Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

john giles - walk of disappointment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I suppose you have to ask yourself why you participated in the charity event. Was it to raise money for a good cause, or did you see it as a fun day out? Surely the reward for doing something like this is raising money to help others, and feeling good as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Might explain why Ireland has one of the highest childhood rates of obesity in the world :o

People here arn't saying ALL they feed their kids is burgers and chips I assume. I don't have kids btw.

Are you telling me your parents never treated you to a burger in your childhood? Or, if you have kids, you have never treated them to a burger?

The odd burger and your kid explodes. :D

Trust me, if the kids are obese, it's not the odd burger that's the problem, it's the lack of exercise in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

murpho999 wrote: »
    So Giles didn't turn up at the Aviva.

'Lack of Honesty of Effort there Bill"

Also in relation to burgers and chips ....that unfortunately is an Irish kid's staple diet.

Lived in Holland for a good while and kids are introduced to fruit & veg from moment they can eat solid foods whilst here I see 1 year olds eating crisps and older kids eating sweets all the time.

The line 'you obviously don't have kids' is not good enough. If you have kids you should feed them healthy stuff and things like sweets and burgers should be a treat not a norm.

I completely agree - it should be considered a treat and most def if you have kids, fruit, veg and water should be the norm in their daily diet.

However, what I won't stand for, is some father on here getting abuse for giving his kid a burger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

murpho999 wrote: »
    So Giles didn't turn up at the Aviva.

'Lack of Honesty of Effort there Bill"

Also in relation to burgers and chips ....that unfortunately is an Irish kid's staple diet.

Lived in Holland for a good while and kids are introduced to fruit & veg from moment they can eat solid foods whilst here I see 1 year olds eating crisps and older kids eating sweets all the time.

The line 'you obviously don't have kids' is not good enough. If you have kids you should feed them healthy stuff and things like sweets and burgers should be a treat not a norm.

Think you're missing the point there, people are saying there was nothing else for their kids to eat except over priced fast food. Doesn't need to be turned into a Irish kids diet argument!
    Tusky wrote: »
    I suppose you have to ask yourself why you participated in the charity event. Was it to raise money for a good cause, or did you see it as a fun day out? Surely the reward for doing something like this is raising money to help others, and feeling good as a result.

Don't think anyone was expecting too much, just seemed badly organised not to have something laid out for kids to eat after walking 5km or whatever it was. Irony is if they had gotten sponsorship for food and drink or even paid a little for some then surely they would have made people come back the next time.

master-t wrote: »

The odd burger and your kid explodes. :D

Terrorists take note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,243 ✭✭✭duffman13

On the plus side it provided you with an opportunity to have a dig at my national team.

Yep thats what it done, all i said was it is hard to watch Ireland teams. In the one or two games ive brought my kids team too they have tended to lose attention very quickly. I would very much be of the opinion Trap can make us play terribly if we become like the next Greece and win the euros.

Its my job as a coach to try and teach kids to play in a good philosophy and style, kids unfortunately identify with the Arsenals and Barcelona of this world rather International soccer and my point was that this negative experience of the walk coupled with the fact they didnt get to meet any of the players is not exactly gonna help that
    RasTa wrote: »
    Shocking how so many parents think it's fine to serve their kids burgers, chips, coke and crisps after some light exercise.

Its a one day event in which the kids are doing something really good by giving to charity and as such are allowed to have a treat. In any case all the kids there are participating in football therefore would be getting regular exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

See, there was a time when going on a walk with a big group of people was considered a fun day out.

Obviously not good enough for the post Celtic tiger generation.

Seriously, I feel annoyed after reading the op. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭jaykay74

ye the under 7's we brought got treated to paddy mulligan and mick martin....
    just what every 6 and 7 year old wants to see:rolleyes:

Why dump on Paddy and Mick ? Both have played 50 games or more for Ireland and gave their time freely. Is impressing the 7 year olds on the walk a relevant issue. Only 33 players have played 50 times or more for Ireland. You named 2 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Why couldn't the respective clubs have laid something on for their own kids considering they were also getting 50% of the monies raised. Bring them to mcdonalds for a happy meal if the burgers were important. The whole day was about raising money for the charity.

I agree with the points that there should have been players at the aviva and giles should definitely have been there himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

reading yesterdays star and theres a pic of Giles Trap a few players and of course Delaney at the aviva.

EDIT quick google later

http://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/1103285/5000/

501810.jpg

EDIT 2 Quick text later and he actually did the ****ing walk!!!!

Obviously all irish kids are fat and by the time they actually finished the walk everyone had gone home :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

So let me get this straight.

A charity walk was set up and the idea was kids to walk from point a to point b to raise money for grassroots football.

Because there weren't dancing girls and fireworks at point b, some people feel justified in keeping the money raised. There were also a lot of factual innacuracies in the rant, such as claiming that JG didn't do the walk

Why do people even bother trying to help out the grass roots when it is populated by such self centred, arrogant, selfish tossers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

RasTa wrote: »
    Shocking how so many parents think it's fine to serve their kids burgers, chips, coke and crisps after some light exercise.

Yea give them a few smokes and some beers instead, win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

So let me get this straight.

A charity walk was set up and the idea was kids to walk from point a to point b to raise money for grassroots football.

Because there weren't dancing girls and fireworks at point b, some people feel justified in keeping the money raised. There were also a lot of factual innacuracies in the rant, such as claiming that JG didn't do the walk

Why do people even bother trying to help out the grass roots when it is populated by such self centred, arrogant, selfish tossers?

for a start jg didnt do the walk, im now being led to believe he appeared at the start line for a photo shoot and at the aviva (when the majority had left) for another photo op. he could of at least stayed at the start line until all the teams past to give even a poxy wave or something. the idea was as you said to walk from a to b but then the promise was that of entertainment and a fun day out for the kids at the aviva my gripe is they didnt come through on the promises they made. so read the posts before you come on here with you accusations

Johnny Giles is 70 and has chronic arthritis. The fact you think he should put his health in danger to entertain your spoilt brats sums up how pathetic your entire argument is.

I really despair at a lot of levels, not most that someone like you is involved in front line coaching and has a sense of entitlement like you have and presumably is passing onto the kids.

We get it, it wasn't to the high standard you demanded, being free and all that. But the issue here is your veiled threat to fleece the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Johnny Giles is 70 and has chronic arthritis. The fact you think he should put his health in danger to entertain your spoilt brats sums up how pathetic your entire argument is.

I really despair at a lot of levels, not most that someone like you is involved in front line coaching and has a sense of entitlement like you have and presumably is passing onto the kids.

We get it, it wasn't to the high standard you demanded, being free and all that. But the issue here is your veiled threat to fleece the money.

Rovers have any teams in it? We had a couple, great time had by all seemingly.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Rovers have any teams in it? We had a couple, great time had by all seemingly.

I believe so, they were plugging it anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Just to clear up a couple of inaccuracies:
    There were portaloos at the start and I saw some more on Bath Avenue.
    There were small bottles of water given to people when they arrived at the AVIVA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

According to some people on this thread, 1 burger = obese! There's nothing wrong with a kid having a burger ffs.

i dont give a donkeys gee what he has he could have even be driven along the route. arent we glad we dont have the likes of you looking after kids judging by what you think of them:rolleyes:
    i think a sense of entitlement is quite justified when something like that is promised.
    if you bothered your arse to read the other posts you would find that i never mentioned fleecing any money but i suppose you wouldnt have the intelligience to do that

Just to clear up a couple of inaccuracies:
    There were portaloos at the start and I saw some more on Bath Avenue.
    There were small bottles of water given to people when they arrived at the AVIVA.

i didnt see any portaloos at all. if they were there i hold my hands up. what i did see was numerous kids having to hide behind walls, down lanes etc going to the toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Paparazzo wrote: »
    According to some people on this thread, 1 burger = obese! There's nothing wrong with a kid having a burger ffs.

That depends how often they have a burger. I always despair when in any restaurant/carvery/eatery in Ireland when I see the menus. They have a full menu for adults with a wide range of options and then they have the childrens menu. This menu usually consists of two options of chicken nuggets and chips or sausage and chips. I could never understand why they didn't just serve smaller versions of the full menu for kids. Then it struck me that the reason people want this for the kids is that the kids won't eat anything else because that's all they're used to eating at home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

i dont give a donkeys gee what he has he could have even be driven along the route. arent we glad we dont have the likes of you looking after kids judging by what you think of them:rolleyes:
    i think a sense of entitlement is quite justified when something like that is promised.
    if you bothered your arse to read the other posts you would find that i never mentioned fleecing any money but i suppose you wouldnt have the intelligience to do that

Youve made your point, your kids werent given a bunch of free stuff and entertainment at a charity event, despite the charity giving you 50% of all the money you raised on their behalf, we get it. And "others" are going to rob the charity as a result.

You couldnt ask for a better illustration of the mentality of a certain type of grassroots football people in this country.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Youve made your point, your kids werent given a bunch of free stuff and entertainment at a charity event, despite the charity giving you 50% of all the money you raised on their behalf, we get it. And "others" are going to rob the charity as a result.

You couldnt ask for a better illustration of the mentality of a certain type of grassroots football people in this country.

if you went to an event/show/match and they didnt put on the second half would you not be pissed off

If I went to a charity event and there wasn't a load of free stuff, not, I wouldn't

Re-read your posts and see can you figure out why you are coming off like a petualant kid...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Im generally expected to PAY to attend an event/show/match. Your football club is PROFITING by being there. PROFITING from a CHARITY. And you are actually on here complaining that they they didnt spend enough of the charity raised on YOU. Jesus Christ.

Seriously, this has nothing to do with football, take it to some other forum. Weve enough of our own numpties on this one without this ****e.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Im generally expected to PAY to attend an event/show/match. Your football club is PROFITING by being there. PROFITING from a CHARITY. And you are actually on here complaining that they they didnt spend enough of the charity raised on YOU. Jesus Christ.

Seriously, this has nothing to do with football, take it to some other forum. Weve enough of our own numpties on this one without this ****e.

if you dont like it fvck off and dont post on it...... simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Put it down to a bad experience and move on OP. Piss poor organisation isnt a new trait where these things are concerned.

daithijjj wrote: »
    Put it down to a bad experience and move on OP. Piss poor organisation isnt a new trait where these things are concerned.

i agree im merely using this to vent the frustration but then you get arseholes like ciaranc who havent a clue what theyre talking about trying to make it into something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Jesus, what happened to a good old fashioned Packed Lunch?

I'm assuming the burger retailers were not related in any way to the charity, so they'll charge the same prices as everyone else.

Who were the Ex-players that turned up? Given that the Ireland team had two games this week, maybe it wasnt within the charity's ability to get any of them to come along? I base this on the assumption that they tried, given the timing of the walk.

The kids got a bit of excercise, a wee wander around the newly built national stadium, and a nice day out in the sun. I dont see what there is to complain about in all honesty.

Holding back money, collected in good faith from sponsors is probably also illegal, never mind cutting your nose of despite your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The only moaning I'm hearing is from some of those who went to the Aviva. Nobody else around the country had a moan.

A packed lunch?? Jaysus you couldnt turn up to the Aviva with your own food, and other people eating chips and burgers, you'd be looked down on!! :rolleyes:

As I said in an earlier post, Shane Long was at the one organised in Thurles.