Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

john giles - walk of disappointment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

i agree im merely using this to vent the frustration but then you get arseholes like ciaranc who havent a clue what theyre talking about trying to make it into something else

Yeah, Im the arsehole.

The GAA frogmarch their kids into supermarkets to work for nothing packing oul ones shopping all weekend to raise money, and yet you are whinging about the caterers and the special guests provided not being famous enough for you.

Get a grip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

CiaranC wrote: »
    Yeah, Im the arsehole.

The GAA frogmarch their kids into supermarkets to work for nothing packing oul ones shopping all weekend to raise money, and yet you are whinging about the caterers and the special guests provided not being famous enough for you.

Get a grip.

Dont tell anyone but they are treated to an orgy of cocaine and hookers afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Were there no chippers or fast food restaurants on the route to Lansdowne Road??

No Spars or Centras to fill the kids up with sugar and spice and all things nice??

Did Robbie Keane not walk far enough onto the pitch for you's?

We're you's at the Uruguay match??

Plenty of grease for fans at LOI mtches this friday to fatten your kids with, if that's what your into. And you's also get the bonus of a football match as entertainment.

This is whole thread is typical Ireland. Eejits walking 'for charity', expecting something at the end of it, yet they'll be slagging off politicians on Liveline for expecting something at the end of their careers.

There really are some d!ckheads in this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

i agree im merely using this to vent the frustration but then you get arseholes like ciaranc who havent a clue what theyre talking about trying to make it into something else

Un-fcuking-believable.

This is an internet forum. You have posted a factually innacurate rant that has annoyed a lot of people. Now they are 'turning it into something else' when they disagree with you that it is the responsibility of a charity to entertain your brats for free?

You need to drink a large bottle of cop on. But no doubt you will wait for a cancer charity to give it to you first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The thread should be stickied on the wider site as some kind of time-capusle reminder of the sense of me-fein. whinging entitlement that has become endemic in this country in the last decade or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Look up Walk in the dictionary http://www.collinslanguage.com/results.aspx?context=3&reversed=False&action=define&homonym=-1&text=walk

Nothing about being treated to goodies or celebrity appearances there.It was a sponsored walk for charity,not a march to the Aviva for grub.Would the op be complaining if the walk was to Tallaght Stadium and he brought his kids to Macdonalds afterwards.?
    Kevin Doyle was meant to take part in the Wexford walk but the knee injury put paid to that.The walk in Wexford went around an industrial estate and nobody complained,they took it at face value,it was a walk and not a trip to The Aviva stadium with expectant parents wanting free stuff just because their kids did a bit of a walk.
    Typical of modern Ireland,nobody wants to do anything unless some kind of reward is involved,I wonder if the op does the Trocaire 24 HR Fast? He'd probably expect a visit to his house from starving Africans to show their gratitude for his 'sacrifice'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

Un-fcuking-believable.

This is an internet forum. You have posted a factually innacurate rant that has annoyed a lot of people. Now they are 'turning it into something else' when they disagree with you that it is the responsibility of a charity to entertain your brats for free?

You need to drink a large bottle of cop on. But no doubt you will wait for a cancer charity to give it to you first.

because when the foundation were promoting the event they claimed that there would be a walk and also a day of entertainment for the kids if you read the posts you would know that idiot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

You really should stop insulting people on here, ie. calling them names.

I really don't think it's helping you get your point across.

Really just making you look immature and ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Hank_Jones wrote: »

A poster above was just short of calling the OP a D*ckhead, fairly insulting IMO

Hank_Jones wrote: »

its in response to the op calling kids that for one he doesnt know anything about and two are not part of this conversation brats....

because when the foundation were promoting the event they claimed that there would be a walk and also a day of entertainment for the kids if you read the posts you would know that idiot

There was entertainment. You admitted that. You just didn't think it was worthy of you.

what entertainment?

The videos on the screens.

The former internationals present.

The stuff you said was beneath you.

well if you call that entertainment you obviously lead a very boring life and dont get out much.

The op's username speaks volumes.;)

zerks wrote: »
    The op's username speaks volumes.;)

fyi that username was created long before the political/economical term

the location on your proflile speaks volumes also

fyi that username was created long before the political/economical term

Join date Feb 2011....

oh is boards the only forum etc on the internet

well if you call that entertainment you obviously lead a very boring life and dont get out much.

Jesus wept.

Do you still wet the bed? I have never come across as immature, selfish and arrogant an attitude towords charity.

The fact you really are hot and bothered by the fact that they 'only' gave out water, put videos on big screens, had fomer (and well respected) internationals there FOR FREE is a very sad insight into what you think the world owes you.

It was a charity walk ffs. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Who made the promise of entertainment at the Aviva? What did they exactly say?

Dempsey wrote: »

That Duffer would feed my kids grapes stuffed with foi gras and Keano would wipe their arses with goose necks....

Dempsey wrote: »

when the foundation were promoting the event to the clubs/leagues etc. they said the plan for the day was the walk would kick off at x time along to the aviva. upon arrival at the aviva their would be a fun day of entertainment for the kids along with appearances by the irish football team. there were other rumours about who else would be there but rumours are rumours my point and the majority of clubs in attendance point is that they did not fulfil the day that had been advertised/promised

Most kids would be happy just to visit the stadium-with the price of match tickets it may be the first and possibly last time they'd get there.@ the op-my own little world isn't full of over expectation and feeling the need to pass it onto my kids.It was a charity walk,would you have complained if it was a few laps around the streets in your area and then home or did you want the red carpet to the middle of the pitch then to be met by the current Irish squad.
    You should have realised that the tone of your original post was going to get a backlash,you sounded like the kid that wanted all the toys before Christmas then cried because you only got half.
    Are you not happy in the knowledge that you and your kids did something for charity or should we send you a medal?

when the foundation were promoting the event to the clubs/leagues etc. they said the plan for the day was the walk would kick off at x time along to the aviva. upon arrival at the aviva their would be a fun day of entertainment for the kids along with appearances by the irish football team. there were other rumours about who else would be there but rumours are rumours my point and the majority of clubs in attendance point is that they did not fulfil the day that had been advertised/promised

All of the above happened. But just not to the standard you demanded. From a charity. Who is giving your club 50% of what you raise.

zerks wrote: »
    Most kids would be happy just to visit the stadium-with the price of match tickets it may be the first and possibly last time they'd get there.@ the op-my own little world isn't full of over expectation and feeling the need to pass it onto my kids.It was a charity walk,would you have complained if it was a few laps around the streets in your area and then home or did you want the red carpet to the middle of the pitch then to be met by the current Irish squad.
    You should have realised that the tone of your original post was going to get a backlash,you sounded like the kid that wanted all the toys before Christmas then cried because you only got half.
    Are you not happy in the knowledge that you and your kids did something for charity or should we send you a medal?

my expectations were what we were told to expect

look if we were told we were going to do a walk and the kids get into the aviva for an hour or so and thats it, that would have been fine but when your told about the other things i think most people would expect them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Its all about expectations really.

If it was just billed as "charity walk" and nothing else, then there would have been no complaints.

This event was built around children participation. In Dublin, most of the kids were very disappointed. They thought there'd be goodie bags, entertainment and that they'd meet the Irish team.

Those kids won't be so keen to make the efforts to raise funds for the sae event next year.

Johnny Giles and the organising team have admitted to getting it wrong. They've admitted mistakes were made. So no need for the holier than thou brigade who werent even there to try and defend it!

There were some good experiences down the country. John O'Shea, Stephen Hunt and Shane Long were among the current international players who turned up and signed autographs etc. for the kids.

Its all about expectations really.

If it was just billed as "charity walk" and nothing else, then there would have been no complaints.

This event was built around children participation. In Dublin, most of the kids were very disappointed. They thought there'd be goodie bags, entertainment and that they'd meet the Irish team.

Those kids won't be so keen to make the efforts to raise funds for the sae event next year.

Johnny Giles and the organising team have admitted to getting it wrong. They've admitted mistakes were made. So no need for the holier than thou brigade who werent even there to try and defend it!

There were some good experiences down the country. John O'Shea, Stephen Hunt and Shane Long were among the current international players who turned up and signed autographs etc. for the kids.

thats exactly my gripe as i said if it was just promoted as a walk and nothing else thats perfectly fine (even though i doubt they would have gotten the same turn out). as i said previously i do commend jg for going on air and saying his piece, he was disappointed himself and he held reservations about putting his name to something in the future that would yield the same result.

overall it was originally a good idea but just the planning let it down, they said they didnt expect the teams to be as young as they were. that was the basic and biggest mistake that was made imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

All of the above happened. But just not to the standard you demanded. From a charity. Who is giving your club 50% of what you raise.

The High Horse brigade are out in force on this one.

I heard Johnny Giles on the radio yesterday speaking of this and he too was disappointed at what happened, The op is not a lone voice on this.

The Op is entitled to be aggrieved if the event did not live up to it's own promotional material irrespective of whether it was for charity or not. If they advertise stuff that did not happen he has a legitimate complaint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

The Muppet wrote: »
    The High Horse brigade are out in force on this one.

I heard Johnny Giles on the radio yesterday speaking of this and he too was disappointed at what happened, The op is not a lone voice on this.

The Op is entitled to be aggrieved if the event did not live up to it's own promotional material irrespective of whether it was for charity or not. If they advertise stuff that did not happen he has a legitimate complaint.

its nothng to do with High horse. Its all to do with what alot of posters on here would take for granted as certain values, which apparently missing in abundance with the OP.

Its shocking to read really.

adox wrote: »
    its nothng to do with High horse. Its all to do with what alot of posters on here would take for granted as certain values, which apparently missing in abundance with the OP.

Its shocking to read really.

explain please?