Driscoll
    12: Gordon D'Arcy
    11: Luke Fitzgerald
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Nathan Hines
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Sean O'Brien
    8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Aaron Dundon
    17: Heinke van der Merwe
    18: Stan Wright
    19: Devin Toner
    20: Rhys Ruddock
    21: Eoin Reddan
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Fergus McFadden

http://leinsterrugby.ie/matchcentre/7850.php

Good team

Munster make three changes from the side that defeated Cardiff Blues last weekend, for tomorrow's top of the table Magners League clash with Leinster at a sold out Thomond Park Stadium (7.30).
    The backline remains unchanged as does the front row but not surprisingly, Donncha O'Callaghan returns to partner Paul O'Connell in the second row.

Nor is there any surprise that the bang-in form David Wallace is chosen at open side. However, the choice of Donnacha Ryan at number six might not have been anticipated although the Tipperary man has impressed as has Conor Murray who retains the number 9 jersey and Felix Jones, preferred at full-back to Paul Warwick who is named on the bench.

Munster: F Jones; D Howlett, J Murphy, L Mafi, K Earls; R O'Gara, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, T Buckley; D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell capt; D Ryan, D Wallace, J Coughlan. Replacements: M Sherry, M Horan, J Hayes, M O'Driscoll, D Leamy, P Stringer, P Warwick, S Tuitupou.

http://munsterrugby.ie/news/8872.php

Munster team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Have to say I'm surprised at the Munster team, I really think Warwick is too good to leave on the bench when you have inferior (IMO) players at 12, 13 and 15 but maybe McGahan is focussing on next season?

Leinster team as expected really, only mild surprises are Boss at 9 and McLoughlin at 6 (I would have liked to see Ryan or Ruddock get a bit more exposure to this sort of game), but no complaints really. Boss has been great all year. Disappointed for McFadden though.

Should be a good auld evening. I look forward to the people of Munster making me feel welcome as I rain down foul abuse on their heroes from the stand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Munster:
    W du Preez
    D Varley
    T Buckley
    D O'Callaghan
    P O'Connell capt
    D Ryan
    D Wallace
    J Coughlan
    C Murray
    R O'Gara
    K Earls
    L Mafi
    J Murphy
    D Howlett
    F Jones

Replacements:
    M Sherry
    M Horan
    J Hayes
    M O'Driscoll
    D Leamy
    P Stringer
    P Warwick
    S Tuitupou

Would have preferred to see Warwick at 12 with Mafi at 13. Also cannot understand why Leamy is not on at 6, unless he's carrying a knock.

Can't understand Ryan at 6. He's not a 6, maybe he can play there at AIL level but anything higher than that he just doesn't have the pace. Lineouts galore tomorrow.

Odd Leamy getting totally left out. Paying the price for being below par for large parts of the season. He'll be well up for it when he's released off the bench though.

Delighted McLoughlin's back in for this. He's a great player and has been slowly getting back to form and full fitness. Hugely under-rated. We now have 5 realistic lineout options - SOB was drilled hard to become a good lineout worker for Ireland - in the pack, so I don't think Munster will get too much change out of that aspect of the game even though it appears they plan on targeting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Ryan at 6 is interesting, only thing I can make of it is that Munster are going to play for territory through the lineout.

• Ryan at 6 :D

Feel sorry for Wallace tbh, the Leinster backrow could eat their respective numbers for breakfast and still have room for tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Donnacha Ryan playing for a contract, might as well see if he can handle the 6 position in a meaningful game. They don't need him as a lock so its a huge game for him.

Wouldn't have picked him there myself but its nice to see him being given an opportunity.

Delira with the two teams tbh.
    If only games were won on paper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

That Munster bench must be one of the most experienced of all time!

Would think Ryan's selection is 90% based on a line out call. Munster would be exremely vulnerable against a side that contains 4 good jumpers in the pack. Munster would only have 2, only one of which would be any use at pilfering. It would be tough on Varley if he looked up at the first line out and saw Leo shadowing POC's every move knowing that they can compete on every throw. It would put massive pressure on Varley to throw perfectly each time. If things started to go wrong early it would be a massive psychological boost to Leinster. Ryan will give them the comfort of another option and make things a lot trickier for Leinster to dominate. He's also probably as mobile as Leamy despite his size but I do think he has the potential to fade into the background in games. If he contributes around the park as a blind side should, his involvement will have been a canny enough move in my opinion.

The lineout is really the only place where we can contest Leinster. I fear our centres will get eaten alive by D'Arcy and BOD.

It will all come down to ROG's kicking game. If he has a bad day, the likes of Nacewa will murder us on the counterattack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Strong Leinster side.

Tough on McFadden, he hasn't done anything wrong and with Horgan just coming back from injury and Fitz not being at his best, he can be a little disappointed. Still though, he will be great to have on the bench and covers the back line nicely.

Looks like Ryan has dropped behind Kev and Ruddock, but with a silly amount of talent in the backrow I can't complain. I think Ruddock will be a huge impact off the bench.

I'm surprised to see Boss ahead of Reddan.

I hope to god Strauss doesn't get injured...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

It will all come down to ROG's kicking game. If he has a bad day, the likes of Nacewa will murder us on the counterattack.

Was thinking the same. The kicking-for-the-corners game plan is the best chance Munster have of winning, but if O'Gara's isn't finding touch, we could run riot...

That Munster side is more than capable of matching Leinster physically up front which is where this game is going to be won. It's a monster pack they've gone with. Varley, Buckley and 3 locks will provide a massive amount of grunt. No team will cut loose. In terms of power up front there is very little to choose between the teams. This game will be won by the little things; refereeing decisions and whoever goes into the game better prepared mentally for this one match will be victorious.

SOB v Wallace. Talk about interesting individual battles!

Murray vs Boss would be a battle that you wouldn't have foreseen at the start of the season!
    Would have started Boss myself, I think he's the experience to annoy Murray, and he's well worth a start for the physical stakes alone.

Reckon game will start very very closed, and then open up around 60 when Strings and Reddan come on. If Leinster can win the scrum and hold their own in lineout, thereby securing enough ball, we can hopefully pull away in the last 20.

Wasn't confident all week, but as I say, looking at the two teams, if this was any other side other than Munster, I'd be expecting a win.

For Munster to win, they need POC stealing lineout ball and galloping, the backrow to outwork Leinster, ROG to kick the corners, and Mafi, Earls and Jones to make a break or two. Can't see them scoring buckets of tries, so keeping it tight will be the name of the game.

Can't wait now, and that +4 on Leinster is looking ever more handsome imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Munster, if they are to win, need to make this a dogfight from early on and tear into Leinster getting the crowd on board - Munster will want this more but Leinster have more balance all over the pitch and their class may be enough to survive the initial blast from Munster.
    A 6th in a row is probably the likely outcome but stranger things have happened in Thomond Park.
    At least we have bench options such as Warwick and Leamy to come on - but this is probably due to the fact that McGahan has picked the wrong starting 15. Warwick at 12 and Leamy at 6 had to be picked.
    I already have a knot in my stomach over this one and every time I've thought about it during the week I have felt sick at the thought of losing again. Maybe I'll feel better in the morning but I am seriously considering locking myself in a dark room somewhere instead of going to the game.
    Draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

i see this going one of 2 ways. it all comes down to ROG. we will either win by a few or leinster will hammer us..... i suppose there is like a .000001% we play ****ing awesome and blow leinster off the park. one can always live in hope:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

Have to say, after seeing that Leinster back-row, I can see them making life very difficult for Munster. And with Ruddock as the replacement, they'll be able to keep it up.

The centre seems a bit week for Munster, so we could see some holes opening up there. But the way Munster need to beat this Leinster team is by hoofing the ball into the corners and reverting back to mauls and pick and go's.

Not suprised to see McLaughlin back, he was brilliant last week. People forget that before he got injured he was ahead of both Jennings and O'Brien (in the sense of ahead of O'Brien at 6 but when O'Brien was playing too good to ignore it was Jennings who had to make way)

I really hope he can make the world cup squad, hes a better 6 than Leamy (contraversial I know) if he can get back to form again in my opinion.

Interesting battles(in pics):

5049.jpg vs 19908.jpg

4562.jpg4163.jpg vs 4096.jpg4166.jpg

3981.jpg vs 20048.jpg

80935.jpg vs 8355.jpg

3902.jpg vs 15303.jpg

Munster have the edge on size:D:D:D

serious tint of fake tan on O'Callaghan! How does he get away with it considering the flak Henson got??

He's bigger
    Also why are you comparing Buckley to Gordon D'arcy! (anyone else see it?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Jemo

buck65 wrote: »
    He's bigger
    Also does Mike Ross look a bit like D'arcy after a few weeks months on the beer?!

a little in that pic anyhow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

I really hope he can make the world cup squad, hes a better 6 than Leamy (contraversial I know) if he can get back to form again in my opinion.

Not controversial at all; if Leamy is on the bench behind what has to be the weakest Munster back row for many years, why would McLoughlin not be considered ahead of him for Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ah here lads, whoever gets the ball in the backfield early, massive up and under to Felix, make him feel like Gadaffi under the air strikes, really target and rattle him, big chase on kicks, leave them short and hammer him under the ball. That's what I'd be saying in the dressing room. Inexperienced young lad, against his old side, in a massive derby game, I'd catch him out early and stop him settling.

Surprised at the choice of 9 for Munster too. This guy is big for a scrum-half, 6"1, never seen him play though, know nothing about him, is he out of the Mike Philips mould? Don't rate O'Leary at all, so Munster could really use a young fella like this if he's any good.

I'd be setting Sean O'Brien, Heaslip and McLoughlin on him though, get through the gate and give him a nightmare, he'll never have played in anything like this, Munster will have to work hard to protect him, and that'll be a good way to slow down their ball.

There's nothing we don't already know and haven't dealt with comfortably on their wings.

Centre partnership is interesting, somewhat of an unknown quantity, but who better to deal with it than BOD and Darce.

Front 5 is the toughest battle, but nothing to fear in that squad for Leinster.

We've 21 internationals in our match day squad, big firepower in Ruddock, McFadden, Reddan, Van Der Merwe and Stan on the bench, all good enough to start, I think there's more options there than Munster have (although Warwick and Leamy are very good options for them).

Still nervous as hell, but if we want to become the major European side we want to be, then this is a team we should be putting away. They may still have the fire in their belly, but this is nothing compared to Munster sides of old, we're a better team, and should beat these guys home or away, as we have been doing, and now is as important as ever to keep that going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Getting ridiculously excited about the game tomorrow. Can't wait to get down there. Not sure I like all this positivity for Leinster though. I hope we're not counting our chickens here. We certainly do seem to have the better side on paper, but Munster in Thomand desperate for a win...it's gonna be a close one.